Kerry v Mayo

Replying To Dangerman17:  "Joe Brolly claiming james o'donoghue is over rated?thoughts?"
Jays he tipped Kerry to win on the radio this morning he claimed that Mayo would lose coz they only have one lee keegan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2017 19:41:47    2034866

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays he tipped Kerry to win on the radio this morning he claimed that Mayo would lose coz they only have one lee keegan."
Joe Brolly from the indo....

James O'Donoghue is over-rated. He made his reputation in two semis when he wasn't marked. If O'Donoghue is tightly marked he's not going to be that big of a factor.

"Kerry's half forward line is also at a disadvantage. They're good footballers but uninspiring and Mayo's half back line are so dynamic.  Can Kerry hold Lee Keegan? Can Mayo contain the Donaghy threat?  That's where its going to be won or lost."

As to who will win?   

"Kerry are the safe bet because of their efficiency and ruthlessness," says Brolly.  "But you know, there's something about Mayo, something buoyant about them now that they are back on track after Roscommon. I'm going to go for Mayo."

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 17/08/2017 20:06:16    2034874

Brolly is all over the place with his predictions lately..I don't take him seriously. He is a bit of a laugh

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/08/2017 20:41:28    2034885

Replying To joeblogs10:  "Ye are petrified of Dublin. And it shows."
Whose this gombeen, another of Jimbo's multiple profiles???

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2017 20:46:54    2034889

I presume Lee Keegan is fit and well?

Hope this game is a cracker. The evenings are drawing in. We've one serious inter county hurling match and 3 football (bar draws) left. Once the oul Rose of Tralee comes round the summer is bet. So the last thing we want are lob sided semis.

Won't happen though i think.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 21:47:07    2034910

Replying To TheHermit:  "Whose this gombeen, another of Jimbo's multiple profiles???"
Jimbo is a bit like the man above 'omnipresent', but thankfully not all powerful.

And definitely doesn't control the weather ;)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 21:48:43    2034913

Jimbo very quiet lately, hardly worrying about the opposition.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 22:27:29    2034934

Replying To yew_tree:  "Brolly is all over the place with his predictions lately..I don't take him seriously. He is a bit of a laugh"
Honestly I don't even think he takes himself seriously. He's just looking for a bit of a reaction and have people talking about him

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 17/08/2017 22:39:35    2034941

Brolly saying O'Donoghue for Kerry over rated now. Bit of a trend emerging r. top class Kerry forwards.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 23:02:35    2034951

Replying To endgame:  "It'll be a surprise to Mayo.! Kerry have won 18 of their 23 championship meetings."
So you are honestly telling me that the Mayo players will be in some way surprised if they beat Kerry? Good man.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 18/08/2017 08:14:59    2034977

Replying To the_walls:  "So you are honestly telling me that the Mayo players will be in some way surprised if they beat Kerry? Good man."
Do you understand exclamation marks in posts.Maybe not.Best of luck to Mayo.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 18/08/2017 08:50:30    2034987

Replying To Laois76:  "Brolly saying O'Donoghue for Kerry over rated now. Bit of a trend emerging r. top class Kerry forwards."
By that post i mean a pattern emerging with Brolly criticising top Kerry forwards.

i wasn't referring to the quality of Kerry's top forwards, which is never in doubt.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 10:41:08    2035028

I was listening to Joe Brolly questioning James O Donoghue and saying is he over rated, I couldn't believe what Joe was saying , O Donoghue is class and when fully fit the best Kerry forward by a mile imo , also he's best friends with lee keegan after they had a chat after the Roscommon game lee's his favourite right now.

Ok this makes no sense (I know I never make sense) but if you gave me a hundred euros to back either team to win I'd back Kerry but I think Mayo are going to win by 2.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2017 10:58:15    2035034

Replying To nextyear:  "Honestly I don't even think he takes himself seriously. He's just looking for a bit of a reaction and have people talking about him"
Joe is stirring it, ahead of the game. He might have a point though.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 18/08/2017 11:07:51    2035046

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I was listening to Joe Brolly questioning James O Donoghue and saying is he over rated, I couldn't believe what Joe was saying , O Donoghue is class and when fully fit the best Kerry forward by a mile imo , also he's best friends with lee keegan after they had a chat after the Roscommon game lee's his favourite right now.

Ok this makes no sense (I know I never make sense) but if you gave me a hundred euros to back either team to win I'd back Kerry but I think Mayo are going to win by 2."
That's it re. someone being his favourite.

Whoever's flavour of the month. Very childish. Reminds me of Dunphy when he loved Roy Keane, then fell out with him and was eulogising DJ Carey for a while!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 11:09:10    2035048

One thing I can't understand is why Fitzmaurice is playing Jonny Buckley it makes zero sense to me , I don't like slagging him off cause he's seems like a sound lad and he's a good player but he lacks pace big time and he's been found out a million times in these bigger games, Mayo's backs who are fast and won't stop running all game will give him an awful time of it, what happened to the Kerry number 11 from the league final he seemed like the answer for centre forward to me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2017 11:48:17    2035064

Honestly, every time I hear Joe Brolly, all I can do is laugh. You can't take him seriously and it's all just a bit of fun!
It is a pity in a way he has become a figure of fun because sometimes he does have good points but I don't thibk any real gaa person takes him seriously anymore.

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 18/08/2017 12:02:31    2035072

Thinks its 50/50 for me. If both teams play to potential think we could sneakbit by 2

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 18/08/2017 12:04:19    2035073

Replying To endgame:  "Do you understand exclamation marks in posts.Maybe not.Best of luck to Mayo."
I do indeed but I'm not quite sure that you do. An exclamation mark does not convey that you are not being serious, in fact in conveys the exact opposite. Have a look for yourself.

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/punctuation/exclamation-mark-point

Thanks for the good wishes.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 18/08/2017 12:16:37    2035078

Replying To clondalkindub:  "One thing I can't understand is why Fitzmaurice is playing Jonny Buckley it makes zero sense to me , I don't like slagging him off cause he's seems like a sound lad and he's a good player but he lacks pace big time and he's been found out a million times in these bigger games, Mayo's backs who are fast and won't stop running all game will give him an awful time of it, what happened to the Kerry number 11 from the league final he seemed like the answer for centre forward to me."
He was pretty impressive the last day, though I agree with you that he has been too inconsistent in the past. Needs another big big game on Sunday.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2017 12:20:37    2035079