Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4423
1147168 Dublin......The only county of 'National Importance'!!!
We are the 'hub of the GAA', so important that thread after thread after thread after thread from non Dubs is about us!!
Like the MEN that went out this weekend 96 years ago for this country we are the bravest of all men and the leaders of everything!!......Where Dublin leads - Ireland follows!! (Except 96 years ago what us Dubs were doing was so dangerous.....ye didnt bother to follow us at all and left us to our fate......which is why us Dubs never rate ye as MEN)!!!!
I nearly choked on my egg when i read this one - Hilarious stuff - typical dub not knowing anything about History. So you reckon all the leaders of the 1916 rising were in fact "Dubs"? Haha. I think two of them were - Patrick Pearse and J.Plunkett
James Connolly - Scottish Tom Clarkre - Dungannon, Co.Tyrone Sean MacDermott - Leitrim
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 09/04/2012 17:26:55
C'mon cacs, Snuffy is the one who thinks Ireland only exists in any conceivable medium for the sake of Dublin
Although your post was worth a chuckle alright
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/04/2012 18:06:28
I think their disipline has let them down during the league to be honest in nearly every match someone has got sent off or banned! But then again the refs have been giving cards out none stop and for the most stupid reasons. Though they need to work on disipline because they are letting themselves down with conceding so many frees...
megandub (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 09/04/2012 18:43:07
Indeed cacs old snuf like many in modern day Ireland are quite ignorant of their history. The first female into the GPO during the Rising was a County Down woman Winifred Carney from Bangor. She was a great friend of James Connolly and was his personal secretary while Connolly was in Belfast through both their involvement in the trade union movement. Carney remained at Connolly's side through their time in the GPO and he gave her a revolver, she refused to leave him as he lay injured and was one of the last volunteers to vacate the GPO. She was held in Aylesbury after the uprising, took sides with the Anti Treaty Forces during the Civil War, was interned several times by Free State Forces, died in 1943 and is buried just inside the gates at Milltown cemetary in Belfast.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/04/2012 18:56:41
Thomas Clarke - Isle of Wight
Typical tyronies trying to claim a patriot who isnt theirs....in an effort to 'belong' to Easter 1916!!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2012 19:00:15
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 301
1147191 Tom Clarkre - Dungannon, Co.Tyrone
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4427
1147294 Thomas Clarke - Isle of Wight
Typical tyronies trying to claim a patriot who isnt theirs....in an effort to 'belong' to Easter 1916!!!
ZING
b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 09/04/2012 19:18:13
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4427
1147168 Dublin......The only county of 'National Importance'!!!
We are the 'hub of the GAA', so important that thread after thread after thread after thread from non Dubs is about us!!
Like the MEN that went out this weekend 96 years ago for this country we are the bravest of all men and the leaders of everything!!......Where Dublin leads - Ireland follows!! (Except 96 years ago what us Dubs were doing was so dangerous.....ye didnt bother to follow us at all and left us to our fate......which is why us Dubs never rate ye as MEN)!!!!
From what i remember the Easter Rising was a fail, a little like the Dubs quest for 100% of national titles this year dont you think? Remember you were on about that for months on end? What happened there?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/04/2012 19:35:52
moomoo,
Im not in the habit of repeating myself and as you know well I have already answered this for you elsewhere!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2012 20:01:03
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4428
1147360 moomoo,
Im not in the habit of repeating myself and as you know well I have already answered this for you elsewhere!
Why dont you answer hear for everyone to see?? As for not being in the habit of repeating yourself the part in bold would say other wise....
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/04/2012 20:09:36
thats just 1 game from 7
kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 09/04/2012 20:39:58
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4428
Im not in the habit of repeating myself
We all wish that were true!
Hardy har.
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/04/2012 21:19:38
Like the MEN that went out this weekend 96 years ago for this country we are the bravest of all men and the leaders of everything!!......Where Dublin leads - Ireland follows!! (Except 96 years ago what us Dubs were doing was so dangerous.....ye didnt bother to follow us at all and left us to our fate......which is why us Dubs never rate ye as MEN)!!!! Snufalufagus
Flying the union jack for the queen, thats why yis are called jackeens! Take a few history lessons son.
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/04/2012 21:40:21
You are the one requiring history lessons. Jackeen has NOTHING to do with union jacks. The only ones waving them in Dublin in the early 1900s were Dublin loyalists. The Dublin GAA and republicans organised massive counter attractions including matches and protests. We never agreed to continue British rule in Ireland.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 10/04/2012 09:20:16
Flying the union jack for the queen, thats why yis are called jackeens! Take a few history lessons son. TheGateKeeper , 09/04/2012 at 21:40 --------------------------------------------------- Yawn!......'Union Jack'/'Jackeens'.....Yawn!.....the first refuge of the uneducated!! Taken straight from the big book of: "Daddy, 'hand me down' something to slag off the Dubs about because I am jealous of them"!! "OK son, in order to deflect attention away from the sorry non effort of our own county we prefer to slag off the lads in Dublin who actually had the courage to fight for the country while we did nothing"! "So son, I want you to call the 'Jackeens' because the loyalists among them once waved the Union Jack when the King visited Dublin." "But Daddy, didnt the King once visit Cork and there are pictures on the internet of all the Union Jacks flying there for him?" "Yes son, but we will ignore that and ignore where the term 'Rebel County' came from too!" "Daddy, what did (insert county here) ever do for Ireland?" "Er, Em, Eh....you ask too many questions son...run along now and slag off the ones that had the courage, thats a good lad!"
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/04/2012 09:40:27
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4430
1147545 Flying the union jack for the queen, thats why yis are called jackeens! Take a few history lessons son. TheGateKeeper , 09/04/2012 at 21:40 --------------------------------------------------- Yawn!......'Union Jack'/'Jackeens'.....Yawn!.....the first refuge of the uneducated!! Taken straight from the big book of: "Daddy, 'hand me down' something to slag off the Dubs about because I am jealous of them"!! "OK son, in order to deflect attention away from the sorry non effort of our own county we prefer to slag off the lads in Dublin who actually had the courage to fight for the country while we did nothing"! "So son, I want you to call the 'Jackeens' because the loyalists among them once waved the Union Jack when the King visited Dublin." "But Daddy, didnt the King once visit Cork and there are pictures on the internet of all the Union Jacks flying there for him?" "Yes son, but we will ignore that and ignore where the term 'Rebel County' came from too!" "Daddy, what did (insert county here) ever do for Ireland?" "Er, Em, Eh....you ask too many questions son...run along now and slag off the ones that had the courage, thats a good lad!"
Thats a bit like how you ignore the fact any national hurling title has won was never a full team of Dubs?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 10/04/2012 12:40:58
C'mon guys, the thread is about Dublin's discipline, I'm sure there are plenty of history websites with forums to discuss 1916
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 10/04/2012 12:47:56
moomoo,
Has any team?
Portumna needed two Tipp lads to win their club titles, while Tipp needed a Dublin lad to Captain them to AI Glory before, likewise the Kerry hurlers were trying to bend all sorts of parish rules to get a Dub to play for them while Cork footballers had a lad from my own village win an AI medal with them two years ago!!
Whats your point?!
As the Christy Moore song goes: "We go there and they come here!"
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/04/2012 12:54:15
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4431
1147786 moomoo,
Has any team?
Portumna needed two Tipp lads to win their club titles, while Tipp needed a Dublin lad to Captain them to AI Glory before, likewise the Kerry hurlers were trying to bend all sorts of parish rules to get a Dub to play for them while Cork footballers had a lad from my own village win an AI medal with them two years ago!!
Whats your point?!
As the Christy Moore song goes: "We go there and they come here!"
How many non Kerry players played when Kerry last won the All Ireland? Or any of them for that matter? In fact Dublin clubs cant even win there own county championships without outside players
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 10/04/2012 13:04:20
I didn't think it was a dirty match and, having watched many Cork/Kerry matches, I think I know what dirt is.
The referee gave out a lot of yellow cards and it seemed to be a case with him that "I'll penalise Dublin for the first twenty minutes, for the rest of the half, I'll just penalise Cork." It was a very poor performance by the referee and the least said about it, the better, but he did not have an influence on the outcome of the game.
Consistency by the officials is what annoys most supporters. I do not mind a lot of frees being given if it helps to cut down the pulling and dragging, but arbitrary frees do not help matters. Cork made better use of the ball when they had possession and that in the end was why they won it.
Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 10/04/2012 13:12:30
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 4431
Cork footballers had a lad from my own village win an AI medal with them two years ago!!
Alan O'Conner played for yous alright but grew up in Neilstown.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 10/04/2012 13:14:53