Dublin v Kildare

Another Meath poster talking about the past. If I were a Meath man I'd be going on about how we lost by a point in the last 60 minutes. But really Dublin and it'd be a fact are the best team ever, because this era is more professional than past era's and would beat Meath cork Tyrone or Kerry greats. You have to rise to it. Kerry and Tyrone are- we are trying and scored 1-17 today. Kevin Feely was outst

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 16/07/2017 22:07:59    2017733

Ah dear, the meath lads comparing us to them a few years back, no no no, we have better players, we're fitter, we have a better manager, I bet we keep getting closer to dublin instead of going down the plug hole like they did.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 16/07/2017 22:12:47    2017736

Replying To waynoI:  "I must admit, I really didn't think we where very good. People calling it exceptional, I really didn't think it was. Kildare won far too much in midfield and cut through us so so easily at times it was frightening. Don't get me wrong I felt we were alri but definitely so much we can improve on."
Have to say you are spot on, didn't liek the line up, but yeah you sum it it up for me perfectly, disappointed, against Westmeath there was a ruthless brilliance and mesmerising display. Today it was brass not gold. spot on

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 16/07/2017 22:14:07    2017738

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "It would be like this:

Leinster Senior:
Dublin

Leinster Intermediate:
Kildare

Leinster junior:
Everybody else

The problem isn't the other counties being too bad it's Dublin being too good. They should either have a bye to the final or better yet should play in a different province every year. It's not fair leinster as a championship is spoilt yearly."
Not again ? will you ever cop on to yourself , calling for Dublin to play outside of Leinster because they are to good is just plain stupid
year after year you roll this out , it will never happen .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/07/2017 22:15:21    2017739

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Kildare are likely a slightly worse version of meath 2013 when we ran the dubs closer and lost by 7 in the end.

The same thing is going to happen. Kildare will think they can improve and beat them in the next 2 years. But Dublin will dispose of you no problem again and again until they finally break the spirit in your team and they'll go back to hammering you by 15+ in a few years.

The likes of meath and Kildare can possibly beat Dublin in 15+ years but the gaa need to start investing millions yearly into their underage starting now. Otherwise it will remain pros vs amateurs. This is what happens when you invest the most into the biggest county with the most resources."
Yawn

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/07/2017 22:17:41    2017742

Replying To Joxer:  "I didn't catch the possesion stats at the game but Kildare seemed to have plenty of the ball. As I expected they did well in the middle and pushed right up on Cluxton. Their downfall was those two goals. You could have driven the Roscommon team bus through the middle of them for that Rock goal. Those goals plus Cluxton's fantastic save really hurt Kildare. They took some excellent points in that first half having been 9 down then reeling us in to 4. More to come from them in the future no doubt. Apart from Con O'Callaghan's performance, the highlight of the day for me was Bernard Brogan. What a player. An absolute legend and one of the all time greats for sure."
Scored an incredible point off his right foot....unreal

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 16/07/2017 22:20:36    2017744

Replying To waynoI:  "I must admit, I really didn't think we where very good. People calling it exceptional, I really didn't think it was. Kildare won far too much in midfield and cut through us so so easily at times it was frightening. Don't get me wrong I felt we were alri but definitely so much we can improve on."
yeah cribbin ran down our throats too easily too often, a lot to put right there

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 16/07/2017 22:24:01    2017746

Meath Meath Meath.
It is a shame that they pollute so much conversation like the champion of yesterday's story hanging on glorious yesterday. Fact is they think they're already promoted next year and will beat down Roscommon tipp Cavan etc before a ball is thrown in.
Get off your high donkeys, you don't have the players ye have nothin

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 16/07/2017 22:31:53    2017754

Feely is pure class. Easily one of the best midfielder in the country. Good soccer player too.

To be fair the early goals were too much for Kildare to come back from but Cluxton's save from Flynn was a big moment. Con O'C was great and BB was excellent when introduced.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/07/2017 22:34:32    2017756

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Cian o'neills Kildare team would win a Ulster or Connacht title no problem and not just one...
WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts:560 - 16/07/2017 21:43:33

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And you come from a county whose record against Ulster teams in the last 5 championships is played 5, lost 5. Have some shame."
what you mean have some shame Tomas..I am hear watching Sunday game ...plus siting in the corner making farting noises for no reason ! The shame :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 16/07/2017 22:40:00    2017760

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I have to 100% agree with you there Jack_Goff ...i remember Meath 2013 and all the same sound bites are been said now about Kildare right now !

Meath 2013 were still in that game at the 60 minutes mark...we actually were ahead by 3 points i think at half time!

Pundits and newspapers said the next day we were a good young and coming team !

Experts also said if we can add 4 or 5 new players to the team we could very well be able to compete with Dublin again every year !

But Dublin were the ones who added 8 or 9 new players to the team " E Lowndes, J Small,B Fenton; C O'Callaghan , N Scully,D Rock and many more !

Kildare improved in the last 12 months immensely ..but the next 12 months they will probably have to face Dublin in the o'byrne cup,Division 1 and again this time next year in the championship ...by that stage forward 365 days it could be 4 losses to Dublin winning margin getting bigger and the back completely broke on this up and coming team! Sound familiar ?

Cian o'neills Kildare team would win a Ulster or Connacht title no problem and not just one if they were ever to compete in Ulster or Connacht for example ..but this time next year football could be completely put out of the young Kildare lads heads sadly!"
Jesus lads, there's nothing like a bit of optimism. I think there's more in this Kildare team than the Meath team from 2013. For a start, we don't need 4 or 5 new players. We need a tighter marking couple of backs and we need further development of a team already going in the right direction. I fancy us to take whoever we get in the next round, no reason to fear anybody after today. We faced the best and came out better than most would have. Got to use today as a learning experience and press on now. Onwards and upwards Kildare.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 16/07/2017 22:44:13    2017762

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Apologies to the Wolfe Tones I re-wrote their
Fourteen men (Ballad of Jimmy Keaveney)

Now -
Twelve weeks off Dermo's Holliers (The Ballad of Diarmuid Connolly)

And there was fifteen on Connolly got twelve,
Dermo on the sideline havin a gawk,
Jim and the boys were working out a plan,
How to beat the Lillywhites without the Vinnies man.

From Hill 16, what a sight to see
With 'the process' in full flow
They said f**k the CCCC
Questions were being asked,
Will Jim talk to RTE?

It was early in the game, Dublin should be proud,
They put it in the net twice to quieten Kildare down,
The dubs may come, and dubs may go,
While history was made seven lenister's in a row.

Rock was given black,
He walked off in the sun,
But Con showed the way,
And he was only twenty-one

Were with them when we win, were with them when we lose,
Mayo and Kerry watch out for superblues,
We won't be easy beatin and never will we yield,
As long as there's a man to kick the ball upon the field"
Thought u said u weren't bothering with these "silly leinster games" gorm

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/07/2017 22:52:38    2017765

Replying To ziggy32001:  "as usual kildare think they are better than they are. their all-ireland was against meath who were shocking on the day."
As usual Ziggy, you attach far too much importance to Meath. Today was our All Ireland, Meath were just in the way. You worry about catching us, we'll worry about catching Dublin.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 16/07/2017 22:59:10    2017766

Job done. Plenty to work on, good to see players back from injury, promising performances from younger players, Con and Bernard sublime

Happy days

Well done to Kildare, good side and hope they can progress

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/07/2017 23:08:13    2017767

The problem isn't the other counties being too bad it's Dublin being too good. They should either have a bye to the final or better yet should play in a different province every year. It's not fair leinster as a championship is spoilt yearly.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts:1885 - 16/07/2017 19:06:54

Nonsense. Kildare are still in the All Ireland; and If Kildare are as good as/better then the teams from the other provinces they play. They can still reach the AI final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 16/07/2017 23:13:22    2017771

Replying To ziggy32001:  "proud to lose by 9 points? right...."
A bitter comment Ziggy.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/07/2017 23:33:36    2017776

all I can say is the neck, the absolute neck of some of the Meath posters on here would make you think that they think passion and neck is enough to beat the best team in the professional era. What a bitter bunch of losers.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 16/07/2017 23:58:53    2017780

Replying To HawkEyed:  "Cluxton is a class act but you need to gamble as in basketball. Do a press. Not very often but when you ratltle him which Kerry have done you get a chance.Cluxton is the quarter back that has redifned the keeper. Now you are seeing more skills to the position. I do think its a great luxury to gear training for August. As good as the dubs are remember you have played division 4, 3 and 2 teams so far. Now you need to get passed 2 Ulster teams to meet Kerry. Championship begins, hope you haven't peaked too early....Let see if Brogan and co get the space they are allowed in leinster."
I don't understand your comment about Dublin won't get the space they do in Leinster. Dublin didn't do too bad in the last few years, winning 4 all irelands. We didn't only meet Leinster teams. So we were well able to make space in 2010 when we beat Tyrone, 2011 when we beat Tyrone and Donegal, 2014 when we beat Monaghan, 2015 when we beat Fermanagh and 2016 when we beat Donegal. Our only defeat to tight-marking Ulster opposition was in 2014 to Donegal. One defeat in seven matches against Ulster teams who in that time were the most tight-marking province.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 17/07/2017 00:07:20    2017782

Replying To realdub:  "Is wasn't that he wasn't delighted it was just a reflection on the levelheadedness that Gavin has instills in ALL his players, believe me, hes a happy young man!"
No, sadly I don't believe he is a happy man. He spoke like a professional sportsman who has had PR training and has forgotten why he even loved Gaelic football in the first place. At this stage even Dublin fans must not be happy about how little value they get out of matches. It's completely joyless.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 17/07/2017 00:07:24    2017783

Replying To kildare73:  "Jesus lads, there's nothing like a bit of optimism. I think there's more in this Kildare team than the Meath team from 2013. For a start, we don't need 4 or 5 new players. We need a tighter marking couple of backs and we need further development of a team already going in the right direction. I fancy us to take whoever we get in the next round, no reason to fear anybody after today. We faced the best and came out better than most would have. Got to use today as a learning experience and press on now. Onwards and upwards Kildare."
i totally agree i think Kildare will get to a quarter final ...by the looks of things it could very well be Tyrone in the quarter final ! Kildare could make it to the semi..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 17/07/2017 00:46:11    2017790