Leinster football championship

Replying To jimbodub:  ":)

Another wave of talented U21s on the way"
Out of interest how many u21 titles do Dublin have? We have quite a talented set ourselves only majority were out bloody injured this year for some weird reason. Actually id have a fair few quid on Galway beating Dublin in final. That Donegal team were absolutely awful, standard of ulster is slipping dramatically.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/04/2017 20:06:58    1979696

Replying To royaldunne:  "Out of interest how many u21 titles do Dublin have? We have quite a talented set ourselves only majority were out bloody injured this year for some weird reason. Actually id have a fair few quid on Galway beating Dublin in final. That Donegal team were absolutely awful, standard of ulster is slipping dramatically."
You'll have to part with a few bob to win anything decent, as they are odds on favourites.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 15/04/2017 21:11:38    1979714

Replying To royaldunne:  "Out of interest how many u21 titles do Dublin have? We have quite a talented set ourselves only majority were out bloody injured this year for some weird reason. Actually id have a fair few quid on Galway beating Dublin in final. That Donegal team were absolutely awful, standard of ulster is slipping dramatically."
We have won 4 u21 titles 2003, 2010, 2012 &, 2014

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 15/04/2017 21:27:06    1979719

Dublin have won the last 4 U21 Leinsters

Meath nowhere near good enough to trouble Dublin anytime soon

Get out of Div 2, forget about Leinster, it ain't going to happen this decade

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/04/2017 21:29:15    1979722

Replying To Gael85:  "We have won 4 u21 titles 2003, 2010, 2012 &, 2014"
While that would assume there is a trend to senior success, Meath only ever won one, Kildare have more. U21 doesn't always mean senior success although it always helps

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/04/2017 21:45:18    1979731

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin have won the last 4 U21 Leinsters

Get out of Div 2, forget about Leinster, it ain't going to happen this decade"
Not worried about div 2 not getting out of it this year, under the messiah things have taken off quicker than anyone expected with only 3 game settling in . 7/8 points at end, county players on fire for clubs , arguably playing better football at end of league than those promoted also with Kildare putting out b team added to it. Trust me we will trouble dubs should we meet them, and as many of your own (players included) have stated Andy McEntee is the best manager they have ever seen. Andy's focus will be on winning Leinster. All hail Andy. Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/04/2017 21:51:15    1979734

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin have won the last 4 U21 Leinsters

Get out of Div 2, forget about Leinster, it ain't going to happen this decade"
You have every right to be dismissive, however we all know better. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/04/2017 21:52:32    1979735

Replying To royaldunne:  "You have every right to be dismissive, however we all know better. :)"
Just see zero evidence to even remotely justify your confidence, as I said forget about Dublin. I'd be thinking decent run through back door. Maybe even going out with style, then it's time to try and get into Div 1.

Sticking your chest out, doesn't cut it and I see a lot of Meath posturing on here as of late

You'll need to be a lot more patient RD

There's still a fair bit of loss ahead before the wave breaks

Setup with the blanket, try and frustrate, tactically foul, lie down injured, do all you can to slow down Dublin

And yiz may keep it to under 8pts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/04/2017 22:30:05    1979747

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not worried about div 2 not getting out of it this year, under the messiah things have taken off quicker than anyone expected with only 3 game settling in . 7/8 points at end, county players on fire for clubs , arguably playing better football at end of league than those promoted also with Kildare putting out b team added to it. Trust me we will trouble dubs should we meet them, and as many of your own (players included) have stated Andy McEntee is the best manager they have ever seen. Andy's focus will be on winning Leinster. All hail Andy. Hon the Royal"
Both meath and kildare will be closer to dublin this year and if meath do get to a final they will have the benifit of having played both louth and kildare. Two teams in decent form this year whereas dublin will really only have played westmeath as the likely semi who while in good form its div 4 form. Be interesting to see how meath will play /setup. Dublin seem most susceptible to pace through the center , can meath or kildare attack Dublin with the pace needed to put pressure on them while still keeping it solid at the back to keep the score manageable enough to win. All likelihood says no but a goal or two , a red or a black or two . Who knows ?

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 16/04/2017 10:26:53    1979794

I'm totally with Jimbo.

I completely dismiss Meath, Kildare and Louth. Disrespectful ? Maybe, whatever.... But its an honest assessment based on what ive seen over the past few years and even this league campaign despite Dublin being poor.

Whatever about Kildare and Louth, I don't see where this confidence in Meath is coming from.

Ok with a new manager it looks like they are showing a little bit of fighting spirit associated with Meath teams of the 90s, but this isn't the 90s anymore.

You wont beat Dublin just by having a fighting spirit. You need the players, And that panel just isn't comparable to Dublin.

I know people don't put a lot of emphasis on the league, but the stats don't like, The best teams who make it far all play in division one. Sometimes there are exceptions to the rule, but the cream rises to the top.

Meath are seriously handicapped by the fact they haven't played a division one team since they last met and caved in against Dublin. Its all well and good smashing Fermanagh and Clare off the field, Try doing that to a far superior opposition in Croke park and you will be embarrassed. Naïve thing to do and I'm sure the messiah McEntee knows this.

Dublin are playing far superior teams to Meath all year, with many first team lads out and still ended up with more points than anyone else at the end of the 7 games. Granted we were lucky but up until the final Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan, none of them beat us.

Meath are a team at the beginning of a long road to make them COMPETITIVE again. Dublin are the kings on their pedestal.

Anyone who thinks that Meath team will beat Dublin is doing one of two things, theyre either on the wind up, or they are talking through their holes. Cause its not happening this year.

Dublin are just far too good, I'm not saying that Meath/Kildare/Louth wont win a leinster ever again, It just wont happen this year.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/04/2017 11:42:59    1979814

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm totally with Jimbo.

I completely dismiss Meath, Kildare and Louth. Disrespectful ? Maybe, whatever.... But its an honest assessment based on what ive seen over the past few years and even this league campaign despite Dublin being poor.

Whatever about Kildare and Louth, I don't see where this confidence in Meath is coming from.

Ok with a new manager it looks like they are showing a little bit of fighting spirit associated with Meath teams of the 90s, but this isn't the 90s anymore.

You wont beat Dublin just by having a fighting spirit. You need the players, And that panel just isn't comparable to Dublin.

I know people don't put a lot of emphasis on the league, but the stats don't like, The best teams who make it far all play in division one. Sometimes there are exceptions to the rule, but the cream rises to the top.

Meath are seriously handicapped by the fact they haven't played a division one team since they last met and caved in against Dublin. Its all well and good smashing Fermanagh and Clare off the field, Try doing that to a far superior opposition in Croke park and you will be embarrassed. Naïve thing to do and I'm sure the messiah McEntee knows this.

Dublin are playing far superior teams to Meath all year, with many first team lads out and still ended up with more points than anyone else at the end of the 7 games. Granted we were lucky but up until the final Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan, none of them beat us.

Meath are a team at the beginning of a long road to make them COMPETITIVE again. Dublin are the kings on their pedestal.

Anyone who thinks that Meath team will beat Dublin is doing one of two things, theyre either on the wind up, or they are talking through their holes. Cause its not happening this year.

Dublin are just far too good, I'm not saying that Meath/Kildare/Louth wont win a leinster ever again, It just wont happen this year."
That's it realistically. Pointless having a thread even discussing it if we are all being honest. There is nothing to discuss. Nobody good enough to beat us in the province even if others are progressing

What a difference a day makes, from pointless to preaching

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 16/04/2017 13:33:36    1979848

I see the Leinster football semi finals are down for seperate weekend's.
with the Meath kildare etc down for weekend of 17/18 June
and Dublin westmeath etc down for Sunday 25th June.
no venues named I wonder will they be both played outside croke park.
for the last 14/15 years they have always been double headers in croker.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2017 17:57:57    1979901

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I see the Leinster football semi finals are down for seperate weekend's.
with the Meath kildare etc down for weekend of 17/18 June
and Dublin westmeath etc down for Sunday 25th June.
no venues named I wonder will they be both played outside croke park.
for the last 14/15 years they have always been double headers in croker."
I had noticed that myself and mentioned on Meath forum. Also appears that the Meath /louth/ Kildare side is on a Saturday evening. Id say it will portlaiose . Interesting and got to say it will make for a great atmosphere.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2017 18:26:53    1979909

2009 Kildare played Laois in a standalone fixture on a Saturday night in Tullamore.

The big question is whether Meath will be peaking for Leinster ahead of their inevitable assault on Sam.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 16/04/2017 18:39:55    1979914

Replying To royaldunne:  "I had noticed that myself and mentioned on Meath forum. Also appears that the Meath /louth/ Kildare side is on a Saturday evening. Id say it will portlaiose . Interesting and got to say it will make for a great atmosphere."
Could be Saturday or Sunday it says and no venue as the hurling semi final involving Dublin or Galway is down for that weekend too so may depend on if offaly are in that semi in the hurling.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/04/2017 19:21:08    1979932

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Could be Saturday or Sunday it says and no venue as the hurling semi final involving Dublin or Galway is down for that weekend too so may depend on if offaly are in that semi in the hurling."
Yeah interesting that its a stand alone fixture.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2017 21:03:41    1979960

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm totally with Jimbo.

Dublin are just far too good, I'm not saying that Meath/Kildare/Louth wont win a leinster ever again, It just wont happen this year."
I agree this Meath team are at a huge disadvantage compared to the dubs one, not one of Meath team gets a free car, they lucky to get petrol money, none of them get money for promoting hair gel or whatever, they don't own hotels in Meath (even the dubs buy the hotels in Meath) but they have a work ethic and a from the street desire to do the best for their county, without all the pampering and perks , they still are amateurs, but under the brilliance of Andy McEntee they have gelled together and are playing out of their skins, your right we may not win (we may not even meet) but should it come to pass, by Jesus Dublin will know they have had a game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/04/2017 09:45:31    1980063

Replying To royaldunne:  "I agree this Meath team are at a huge disadvantage compared to the dubs one, not one of Meath team gets a free car, they lucky to get petrol money, none of them get money for promoting hair gel or whatever, they don't own hotels in Meath (even the dubs buy the hotels in Meath) but they have a work ethic and a from the street desire to do the best for their county, without all the pampering and perks , they still are amateurs, but under the brilliance of Andy McEntee they have gelled together and are playing out of their skins, your right we may not win (we may not even meet) but should it come to pass, by Jesus Dublin will know they have had a game."
Cringe!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/04/2017 10:08:11    1980069

Replying To royaldunne:  "I agree this Meath team are at a huge disadvantage compared to the dubs one, not one of Meath team gets a free car, they lucky to get petrol money, none of them get money for promoting hair gel or whatever, they don't own hotels in Meath (even the dubs buy the hotels in Meath) but they have a work ethic and a from the street desire to do the best for their county, without all the pampering and perks , they still are amateurs, but under the brilliance of Andy McEntee they have gelled together and are playing out of their skins, your right we may not win (we may not even meet) but should it come to pass, by Jesus Dublin will know they have had a game."
Give it a rest RD....

I know for a fact the Meath lads are receiving many perks across the board...!

As for meeting us and letting us know we were in a game - that is about all ye are good for. Laying down markers...
Nothing new there.

Be careful what you wish for though.

Hate to see you with egg on your face yet again. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 17/04/2017 10:25:09    1980073

Some days you would kill for a bag of Tayto though mate! :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2017 10:53:42    1980078