Dublin v Kildare

Prior to yesterdays game, a lot of people on here where saying we can look forward to an interesting, close leinster final. Kildare fresh from running all over Meath have their tails up, but having watched Dublin yesterday have people still got that point of view ?

I have to say while I didn't fear Kildare before yesterday, I was thinking they will give us a bit of a scare. Now though ? I cant see it.

I know Westmeath fell to pieces yesterday and offered very little resistance. I also know that Kildare are a far better team than Westmeath, But Dublin went out there yesterday and showed no mercy and laid down a marker. They look like a wounded animal. The bear has been poked. We've come in for some criticism in the aftermath of the league final and our insipid performance v Carlow. A lot of people beginning to doubt us, some saying we are on the way down, I think yesterday sent out a clear message that we aren't messing around now, We are going for this All Ireland full pelt and as the lads on the SG said yesterday itll take a brilliant team to stop us.

I expect Dublin to kick on and easily dispose of Kildare if I'm honest, Obviously it wont be as handy as a 31 point win, But I fully expect double figures. Anyone think Kildare can keep it tighter than that or even win ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2017 10:57:49    2005521

Well Kildare only just got past us the last year but a lot can change in 12 months I guess. Probably double figures but I'll go slightly lower and predict an 8 point win for the Dubs.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/06/2017 11:03:37    2005527

Kildare will have to go defensive, cynical, and play a push up on Cluxton

Try and copy how Kerry setup

I'm sure O'Neill and Fitzmaurice have been on the blower to each other

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 11:10:27    2005536

Even that GAA Nua program last night was highlighting how to get at Cluxton with zonal marking from kickouts, then he just wellied it to a Kerry player and four seconds later it was in the net. So that is one thing Kildare could do.

The scariest thing about Dublin yesterday was they could bring on Kevin McMenamin. The lad who scored the goal in the 2011 final looking as hungry as ever and he is lethal. I'd say Kildare will give a good account of themselves but it will possibly be a 10 point win.

In 1982 Cork beat Waterford by 31 points in the Munster Hurling final. Waterford were Munster Hurling champions 20 years later. Now not for a second am I saying things will just magically work out for any other team but other counties need to work that hard to compete with Dublin. I also think the championship needs to be restructured into 3, maybe 4 tiers like the NFL and repeats of yesterday be avoided. If Dublin were in a competition with 9 other counties who can compete with them it would be better for all surely.

Lastly, people go on about the backing Dublin get. I have friends who play Junior E & Junior F hurling in the captial. The Dublin GAA is obviously providing a lot of good service to people of all ages which in turn allows a production line of talent. I guess by providing the framework for lads of all ages to play (which doesn't benefit the Dublin county team) Dublin GAA is showing that they care about people playing the games. Do that for Junior F and surely everyone up along the line feels that bit privileged to play their part, creating a healthy structure for success?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/06/2017 11:21:13    2005547

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kildare will have to go defensive, cynical, and play a push up on Cluxton

Try and copy how Kerry setup

I'm sure O'Neill and Fitzmaurice have been on the blower to each other"
Maybe.

But Kildare aren't Kerry.

Playing D1 football is a massive advantage when preparing to play Dublin. You simply need to be playing D1 teams consistently, cause if you aren't you soon look like a fish up a tree when the better teams get a run on you

Kildare may have taken care of Meath with relative ease, But Meath are an average side.

Remember Its taken Kerry 4 years to beat Dublin under EF in a meaningful game, 4 years of planning.

Kildare haven't played a D1 team in ages, As fit and as good as they looked against Meath, lets not forget Meath are an average side who played desperately poor on the day, EF can talk to O'Neill 24 hours a day, 7 days a week between now and the Leinster final, but they'll need more than a few chats to put a plan in place to beat Dublin imo.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2017 11:29:17    2005552

Replying To slayer:  "Even that GAA Nua program last night was highlighting how to get at Cluxton with zonal marking from kickouts, then he just wellied it to a Kerry player and four seconds later it was in the net. So that is one thing Kildare could do.

The scariest thing about Dublin yesterday was they could bring on Kevin McMenamin. The lad who scored the goal in the 2011 final looking as hungry as ever and he is lethal. I'd say Kildare will give a good account of themselves but it will possibly be a 10 point win.

In 1982 Cork beat Waterford by 31 points in the Munster Hurling final. Waterford were Munster Hurling champions 20 years later. Now not for a second am I saying things will just magically work out for any other team but other counties need to work that hard to compete with Dublin. I also think the championship needs to be restructured into 3, maybe 4 tiers like the NFL and repeats of yesterday be avoided. If Dublin were in a competition with 9 other counties who can compete with them it would be better for all surely.

Lastly, people go on about the backing Dublin get. I have friends who play Junior E & Junior F hurling in the captial. The Dublin GAA is obviously providing a lot of good service to people of all ages which in turn allows a production line of talent. I guess by providing the framework for lads of all ages to play (which doesn't benefit the Dublin county team) Dublin GAA is showing that they care about people playing the games. Do that for Junior F and surely everyone up along the line feels that bit privileged to play their part, creating a healthy structure for success?"
Didn't actually happen that way. Cluxton got it wrong and was not accurate enough (it happens) and Kerry intercepted. It's high risk but it mostly comes off. Watch Dublin's first AI final goal last year. Mayo done a very disciplined and similar push up but Cluxton bypassed everyone and Dublin got a run into acres of space leading to a goal. Same with Kevin Mcs goal in the SF V Kerry. If the ball goes beyond everyone who has pushed up , it can hurt teams. Pros and cons and all that.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 11:57:52    2005590

The Lilies will bring their colour and banter to the final which is great. No disrespect to WM in last couple of years but Kildare fans will be up for this.
Am looking forward to it. Expect and hope Dubs to win relatively comfortable but it'll be a good game of football.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 12:04:09    2005598

Can see why people would expect us to set up defensively and get men behind the ball but we played that way against Wexford and Westmeath last year and looked awful. I can't imagine us completely changing the style of play that's served us well all year to be honest. Maybe drop one of the half forwards back and go with Brophy and Flynn as a 2 man full forward line but even at that I don't think we'll be camping 13 men inside our own 45.

Keep it to about 12 points and we'd be doing well. The step up from playing division 2 teams and then blowing away Laois and Meath in comparison to where Dublin are at is just too much.

Looking at the B side of the qualifiers I'd fancy us against any of the teams that might be left by the time round 4 comes around so a quarter final place is still up for grabs. That on top of promotion would be a very good sign of progress for us I think.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 26/06/2017 12:12:19    2005605

Dublin are a terrific side.
Can't see us winning (obviously i hope i am wrong!!)

Anything under 10 points would point towards progress for us, particularly given some of the results in Croker the last few years.
The manner of the performance matters tho too.
(relative 'toe-to-toe' and lose by 10 - progress / 15 men behind ball and lose by 9 - not progress)

Division 1 football is huge advantage. We need to stay there next year.
This is a young team and a medium / long term project for Cian & Co.

Cill Dara abu!

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 26/06/2017 13:54:20    2005702

Given that they are playing their football at a higher standard than Westmeath then I would like to think that Kildare can offer more resistance to Dublin that Westmeath did. Now, it's hard to look at yesterday and figure out where Dublin are at as from the off it was clear that Westmeath hadn't a clue how to defend and it could have been a cricket score before Dublin even got their first goal had some of their many earlier goal chances been converted. Jaysus I even think we could have rattled up a good score against the Westmeath team the way they went about their business yesterday and that is saying something!

As to whether Kildare will beat Dublin or not - think we have as much chance of winning Liam this year.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/06/2017 14:33:42    2005743

If someone had asked Kildare supporters at the start of the league what would they consider progress in 2017, most would have said retention of Division 2 status/promotion to Division 1 and a place in The Leinster Final. That has been achieved and a place in the last 12 now guaranteed. Anything else is now a bonus.

I don't expect Kildare to beat Dublin but I think that we can and will compete. Realistically this young Kildare team needs to be playing regularly in Division 1 to be able to challenge the top teams. Time is on the side of this team as they won't reach their peak for another couple of years. Waiting in the wings is a group of talented young players who will be challenging for inclusion on the panel in the next couple of years. So the present panel won't have room for complancy.

The last time Kildare played Dublin in the final in 2009 it was a double header with the minors. Dublin won the minor final narrowly after a replay that went to extra time in Carlow. That year coincided with the rise of Kildare underage teams who have since won one U21 Leinster, losing 2 finals narrowly to Dublin and winning three minor titles and losing one. Unfortunately this year it won't be a double minor and senior header as Kildare and Dublin minors play in the Leinster semi-final in Newbridge on Wednesday week July 5th at 7.30. The minor game should be a cracker with Kildare aiming to get to 5 finals in a row and will be hoping to win an historic three in a row.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 26/06/2017 14:47:02    2005762

Difficult to read much into that game yesterday. Dublin were scoring at will with no pressure whatsoever on the shots and Westmeath's half blanket defence backfired miserably. Mannion will not hit those numbers under pressure. He's usually a sloppy solo'er and hit n miss shooter. Fenton will not dominate midfield against Kildare as they have a handy fielder in there capable of making that sector a lottery. I expect Kildare to setup much better than Westmeath and will press Cluxton hoping he will go long to the middle. They seem to have some decent forwards as well. I still expect Dublin to win. Our fitness, attacking options and uncompromising backs should see us through but I think Kildare could keep it close for 40-50m if they get their tactics right.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2017 19:50:50    2005981

Replying To Joxer:  "Difficult to read much into that game yesterday. Dublin were scoring at will with no pressure whatsoever on the shots and Westmeath's half blanket defence backfired miserably. Mannion will not hit those numbers under pressure. He's usually a sloppy solo'er and hit n miss shooter. Fenton will not dominate midfield against Kildare as they have a handy fielder in there capable of making that sector a lottery. I expect Kildare to setup much better than Westmeath and will press Cluxton hoping he will go long to the middle. They seem to have some decent forwards as well. I still expect Dublin to win. Our fitness, attacking options and uncompromising backs should see us through but I think Kildare could keep it close for 40-50m if they get their tactics right."
Think you have it there Joxer but really hope we can keep it going longer than 40-50 mins. Will need all the subs coming in early in 2nd half and think we'll see a different starting 15 to meath game. Moolick is a workhorse but can't see him lasting beyond 45min at the intensity this game will be played at, hopefully Paul Cribbin will be ready.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 26/06/2017 20:43:16    2006008

Replying To waynoI:  "Prior to yesterdays game, a lot of people on here where saying we can look forward to an interesting, close leinster final. Kildare fresh from running all over Meath have their tails up, but having watched Dublin yesterday have people still got that point of view ?

I have to say while I didn't fear Kildare before yesterday, I was thinking they will give us a bit of a scare. Now though ? I cant see it.

I know Westmeath fell to pieces yesterday and offered very little resistance. I also know that Kildare are a far better team than Westmeath, But Dublin went out there yesterday and showed no mercy and laid down a marker. They look like a wounded animal. The bear has been poked. We've come in for some criticism in the aftermath of the league final and our insipid performance v Carlow. A lot of people beginning to doubt us, some saying we are on the way down, I think yesterday sent out a clear message that we aren't messing around now, We are going for this All Ireland full pelt and as the lads on the SG said yesterday itll take a brilliant team to stop us.

I expect Dublin to kick on and easily dispose of Kildare if I'm honest, Obviously it wont be as handy as a 31 point win, But I fully expect double figures. Anyone think Kildare can keep it tighter than that or even win ?"
Think your reading to much into dublins wins over two division 4 sides the easiest route any team had on a way to a provisional final, Dublin are on the way down why do you think jim gavin came out with that nonsense about the media and Connolly he knows he has to do something different to retain Sam siege mentality, in comparison Kildare are certainly a team on the up there young fit and strong and won't be afraid of Dublin, I expect the game to be close Dublin might just shade it this time, but the days of Dublin trashing teams like Kildare and Meath might be a thing of the past

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 26/06/2017 22:19:55    2006072

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Think your reading to much into dublins wins over two division 4 sides the easiest route any team had on a way to a provisional final, Dublin are on the way down why do you think jim gavin came out with that nonsense about the media and Connolly he knows he has to do something different to retain Sam siege mentality, in comparison Kildare are certainly a team on the up there young fit and strong and won't be afraid of Dublin, I expect the game to be close Dublin might just shade it this time, but the days of Dublin trashing teams like Kildare and Meath might be a thing of the past"
Well Meath anyway :)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 26/06/2017 22:55:31    2006090

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Think your reading to much into dublins wins over two division 4 sides the easiest route any team had on a way to a provisional final, Dublin are on the way down why do you think jim gavin came out with that nonsense about the media and Connolly he knows he has to do something different to retain Sam siege mentality, in comparison Kildare are certainly a team on the up there young fit and strong and won't be afraid of Dublin, I expect the game to be close Dublin might just shade it this time, but the days of Dublin trashing teams like Kildare and Meath might be a thing of the past"
Trashing Kildare maybe, but your Meath team - I reckon for another 5 years at least...

Our U21 team would beat your senior team ffs... so less of your nonsense please....

Ye are a shambles...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 26/06/2017 23:24:40    2006101

Replying To waynoI:  "Maybe.

But Kildare aren't Kerry.

Playing D1 football is a massive advantage when preparing to play Dublin. You simply need to be playing D1 teams consistently, cause if you aren't you soon look like a fish up a tree when the better teams get a run on you

Kildare may have taken care of Meath with relative ease, But Meath are an average side.

Remember Its taken Kerry 4 years to beat Dublin under EF in a meaningful game, 4 years of planning.

Kildare haven't played a D1 team in ages, As fit and as good as they looked against Meath, lets not forget Meath are an average side who played desperately poor on the day, EF can talk to O'Neill 24 hours a day, 7 days a week between now and the Leinster final, but they'll need more than a few chats to put a plan in place to beat Dublin imo."
Wayno
Eamon fitzmaurice coached our Kerry team to beat Jim gavins dubs in the 2015 national football league.

now I know the game was in Killarney and not crokepark but it still counts kid ;-)

I think Kildare have the athleticism to beat the dubs in Leinster final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/06/2017 03:15:08    2006123

Replying To Joxer:  "Difficult to read much into that game yesterday. Dublin were scoring at will with no pressure whatsoever on the shots and Westmeath's half blanket defence backfired miserably. Mannion will not hit those numbers under pressure. He's usually a sloppy solo'er and hit n miss shooter. Fenton will not dominate midfield against Kildare as they have a handy fielder in there capable of making that sector a lottery. I expect Kildare to setup much better than Westmeath and will press Cluxton hoping he will go long to the middle. They seem to have some decent forwards as well. I still expect Dublin to win. Our fitness, attacking options and uncompromising backs should see us through but I think Kildare could keep it close for 40-50m if they get their tactics right."
Decent appraisal there and I agree, Kildare have impressed this year and have made real progress with promotion and reaching a Leinster Final, I like the look of them even if I do think our own tactics and set up in the semi final did us no favours they were far and away the better team with a good mix of physicality, strength, pace and no little skill however they did miss several decent scoring opportunities against us particularly in the first half that can not be afforded against the Dubs. Has the makings of an interesting game if only to see if we will actually have a competitive Leinster Final, I still think Dublin will win and probably by a bit to spare in the end but Kildare have the ability to ask questions if their current form carries on and I see them as a good bet for the last eight.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2017 03:35:40    2006124

Kildare are turning into a fine team.
Big strong and athletic and skilful also.
Great young talent coming through.
They have an excellent coach who is not over hyped and will cause the Dubs lots of problems but this year might be a year too soon, but definitely miles ahead of Meath with regards structures ext.

Looking forward to a big challenge from them. And they will bring a big support which will add to the occasion.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 27/06/2017 06:46:10    2006126

Replying To lilywhite1:  "If someone had asked Kildare supporters at the start of the league what would they consider progress in 2017, most would have said retention of Division 2 status/promotion to Division 1 and a place in The Leinster Final. That has been achieved and a place in the last 12 now guaranteed. Anything else is now a bonus.

I don't expect Kildare to beat Dublin but I think that we can and will compete. Realistically this young Kildare team needs to be playing regularly in Division 1 to be able to challenge the top teams. Time is on the side of this team as they won't reach their peak for another couple of years. Waiting in the wings is a group of talented young players who will be challenging for inclusion on the panel in the next couple of years. So the present panel won't have room for complancy.

The last time Kildare played Dublin in the final in 2009 it was a double header with the minors. Dublin won the minor final narrowly after a replay that went to extra time in Carlow. That year coincided with the rise of Kildare underage teams who have since won one U21 Leinster, losing 2 finals narrowly to Dublin and winning three minor titles and losing one. Unfortunately this year it won't be a double minor and senior header as Kildare and Dublin minors play in the Leinster semi-final in Newbridge on Wednesday week July 5th at 7.30. The minor game should be a cracker with Kildare aiming to get to 5 finals in a row and will be hoping to win an historic three in a row."
Good luck to you in final me auld mucker.
It will be difficult but sure who knows

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2017 08:18:34    2006133