All Over Before It Starts?

What a fecking thread. The lockdown has a lot to answer for!!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 11/07/2020 19:48:38    2283796

In all honesty I think there's a massive group of people in this country that are hoping lockdown comes back because it's suits them. They don't go out socialising or add anything to the community. They just go to work and sit in at the weekend. Now that's fine if that's what you want to do but dont be pushing it on everyone else. We should be trying to motivate people to get out and about and get the country back on track. There won't
be much of a country left soon with all this negativity.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 11/07/2020 20:20:06    2283799

Replying To otherlad:  "Wd45 your 100% right, unfortunately there's people replying here that don't actually know what there true opinion is, of course it's a risk obviously, an your man on about frontline will ya please shut the fuck up, , we all love gaa otherwise we wouldn't be on this forum , I hope it works out because we need it too ,, will all negative people please shut the fuck , for god sakes if u don't want to play or support then just stay at home an let the rest of us at it"
First off can i ask how this post was published with all the bad language? I work on the frontline and have seen horrific cases of covid, we dont need GAA return to work out, its a hobby and a nice pastime, what we need is to keep the hospitals from getting under pressure even before winter season arrives and if GAA training and matches are shown to be adding to the covid crisis then they should be shutdown straight away. It must be great to have no worries only about playing a game of football , if you actually saw the frontline instead of of your statement above you may have a different opionion, shame on moderator for letting this post up

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 11/07/2020 20:47:07    2283801

Replying To Tod:  "First off can i ask how this post was published with all the bad language? I work on the frontline and have seen horrific cases of covid, we dont need GAA return to work out, its a hobby and a nice pastime, what we need is to keep the hospitals from getting under pressure even before winter season arrives and if GAA training and matches are shown to be adding to the covid crisis then they should be shutdown straight away. It must be great to have no worries only about playing a game of football , if you actually saw the frontline instead of of your statement above you may have a different opionion, shame on moderator for letting this post up"
So Tod what would have happen lock down everything until there's a vaccine. Who knows when that will be. We cannot live in fear of maybe getting this virus, which at the minute is a tiny chance. This lockdown is doing so much damage to the economy, and to people's life. Lockdown is not the answer. We need to learn to adapt to this virus and work around it. Of course vulnerable people should stay at and home and be supported but for the vast majority of the population it's time to get back to some sort of normality using the new precautions.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 11/07/2020 21:50:18    2283805

Replying To Tod:  "First off can i ask how this post was published with all the bad language? I work on the frontline and have seen horrific cases of covid, we dont need GAA return to work out, its a hobby and a nice pastime, what we need is to keep the hospitals from getting under pressure even before winter season arrives and if GAA training and matches are shown to be adding to the covid crisis then they should be shutdown straight away. It must be great to have no worries only about playing a game of football , if you actually saw the frontline instead of of your statement above you may have a different opionion, shame on moderator for letting this post up"
Well said

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 11/07/2020 21:53:03    2283806

I'm glad they let those comments up, show up that numpty for his true colours....

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/07/2020 21:56:04    2283807

Well said, you're spot on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 11/07/2020 22:11:00    2283810

Replying To wd45:  "In all honesty I think there's a massive group of people in this country that are hoping lockdown comes back because it's suits them. They don't go out socialising or add anything to the community. They just go to work and sit in at the weekend. Now that's fine if that's what you want to do but dont be pushing it on everyone else. We should be trying to motivate people to get out and about and get the country back on track. There won't
be much of a country left soon with all this negativity."
Theres plenty on this site want a second wave just to rub it in HQs face

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 11/07/2020 23:05:03    2283814

I can imagine GAA in Ireland will be shut down if cases increases to the numbers there was months ago. As for the hospital situation I think I read there is only 12 people with Covid across the country and GAA teams have been training and playing challenge games the last few weeks without increasing the hospital admissions.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 11/07/2020 23:26:12    2283817

its a serious conundrum, on one hand you have the virus, on the other, a country that will whither away very quickly if lockdown becomes the norm.
which is the lesser of the two evils is the most important question right now.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 11/07/2020 23:30:11    2283818

Replying To wd45:  "In all honesty I think there's a massive group of people in this country that are hoping lockdown comes back because it's suits them. They don't go out socialising or add anything to the community. They just go to work and sit in at the weekend. Now that's fine if that's what you want to do but dont be pushing it on everyone else. We should be trying to motivate people to get out and about and get the country back on track. There won't
I'd say some of these lads on here are "mad craic" .The PC generation let loose , anyway I'm off to training before these boys cancel it.

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 12/07/2020 06:58:23    2283824

Replying To otherlad:  "Wd45 your 100% right, unfortunately there's people replying here that don't actually know what there true opinion is, of course it's a risk obviously, an your man on about frontline will ya please shut the fuck up, , we all love gaa otherwise we wouldn't be on this forum , I hope it works out because we need it too ,, will all negative people please shut the fuck , for god sakes if u don't want to play or support then just stay at home an let the rest of us at it"
As my old grandfather used to say, sixty years ago, if you have to use bad language to make your point, then you have already lost the argument.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 12/07/2020 08:07:54    2283825

Replying To Oldertourman:  "As my old grandfather used to say, sixty years ago, if you have to use bad language to make your point, then you have already lost the argument."
True for you. It's typical of a certain section of these mouthy ,social media following ,attention starved goons. Desperate to let anyone who will listen know how they know best and it doesn't matter that you might know better.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/07/2020 10:04:45    2283829

If we are going to seee another increase in restrictions i expect it to be in Autumn, hopefully not of course, but thats the ripe time, i think it could be a huge pity the GAA made the decision to run the Championship then, but hopefully im wrong.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/07/2020 10:29:00    2283831

Replying To Oldertourman:  "As my old grandfather used to say, sixty years ago, if you have to use bad language to make your point, then you have already lost the argument."
I hate that saying.
If your argument is right you should win and it shouldn't matter a damn whether or not some snob doesn't like your language

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/07/2020 10:50:18    2283835

How in the name of god does/did lockdown suit anyone?? Even the most reclusive people still had queue for anything that was open and adhere to restrictions, whilst worrying about high risk loved ones.
Absolute bullology of the highest order.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 12/07/2020 11:11:29    2283838

Replying To Bon:  "How in the name of god does/did lockdown suit anyone?? Even the most reclusive people still had queue for anything that was open and adhere to restrictions, whilst worrying about high risk loved ones.
Absolute bullology of the highest order."
I agree with you but probably suited a few parents who barely see their kids while they're working and they can spend a bit of time with them. But a few weeks of kids and herself probably has you scraping the door to get to work. Probably suited a few students working part time getting €350 a week. Heard and read a few complaints about that but for me that's from people who whinge about a lot of things, especially 'the youth', but quickly forget that they were young once.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 12/07/2020 11:32:27    2283843

The fun will really start next Winter when the usual run of colds and flu start, people won't be sure what they have and it will freak everyone out, strange times.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/07/2020 13:09:50    2283851

There will be no championship, no pubs and in turn, no xmas

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/07/2020 19:24:13    2283879

Ah lads will yous stop with the doom and gloom. Getting boring at this stage.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 12/07/2020 19:50:52    2283881