Division 2 2017

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "I don't know how you can be so confident. Meath have been hugely inconsistent in the league for a very long time. I know you think MOD is to blame but this inconsistency I talk about predates his management. This will be a very tough campaign for Meath with bogey teams like Galway, Derry and Fermanagh in there, a derby to Kildare, away to the favorites and away to Down."
Well the year we should have went up after beating Galway convincing and throwing away win to Laois and don't even mention the Roscommon game where por handed them a goal and we put on players who couldn't hit a barn in place of lads that were regularly scoring. Also lets not forget promotion was secured when sor got a sideline in ballybofey only for no one to show for ball or management not instruct him to belt it across other side, these were poor sideline calls Tha cost us dearly, in reality I we had a more astute sideline we would already be in division one. . But we are where we are and no pount dwelling on past mistakes, I dont think Andy would make the same mistakes. As for predating mod with players, by looks of things only por, keoghan, burke Menton and Reilly will have been there and I don't think any of them will be dropped

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 15:57:30    1946372

Replying To gotmilk:  "I would be more confident this year than last year. Fermanagh struggle against Ulster sides and there are less of them this year. I honestly can see them getting enough points to be in the promotion hunt. I would be very confident against the two sides that came up."
You may well be right, I certainly wouldn't back Fermanagh to go down, in fact I think relegation will be very interesting in Div2 this year. Clare will be favourites to go down (although perhaps this is unjustified) and I can't see Cork or Galway being in danger but again any of the other teams could make the plunge.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/01/2017 15:57:34    1946373

Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10072 - 17/01/2017 14:43:01 1946330

Oh man, that is a real doozy

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 17/01/2017 15:58:48    1946375

Replying To Seamy_Hendrix:  "Underage success never has nor ever will guarantee success. You think in a few years, Dublin's main rivals will be Meath and Kildare, not the likes of Kerry, May and the cream of Ulster? Fair play to ye !"
Yeah, from what I seen ulster football is in serious decline, (not one ulster team in semis) Kerry of course will be there about mayo no, there ship is sailing very quickly. Galway maybe, Tipp maybe. Fermanagh and Cavan are probably along with Tyrone going to be main contenders from ulster aramgh are a joke, Donegal are slipping at a alarming rate, down are going nowhere, neither is Derry Monaghan have already been shown to be a one man team, the cream of ulster ? I wouldn't worry about any team from ulster at the moment dominating anything over next few years, Kildare and Meath would take them easily in few years unless something dramatically changes in Ulster

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 16:03:59    1946377

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Obviously a serious batch of stuff going around Meath/Westmeath border at the moment.

I admire you optimism but Meath a poor side who absolute bottle it when they get a good lead. You blame previous manager but same happened when ye got comfortable lead against Laois last weekend. You have very high opinion on Andy McEntee and probably rightly so he has great CV from my own experience and through work I am very close with a Ballyboden club man and he doesn't rate him that highly. This despite the fact he won an all Ireland with them so personally I will wait and see how he gets on with Meath."
To be fair Cuckoosinging McEntee is a good manager, on paper he's probably our best manager since Boylan (although Eamon O'Brien certainly wasn't a bad manager either). The man you know from Ballyboden who doesn't rate him highly may well have personal issues with McEntee, you wouldn't know.

But anyway, I'm well aware that having a good manager doesn't guarantee anything, a lot of things still have to go right and of course you need the players. So far our lads haven't shown anything to suggest we're ready to mix it with the best, but that is the challenge.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/01/2017 16:10:39    1946381

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Obviously a serious batch of stuff going around Meath/Westmeath border at the moment.

I admire you optimism but Meath a poor side who absolute bottle it when they get a good lead. You blame previous manager but same happened when ye got comfortable lead against Laois last weekend. You have very high opinion on Andy McEntee and probably rightly so he has great CV from my own experience and through work I am very close with a Ballyboden club man and he doesn't rate him that highly. This despite the fact he won an all Ireland with them so personally I will wait and see how he gets on with Meath."
I will quote Micheal daragh McCauley. "Andy McEntee is the best manager I have played under" now pardon me but ill take a multiple all ire winner and all star ahead of a lad who is obviously annoyed that he left his club to manage Meath. Again his cv reads taken Meath minors to both Leinster and all ire finals. Taking the 4/5th fab team in Dublin county championship to win it then win Leinster and all ire. Actually better cv than mcstay by some distance.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 16:25:16    1946387

Oh and he also is been assisted by his brother and Donal Curtis both all Ireland medallists. And Gerry also managed st Bridget's of Dublin to all ire success too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 16:27:36    1946388

Replying To Seamy_Hendrix:  "Underage success never has nor ever will guarantee success. You think in a few years, Dublin's main rivals will be Meath and Kildare, not the likes of Kerry, May and the cream of Ulster? Fair play to ye !"
Ye that's exactly what I'm saying

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 17/01/2017 16:47:28    1946402

Was talking to an Offaly lad who was at the recent OBC game against Kildare. He was realy impressed with the size and athletism of Kildare. This is an aspect were Meath really struggle.At underage Meath have only started to do weights,gym work etc since last year.I still think that the senior squad overall needs to bulk up.Most dv1 teams have a physical presence and mental toughness.I believe McEntee is the right man to lead Meath,but it could take 3 years for him to see big improvements.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 17:16:31    1946408

From a Meath point of view I think promotion is possible but the early rounds will dictate that, crucially Meath have three of their first four games at home (Kildare, Derry, Galway) with one away (Down). Now all those games are winnable in my view but a minimum return of 6 points from a possible 8 would be required to be contenders from those four games before we face Cork (away) , Fermanagh (home) and Clare (away). I would see Cork and Galway as the most difficult games on paper but any team in this division could cause problems and as is the trend with Division 2 in recent years teams will take points off each other. If Meath can develop a tougher and stronger mental attitude, which has been sorely absent in recent years, then they could be promoted as the footballers are there to get promoted but we shall wait and see personally I wouldn't put the mortgage on the outcome of this division up or down.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 17:18:34    1946409

Meath and Kildale to go down. Any of the other teams capable of getting promoted - may depend on the number of home games they have.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/01/2017 17:29:19    1946412

Replying To Breffni39:  "Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question.

Oh man, that is a real doozy"
No one thought Cavan would get promoted after the first two games last year and if Meath had been half way mentally tuned in we would of kicked ye out of Pairc Tailteann, but we didn't and ye ended up kicking us out of Pairc Tailteann and ye got promoted, just goes to show what can happen, if we as supporters don't have some degree of optimism and enthusiasm then there would be very little point in being a supporter.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 17:35:24    1946415

Replying To Breffni39:  "Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question.

Are you looking at the division 2 thread to see what awaits you next near ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 17:37:41    1946419

Replying To neverright:  "Meath and Kildale to go down. Any of the other teams capable of getting promoted - may depend on the number of home games they have."
With a username like that forgive me if I don't rush to the bookies with your predictions......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 17:40:39    1946422

Replying To neverright:  "Meath and Kildale to go down. Any of the other teams capable of getting promoted - may depend on the number of home games they have."
Yes of course the wise words of a rossie. Are we to have a rossie day this year??? :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 17:40:47    1946423

Clare could surprise people who take them lightly. Teams will find it tough going in Cusack Park.

Cork appear to have fallen away big time in the last few years and it wouldn't surprise me if they struggle to gain promotion in this division.

I don't believe Kildare have the depth to challenge for promotion although I would be hopeful we'll have enough to stay up.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 17/01/2017 17:53:47    1946433

Replying To royaldunne:  "

Are you looking at the division 2 thread to see what awaits you next near ??"
No

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 17/01/2017 18:13:18    1946438

Replying To Richieq:  "

No one thought Cavan would get promoted after the first two games last year and if Meath had been half way mentally tuned in we would of kicked ye out of Pairc Tailteann, but we didn't and ye ended up kicking us out of Pairc Tailteann and ye got promoted, just goes to show what can happen, if we as supporters don't have some degree of optimism and enthusiasm then there would be very little point in being a supporter."
Big difference in optimism/enthusiasm and straight up arrogance.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 17/01/2017 18:15:08    1946440

Replying To beir_bua:  "Clare could surprise people who take them lightly. Teams will find it tough going in Cusack Park.

Cork appear to have fallen away big time in the last few years and it wouldn't surprise me if they struggle to gain promotion in this division.

I don't believe Kildare have the depth to challenge for promotion although I would be hopeful we'll have enough to stay up."
Yeah agree with you there Clare will be tough opposition on their own patch no doubt.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 18:33:46    1946449

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To Richieq:  "[quote=Breffni39:  "Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question.

No one thought Cavan would get promoted after the first two games last year and if Meath had been half way mentally tuned in we would of kicked ye out of Pairc Tailteann, but we didn't and ye ended up kicking us out of Pairc Tailteann and ye got promoted, just goes to show what can happen, if we as supporters don't have some degree of optimism and enthusiasm then there would be very little point in being a supporter."
Big difference in optimism/enthusiasm and straight up arrogance."]Oh I don't know if it's arrogance, a little over excited maybe but RD has a spring in his step thanks to Andy Mc, your southern neighbours haven't had much to cheer of late and sure we're dying to match your boys in Division 1, don't deny us a bit of unbridled giddiness, it may be justified or it may not we shall see. For what it's worth I think Cavan will do well in Division 1 and I'm looking forward to the welcome ye afford the Dubs.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 18:38:45    1946451