O'Byrne Cup 2017

Replying To royaldunne:  "Great win for Meath, yes its early January but a great start for Andy, and well done to Graham on been named captain. Wicklow were shocking, but you can only play what's in front of you. Totally new style from Andy great mixture of attack and defending, covering lots of space, plus he has unearthed a few very nice player.
Onwards and upwards
Hon the Royal"
a home game for a div 2 team over a div 4 game isnt too much to be getting giddy about...the meath team of 12 months ago would have beaten them by the same scoreline. its wicklow royaldunne!!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 08/01/2017 18:41:40    1944054

Replying To juniorjudge:  "a home game for a div 2 team over a div 4 game isnt too much to be getting giddy about...the meath team of 12 months ago would have beaten them by the same scoreline. its wicklow royaldunne!!"
First off glad to see you came up to the match, fair play. I'm assuming you were at it, otherwise you could not know the difference, and only going on reports.
The Meath team of 12 months ago would have won, but not in such a manner, and no Meath man will say different.
Its a new era in Meath football and come championship Meath will be a division one side again.
But thanks for coming to see Andy's charges

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2017 19:16:14    1944071

Replying To NAIL_BAR:  "Were talking Leinster at least this year. All-Ireland maybe not this year, but within the next 3 years ."
That's the spirit:). I wont be as optimistic, division 1 yes, Leinster final yes last 8'yes, that'll do for year one, anything else is a bonus.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2017 19:19:48    1944072

Replying To juniorjudge:  "a home game for a div 2 team over a div 4 game isnt too much to be getting giddy about...the meath team of 12 months ago would have beaten them by the same scoreline. its wicklow royaldunne!!"
Only one game,but Meath did look a lot better as a structered untit. We barely beat Wicklow at home in the champ just two years ago..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/01/2017 19:20:35    1944073

Replying To royaldunne:  "First off glad to see you came up to the match, fair play. I'm assuming you were at it, otherwise you could not know the difference, and only going on reports.
The Meath team of 12 months ago would have won, but not in such a manner, and no Meath man will say different.
Its a new era in Meath football and come championship Meath will be a division one side again.
But thanks for coming to see Andy's charges"
your right and your welcome, i think!! i did go to it. just reading your other replies...promotion, leinster final and last 8 this year?? ive not heard any other meath man set the bar that high after 1 year for AM.....year 2 more realistically...you seem to think im having a go..im not...but your reaction to beating wicklow is a bit bizarre. what are you expecting v DIT wednesday for the craic?

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 08/01/2017 20:20:43    1944096

Replying To juniorjudge:  "your right and your welcome, i think!! i did go to it. just reading your other replies...promotion, leinster final and last 8 this year?? ive not heard any other meath man set the bar that high after 1 year for AM.....year 2 more realistically...you seem to think im having a go..im not...but your reaction to beating wicklow is a bit bizarre. what are you expecting v DIT wednesday for the craic?"
I dont know what you talking about tbh. What reaction? I said no more than anybody about the match, they did well but the opposition were terrible, I've stated that the players looked fitter they were, I've stated I was happy with game one and we shouldn't get carried away.
Now before this match I also stated that the goal must be promotion and last 8, actually that is the said goals of not only this management but previous one too.and I think you will find that majority of supporters would feel the same. The goal is promotion firstly and quarters afterwards. Its highly realistic and achievable too, I am not expecting us to beat dubs, but if likes of tipp can reach semis we can reach quarters. No disrespect to tipp . But those are the goals. Todays match means nothing other than what Meath did under new manager, win loss or draw, all Tha matter is are the players been managed properly, trust me we have as good as team as many that have reached last 8'or division 1 only its been mismanaged, that has now changed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2017 20:59:53    1944113

A Waterford man going to meath vs wicklow in an o Byrne cup match on the 8th of January a bit more bizarre no? ..cheers for your interest anyhow.

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 08/01/2017 21:36:40    1944128

What was with the amount of subs used
dublin used 7 and DCU used 9 ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/01/2017 22:47:16    1944166

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What was with the amount of subs used
dublin used 7 and DCU used 9 ?"
no limit of subs in this comp

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 09/01/2017 07:12:21    1944194

Did Wicklow turn up to lose? That was atrocious stuff, Meath learned absolutely nothing from it.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 09/01/2017 08:56:54    1944202

4500 in navan yesterday, 99% of those from Meath. That's some crowd for January, feel good feeling has returned to Meath football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2017 09:41:39    1944210

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Did Wicklow turn up to lose? That was atrocious stuff, Meath learned absolutely nothing from it."
You are right in wicklow been terrible, however you can only play what's in front of you and do it professional and methodical, and Meath did that we will learn more from next two matches

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2017 09:45:04    1944214

Went to see Laois play DIT yesterday As im living locally ...

Decent performance by an understrenght Laois side who fought for everything like it was a championship match...Creedon seems to have been well received by the players.

Donie Kingston was again very good he really is a terrific player.

Two new players in Sean Moore and Ambrose Doran showed very well ....

Laois are a good bet to win division 3 in my humble opinion!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 09/01/2017 10:54:09    1944231

I won't be happy until we win this elusive cup :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 09/01/2017 22:16:03    1944427

Better catch this one before the party is over ;)

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 10/01/2017 01:00:21    1944450

Replying To realdub:  "I won't be happy until we win this elusive cup :D"
Ah realdub, ye're sure to win it soon, the most coveted trophy for the Dubs to win. Although with the new resurgant Meath ye will find it hard to beat Meath in the O'Byrne Cup.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 10/01/2017 01:49:46    1944452

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "Went to see Laois play DIT yesterday As im living locally ...

Decent performance by an understrenght Laois side who fought for everything like it was a championship match...Creedon seems to have been well received by the players.

Donie Kingston was again very good he really is a terrific player.

Two new players in Sean Moore and Ambrose Doran showed very well ....

Laois are a good bet to win division 3 in my humble opinion!"
Bigjohn, what do you think about Galway's chances of getting back to Div 1? As Connacht Champions it should be a great motivating factor. The biggest shock last year was Galway being hammered by Tipperery after winning Connacht. Yet Mayo went on to the All-Ireland Final. Do you think that Galway will have the ability and the belief in themselves to beat Mayo this year, whether in Connacht or beyond? Or have the Present Mayo team too much experience for a younger and inexperienced Galway team?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 10/01/2017 02:18:46    1944454

Looking forward to this evening

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2017 13:11:44    1944835

The Live Tracker tonight said that Ben Brosnan notched his 100th goal for Wexford tonight. They can't all be senior goals, can they?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 11/01/2017 21:14:44    1944979

Replying To m_the_d:  "The Live Tracker tonight said that Ben Brosnan notched his 100th goal for Wexford tonight. They can't all be senior goals, can they?"
100th appearance.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/01/2017 22:17:03    1945003