Bitter rivalries

Seen the thread about friendly rivalries and thought I would take a more sinister angle. I'll start off, as a very Southern Meath man going to a school which is 50% Dubs and living in a dormitory town full off them. I have a genuine dislike for them and can't stand to see them winning (it's been a rough few years). Anybody from other counties feel similarly about a rival ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 01/01/2017 04:07:44    1942527

I just don't understand it, we love you Meath lads, so much :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 01/01/2017 15:20:12    1942566

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Seen the thread about friendly rivalries and thought I would take a more sinister angle. I'll start off, as a very Southern Meath man going to a school which is 50% Dubs and living in a dormitory town full off them. I have a genuine dislike for them and can't stand to see them winning (it's been a rough few years). Anybody from other counties feel similarly about a rival ?"
Well my dislike for you, our noisy neighbours is not the same anymore.

Ye have been long since overtaken..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 01/01/2017 16:02:10    1942571

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Seen the thread about friendly rivalries and thought I would take a more sinister angle. I'll start off, as a very Southern Meath man going to a school which is 50% Dubs and living in a dormitory town full off them. I have a genuine dislike for them and can't stand to see them winning (it's been a rough few years). Anybody from other counties feel similarly about a rival ?"
Are you Colm O'Rourke?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/01/2017 16:04:59    1942572

Well my dislike for you, our noisy neighbours is not the same anymore. Ye have been long since overtaken..!

Fionn (Dublin) - 01/01/2017 16:02:10

Ha ha not so noisy anymore ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/01/2017 16:21:08    1942574

Well of course a dislike for dubs is a natural feeling, however mine would extend the other way, with Offaly Kildare and especially Westmeath been the ones I have most bitterness toward, I actually have not much of a problem with cavan, having lived in bettystown for a bit I actually dont mind Louth even though common wisdom would suggest I should. But no its Offaly Kildare dubs and Westmeath for me in that order.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/01/2017 17:23:36    1942581

In the early to mid 2000's the. Tyrone Armagh rivalry was intense. Before the all Ireland in 2003 I would say there was a hatred there amongst some supporters(not me) and it was quite toxic.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 01/01/2017 18:40:40    1942590

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well of course a dislike for dubs is a natural feeling, however mine would extend the other way, with Offaly Kildare and especially Westmeath been the ones I have most bitterness toward, I actually have not much of a problem with cavan, having lived in bettystown for a bit I actually dont mind Louth even though common wisdom would suggest I should. But no its Offaly Kildare dubs and Westmeath for me in that order."
The latest bitter rivals in Ulster are my own dear county Monaghan and Tyrone. It's a rather embarrassing one if like me you live on the border and you see them as much as your own county gaels. It's also got the extra edge when they blame our crying for being responsible for the dreaded black card. And then there was the hair ruffling.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 01/01/2017 20:16:24    1942594

I'm sure I speak for many when I renew my pledge to strongly dislike all things monaghan. Apart from fermanagh, Armagh, Louth and Tyrone no other county has to deal with such an entity on their doorstep. We in cavan are currently building a unit that we hope shall regularly put our noisy neighbours back into Sam maguire less box.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 01/01/2017 20:37:03    1942598

Kerry v Cork, no other rivlary in the GAA comes close.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/01/2017 20:39:38    1942599

Replying To gotmilk:  "Are you Colm O'Rourke?"
Haha I wish, similar bloodlines though. Leitrim origins but the heart in Meath.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 01/01/2017 22:53:05    1942603

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well of course a dislike for dubs is a natural feeling, however mine would extend the other way, with Offaly Kildare and especially Westmeath been the ones I have most bitterness toward, I actually have not much of a problem with cavan, having lived in bettystown for a bit I actually dont mind Louth even though common wisdom would suggest I should. But no its Offaly Kildare dubs and Westmeath for me in that order."
I also am about a 10 minute walk from the Kildare border. But my dislike for them only exists when we play them for whatever reason (lack of success, no school mates from there). As far as our other border counties go. Offaly, Cavan and Monaghan mean nothing extra. And Weeath and Louth would only mean a little extra on a matchday but nothing more if we weren't playing them

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 01/01/2017 22:55:44    1942604

what makes a Great Summer in the west of Ireland, ???? The Hay saved and the Turf home and Galway beat before Bonefire Night. Up Mayo.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 01/01/2017 23:12:25    1942605

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Cork, no other rivlary in the GAA comes close."
Meath and Dublin rivalry will come very close soon my friend ;)

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 02/01/2017 02:21:47    1942610

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Cork, no other rivlary in the GAA comes close."
Hardly a bitter rivalry Hermit when ye hate them but they dont care about you. Corks rivals are Tipp and KK.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/01/2017 21:37:49    1942697

I'm sure I speak for many when I renew my pledge to strongly dislike all things monaghan. Apart from fermanagh, Armagh, Louth and Tyrone no other county has to deal with such an entity on their doorstep. We in cavan are currently building a unit that we hope shall regularly put our noisy neighbours back into Sam maguire less box.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:442 - 01/01/2017 20:37:03 1

LOL................Must be awful having to watch your nearest neighbours be so successfull, while you's still have to rely on Grandaddy tales about winning titles over 60 years ago..............and now you's are in your 20th year without winning an Ulster senior title..........yous are that bad we dont rate you as a rival,Tyrone is our main rival............

Let me know when you's are finished building this Unit,seems to be taking along time im hearing this from 2011.............future blue and all that

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 02/01/2017 22:58:27    1942708

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hardly a bitter rivalry Hermit when ye hate them but they dont care about you. Corks rivals are Tipp and KK."
I have no hatred towards cork football or cork people in general but I do love it when we beat them and they love it when they beat us.
I hope they make a quick return to division 1 and I hope they get their house in order.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 00:02:52    1942719

Replying To hardcore:  "I'm sure I speak for many when I renew my pledge to strongly dislike all things monaghan. Apart from fermanagh, Armagh, Louth and Tyrone no other county has to deal with such an entity on their doorstep. We in cavan are currently building a unit that we hope shall regularly put our noisy neighbours back into Sam maguire less box.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:442 - 01/01/2017 20:37:03 1

LOL................Must be awful having to watch your nearest neighbours be so successfull, while you's still have to rely on Grandaddy tales about winning titles over 60 years ago..............and now you's are in your 20th year without winning an Ulster senior title..........yous are that bad we dont rate you as a rival,Tyrone is our main rival............

Let me know when you's are finished building this Unit,seems to be taking along time im hearing this from 2011.............future blue and all that"
I'm afraid a lot of that is coming back at you, Tyrone don't see Monaghan as their big rival, one championship defeat in coming on thirty years isn't the stuff that makes for a big rivalry so don't be so condescending to your Breffni neighbour, ask 10 GAA people in Ulster who Monaghan's bitter rival is and 9 will answer Cavan

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 03/01/2017 01:27:07    1942723

It all depends upon which county border is closest to you. From me the big rivalry is Meath and that would go for anyone from Maynooth, Kilcock, Cappagh, Johnstownbridge, Carbury but if you were to ask someone from down the south of the county theyd say Laois or Offaly. Having grown up and went to school with plenty of meath folk there really is nothing better than beating them

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 03/01/2017 01:47:50    1942728

Replying To culmore:  "what makes a Great Summer in the west of Ireland, ???? The Hay saved and the Turf home and Galway beat before Bonefire Night. Up Mayo."
I agree. That said Mayo v Galway has never been a bitter rivalry. Mayo and Galway people are more intertwined through friendship, work and marriage then they might like to admit. While the ball is in play they you wanna see them crash and burn but I have never seen any real dislike.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 03/01/2017 09:37:42    1942741