Tyrone for Sam 2017

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Nah don't think ye did Wally. And you continue to ask why even bother with such activities if there's even doubt that some player is uncomfortable with it. Well I don't know if any player is uncomfortable Wally,do you? I do know that for years now Mickey Harte has had Fr. Gerard Mc Aleer alongside him as the teams spiritual adviser and that any lad who ever want to kick a ball for Tyrone would know the type of men they were going to be involved with if they were to play for Tyrone."
So your saying that anyone who wants to play for Tyrone should know what they are about.

Atheists need not apply then.

It's embarrassing that we are even having this argument in this day and age.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 20/07/2017 23:03:37    2020304

Replying To Laois76:  "Yes the one sacrifice i'll give you that!

No. You're trying to use trickery here. Anyone of any race or creed or none is an irishman if they are associated with this country. But do you want 90% of us to deny our heritage, who we are and where we came from?

You did a great bit of copying and pasting but left out the line i quoted from your post."
I actually did leave that bit out and it was an oversight, I apologise for that but I think it's clear I referred to it from the content of my reply. I was also more than clear that people should have the right to pray in public as a group or as an indivIdual. I don't know how I can be more clear on that point.

I am not asking people to ignore their heritage at all and I have not gotten into the pros or cons of Christianity as it has nothing to do with the Tyrone team which is what this thread is about. I have simply made the point that a sports team performing religious rituals can potentially exclude others or at least make them uncomfortable or single them out I am not suggesting that that is the case with the Tyrone panel but it is certainly a possibility either now or in the future. A sports team should be a space for people of all faiths and none who want to play sport, religion shouldn't come into it whatsoever. That doesn't preclude religious people, either individually or as part of a group practicing their faith.

Just as an aside you say you are proud to be Roman Catholic. I was given to understand that followers of the church of Rome should simply refer to themselves as Catholic. A Roman Catholic would simply be a Catholic from Rome. Also are you not committing the sin of pride by being proud of being Catholic?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 20/07/2017 23:04:47    2020305

Replying To Laois76:  "Proportionally. Your first born sacrificed. Was it as bad as that in the 50s?? Good for you that your 67. And you obviousl don't know what pagan means. You said give you one everyday. Do you want someone killing their first born living beside you?

I'm Roman Catholic and proud of it. And i'm 41 and have no trouble with that either.

You made a general church bashing post with no knowledge of what went before it to back it up. I suggest you read more."
Jaysus bro would you calm down!

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 20/07/2017 23:04:49    2020306

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually did leave that bit out and it was an oversight, I apologise for that but I think it's clear I referred to it from the content of my reply. I was also more than clear that people should have the right to pray in public as a group or as an indivIdual. I don't know how I can be more clear on that point.

I am not asking people to ignore their heritage at all and I have not gotten into the pros or cons of Christianity as it has nothing to do with the Tyrone team which is what this thread is about. I have simply made the point that a sports team performing religious rituals can potentially exclude others or at least make them uncomfortable or single them out I am not suggesting that that is the case with the Tyrone panel but it is certainly a possibility either now or in the future. A sports team should be a space for people of all faiths and none who want to play sport, religion shouldn't come into it whatsoever. That doesn't preclude religious people, either individually or as part of a group practicing their faith.

Just as an aside you say you are proud to be Roman Catholic. I was given to understand that followers of the church of Rome should simply refer to themselves as Catholic. A Roman Catholic would simply be a Catholic from Rome. Also are you not committing the sin of pride by being proud of being Catholic?"
Yes i should say i'm honoured to be a Catholic! No to the best of my knowledge Roman Catholic has been the descriptive term. The old census forms 1901/1911 etc were denomination Roman Catholic.

No i see where you're coming from 'the walls' and i respect your point of view. You've put your points across very well all day. I suppose as a practising Catholic sometimes one feels a bit under siege today. Everyone can point out the bad but not the good. Then it's easily become emotive.

As i said to Lilypad this is a discussion that really has no end and probably isn't best suited to a forum like this. And when having a cyber argument we really don't know what the other person's experiences are.

I'll leave it at that. Good luck against Cork. Logic would suggest ye'll get through.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/07/2017 23:23:41    2020317

Replying To Wally:  "So your saying that anyone who wants to play for Tyrone should know what they are about.

It's embarrassing that we are even having this argument in this day and age."
Of course they can.

But believers can celebrate their heritage too without fear of ridicule and being made feel like a troglodyte 'in this day and age'.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/07/2017 23:26:25    2020320

Replying To Laois76:  "Yes i should say i'm honoured to be a Catholic! No to the best of my knowledge Roman Catholic has been the descriptive term. The old census forms 1901/1911 etc were denomination Roman Catholic.

No i see where you're coming from 'the walls' and i respect your point of view. You've put your points across very well all day. I suppose as a practising Catholic sometimes one feels a bit under siege today. Everyone can point out the bad but not the good. Then it's easily become emotive.

As i said to Lilypad this is a discussion that really has no end and probably isn't best suited to a forum like this. And when having a cyber argument we really don't know what the other person's experiences are.

I'll leave it at that. Good luck against Cork. Logic would suggest ye'll get through."
No bother man, fair play.

Yeah we should get through but I'd still be wary, Cork still have some good footballers and our form is patchy at best.

Who knows, maybe it will be a Mayo Tyrone Final!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 20/07/2017 23:36:51    2020325

Replying To Wally:  "So your saying that anyone who wants to play for Tyrone should know what they are about.

It's embarrassing that we are even having this argument in this day and age."
I never said anybody should be excluded at all. Where did I say that? I even said Hail Marys would be inappropriate if protestants were in the squad. To say a group prayer is fine is all I'm saying. Why is it that fellas like you like to take every opportunity to bash the church and the idea of having faith? Why are you all so concerned with offending persons unknown?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2017 02:53:27    2020355

Replying To tyroneed:  "I'd agree. Religion should be a personal affair and not part of GAA preparations. Hardly helps attracts Protestants or even lapsed Catholics if the Rosary is involved."
It hardly helps attract Catholics either, if truth be told. When I was growing up, we mainly said the rosary in our house if we wanted to get rid of an unwelcome guest ... most Irish Catholics are Catholics by habit rather than by conviction and aren't that much into praying, so this will be one for those things players just put up with. I can just see it - Owen Mulligan getting the beads out : )

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/07/2017 07:44:04    2020360

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually did leave that bit out and it was an oversight, I apologise for that but I think it's clear I referred to it from the content of my reply. I was also more than clear that people should have the right to pray in public as a group or as an indivIdual. I don't know how I can be more clear on that point.

Just as an aside you say you are proud to be Roman Catholic. I was given to understand that followers of the church of Rome should simply refer to themselves as Catholic. A Roman Catholic would simply be a Catholic from Rome. Also are you not committing the sin of pride by being proud of being Catholic?"
There are other churches,Eastern Orthodox and even Anglicans who consider themselves to be definitively catholic but because they are not in communion with the Holy See in Rome then they do not give themselves the moniker of Roman Catholic. They do however recite the Apostles creed that affirms their belief "in one holy catholic and apostolic church". Also there is no sin in being proud of your faith. Sinful pride in a Christian sense is when you feel you are better than other people. Feeling a sense of accomplishment in having done a good job at school or work is not the same kind of haughty pride that is viewed negatively.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2017 07:47:51    2020361

http://gaeliclife.com/2015/06/joe-brolly-time-for-a-deck-of-the-rosary/

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/07/2017 09:55:51    2021478