Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To Scarabin:  "They have themselves driven mad over there
When they drew with Rossies I thought some of them would need to be sectioned"
Now now, try and put yourselves in our shoes over the last few years. Personally I felt sanity slip away around 2015.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2017 10:51:38    2045906

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Now now, try and put yourselves in our shoes over the last few years. Personally I felt sanity slip away around 2015."
You have a point there :)

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 14/09/2017 11:22:40    2045924

People should remember Last time Dublin were going for 3 in a row in 1978. Massive favourites to beat Kerry with a team many said were all time greats. For the first 20 mins all went to plan as Dublin played superb to open op a 7-2 lead. Then a couple of mis-steps leading to a collapse of epic proportions and a 17 point drubbing.
If everything goes right on the day for Mayo and things go badly for Dublin not alone can Mayo win but win big. But its a ginormous IF!

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 14/09/2017 11:22:52    2045926

Personally, I applaud Dublin for what they have achieved since the day's of Heffo (RIP) and I would never begrudge them of their multiple successes, the level of professionalism they have brought to the game speaks for itself. I have massive respect for Mayo and applaud them for their never say die attitude, their resilience, their sporting approach to all games at all times.
Both counties, Dublin and Mayo have won huge respect along with the hearts and minds of the nation. Should Mayo prevail on Sunday and clinch the Sam Maguire cup, I see Dublin players/management being the first to congratulate them as Mayo did under difficult circumstances last year, 2016.
I can see the sides being level in the 70th minute, if there is 3 or 4 mins of injury time to be played then I think Mayo can clinch it.
On the road to the final there was 10 reasons why Mayo should/could have collapsed under pressure and faded into obscurity, they didn't, they stumbled once in the Connaught championship, but their resilience saw them through again.
If, a big If but if Mayo do it on Sunday, I will take a week off and spend it in Westport, that's a promise.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 14/09/2017 12:22:17    2045945

Replying To Manstein:  "People should remember Last time Dublin were going for 3 in a row in 1978. Massive favourites to beat Kerry with a team many said were all time greats. For the first 20 mins all went to plan as Dublin played superb to open op a 7-2 lead. Then a couple of mis-steps leading to a collapse of epic proportions and a 17 point drubbing.
If everything goes right on the day for Mayo and things go badly for Dublin not alone can Mayo win but win big. But its a ginormous IF!"
People should remember Last time Dublin were going for 3 in a row in 1978. Massive favourites to beat Kerry with a team many said were all time greats. For the first 20 mins all went to plan as Dublin played superb to open op a 7-2 lead. Then a couple of mis-steps leading to a collapse of epic proportions and a 17 point drubbing.
If everything goes right on the day for Mayo and things go badly for Dublin not alone can Mayo win but win big. But its a ginormous IF!

Ah yeah, something that happened 39 years ago should definitely be taken in to consideration when predicting a Dublin win!

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 14/09/2017 12:23:50    2045947

I wont begrudge Mayo a second of it, I will applaud them off the pitch and congratulate their fans with 100% genuine well wishes.

If we are beaten, this Dublin team should ship no criticism from anyone, what they have done is immeasurable.
They are a team for the ages and will be remembered forever as one of the great teams. They owe nothing to anybody.

I remember the utter utter manic euphoria of 2011. If Mayo win on Sunday I'd imagine you could double it, and no real Dubs fan will begrudge them a second of it.
We have massive respect for Mayo, because they have earned it.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/09/2017 12:56:02    2045952

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I wont begrudge Mayo a second of it, I will applaud them off the pitch and congratulate their fans with 100% genuine well wishes.

If we are beaten, this Dublin team should ship no criticism from anyone, what they have done is immeasurable.
They are a team for the ages and will be remembered forever as one of the great teams. They owe nothing to anybody.

I remember the utter utter manic euphoria of 2011. If Mayo win on Sunday I'd imagine you could double it, and no real Dubs fan will begrudge them a second of it.
We have massive respect for Mayo, because they have earned it."
Careful now....this sounds like we've conceded defeat before the ball is thrown in.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/09/2017 13:06:56    2045961

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I wont begrudge Mayo a second of it, I will applaud them off the pitch and congratulate their fans with 100% genuine well wishes.

I agree completely on both your points. That said though I will be gutted if we lose.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 14/09/2017 13:11:52    2045962

And unlike the DC thread on the Dublin forum, I can wholeheartedly, 100% agree with you here. No mistake about it. I don't want Mayo to win, id be gutted if we lost, but part of me would say, yano what, fair play Mayo, you done it!!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/09/2017 13:39:07    2045967

Agree
If Mayo win fairplay , will be gutted but as Kipling Said you need to handle triumph and disaster as the two imposters they are , Regards Mayo no special affection , wont find solace in the fact that its them beating us , well that's not true at least the one thing you can say about Mayo is that at least they are not Kerry.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/09/2017 14:03:35    2045972

I second this. Win or loose on Sunday, Dublin have a great team, and they are not done yet. They will win 2/3 of the next 5 All Irelands.

If Mayo win Sam, they have played more football to do so than any other team in the entire history of the Championship.
They will also have taken out Kerry and Dublin on the way. Thoroughly, thoroughly deserving of Sam if they pull it off.

Don't get me wrong, I'll be gutted if it happens. Gutted. But I would not begrudge them it. It will well and truly have been fought for and earned.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 14/09/2017 14:16:10    2045974

Replying To waynoI:  "And unlike the DC thread on the Dublin forum, I can wholeheartedly, 100% agree with you here. No mistake about it. I don't want Mayo to win, id be gutted if we lost, but part of me would say, yano what, fair play Mayo, you done it!!!"
i see what you did there..............i think everyone can see what you did there........

your some chancer!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/09/2017 14:23:26    2045977

There not a snowballs chance in hell of Mayo winning this one! Dubs by 5 plus and and gambling man on here get on the handicap.
It's buying money

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 14/09/2017 15:55:31    2046018

Ah here stop it lads, I don't even like Mayo in the sambo's.

Let them beat Kerry in a Final after we complete the 5 in a row

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 14/09/2017 16:15:19    2046023

Well Mayo have their victory parade planned out down to the minute. There's talk of a couple of players getting t-shirts printed with 'All Ireland Champions 2017' for them to wear after the match also.

Us Dubs may as well stay at home, it looks like it's a done deal. There's always next year.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 14/09/2017 17:48:56    2046054

Replying To bangbang:  "Well Mayo have their victory parade planned out down to the minute. There's talk of a couple of players getting t-shirts printed with 'All Ireland Champions 2017' for them to wear after the match also.

Us Dubs may as well stay at home, it looks like it's a done deal. There's always next year."
But I already have my ticket. I might go anyway....

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 14/09/2017 20:54:29    2046102

Replying To bangbang:  "Well Mayo have their victory parade planned out down to the minute. There's talk of a couple of players getting t-shirts printed with 'All Ireland Champions 2017' for them to wear after the match also.

Us Dubs may as well stay at home, it looks like it's a done deal. There's always next year."
That's the spirit. Some of them other Dub lads look like they're mellowing a little, which probably comes from consistently beating us over the last few years. Printed tee shirts you say, just the motivation Jim needs. We're rightly f***** now.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2017 21:08:00    2046107

Im sure dublin have too, along with every other team that has contested an All Ireland final.
Cant just throw things like these together in 24 hrs notice.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/09/2017 21:14:00    2046108

Lads just a sidenote on the match. While I have great respect for Jim Gavin and what he has done I do find some of the stuff he comes out with pure muck. There was his weird interview post Connolly suspension when he kept mentioning the word Republic over and over and then the rubbish last week going into depth about why he never holds or poses for photos with Sam Maguire. This was followed by the usual guff of people saying that sums up what Jim is all about, nothing is about him. I just laugh at the people who buy into this mince. And since his interview people have been posting tonnes of photos with Jim posing holding Sam, can't beat the banter. Anyway I haven't been taking part in the pre match analysis on here as last year was nothing short of childish.

If Mayo get the match ups right they can do it. Can the likes of O Callaghan and Scully cope with the likes of Boyle giving them abuse? Can we get AOS into the game unlike other years against the Dubs. So many ifs and buts. But of course would I be surprised if Dublin won? No. The 2 best teams are in the final no doubt so enjoy it everyone.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 15/09/2017 08:03:44    2046136

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads just a sidenote on the match. While I have great respect for Jim Gavin and what he has done I do find some of the stuff he comes out with pure muck. There was his weird interview post Connolly suspension when he kept mentioning the word Republic over and over and then the rubbish last week going into depth about why he never holds or poses for photos with Sam Maguire. This was followed by the usual guff of people saying that sums up what Jim is all about, nothing is about him. I just laugh at the people who buy into this mince. And since his interview people have been posting tonnes of photos with Jim posing holding Sam, can't beat the banter. Anyway I haven't been taking part in the pre match analysis on here as last year was nothing short of childish.

If Mayo get the match ups right they can do it. Can the likes of O Callaghan and Scully cope with the likes of Boyle giving them abuse? Can we get AOS into the game unlike other years against the Dubs. So many ifs and buts. But of course would I be surprised if Dublin won? No. The 2 best teams are in the final no doubt so enjoy it everyone."
So who marks Brogan when he comes on???
Because he destroys Mayo every time. Nobody fit to handle him.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 15/09/2017 10:25:51    2046163