Katie Taylor

Clondalkin - Does everyone in Clondalkin have as sparkling a teeth as Bernard?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/08/2012 18:06:40    1242550

09/08/2012 17:56:07
Tyronetim
Great Scenes there at the presentation the other 3 girls all very genrous and seem pleased - particularly impressed with the Russian girl.
Oscar De la Hoya - congratulating her and describing as amazing great praise for her. Her earning potential is enormous now - hope she gets her piece.

I agree with you on the great scenes at the medal presentation but thought the russian had a bit of a puss on her face and was almost sulking on the medal presentation
Katie has to be a shoe in for RTE Sports Personality of the Year now.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/08/2012 18:07:06    1242551

51 google map or even wiki bray and you will see.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/08/2012 18:08:33    1242552

Evander Holyfield joins the masses on Twitter in congratulating Taylor: "It's gold for the Fighting Irish!! Katie Taylor wins gold for Ireland!"

Very humbling her these boxing greats sit up and take notice.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/08/2012 18:12:37    1242554

Enough GAA players from Wicklow have won All Irelands for Dublin but Kathy is Wicklow true and true.

anpleota (Wicklow) - Posts: 204 - 09/08/2012 18:16:12    1242558

Brilliant for katie. I believe da scenes were class never got to see it as i was in work. any one know what time highlights is on at...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 09/08/2012 18:17:19    1242559

Fair play to Bernard Dunne for doing his little bit as Gaeilge before the fight, he is a great example and a welcome change to those who ridicule and hate our own language.

anpleota (Wicklow) - Posts: 204 - 09/08/2012 18:21:54    1242562

Well done Katie, as usual it's one of us culchies putting Ireland on the map.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/08/2012 18:24:22    1242565

Ormond...maybe I expected her to be like that but watching here at work and the two of them were having a great chat and laugh with each maybe you'll get to see it again later but very impressed by the Russian given her disappoointmnet and the fact she has beaten her before.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/08/2012 18:28:09    1242570

Everytime I hear her interviewed I'm always struck by that thick Wickla accent of hers. North Wickla I'm thinking. Very far North....

FloridaDub (USA) - Posts: 64 - 09/08/2012 18:47:18    1242580

True and true hahaha her Da is English and her Ma is inner city dub hahaha

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/08/2012 18:47:31    1242581

Absolutely ecstatic, great day for Ireland. Comhghairdeas Katie!!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 09/08/2012 18:48:02    1242582

well done katie glad she won for herself and her family and coaches as their the people who realy helped and supported her and the 200 people who turned up to see her last fight in bray a couple of weeks ago,not like the media and bandwagoners who put the pressure on her o er the last week,only in ireland could you win 4 world championships and 5 european championships and half the country not know you until the media decide to get the finger out.
comghairdeas katie taylor!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 18:59:32    1242588

1242528 Jimbo she's from the north estates of bray which are in Dublin , her Ma is pure inner city Dub. I guarantee you she would say she's a Dub if you asked her privately.

would you be prepared to make a E1000 to charity if proven wrong. Not withstanding your "privately" cop out

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 19:02:04    1242592

BettystownRoyal

Well done Katie, as usual it's one of us culchies putting Ireland on the map.

i thaught its only dubs who boo?what was with all the culchies in the arena as the boos for the russian girl when her name was announced was deafining.
also when the russian girl won the 2nd round the boos rained down

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 19:05:07    1242595

It was a truly emotional fight with her being down in the second round of the fight and having to come back...it was cagey and tense with each player holding each other (as somebody else said it was probably the nerves and the fear of failure)..but Katie is a true champion..her four world championships have proven that a long time ago, today's gold medal has embellished her greatness..as I said, emotional, nearly shed a tear watching..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/08/2012 19:06:04    1242596

clondalkindub,

Kathy is from Ballywaltrim on the south side of Bray as near to the Sugar Loaf as to Dublin, sure the Brits are claiming her as well so you are not on your own.

anpleota (Wicklow) - Posts: 204 - 09/08/2012 19:06:54    1242598

4 time world champion, 5 time european champion,
ive said thousands of times before the olympics that she is currently our greatest sportsperson,katie just never got the recognition.
olympic gold and now thankfully she will get all the recognition she deserves, she is brilliant.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/08/2012 19:07:46    1242600

1242505 The pride of Dublin

You've posted this elsewhere, Any particular reason?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 19:13:06    1242607

Comhghairdeas ó chroí le Katie. Laoch, Gael, Banríon, Bród are words that come to mind. A true Irish hero and sporting legend.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/08/2012 19:15:27    1242611