Tyrone for Sam 2017

Replying To greatpoint:  "Tyrone beat a disappointing Down team yesterday, I don't think anyone can talk about them contending again until they beat a big team in Croke Park. In 9 years since they won their last All Ireland they've only managed to beat Monaghan (2013, 2015) and Kildare (2009) in quarter finals."
Instead of coming up with reasons why Tyrone won't win an AI because Derry, Donegal and Down are all apparently rubbish - let's celebrate that there's a team out there that will challenge the Dublin Kerry duopoly - with Mayo gaining momentum and Kildare improving and Donegal and Monaghan sneaking through the backdoor I for one won't be making the easy and lazy prediction that it's Dub and Kerry only.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2017 14:42:58    2018182

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Instead of coming up with reasons why Tyrone won't win an AI because Derry, Donegal and Down are all apparently rubbish - let's celebrate that there's a team out there that will challenge the Dublin Kerry duopoly - with Mayo gaining momentum and Kildare improving and Donegal and Monaghan sneaking through the backdoor I for one won't be making the easy and lazy prediction that it's Dub and Kerry only."
Is everything alright?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 17/07/2017 15:12:23    2018205

Replying To greatpoint:  "Is everything alright?"
All good just tired of all this Kerry and Dub formality stuff - maybe we should forget championship and have Dubs play Kerry every year and the rest play for a B championship.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2017 15:32:43    2018218

I find it interesting that Tyrone's easy route through Ulster is a negative for them in some people's view. Nobody has laid a glove on Kerry either and they only just beat Dublin in the league final to get that monkey off their back. This Tyrone team have yet to meet Dublin in a big championship game in Croker. Since a poor 2014 they lost out to Kerry in the All-Ireland semi (very wasteful that day) and Mayo last year (again very wasteful). They've had an easy ride in Ulster but they've looked peerless in the process, racking up huge scores as well.

Look I had my doubts as well but there's a whiff of Donegal 2012 about them. The reason I say that is if you went to any Donegal match that year there was this sense of inevitability about the result. Tyrone have had that in Ulster and I don't see any of the remaining qualifier teams coming close to them either. That sets up for a huge match against Dublin, the first time they'll have met in Championship since 2011, and needless to say that was a much different Tyrone team than the 2017 vintage. If they can continue the score taking they're currently on, I think they have the athleticism to make the Dublin match an end-to-end classic.

No disrespect intended to the remaining qualifier teams, the only one I would see causing either Tyrone or Dublin problems on that side would be Monaghan but their form has been seriously poor in Championship, just like ourselves. They'd need to really up it to challenge either side.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 17/07/2017 15:55:39    2018230

Replying To IrishGael3:  "All good just tired of all this Kerry and Dub formality stuff - maybe we should forget championship and have Dubs play Kerry every year and the rest play for a B championship."
Kerry haven't beaten them in a decade so that wouldn't be much entertainment.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 17/07/2017 15:57:32    2018233

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I find it interesting that Tyrone's easy route through Ulster is a negative for them in some people's view. Nobody has laid a glove on Kerry either and they only just beat Dublin in the league final to get that monkey off their back. This Tyrone team have yet to meet Dublin in a big championship game in Croker. Since a poor 2014 they lost out to Kerry in the All-Ireland semi (very wasteful that day) and Mayo last year (again very wasteful). They've had an easy ride in Ulster but they've looked peerless in the process, racking up huge scores as well.

Look I had my doubts as well but there's a whiff of Donegal 2012 about them. The reason I say that is if you went to any Donegal match that year there was this sense of inevitability about the result. Tyrone have had that in Ulster and I don't see any of the remaining qualifier teams coming close to them either. That sets up for a huge match against Dublin, the first time they'll have met in Championship since 2011, and needless to say that was a much different Tyrone team than the 2017 vintage. If they can continue the score taking they're currently on, I think they have the athleticism to make the Dublin match an end-to-end classic.

No disrespect intended to the remaining qualifier teams, the only one I would see causing either Tyrone or Dublin problems on that side would be Monaghan but their form has been seriously poor in Championship, just like ourselves. They'd need to really up it to challenge either side."
Seriously think Kildare could take a major scalp in the quarters, wouldn't fancy meeting them again, I think that a real test for Tyrone and far from straight forward.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/07/2017 23:00:00    2018422

IT really looks like a Tyrone v Dublin semi final and I'd give Tyrone a good chance of winning
Over the last few years Dublin have made hard work of winning big games and they have won none of their finals by big margins. Indeed they were poor in last year's drawn final But that can happen to any team
The other side of the draw is more open Indeed if Mayo were to draw Kerry in the quarter finals they could beat Kerry ( they must beat Cork first and they can)
That would leave one of Roscommon / Galway /Donegal to make the semi and any one of them could give Mayo a game while I doubt if any of the three would beat Kerry if it were Kerry
It's by no means a Kerry /Dublin final just yet

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/07/2017 21:06:20    2018933

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "IT really looks like a Tyrone v Dublin semi final and I'd give Tyrone a good chance of winning
Over the last few years Dublin have made hard work of winning big games and they have won none of their finals by big margins. Indeed they were poor in last year's drawn final But that can happen to any team
The other side of the draw is more open Indeed if Mayo were to draw Kerry in the quarter finals they could beat Kerry ( they must beat Cork first and they can)
That would leave one of Roscommon / Galway /Donegal to make the semi and any one of them could give Mayo a game while I doubt if any of the three would beat Kerry if it were Kerry
It's by no means a Kerry /Dublin final just yet"
I have to concur, Tyrone/Dublin semi would be down to the wire I think, and if anyone has bottle and belief at that critical stage of a game, its Tyrone, but its also Dublin!
It could be epic and deffo 50/50
Huge full-house atmosphere too I'd say.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 18/07/2017 22:27:18    2018975

Replying To realdub:  "I have to concur, Tyrone/Dublin semi would be down to the wire I think, and if anyone has bottle and belief at that critical stage of a game, its Tyrone, but its also Dublin!
It could be epic and deffo 50/50
Huge full-house atmosphere too I'd say."
If Tyrone win the All Ireland this year, will other county squads copy them and start saying the Rosary?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 19/07/2017 13:17:47    2019245

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If Tyrone win the All Ireland this year, will other county squads copy them and start saying the Rosary?"
Depends if Rosary isn't part of their pre-game setup - if Tyrone lads have a strong faith then fair play - this will help bond them and I'm sure other counties have the same rituals.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/07/2017 13:24:01    2019251

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Depends if Rosary isn't part of their pre-game setup - if Tyrone lads have a strong faith then fair play - this will help bond them and I'm sure other counties have the same rituals."
I just wish our lads would keep this stuff to themselves.

Like why even bring something like this up?

Personally I don't think it is right. Lads could have various beliefs or none and they may feel pressured to partake in these rituals.

It has no place within a sporting organisation.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/07/2017 13:41:09    2019270

Replying To Wally:  "I just wish our lads would keep this stuff to themselves.

Personally I don't think it is right. Lads could have various beliefs or none and they may feel pressured to partake in these rituals.

It has no place within a sporting organisation."
I would agree with you Wally, better to keep those things to yourself, just brings unwanted attention. Tyrone are in a great place and really looking the part this year & would be great if they could break the duopoly of Dublin and Kerry.

On a side issue, before the Ulster final I was bragging to someone about how Niall Morgan had got his head down and was concentrating on his football and becoming the top goalkeeper in the land, then he goes and stupidly goads the Down player after missing his goal chance. Now it wasn't the crime of the century and we see far worse things in most matches but why do it at all & bring heat on yourself?

One other thing that might bother MH is Ronan O'Neill doing his celebration thing. He has unreal talent and took his goals brilliantly but needs to keep his head down, work hard and get this place on the starting team.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 19/07/2017 13:58:53    2019284

Replying To Wally:  "I just wish our lads would keep this stuff to themselves.

It has no place within a sporting organisation."
I'd agree. Religion should be a personal affair and not part of GAA preparations. Hardly helps attracts Protestants or even lapsed Catholics if the Rosary is involved.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 19/07/2017 19:19:19    2019503

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "IT really looks like a Tyrone v Dublin semi final and I'd give Tyrone a good chance of winning
It's by no means a Kerry /Dublin final just yet"
Mayo may well beat Cork but not Kerry.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/07/2017 20:01:13    2019515

I thought ur were taking the pee with the Rosary thing, ah well, each to their own, personally I think it's very wasteful and selfish to use a prayer for football glory with all the suffering in the world and I doubt any god gives a monkeys about sport:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/07/2017 20:32:33    2019536

Has Tyrone not to play and win a quarter final before they even dare to think of Dublin in a semi final. A few weeks ago people in my own county were betting on Donegal to hammer Tyrone. Then they were betting on monaghan to beat Tyrone in the Ulster Final
We all know that those two presumptions failed totally due to complacency I would say.
Let's hope there is a Dublin vTyrone Semi final to we finally see what happens.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 19/07/2017 21:41:17    2019599

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I would agree with you Wally, better to keep those things to yourself, just brings unwanted attention. Tyrone are in a great place and really looking the part this year & would be great if they could break the duopoly of Dublin and Kerry.

On a side issue, before the Ulster final I was bragging to someone about how Niall Morgan had got his head down and was concentrating on his football and becoming the top goalkeeper in the land, then he goes and stupidly goads the Down player after missing his goal chance. Now it wasn't the crime of the century and we see far worse things in most matches but why do it at all & bring heat on yourself?

One other thing that might bother MH is Ronan O'Neill doing his celebration thing. He has unreal talent and took his goals brilliantly but needs to keep his head down, work hard and get this place on the starting team."
Mickey has him saying 2 Our fathers and 5 Hail Marys for that stunt!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/07/2017 21:48:25    2019604

Who will Tyrone meet in the 1/4 final

Cuppa (Monaghan) - Posts: 159 - 19/07/2017 21:59:58    2019609

If Mickey and the lads want to say a few prayers before games that's their own business. Who'd have thought that a whole bunch of Catholics would be at it! If there was a Protestant or 2 in the squad then I'd say the Hail Mary might be inappropriate but not the act of saying a prayer together. This is a closed doors and private act for these guys,I bet most of yez that are complaining don't say much when your favourite premiership player scores a goal and celebrates by blessing himself and looking skyward. Every single lad on that squad went to catholic primary and secondary schools and some to catholic university's so I'm sure they're not troubled by engaging in a group prayer at all. I'm sure they're touched by ye all being so concerned for them though.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2017 22:29:42    2019632

Tyrone overrated, no chance. No Ulster winner this year

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 19/07/2017 22:56:03    2019645