Mayo vs Roscommon

We are absolutely blessed to be still in it. Are they looking at Boyle's GPS data saying he's tiring to decide when to take him off? Was playing very well, made no sense to me to bring Donie on for him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 30/07/2017 18:02:08    2026049

maybe there isnt as much improvement in this mayo team as we taught, sad reality for mayo supporters if true

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 30/07/2017 18:03:11    2026050

Black card has to go The refs have no idea when to use it Roscommon should have 2 in the first half and 1 in the second AOS had a bad game compounded by the refs refusal to give him frees when he's been mugged But wouldn't expect anything else from McQuillan Any idea on the replay date and venue

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/07/2017 18:10:15    2026054

They have good reason to boo the ref He done everything but score for Roscommon 2 Rosie's should have got black cards in the 1st AOS was mugged all game and nothing But we never expect a neutral ref

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts:181 - 30/07/2017 17:45:37 20260

Ahh yea to be fair if there was a neutral ref last saturday evening we might not even be talking bout a mayo ros game today ;P

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 30/07/2017 18:16:42    2026058

Replying To pidge:  "They have good reason to boo the ref He done everything but score for Roscommon 2 Rosie's should have got black cards in the 1st AOS was mugged all game and nothing But we never expect a neutral ref

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts:181 - 30/07/2017 17:45:37 20260

Ahh yea to be fair if there was a neutral ref last saturday evening we might not even be talking bout a mayo ros game today ;P"
What decision did he make aginst Cork The only bad call he made was the black card to Keegan The Cork player pulled him back the ref seen it and chose to do nothing Out from that he was pretty fair

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/07/2017 18:35:07    2026074

Some miles in the Mayo legs this year is that their third or fourth draw this year, week in week out and again probably next week.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/07/2017 18:42:02    2026079

The only loser from today's game is Kerry they will walk into the final without a decent game/test all championship this will catch them out in the final cannot see them beating my tip Tyrone in a final.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 30/07/2017 18:43:34    2026083

Replying To cluichethar:  "They have good reason to boo the ref He done everything but score for Roscommon 2 Rosie's should have got black cards in the 1st AOS was mugged all game and nothing But we never expect a neutral ref"
Ah here like most games there's plenty the ref lets go for both teams. Come back to us when you touch down!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 30/07/2017 18:55:28    2026090

Replying To jacktheDub:  "The only loser from today's game is Kerry they will walk into the final without a decent game/test all championship this will catch them out in the final cannot see them beating my tip Tyrone in a final."
Yerra yerra ;)

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 30/07/2017 18:58:47    2026094

Replying To galwayford:  "This match was a great advert for Connacht football imo. True Connacht football."
An exciting and engrossing game alright but the standard of football was poor and not a good ad. for Connacht football.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 30/07/2017 19:02:36    2026099

Fair play to Roscommon didn't think they had itbin them

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 30/07/2017 19:07:06    2026102

Replying To cluichethar:  "What decision did he make aginst Cork The only bad call he made was the black card to Keegan The Cork player pulled him back the ref seen it and chose to do nothing Out from that he was pretty fair"
my point here is we are all biased towards our teams and you with your green and red glasses and me with my red and white glasses will see each and every decision made for or against our team in our own biased views,,,for eg i believe keegans black card the last day was clear as day and justified,,,you clearly don't however..complete opposite beliefs whys that?? im a cork man you are a mayo man..simple as that

the point tho is a ref who is acting on his own good conscience on every decision has a hard enough job as it is without supporters and players who are obviously biased to their own teams fortunes abusing him for every decision made,,to accuse a ref of not being neutral as you were alluding to in your post is just out of order and disrespectful and advocating booing these decisions are just poor form too..todays result and all other results are purely the correct result as in all my time watching GAA games ive yet to see a ref pop the ball over the bar for any team and scores win games...not referees

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 30/07/2017 19:08:05    2026103

Aidan O'Shea was poor. Cillian O'Connor yet again, lucky to see the game out. Clearly elbowed the Rossie lad in the head. No need for that kinda wreckless hit.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/07/2017 19:11:19    2026109

Replying To realdub:  "Fair play to Roscommon didn't think they had itbin them"
Same here. I thought they'd blown it after about 15mins but they dug in.

What can you say about Mayo. They're some team to follow I'd say! They're still standing and I'd expect them to get the job done next week.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 30/07/2017 19:15:41    2026114

Very entertaining and exciting game. I hear the armchair boys in the studio were very critical of the standard, Since there was no malice or big incident in the game they were lost for something to criticise. Looking at the game through 'primrose and blue spectacles', I was over the moon with the start and started to dream. I expected a Mayo comeback of course as they don't panic, but we helped them big-time with some wayward shooting in the second quarter. I was amazed that we allowed such a fine player as Keegan the freedom of the park in the first half. Fair play to McStay he did sort out the problem at half-time and Keegan was much less influential in the second half, but he had done the damage to us in the first half.
I don't think any player, on either side, could be faulted for lack of effort or commitment. The slippery sod and greasy ball made life difficult for the players. Let's hope the replay is as exciting. I have no idea which team will learn most from today.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/07/2017 19:22:47    2026121

Replying To cluichethar:  "They have good reason to boo the ref He done everything but score for Roscommon 2 Rosie's should have got black cards in the 1st AOS was mugged all game and nothing But we never expect a neutral ref"
They booed him when COC got a yellow. Everything the ref done against Mayo got booed.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/07/2017 19:25:54    2026128

Replying To jacktheDub:  "The only loser from today's game is Kerry they will walk into the final without a decent game/test all championship this will catch them out in the final cannot see them beating my tip Tyrone in a final."
Doesnt do ye much harm coming through leinster with a 10 points minimium handicap when ye reach the quarter finals each year. Mayo are still the same group of players to come within a kick of the ball to beat ye last year so less of the waffle.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 30/07/2017 19:42:13    2026148

Replying To neverright:  "Very entertaining and exciting game. I hear the armchair boys in the studio were very critical of the standard, Since there was no malice or big incident in the game they were lost for something to criticise. Looking at the game through 'primrose and blue spectacles', I was over the moon with the start and started to dream. I expected a Mayo comeback of course as they don't panic, but we helped them big-time with some wayward shooting in the second quarter. I was amazed that we allowed such a fine player as Keegan the freedom of the park in the first half. Fair play to McStay he did sort out the problem at half-time and Keegan was much less influential in the second half, but he had done the damage to us in the first half.
I don't think any player, on either side, could be faulted for lack of effort or commitment. The slippery sod and greasy ball made life difficult for the players. Let's hope the replay is as exciting. I have no idea which team will learn most from today."
Agree with you Mr neverright. What it lacked in quality it made up for in passion and commitment. Unreal start for the Rossies but credit Mayo for getting back into it and eventually taking the lead. But the Rossies showed great spirit to get it level - what a free by Donie Smith! And both Rossie goals were excellent. We will again be underdogs in the replay but I think we can play a lot better. Our forwards are better than what we showed today. We will have learned more from this than Mayo. Expect another close one!

Rams4Sam (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 30/07/2017 19:48:15    2026153

Replying To MesAmis:  "Same here. I thought they'd blown it after about 15mins but they dug in.

What can you say about Mayo. They're some team to follow I'd say! They're still standing and I'd expect them to get the job done next week."
Most annoying bunch of footballers but yeah hats off as you say still standing, still alive and kicking - amazing spirit

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 30/07/2017 19:55:29    2026158

Replying To pidge:  "my point here is we are all biased towards our teams and you with your green and red glasses and me with my red and white glasses will see each and every decision made for or against our team in our own biased views,,,for eg i believe keegans black card the last day was clear as day and justified,,,you clearly don't however..complete opposite beliefs whys that?? im a cork man you are a mayo man..simple as that

the point tho is a ref who is acting on his own good conscience on every decision has a hard enough job as it is without supporters and players who are obviously biased to their own teams fortunes abusing him for every decision made,,to accuse a ref of not being neutral as you were alluding to in your post is just out of order and disrespectful and advocating booing these decisions are just poor form too..todays result and all other results are purely the correct result as in all my time watching GAA games ive yet to see a ref pop the ball over the bar for any team and scores win games...not referees"
2 clear black card offenses by Roscommon in the first half One f which was on a Mayo player going clean through on goal and he refused to give any card at all I'm not the one making bad decisions on the field Fair enough if you say let the game flow But let it flow both ways If a ref gives a particular free one way then give it the other way as well What does AOS have to get a free Again today he was pulled and dragged all over the place Kieran Donaghy for Kerry gets them frees all the time So what's the difference And I'll praise a ref if he deserves it but I'll also have a go at him if I think he was bad as McQuillan was today

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/07/2017 20:04:10    2026165