Pat Spillane's team of the Century

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is our team of the teenies better than our team of the naughties Keith?
And is there anything that I've said that is untrue? It can all be checked up if you can spare time.
As for the refs bias towards the dubs anybody with eyes can see what was going on there."
That's debateable mate, only for Dublin, Kerry are likely to have been relatively successful in this decade imagine how successfull if they didn't have to play Dublin. Dublin have just raised the standard really and beaten well everyone who cared to challenge.

The Kerry team of the noughties and they were a very good team with some good players, they were successful, but I'm not even sure they were even the best team of the noughies, they never beat Tyrone and the blemish will always be they dodged opposition like 2014 rather then prove they were the best. But I guess when your own county has some success you tend to rose tint it.

Very good team though admittedly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/01/2017 17:49:28    1942838

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I have no problem with dublins win over us in 2013 that was fair and square but the other 3 games against us in the championship I'd have big problems with the reffing .
Also the reffing in a few of our league incounters were very dodgy and was mentioned in some newspaper articles by non Kerry media.
It is what it is I guess , the GAA want a return on their big investment."
Keep fighting the good fight Kingdom Boy. It's high time the Dubs suffered a bit of referee Karma against us. We will see how mature the Hill 16 brigade are then when it comes.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/01/2017 18:17:09    1942850

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To football_man:  "[quote=keithlemon:  "your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread

Sounds like you're very familiar with clondalkin and you've only posted 7 times.....you must have a put in a fair shift over Christmas reading through his posts"
As I've said before been reading his bs for a long time. You seem to be very worried about him...."
I'm more worried about your lack of imagination of your log in name - football_man
Wow!!"]Thats the best comeback you could come up with? wow indeed

football_man (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 03/01/2017 19:03:40    1942856

Cause my parish team and club have been through it man I'm just after explaining it, he was first our friend from our area the Tyrone player was their team mate and then friend (besides the few club mates who were probably on the Tyrone team). Yes it's devastating but to use that as excuse for not winning is exactly that "an excuse".
A players death brings a team even closer together and you want to win even more not go the other way and give in cause your upset. There's not an inter county player playing the game that doesn't have some close death to him like a brother sister father mother etc they all keep playing , you have to get on with it. You telling me in August in the middle of Croke Park Cormac's death affected them tyrones players performances that day against Mayo ? It's a bs excuse imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/01/2017 19:26:33    1942861

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know soccer is massive in Donegal and in fairness ye lose more than ye'r share as well Donegal man. Our counties can't handle that kind of loss and be expected to take on the dubs."
Kingdom
You same to making an awful amount of excuses from refs to lack of numbers. I'm sure Kerry have had decisions go their way as well. All countries have the same problems. And if you win 3 minor all Ireland's things are crumbling.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/01/2017 19:34:01    1942862

Replying To TheHermit:  "Keep fighting the good fight Kingdom Boy. It's high time the Dubs suffered a bit of referee Karma against us. We will see how mature the Hill 16 brigade are then when it comes."
Oh I'd pay to see the reaction on here if Kerry ever beat the dubs with the help of a few dodgy calls.

In all seriousness I don't think I'd have too many complaints overall. 2011 was close but every other meeting since has finished with the better team winning.

@The Username you're having a laugh if you think the standard is the same now as it was in the 00's. Apart from Donegal briefly in 2012, all the challengers have big gaps and weaknesses in key areas. Kerry and Tyrone are shells of their 00's version and Mayo simply don't have the forwards. Dublin weren't even that good last year, they struggled at times and overcame a poor pack to win it. Mayo were utter tripe up until the final and all of a sudden they're a great team again after they put it up to Dublin. I'd back the dubs again for 2017, simply because I can't see another credible contender.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/01/2017 19:35:56    1942863

Replying To TheHermit:  "Keep fighting the good fight Kingdom Boy. It's high time the Dubs suffered a bit of referee Karma against us. We will see how mature the Hill 16 brigade are then when it comes."
The hermit .
Keith lemon clondalkin and all the other dubs would try to write their own version of events and side step all their advantages that the GAA betrothed upon them and refs living and working in Dublin involved with Dublin GAA clubs.
The thruth mustn't be forgotten.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 19:36:43    1942864

Is that the sound of a crumbling empire I hear?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/01/2017 20:12:12    1942877

Kerry lads, you would hear no complaining from me, you never did and never will, I can take my beating, god knows I've had plenty of practice down the years. We are were we are now because of our players and their attitude and skill, end of.
Referees have nothing against the Kingdom, but the more complaining about things like this the less sympathetic ears you will find.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/01/2017 20:20:32    1942878

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit .
Keith lemon clondalkin and all the other dubs would try to write their own version of events and side step all their advantages that the GAA betrothed upon them and refs living and working in Dublin involved with Dublin GAA clubs.
The thruth mustn't be forgotten."
Aye, this market is full of the current All-Ireland holders = greatest team in history who cares about anything before last September merchants. I guess it just reflects the way modern society is - the cult of now, the tendency to dismiss anything that's 5 minutes old, 'post-truth' and all that stuff.

A few posters however have hit the nail on the head. At the moment we have one very good team and 2-3 of their closest opponents that have big flaws. I include Kerry in that as we didn't lay a finger on Dublin in the final in 2015. We didn't turn up and deserved to be beaten that day.

But even then there was a few serious issues with the referring that game. Same as last August. I remembered reading a piece about the 1916 All-Ireland Championship and in one of the semi-finals Monaghan refused to play Wexford because the referee picked for the clash was from Leinster and they were concerned over any possible bias. The GAA relented and changed the referee.

Contrast that to 2 or 3 of the referee's appointed for last few Kerry/Dublin Championship matches - fella's living and working in Dublin, some of them members of Dublin GAA clubs with one of them having previously been brought in to referee Dublin's A v B games! I'm not accusing any of these men of deliberately and consciously favoring Dublin in a game but you can't tell me its right to be chosen to officiate a game when you are that closely involved in the GAA community of one of the teams.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/01/2017 20:21:39    1942879

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit .
The thruth mustn't be forgotten."
clondalkin lives in his own world where no other team has ever played football other than Dublin and anyone who tries to say otherwise is wrong

football_man (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 03/01/2017 20:30:44    1942882

Well football_man, as your name suggests, I'm looking forward to some football posts from yourself (I'm surprised that you haven't spoke much about football in the short space of time you've been on this board, mostly small digs at other posters). But I'll give you the benefit of the doubt as a proud Leitrim man I'm sure you are and that you've been a long time reader of these boards and simply had enough of clondalkin's 'bias posts'.
Ps I was quicker coming up with my response than you were in creating your hoganstand profile and your very original name

Looking forward to your many 'football' insights

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 20:41:01    1942885

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Cause my parish team and club have been through it man I'm just after explaining it, he was first our friend from our area the Tyrone player was their team mate and then friend (besides the few club mates who were probably on the Tyrone team). Yes it's devastating but to use that as excuse for not winning is exactly that "an excuse".
A players death brings a team even closer together and you want to win even more not go the other way and give in cause your upset. There's not an inter county player playing the game that doesn't have some close death to him like a brother sister father mother etc they all keep playing , you have to get on with it. You telling me in August in the middle of Croke Park Cormac's death affected them tyrones players performances that day against Mayo ? It's a bs excuse imo."
Clon, I've lost close ones myself during my playing days and I can tell you from my own experience that focus and drive can go out the window for a while. In fact the opposite of what you say, the last thing that matters is what happens on the pitch, even if I was on the pitch going through the motions trying to do the right thing. Thankfully, over time that passed and I was ready to refocus.

Even though you were witness to your clubs tragedy unfolding, how can you account for what goes through the minds of each of your teammates? how do you know how they coped when nobody else was around? had this not happened your club could well have won that final. Ok, you yourself may well have used it as energy etc but I know that these things effect people differently and a full squad of players will not be the same force initially, hence 'the grieving process'.

and to answer your last question there, you don't win matches in August without having meticulous preparation from the beginning of the year. Inches and millimetres can make the difference at that level as you should know. To say that Tyrone had a normal preparation that year, would be ridiculous. We'll never know how far they might have went that year under normal circumstances but you are in no position to put a number or a scale on a tragedy.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 03/01/2017 20:46:00    1942886

Replying To realdub:  "Kerry lads, you would hear no complaining from me, you never did and never will, I can take my beating, god knows I've had plenty of practice down the years. We are were we are now because of our players and their attitude and skill, end of.
Referees have nothing against the Kingdom, but the more complaining about things like this the less sympathetic ears you will find."
Il hold my Hands up realdub I am complaining, but you gotta admit the refs love the dubs.
The GAA need to get a good return on their big investment.
I'm telling you ye have 3 in a row in the bag already. Ye won't be allowed to lose.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 21:22:05    1942892

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Il hold my Hands up realdub I am complaining, but you gotta admit the refs love the dubs.
The GAA need to get a good return on their big investment.
I'm telling you ye have 3 in a row in the bag already. Ye won't be allowed to lose."
Ref's love them as much as they love Kerry
I think of that Munster final replay in 04, I've never seen a ref that was swayed by the home support at inter county level like that before.
As for the calls in the All Ireland semi in 2014 against Mayo....they were so bad it drove the supporters to levels of anger the likes of Limerick has never seen before: link

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 21:42:29    1942898

Replying To TheHermit:  "Aye, this market is full of the current All-Ireland holders = greatest team in history who cares about anything before last September merchants. I guess it just reflects the way modern society is - the cult of now, the tendency to dismiss anything that's 5 minutes old, 'post-truth' and all that stuff.

A few posters however have hit the nail on the head. At the moment we have one very good team and 2-3 of their closest opponents that have big flaws. I include Kerry in that as we didn't lay a finger on Dublin in the final in 2015. We didn't turn up and deserved to be beaten that day.

But even then there was a few serious issues with the referring that game. Same as last August. I remembered reading a piece about the 1916 All-Ireland Championship and in one of the semi-finals Monaghan refused to play Wexford because the referee picked for the clash was from Leinster and they were concerned over any possible bias. The GAA relented and changed the referee.

Contrast that to 2 or 3 of the referee's appointed for last few Kerry/Dublin Championship matches - fella's living and working in Dublin, some of them members of Dublin GAA clubs with one of them having previously been brought in to referee Dublin's A v B games! I'm not accusing any of these men of deliberately and consciously favoring Dublin in a game but you can't tell me its right to be chosen to officiate a game when you are that closely involved in the GAA community of one of the teams."
Surely to god the GAA can do something where if A ref makes a big game costing blunder gets relegated to reffing club games.
Lads I've seen some really strange decisions in our games with Dublin over the last 5/6 years in both league and championships where the same refs were involved and are allowed to continue to ref our games.
That's interesting about the 1916 final and Monaghan were dead right in objecting.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 21:49:00    1942904

Well fair play to those refs, they have it down to a fine art with our one and two point victories, not much margin for error :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/01/2017 22:02:16    1942908

Replying To keithlemon:  "Ref's love them as much as they love Kerry
I think of that Munster final replay in 04, I've never seen a ref that was swayed by the home support at inter county level like that before.
As for the calls in the All Ireland semi in 2014 against Mayo....they were so bad it drove the supporters to levels of anger the likes of Limerick has never seen before: link"
Ya we have gotten some good decisions in our favour from refs in the past Keith there is no denying that but not to the extent the dubs get, but two wrongs don't make a right and I still think refs should be held accountable for their bad decisions. Do you not agree with me?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 22:11:55    1942914

Replying To realdub:  "Well fair play to those refs, they have it down to a fine art with our one and two point victories, not much margin for error :D"
It only takes a grain of rice to tip the scales realdub as well you know ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 22:14:38    1942915

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Oh I'd pay to see the reaction on here if Kerry ever beat the dubs with the help of a few dodgy calls.

In all seriousness I don't think I'd have too many complaints overall. 2011 was close but every other meeting since has finished with the better team winning.

@The Username you're having a laugh if you think the standard is the same now as it was in the 00's. Apart from Donegal briefly in 2012, all the challengers have big gaps and weaknesses in key areas. Kerry and Tyrone are shells of their 00's version and Mayo simply don't have the forwards. Dublin weren't even that good last year, they struggled at times and overcame a poor pack to win it. Mayo were utter tripe up until the final and all of a sudden they're a great team again after they put it up to Dublin. I'd back the dubs again for 2017, simply because I can't see another credible contender."
I think this thread is an indicator of the frustration of many fans praticularly kerry mate, that I can understand on living on the wrong side of the equation vs Kerry for a few years. All the excuses in the world whether it's population, finance, weather, refs, Croke park don't change the silverware on the mantle peice arguement. I can understand it, it was always an accusation of very good Kerry teams that they had to play two games to win an all ireland.

I disagree with your general point though mate, I agree that teams were a lot closer together in the noughties, but I do beleive Dublin have taken the standard to a different level again, I don't necessarily think praticularly This Kerry team is bad certainly 2011 and 2013 were high quality teams, just a shade below Dublins standard. The fact remains this Dublin team put the Kerry and Tyrone noughties teams to bed in 2011 and have bet every challenge the country had to offer over many years. My original point was that I can understand fans getting misty eyed about the noughties, certainly there were teams of a similar standard, but the bar has been raised and no one has met that standard yet.
When comparing "eras" if there even that because many of the Same players from the noughties are still playing, or great teams, the blemish Kerry have is they only were successfull when they dodged the great Tyrone team.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/01/2017 22:18:25    1942918