All Ireland Football Qualifiers

cavan and tipperary will be a cracker of a game

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 26/06/2017 09:39:12    2005418

Replying To s goldrick:  "That's a bad record allright Seanie. That down game will have knocked the stuffing out oif yous too but I also think O'Rourke will have learnt a lot from that game"
If we only had a week to prepare then I'd be very worried, as we seen what happened against Longford last year. But I'd hope they can regroup in 2 weeks and go down to Wexford and win.

Getting back to the quarter finals is still very much achievable for us, and really it's that stage where this team has it all to prove moreso than in Ulster. We just have to show now that we have the stomach for the qualifiers. Some lads on Saturday evening seemed like they felt they just had to turn up to win a semi final, and they got a rude awakening. I'd hope that will light a fire under them now, it's either that or wilt away like we did last year.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 26/06/2017 09:55:47    2005443

Replying To s goldrick:  "That's a bad record allright Seanie. That down game will have knocked the stuffing out oif yous too but I also think O'Rourke will have learnt a lot from that game"
Yip it is and it it comes down to our strengths being well set up McManus etc being used against us. Too predictable and no plan B.We need to throw off the shackles the slow handpassing and get quick ball into our forwards. Wexford will have a right go at us and drive hard at our defence. We need to drive straight back from the first whistle and not be waiting around till final ten minutes before playing as we discovered to our cost on Saturday night the game could well be gone at that stage. Some of o rourkes comments this Summer have worried me on that score seems happy to contain the opposition then hit for home in final quarter instead of backing his players to get job done from the get go.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 26/06/2017 09:55:52    2005444

Replying To seanie08:  "Banty will be fired up alright but if our lads are not for this one we might as well go back to div4 where he found us. He is not as loved in Monaghan as the media seem to think. We arguably had a better group of players than now during his tenure and blew a few ulster. My bigger worry is we have a brutal record in last 10 yrs against Leinster opposition in qualifiers one win from six matches."
I'm not doing the cute hoor thing, honest I'm not, and I hope I'm wrong but I can't realistically see this one being a contest.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 11:09:29    2005534

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I'm not doing the cute hoor thing, honest I'm not, and I hope I'm wrong but I can't realistically see this one being a contest."
I can see a monaghan backlash. I know that's a clitche saying but I feel they will go out against wexford with the upmost respect to them. If they play with the intense mentality we know they have they will win.

larrymullanjr (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 26/06/2017 11:22:57    2005549

Banty will certainly milk this one.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 26/06/2017 12:36:13    2005633

Replying To salvador:  "Banty will certainly milk this one."
He will !! He will love the next two weeks.

larrymullanjr (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 26/06/2017 13:17:40    2005682

Why can't the GAA go back to doing the Qualifer draw on the Sunday Game, either the afternoon or the Sunday Game highlights as used to be the case until a few years ago? What is the purpose of doing it at 8.30 on the Radio on a Monday morning?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 26/06/2017 15:31:55    2005816

Some appealing odds on the main page for the qualifiers. Westmeath, Tipp, Wexford and Leitrim might be worth throwing into a small Lucky 15

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/06/2017 16:01:01    2005843

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some appealing odds on the main page for the qualifiers. Westmeath, Tipp, Wexford and Leitrim might be worth throwing into a small Lucky 15"
I cannot believe the odds of 11/4 on Tipp. Doubt the bookies are that stupid.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 26/06/2017 21:28:15    2006032

Replying To salvador:  "Banty will certainly milk this one."
You really are obsessed with Banty and "milking". !!!!

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 26/06/2017 21:38:49    2006042

Well, I have a nasty feeling Monaghan will tear us a new one, that's the bad news (well, for yellowbellies anyways) but the good news (for me) is I'll at least get to see it! My dad fancies a week home next month so I've told him that's the ideal one & fingers crossed Carlow v Leitrim's on the other day that weekend as I fancy a double header

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 21:41:25    2006044

Replying To Hardtimes:  "I cannot believe the odds of 11/4 on Tipp. Doubt the bookies are that stupid."
No they arent stupid, they are taking our situation at present and have the odds about right if you ask me

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 26/06/2017 21:51:55    2006055

Replying To tipp11:  "No they arent stupid, they are taking our situation at present and have the odds about right if you ask me"
There is no way those odds are correct and I'd be shocked if they stay at that. Worth a tonne bet because you will never get better value. Tipp are a Division 2 side, same as us and have a better full forward line. Given you're coming off a loss, we're coming off a win and home advantage I might accept slight favourites tag but those odds are ridiculous.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 26/06/2017 22:16:56    2006070

I'd make Tipp slight favourites in fact, but I'm basing that purely on last season because I don't get to see much of the league over here in England.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 22:39:55    2006081

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I'd make Tipp slight favourites in fact, but I'm basing that purely on last season because I don't get to see much of the league over here in England."
If Tipp had last year's panel they would be favourities, but away to a decent Cavan team, with the injuries they have, it is a tough draw.

Still though 11/4 does look a bit much. They won Division 3 and should have beaten Cork so I would thought the odds would be shorter than that,

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 26/06/2017 23:06:16    2006092

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I'd make Tipp slight favourites in fact, but I'm basing that purely on last season because I don't get to see much of the league over here in England."
11 injured players with 1 suspended we don't stand a chance.
We won last year in Cavan which is good given its not new ground to visit.
Without Quilvan we won't get near Cavan.
Talk of a new keeper coming ex minor and current Longford town FC keeper. Great kick out,super distribution and commands the back line well.
We messed up second half against Cork in the kick out and that lost us the game.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/06/2017 23:53:09    2006111

Watched the highlights of Tipp and Cork last night. Tipp were deplorable. I'd say the odds aren't far off.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 27/06/2017 09:27:19    2006159

Cavan simply don't score enough against decent opposition, whether it's tactics or our players it's getting increasingly difficult to tell. either way it is very frustrating. So if Tipp can score 1:13 or 1:14 they will probably beat us. 11/4 are "fantastic" odds. when you consider that Westmeath took 2 games to beat Offaly and were then annihilated by Dublin and we struggled to put Offaly away , it doesn't bode well for us.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/06/2017 10:24:56    2006178

Replying To thegadfly:  "Watched the highlights of Tipp and Cork last night. Tipp were deplorable. I'd say the odds aren't far off."
I don't know how you can say that. I thought Tipp were good. They should have won that game despite losing Quinlivan early on. George Hannigan at Midfield and Conor Sweeney in Attack will be very hard to stop. They are also very tight defencively. Cork only scored 1 point against them in the first half and that's with players with the calibre of Paul Kerrigan, Colm O' Neill, Connolly, hurley etc. I am not talking Tipp up, I am being realistic. I can't understand those odds.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/06/2017 10:35:19    2006188