Benefits top 4 teams enjoy

P Spillane commented yesterday on all county's spending huge amounts on inter county teams which I believe is true but I think the top 4 are now at professional levels of preparation , Mayo have a top class S&C although probably with Mayo before joining Arsenal(this shows how will thought off he is) & Dublin players have meals delivered to them,these teams are now at new levels and now makes it impossible almost for outside teams to compete

golfcar (Roscommon) - Posts: 60 - 08/08/2017 09:24:24    2030791

Dublin players have meals delivered to them

Please, please tell me where you've got this information from?

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 08/08/2017 10:40:48    2030852

Replying To golfcar:  "P Spillane commented yesterday on all county's spending huge amounts on inter county teams which I believe is true but I think the top 4 are now at professional levels of preparation , Mayo have a top class S&C although probably with Mayo before joining Arsenal(this shows how will thought off he is) & Dublin players have meals delivered to them,these teams are now at new levels and now makes it impossible almost for outside teams to compete"
Fake news 're Dublin getting their meals delivered. Philly owns a company called Fitfood and the Ballymun lads BUY from him. Entirely different to all the team getting their meals delivered for free!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 08/08/2017 10:47:04    2030854

Replying To golfcar:  "P Spillane commented yesterday on all county's spending huge amounts on inter county teams which I believe is true but I think the top 4 are now at professional levels of preparation , Mayo have a top class S&C although probably with Mayo before joining Arsenal(this shows how will thought off he is) & Dublin players have meals delivered to them,these teams are now at new levels and now makes it impossible almost for outside teams to compete"
I've had loads of meals delivered to me, Chinese, Indian, Pizzas etc. Never improved my substandard footballing abilities....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/08/2017 10:51:31    2030856

Oh I see. And that's why they made you look like a pub team yesterday, is it?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 08/08/2017 11:02:57    2030868

The vast majority of the difference is that the top 4 teams have better players and more of them.

The rest is icing on the cake looking for that last little bit of edge.

If you were to give Meath the same background support as Dublin and vice versa I'd guess that Dublin would go from being 12 point favourites over Meath to 9 or 10 point favourites.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 08/08/2017 11:16:58    2030875

Antrim footballers had a renounced S&C coach in a few years ago who had worked with professional teams etc. A lot of good that did! It means nothing without talent and commitment

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/08/2017 11:25:43    2030878

Mayo have a top class S&C although probably with Mayo before joining Arsenal(this shows how will thought off he is)

golfcar (Roscommon) - Posts:45 - 08/08/2017

Barry was with Kildare when Jason Ryan was in charge and was with Laois at some stage as well. Didn't hear people complaining about it being a big advantage then...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 08/08/2017 12:15:51    2030919

You can bring in the best back room team ever assembled and all kinds of mind and s and c gurus but if you haven't got good players to start off with its not going to make much of a difference ! To use that old expression (courtesy of my granny) you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 08/08/2017 12:48:56    2030955

Its all swings and roundabouts. The top 4 won't remain the same top 4 forever. Sure it was the top three until Mayo blew Roscommon out yesterday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/08/2017 12:54:28    2030963

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Fake news 're Dublin getting their meals delivered. Philly owns a company called Fitfood and the Ballymun lads BUY from him. Entirely different to all the team getting their meals delivered for free!"
I work with one of the team and have mentioned this to him before having read it here, he thinks it's hilarious and wonders where people get these fake stories from.

Am surprised the OP didn't mention the daily visits by masseurs and the personal shopping service they all get, just to make sure they don't exert themselves too much.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 08/08/2017 12:56:51    2030967

Mayo spent over 1.5 million last year on all teams and won an U-21 got to senior final. They still made a profit due to incomings. Roscommon spent 1.1 million, how much more money do you want? Hilarious thread.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 08/08/2017 13:02:16    2030977

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "I work with one of the team and have mentioned this to him before having read it here, he thinks it's hilarious and wonders where people get these fake stories from.

Am surprised the OP didn't mention the daily visits by masseurs and the personal shopping service they all get, just to make sure they don't exert themselves too much."
Someone did mention on here they all have their own personal masseuse hahahaha! Honest to Jaysus lads haha.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 08/08/2017 13:21:33    2030996

It comes down mostly to playing resources and what you have to pick from as well as organization coaching and a will to succeed.

Kildare, Meath, Galway, Cork and Down have massive picks, These are the teams that should be able to bridge the gap to the top four. Whats their excuse?

whatever about the small counties like Ros and Monaghan at the bottom of the resources spectrum who are desperate to do so but are fighting an uneven and uphill battle. A few injuries or a defection or two is crippling for a small county.

Time for senior. Intermediate and junior All Ireland's simple as.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 08/08/2017 14:11:46    2031033

Replying To salvador:  "It comes down mostly to playing resources and what you have to pick from as well as organization coaching and a will to succeed.

Kildare, Meath, Galway, Cork and Down have massive picks, These are the teams that should be able to bridge the gap to the top four. Whats their excuse?

whatever about the small counties like Ros and Monaghan at the bottom of the resources spectrum who are desperate to do so but are fighting an uneven and uphill battle. A few injuries or a defection or two is crippling for a small county.

Time for senior. Intermediate and junior All Ireland's simple as."
Amazing the shift in attitude from your county after yesterday. A coming team that were destined for big things, a day later it isn't fair.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 08/08/2017 14:58:36    2031073

The top County will always remain the same. It has been like this for the last 100 years and will stay so. Why people believe that the GAA can or should create some utopia is beyond me!

The only way to have a level playing field is a tiered championship (Junior/Inter/Senior).

No other way

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 08/08/2017 15:29:55    2031098

Long summer and loads of threads on here.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/08/2017 15:49:04    2031115

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Amazing the shift in attitude from your county after yesterday. A coming team that were destined for big things, a day later it isn't fair."
We'll be aiming for top eight make no mistake next year and will try to bridge the huge gap in conditioning and physicality to the top four.

Its reality a blind man can see the imbalance. Not complaining at all. A senior. Intermediate and junior is fair

Mayo in fairness more than punch their weight and ye are capable of winning the All Ireland and I hope ye do.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 08/08/2017 15:51:42    2031118

Replying To salvador:  "We'll be aiming for top eight make no mistake next year and will try to bridge the huge gap in conditioning and physicality to the top four.

Its reality a blind man can see the imbalance. Not complaining at all. A senior. Intermediate and junior is fair

Mayo in fairness more than punch their weight and ye are capable of winning the All Ireland and I hope ye do."
Not having a pop at you I am just saying the attitude has totally changed. Roscommon spent well over a million last year, where is the imbalance there? Years and years they keep talking about underage teams and give them a couple of years etc etc. This Roscommon team is no better than any team since 06.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 08/08/2017 16:04:26    2031129

All the small changes favour the big teams

Back Door - improves the chances a big team will win the AI
Black card - not that big a deal to a team with a deeper panel
6 subs - great if you have 6 great players on the bench
Super 8 - A big team can get to last 8, lose a game and still win AI

One change I think i would make to help level the playing field a little would be to go back to 3 subs. That would also increase significance of a black card.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 08/08/2017 16:11:48    2031134