Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final

Replying To bangbang:  "It'll be a tough game alright. With Tyrone keeping 15 men behind the ball at all times and trying their best to get Dublin players red carded, I expect an atrocious game reminiscent of the bad old days of Ulster teams playing rugby instead of Gaelic football. I just hope the referee clamps down on Tyrone's dirty tricks early on.
Having said that, the talk in the Tyrone camp is that they only have to turn up on Sunday and they'll walk over Dublin. They already have their accommodation booked for the final. Perhaps we should just hand Tyrone Sam now and move on to next year?"
Complete and utter nonsense..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 273 - 22/08/2017 14:03:36    2036396

Replying To waynoI:  "there is absolutely no pressure on dublin at all. We are going for 3 all irelands in a row, a 4th in 5 years. 1 game in league and championship we have lost out of the last 40. we won 4 national leagues in a row and the one defeat we had was by a point against kerry where we hit the post with the last kick of the game to take it into extra time. we have nothing to prove to anybody. nothing. I also think you are dramatising the idea that Tyrone may well 'stun ' dublin... it wouldn't exactly be a major shock if a top 4 team beat dublin come on for feck sake. An average enough side like say... Clare or meath beating dublink would stun us... Tyrone absolutely wouldnt. I think Tyrone have every chance....ultimately I'll stick with dublin though"
Until a worthy challenger emerges, this Dublin side will always have something to prove.

Not Dublin's fault of course, but they are at risk of being remembered as the best of a bad decade given how far Kerry in particular are from say a decade ago.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/08/2017 14:06:22    2036398

I expect Tyrone to push up to try and stop the Dubs building from the back and pressurise the kick outs. If Tyrone sit back and try they're normal counter attacking game, I think they're going to get a hiding!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 22/08/2017 14:14:21    2036400

Replying To cavanman47:  "Until a worthy challenger emerges, this Dublin side will always have something to prove.

Not Dublin's fault of course, but they are at risk of being remembered as the best of a bad decade given how far Kerry in particular are from say a decade ago."
Look Kerry won a lot of handy All Irelands back then too. Teams crumbled in finals against them.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/08/2017 14:28:02    2036407

Replying To cavanman47:  "Until a worthy challenger emerges, this Dublin side will always have something to prove.

Not Dublin's fault of course, but they are at risk of being remembered as the best of a bad decade given how far Kerry in particular are from say a decade ago."
Could put that argument against anyone. Great Kerry team of the 70s/80s only really had Dublin to beat and even then the Dublin team had peaked by '78. The Kerry, Donegal and Mayo teams that Dublin had to beat to win these All Irelands have all been good sides with top players. Tyrone were no walk over team either.

Anyone who wins 4 AIs in any decade will be, and rightly so, remembered. Dublin won AIs because they are a very good team with some great players who will be remembered in halls of fame in time.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/08/2017 14:29:37    2036408

but they are at risk of being remembered as the best of a bad decade
By who exactly you ? cop on to yourself , this present Dublin team would have won All Irelands in any decade

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/08/2017 14:51:51    2036419

Replying To moylagh:  "I expect Tyrone to push up to try and stop the Dubs building from the back and pressurise the kick outs. If Tyrone sit back and try they're normal counter attacking game, I think they're going to get a hiding!"
That would be a massive call and I can't see it happening. The Tyrone game is built upon an solid defensive set up with men back, then trying to turn over the opposition and break at speed. I can't see how you can do that and also push up on the kickouts. With Cluxton's kickouts so good, there is a risk that he will find his man even if you do push up, then it would be an open road to the Tyrone goals.

I agree with you though, the Dublin kickout has to be disrupted if you want to stand a chance of beating them. We saw Kerry having joy last year when they pushed up on the Dublin kickout but they couldn't sustain it. Tyrone could find themselves in a dilemma if Dublin don't commit too many men forward, there will be no space for them to break into if they turn over the possession. It really is going to be fascinating & you feel Tyrone have to try something a tad different.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 22/08/2017 16:14:20    2036451

Are you for real? I've been watching Gaelic Football for the last 50 yrs and the this Dublin team my opinion is the best I've ever seen

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 22/08/2017 19:40:45    2036524

Replying To dubarra:  "Are you for real? I've been watching Gaelic Football for the last 50 yrs and the this Dublin team my opinion is the best I've ever seen"
Kerry team of the late 1970s the best team I've ever seen.An absolutely brilliant football team in every way.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 22/08/2017 20:05:17    2036529

Until a worthy challenger emerges, this Dublin side will always have something to prove.

Not Dublin's fault of course, but they are at risk of being remembered as the best of a bad decade given how far Kerry in particular are from say a decade ago.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:2722 - 22/08/2017 14:06:22

Dublin are an exceptional team, and the other top sides who have been regularly contesting All Ireland finals this decade like Kerry, Donegal and Mayo have been excellent too, dominating their respective Provincial Championships too.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/08/2017 20:12:57    2036532

The best of a bad decade..stupid post from a cavan man..your witnessing the most professional footballing machine thats ever played the game pal..kerry and dublin teams of the 70s were great teams..but they would not be fit enough to lace this lots boots.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 22/08/2017 20:38:47    2036535

Never fails to amaze me how many posters reply to some eejits wind up remark about what is obviously a superb team.
Keeps things ticking over here I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 22/08/2017 20:54:18    2036541

Two average teams hyped up by the media and supporters alike , hehe

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/08/2017 21:31:26    2036557

I'm excited about this Dublin v Tyrone match, Dublin have have established themselves as the most dominant team of this decade with 4 All Ireland titles, while Tyrone now look set to rejoin the elite top 4 and have an air of confidence about them.

DUBLIN: We already know what Dublin bring, they play with high intensity all over the pitch and with real intelligence. Their exceptional forwards and half forwards mean that opposing teams are reluctant to push out on them, as if the opposition lose possession, it will have a high probability in resulting in a score for Dublin. Dublin's midfield is among the top 3 in the Country, their defence is strong and well drilled. And Cluxton is phenomenal, precision kick-outs and stopping ability.

TYRONE: Mickey has taken time to build this team, and it was time well spent. They previously threatened to make the breakthrough in 2013 and 2015, but last season when they finally managed to beat Donegal was the first time people believed they had something about special about them. Tyrone's problems in recent years hasn't been due to a lack of talent, but rather more to do with them struggling to find the right combination. They have produced exceptional forwards and half forwards within the County, and have worked hard on the defensive side of their game.

MANAGERS: I don't believe Jim Gavin's comments that he hadn't seen Tyrone play since February/March, he is a bit of a cute hoor like that, peddles the whiter than white persona on tv, when privately he and his backroom team have studied all of their key rivals very closely throughout the Championship. Jim Gavin is very competitive, and very professional in his approach, expect no stone to be left unturned. Likewise Mickey Harte will have had one eye on Dublin all year, they are after all the team to beat. He is another buck that has no slows in him, and will provide Dublin with a very thorough tactical examination in this game.

VERDICT: Tyrone by 4 or 5 points - I believe they will bring a level of hunger that Dublin might just struggle to match. The teams are fairly closely matched in when you balance out their attacking and defensive capabilities, kick-out strategies and the fact both have strong benches. Dublin have the experience edge, all of their players have already won All Ireland titles unlike the majority of Tyrone players, but the downside of that might be a lack of hunger in comparison to Tyrone. And I think this might just drive them on that bit harder. Dublin are very hard to beat though, they are strong all over the pitch and Tyrone will need to start well and maintain that focus and discipline throughout the match.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/08/2017 21:32:13    2036559

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I'm excited about this Dublin v Tyrone match, Dublin have have established themselves as the most dominant team of this decade with 4 All Ireland titles, while Tyrone now look set to rejoin the elite top 4 and have an air of confidence about them.

DUBLIN: We already know what Dublin bring, they play with high intensity all over the pitch and with real intelligence. Their exceptional forwards and half forwards mean that opposing teams are reluctant to push out on them, as if the opposition lose possession, it will have a high probability in resulting in a score for Dublin. Dublin's midfield is among the top 3 in the Country, their defence is strong and well drilled. And Cluxton is phenomenal, precision kick-outs and stopping ability.

TYRONE: Mickey has taken time to build this team, and it was time well spent. They previously threatened to make the breakthrough in 2013 and 2015, but last season when they finally managed to beat Donegal was the first time people believed they had something about special about them. Tyrone's problems in recent years hasn't been due to a lack of talent, but rather more to do with them struggling to find the right combination. They have produced exceptional forwards and half forwards within the County, and have worked hard on the defensive side of their game.

MANAGERS: I don't believe Jim Gavin's comments that he hadn't seen Tyrone play since February/March, he is a bit of a cute hoor like that, peddles the whiter than white persona on tv, when privately he and his backroom team have studied all of their key rivals very closely throughout the Championship. Jim Gavin is very competitive, and very professional in his approach, expect no stone to be left unturned. Likewise Mickey Harte will have had one eye on Dublin all year, they are after all the team to beat. He is another buck that has no slows in him, and will provide Dublin with a very thorough tactical examination in this game.

VERDICT: Tyrone by 4 or 5 points - I believe they will bring a level of hunger that Dublin might just struggle to match. The teams are fairly closely matched in when you balance out their attacking and defensive capabilities, kick-out strategies and the fact both have strong benches. Dublin have the experience edge, all of their players have already won All Ireland titles unlike the majority of Tyrone players, but the downside of that might be a lack of hunger in comparison to Tyrone. And I think this might just drive them on that bit harder. Dublin are very hard to beat though, they are strong all over the pitch and Tyrone will need to start well and maintain that focus and discipline throughout the match."
Disagree , Dublin will match Tyrones hunger , 2pt win for Dublin

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/08/2017 22:07:47    2036577

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I'm excited about this Dublin v Tyrone match, Dublin have have established themselves as the most dominant team of this decade with 4 All Ireland titles, while Tyrone now look set to rejoin the elite top 4 and have an air of confidence about them.

VERDICT: Tyrone by 4 or 5 points - I believe they will bring a level of hunger that Dublin might just struggle to match. The teams are fairly closely matched in when you balance out their attacking and defensive capabilities, kick-out strategies and the fact both have strong benches. Dublin have the experience edge, all of their players have already won All Ireland titles unlike the majority of Tyrone players, but the downside of that might be a lack of hunger in comparison to Tyrone. And I think this might just drive them on that bit harder. Dublin are very hard to beat though, they are strong all over the pitch and Tyrone will need to start well and maintain that focus and discipline throughout the match."
"hungrier"

sigh!!!!

zzzzzz

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/08/2017 22:40:23    2036581

Replying To waynoI:  "

"hungrier"

sigh!!!!

zzzzzz"
Ask the Kilkenny of the 00's and 10's about hunger. They were as fat as you get with gold medals and still hungry. I don't think they lost the "hunger" just half of the great panel they once had.

If we are talking about hunger Mayo should have won the All-Ireland at least once in the last 6 years. They're absolutely starving with a famine down there for sixty odd years.

At the end of the day it comes down to skill and experience of winning.
Dublin know what it takes to win a final. With all the wins they get they can deal with that pressure a bit better. They aren't like Mayo in a final with all the weight of them defeats behind them, it surely weighs on your mind in the last ten minutes. If Dublin go 3 points down with a few minutes left they don't tend to get as panicked. It tends to be experience and a little bit of luck that wins these type of games. Like I said if it was down to hunger Mayo would be the current All-Ireland champions. No hungrier team out there. Dublin have their own goals. They are hungry for three in a row. Just a different agenda to us, Mayo and Kerry. It's all the same thing. Everyone is hungry.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 23/08/2017 08:42:36    2036636

Jesus this looks like a column at the back of the sun.

I like the verdict but wouldn't be putting my money on that margin of victory. If we win at all it surely couldn't be by any more than one or two at best. Dublin haven't lost by 5 points in god knows how many years.

May as well go all out with underdog and throw a tener on McGregor to beat Mayweather/ Tyrone -4 and Mayo to do the job against Kerry. I'll never see that tener again but what harm.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 23/08/2017 08:52:55    2036637

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "

Jesus this looks like a column at the back of the sun.

I like the verdict but wouldn't be putting my money on that margin of victory. If we win at all it surely couldn't be by any more than one or two at best. Dublin haven't lost by 5 points in god knows how many years.

May as well go all out with underdog and throw a tener on McGregor to beat Mayweather/ Tyrone -4 and Mayo to do the job against Kerry. I'll never see that tener again but what harm."
Smart money is on the draw mate!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/08/2017 10:06:33    2036658

Replying To endgame:  "Kerry team of the late 1970s the best team I've ever seen.An absolutely brilliant football team in every way."
Funny mate i was out at one of the clubs in Dublin this week and one of the lads were telling me Dublin are creeping up the same number of games unbeaten in the championship as the Kerry team of the 70's and 80's.

Apparently the Kerry team of the 70's/80's went 19 games unbeaten until Offaly, it will be Dublin 17th game wihout defeat (not including replays) against Tyrone on Sunday.

Im tempting fate here i know.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/08/2017 10:10:22    2036659