Christy Ring 2017

By the way scallioneater I don't just pop up here having a cut. It as Wicklow fans that brought this up again, not me. I comment on here about all things Carlow GAA. I'm also a "good Carlow person" and unlike yourself I support both codes whereas you eveidently couldn't care less about Carlow hurlers but despite that you chose to "pop up" here which is not like you.

Hurlers are playing Saturday by the way, not that I'd expect you'll have much interest in it, "good Carlow person" that you are.

By the way, everyone on here is anonymous so don't be having a pop at me over that. I don't think anyone on here really believes that your name is actually Scallioneater you know.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 14/05/2017 22:23:14    1986673

Anyone hear how either counties prep is going?
Any word on the teams?

GAA_1212 (UK) - Posts: 9 - 16/05/2017 14:18:10    1987104

Replying To GAA_1212:  "Anyone hear how either counties prep is going?
Any word on the teams?"
I give us a 10% chance of winning against Carlow. We are in bonus territory really carlow are a bit further down the road in terms of development than us. We have made good progress this year as opposed to the last few years which were shambolic. I just feel this year is a year too soon for this group, if our injuries clear up we'll push carlow all the way but i don't see us being closer than 5 or 6 points in the end. Antrim will win the other semi final by 10 points plus.

wicklow88 (Wicklow) - Posts: 126 - 16/05/2017 15:29:19    1987148

Carlow to win, hope it doesn't go to extra time although either way they should win with a couple to spare.

Onion Breath, if you are looking in, hope you enjoy the games and have a good weekend.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 19/05/2017 12:46:17    1988317

Hard to look past how the bookies see this weekends games going with Antrim and Carlow favourites in their respective semis. While both are favourites I can see why they have the odds closer in the Carlow/Wicklow game as it probably has the more potential for an upset going by recent performances. Also, if they read a few of the comments on here over the last week or two they might have shortened the odds a bit more as there is obviously no love lost between the two Counties which can increase intensity and throw the form book out the window. Hell, if it wasn't so far away I would have been tempted to go myself after the jousting on here between our Carlow and Wicklow posters.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/05/2017 13:19:43    1988331

Replying To carlovia:  "The episode was brought up here due to a Wicklow poster giving out about Kildare playing outside players.

Think it was said tongue in cheek though.

Don't mind admitting that I've little time for Wicklow and I'm hoping our hurlers can beat them on Saturday."
I was giving out about Kildare choosing players that don't play for a Kildare club. Thomas Walsh did transfer to Bray remember. The 2 situations are not comparable.

The Gaa must be really desperate to have Carlow and Antrim go through. Perhaps they should have just dropped the semis and put the 2 of them to the final ?

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 19/05/2017 17:54:50    1988416

Replying To sponger:  "I was giving out about Kildare choosing players that don't play for a Kildare club. Thomas Walsh did transfer to Bray remember. The 2 situations are not comparable.

The Gaa must be really desperate to have Carlow and Antrim go through. Perhaps they should have just dropped the semis and put the 2 of them to the final ?"
Sponger I love the fight you have in you, hope the hurlers bring that fighting spirit to the match in Carlow tomorrow. Good luck to your lads, everyone outside Carlow is probably cheering for the under dogs. C'mon Wicklow!

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 19/05/2017 19:17:08    1988421

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Sponger I love the fight you have in you, hope the hurlers bring that fighting spirit to the match in Carlow tomorrow. Good luck to your lads, everyone outside Carlow is probably cheering for the under dogs. C'mon Wicklow!"
Good luck to Antrim. But Down will be more difficult than most people think.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 19/05/2017 20:47:03    1988435

Christy Ring Cup semi-finals
Carlow 0-24 Wicklow 2-8, Netwatch Cullen Park - FT
Antrim 4-23 Down 0-15, Cushendall - FT

There's no doubt that the best 2 teams have made the final.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/05/2017 18:53:07    1988603

Replying To sponger:  "I was giving out about Kildare choosing players that don't play for a Kildare club. Thomas Walsh did transfer to Bray remember. The 2 situations are not comparable.

The Gaa must be really desperate to have Carlow and Antrim go through. Perhaps they should have just dropped the semis and put the 2 of them to the final ?"
Good man there Sponger. He transferred to Wicklow first, then Bray.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 20/05/2017 19:01:18    1988605

The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Refereeing was a poor today.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2017 20:38:50    1988641

Replying To sponger:  "The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Refereeing was a poor today."
Go away out of that sponger. Ye we're very lucky he left yis with 15 on the field, he was very lenient with of yeer dirtier strokes. I thought Wicklow were a poor team today and were no match for a much more fluid Carlow who never got out of third gear. Ye relied too much on brute force and no little ignorance and displayed little if anything in the form of good stickwork. Ye looked more Nicky Rackard standard to me. Hopefully we'll win the final and can get away from the likes of ye next year.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 20/05/2017 21:05:35    1988648

Replying To sponger:  "The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Yep Sponger you're right again, another 70,000 expected at Croker.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 20/05/2017 21:09:54    1988652

Sponger, for what possible reason would the GAA prefer Carlow in the final instead of Wicklow?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 21/05/2017 10:39:59    1988730

Yeah you're spot on ,the referee was poor he should have red carded a couple of Wicklow players. Ye showed your true colours again today with your filthy play, that's about all ye are good for, oh ...and robbing players from your neighbour. (-;

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 21/05/2017 10:54:50    1988738

Ah yeah sponger the referee was at fault. 24 scores to Carlow 10 scores to Wicklow. I can understand your frustration.(-;

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 21/05/2017 11:09:40    1988744

Replying To extranjero:  "Sponger, for what possible reason would the GAA prefer Carlow in the final instead of Wicklow?"
Because we are much nicer people.

That's why the gaa intervened and upset Wicklow so much that they lost by 10 points.

In fairness the 22nd of our 24 points may have been wide and this made all the difference.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 21/05/2017 12:08:12    1988759

At the weekend you couldn't fault the lads.. Paul Coady, excellent hurler, left to right, risk taker, what you need in a match ... savage intensity,John Mike Nolan the same backs himself, strong, confident hurler. Full back line - solid. Can't fault them men. This team needs to believe in themselves. Give it their absolute heart. If you don't believe if yourself nobody else will. Fair play men. Drive it on now. Get stuck in.

bazzyjoe1 (Carlow) - Posts: 2 - 21/05/2017 23:37:23    1989079

coming from a stronger hurling county (thought we dont win a lot of trophies) i love reading the ring and rackard cup threads and love seeing the passion ye have for hurling , fairs dues to the lot of ye

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/05/2017 11:16:43    1989234

the 2 best teams reach the final.

fourth meeting of the year and the games have been getting better.

Should be a great battle in Croker on June 10th.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 24/05/2017 11:09:18    1990161