Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Don't forget Jonny cooper during the week as well, the dubs are gas saying it's Kerry bringing up the money all the time and that's fine they have to vent their anger at someone I guess but it's lots of people from other counties that are mentioning the money now.

So deflect all ye want guys we all know what's going on."
No anger in the Dublin camp bud. They're sitting on the big 5. Just luck at Jonny. The lad is all smiles. The Dubs are all good. Kudos to Dean who sought to put the spotlight on the great work done by Stewart's Care. That's what these lads are all about, putting it all back into the community. The only anger at the moment is directed at the Dubs' and their success. Sure leave them at it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/09/2019 16:39:07    2238081

Replying To arock:  "But they are part time GAA members, football is all they interested in, yeah the few hurlers playing it in some marsh next door to Limerick is pure tokenism, so they have all their eggs in one basket. I always remember what one of Cromwell's generals said about Kerry. the only problem with it is the local population. If people want to see what can be done at grassroots level, look at clubs like Slaughtneil and Kilmessan what great clubs, what a community they have around them, that is where funding should go. But no one in Dublin has any time for poor mouthing be it in their own county and especially in others. But I bet the people working with Kerry GAA on the ground are way too busy to have the luxury of the time the armchair "fans" here have peddling their own delusional half-truths, urban myths and as queen Elizabeth I said a load of old Blarney."
Says an armchair fan...

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 21/09/2019 16:55:45    2238084

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We did do well without Kennelly but we would have done better with him, we didn't do well without Tommy only 1 allireland in 5 years.

You can't say we're doing well without Okunbar O'Connor we haven't won an allireland without them,

Dublin have won allirelands without Connolly o'carroll Kilkenny and mccaffery.

We struggled without Peter Crowley as well this year"
You are mistaken. Kilkenny has been on all Dublin All-Ireland wins since he graduated to senior ranks.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 21/09/2019 19:50:02    2238115

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Don't forget Jonny cooper during the week as well, the dubs are gas saying it's Kerry bringing up the money all the time and that's fine they have to vent their anger at someone I guess but it's lots of people from other counties that are mentioning the money now.

So deflect all ye want guys we all know what's going on."
No anger, I think it's hilarious that is pains certain quarters of the media to give this fine team even the smallest of praise. I'd say if Lily-white Larry Tompkins raised a smile his face would crack at the sight of Cluxton lifting Sam for the 6th time as captain. You say "we all" can see? You all see what you want to see no matter what.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/09/2019 00:43:51    2238160

I'm a dyed in the wool Kerry supporter I had hoped against my better judgement that Kerry would halt the so called drive for 5 but plain facts as the dust settles proclaim Dublin to be a team of exceptional talent You don't win 7 in a decade with duffers, I salute them , ní dhèanfaidh airgead capall ràis d'asal (money can't make a race horse out of a donkey) As I watched New Zealand blitz South Africa yesterday I was reminded of Dublin's whirlwind start to both halves last Saturday Kerry reeled and crumbled in those brilliant Dublin moments All year I feared for Kerry's inadequate defence , Dublin careered through the centre of Kerrys rearguard like a jarvey through the Gap of Dunloe. Unless Kerry can unearth defenders in the ilk of Aidan O Mahony ,Seamus Moynihan Tomás and Marc Ò Sè I'm afraid their sojourn in the desert will be a prolonged one. I was amazed that Tommy Walsh ,Killian Spillane and Jack Sherwood were not called into action earlier on Saturday, the selection of Diarmuid O Connor was also baffling to say the least, he is one for the future no doubt but not for last week. Again Keane and backroom make the calls the presumption is that they know best . Dublin is the best outfit I have seen in the past 40 years I still rate Galway of the 60s as the most talented all round team that I have seen It would be interesting if you could bring them back and give them the training that present teams receive. I now go to Tralee to watch 2 games in the County Championship of particular interest Liam Kearney, O Donoghue and O Brien of Glenflesk and Gavin O Brien of KORahillys. [My Old retired teacher friend will keep me up to speed on happenings in Killarney !!]

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 22/09/2019 12:34:27    2238228

Replying To 37sowhat:  "I'm a dyed in the wool Kerry supporter I had hoped against my better judgement that Kerry would halt the so called drive for 5 but plain facts as the dust settles proclaim Dublin to be a team of exceptional talent You don't win 7 in a decade with duffers, I salute them , ní dhèanfaidh airgead capall ràis d'asal (money can't make a race horse out of a donkey) As I watched New Zealand blitz South Africa yesterday I was reminded of Dublin's whirlwind start to both halves last Saturday Kerry reeled and crumbled in those brilliant Dublin moments All year I feared for Kerry's inadequate defence , Dublin careered through the centre of Kerrys rearguard like a jarvey through the Gap of Dunloe. Unless Kerry can unearth defenders in the ilk of Aidan O Mahony ,Seamus Moynihan Tomás and Marc Ò Sè I'm afraid their sojourn in the desert will be a prolonged one. I was amazed that Tommy Walsh ,Killian Spillane and Jack Sherwood were not called into action earlier on Saturday, the selection of Diarmuid O Connor was also baffling to say the least, he is one for the future no doubt but not for last week. Again Keane and backroom make the calls the presumption is that they know best . Dublin is the best outfit I have seen in the past 40 years I still rate Galway of the 60s as the most talented all round team that I have seen It would be interesting if you could bring them back and give them the training that present teams receive. I now go to Tralee to watch 2 games in the County Championship of particular interest Liam Kearney, O Donoghue and O Brien of Glenflesk and Gavin O Brien of KORahillys. [My Old retired teacher friend will keep me up to speed on happenings in Killarney !!
"]Really refreshing post 37, fair play to you, real Kerry GAA man. Its certainly not all doom and gloom for Kerry, there is much to build on and progress from there, i was struck watching Loachra Geal of the Gooch, how much he learned from his defeats in All Ireland finals as opposed to the victories, those Kerry lads will draw on what they felt over the two games to try and ensure they dont feel that way again. Very honest assessment as to the needs of Kerry at the moment, id agree and sure our light will decline eventually but we will enjoy it while it is here, we have been no estranges to the desert ourselves before this decade and we know yee with many others are looking over our shoulders!

Enjoy the games.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/09/2019 12:55:52    2238235

Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people.
I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us.
Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county.

It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted.

Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA.
We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire.

What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l!

I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county.

History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out.

Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/09/2019 14:03:23    2238251

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people.
I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us.
Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county.

It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted.

Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA.
We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire.

What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l!

I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county.

History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out.

Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
Yes indeed history will recognize our feats and excellence and what we have achieved. That's the great thing about the records. They record the facts not the opinions of the losers.
By the way , there's no shame in being obsessed with Dublin. It's all ok.Enjoy our success with us and appreciate it while it's happening.
Winter well.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/09/2019 14:50:20    2238260

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people.

Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
History will also judge those facile Kerry AIs won with just 3-4 games. Meaningless titles and so the roll of honour will have a huge asterisk against them. This Dublin team won 9 games in the championship this year. Four of their AI final were won by either a point or went to replay. That's how hard fought they were. The money of course is games development money that is pushed down to the lower levels and not IC but it does give ammunition to the uninformed begrudgers. It's been a tremendous hard fought run from Dublin, 9 games this year, 8 games last year to win Sam and almost halted 3 times by Mayo x 2 and Kerry x 1 but it's a measure of this team's greatness that they should come through. It must pain some to witness their great success.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2019 15:12:03    2238265

Ah the longing of the days, that Kerry can knock seven shades out of everyone in Munster and canter to a four game All Ireland, oh to have such a tradition.

It not lamentable for the game, that the game has become more competitive, 9 game All Irelands are common place now and there is no dodging Tyrones and Dublins anymore.

Kerry really need to approach the most competitive challenge in their history and look at it as exactly that a challenge and answer the questions that are being posed to them, there is no flat track for them anymore and all the cribbing in the world wont do them any favors.

All the s&c in the world, tin foil hats and all the Yerra wishful thinking will not turn those two Kerry defensive lines into champions, but as a Dub you be content to think that problem goes unidentified and tin foil hat causes for their lack of success will be adopted and no self reflection and improvement will come. Each to their own.

Dublin dont seek or require validation or acknowledgement, its not our way.

But was very telling, was the majority of the country wanted them to win the finals this year and make history. Thats a departure, as Kerry were underdogs. When you liken it to Mayo who were the peoples favoutes in our finals against us, the thread on here was very telling.........you would have to ask your self why this was, but im sure the answer is that Kerry were the victim somehow to some.

Its exactly the spot we want Kerry in, fair play to 37, he can see the bigger picture and knows the only way Kerry can improve is from within. The makings are there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/09/2019 15:23:01    2238269

Ah yes all our 37 titles were shams and sure don't we know only titles won in this decade count for anything, D GAA never existed before 2011.

Pitiful stuff from the usual climate deniers but keep it up, they seem convinced too it's only conspiracy theorists in Kerry that are asking questions, lads the whole country is and has been for a long time.

If only you had the decency to acknowledge the help you've been given perhaps public opinion would be less indignant. But no siege mentality and sneering is all ye can retreat to.

It's been a long time since I bothered reading the Dublin forum but I'd be curious too the amount of Kerry posters that said congrats on there to ye after last Sat week and contrasted that with the amount of ye that came onto the Kerry forum to have a go or "commiserate" as most of ye called it.
It tells its own story.

Anyway it's back to the county championship for us and hoping to find a few more players that can make the step up. 2020 should be a massive year for Kerry.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/09/2019 16:03:57    2238277

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah yes all our 37 titles were shams and sure don't we know only titles won in this decade count for anything, D GAA never existed before 2011.

Pitiful stuff from the usual climate deniers but keep it up, they seem convinced too it's only conspiracy theorists in Kerry that are asking questions, lads the whole country is and has been for a long time.

If only you had the decency to acknowledge the help you've been given perhaps public opinion would be less indignant. But no siege mentality and sneering is all ye can retreat to.

It's been a long time since I bothered reading the Dublin forum but I'd be curious too the amount of Kerry posters that said congrats on there to ye after last Sat week and contrasted that with the amount of ye that came onto the Kerry forum to have a go or "commiserate" as most of ye called it.
It tells its own story.

Anyway it's back to the county championship for us and hoping to find a few more players that can make the step up. 2020 should be a massive year for Kerry."
Why be curious? Just have a look. If Kerry posters are consoling themselves in their defeat by coming onto the National Forum and questioning Dublin's success due to population and/or money then expect your own successes to be questioned also. It's only fair isn't it? Genuine Kerry posters, and there are some on here like Gerry, will be consoled by Dublin posters. WUMs and begrudgers may expect to be flamed.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2019 16:21:06    2238281

Replying To Joxer:  "History will also judge those facile Kerry AIs won with just 3-4 games. Meaningless titles and so the roll of honour will have a huge asterisk against them. This Dublin team won 9 games in the championship this year. Four of their AI final were won by either a point or went to replay. That's how hard fought they were. The money of course is games development money that is pushed down to the lower levels and not IC but it does give ammunition to the uninformed begrudgers. It's been a tremendous hard fought run from Dublin, 9 games this year, 8 games last year to win Sam and almost halted 3 times by Mayo x 2 and Kerry x 1 but it's a measure of this team's greatness that they should come through. It must pain some to witness their great success."
Excellent post, absolutely spot on.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/09/2019 21:19:32    2238360

GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter.

In your opinion.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/09/2019 21:22:02    2238362

I was on holidays last few weeks so just want to congratulate the Dubs on achieving the historic 5 in a row.
In the 5 finals they were beatable in 4 of them apart from last year and they always found a way to overcome the opposition.
The Dubs got the break with the goal with all those steps taken but to be honest I didnt even notice that until after the game so not going to blame the ref on that .We got some handyish frees to keep us in the game in the first half too. The Dubs were much the better team in the replay and I think the Kerry management blew it big time on the sideline with the tactics and timing of subs etc.

Anyway fair play to the Dubs and congrats to the main Dubs posters on here such as Liam etc

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 27/09/2019 13:09:25    2239623

Replying To woops:  "I was on holidays last few weeks so just want to congratulate the Dubs on achieving the historic 5 in a row.
In the 5 finals they were beatable in 4 of them apart from last year and they always found a way to overcome the opposition.
The Dubs got the break with the goal with all those steps taken but to be honest I didnt even notice that until after the game so not going to blame the ref on that .We got some handyish frees to keep us in the game in the first half too. The Dubs were much the better team in the replay and I think the Kerry management blew it big time on the sideline with the tactics and timing of subs etc.

Anyway fair play to the Dubs and congrats to the main Dubs posters on here such as Liam etc"
Very fair and unbiased post especially the reference to the ref.
Thank you.

Here is to renewing the Dublin v kerry rivalry next year and beyond.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 27/09/2019 14:03:08    2239638

Replying To woops:  "I was on holidays last few weeks so just want to congratulate the Dubs on achieving the historic 5 in a row.

Anyway fair play to the Dubs and congrats to the main Dubs posters on here such as Liam etc"
Fair play woops refreshing to hear an unbiased review of the match from a Kerry poster,
I would just like to add that your team done yous proud, and have some excellent quality players
I have no doubt they will be winning All Irelands very soon .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/09/2019 14:26:54    2239645

Not all Kerry men are bitter..

"Up until Saturday evening, we in Kerry could argue the toss with either of those great Kerry teams but now we have to be gracious enough to concede that this Dublin team is the greatest gaelic football team of all time.
I certainly have massive respect and admiration for what they have achieved"

Eamonn Fitzmaurice

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 27/09/2019 16:32:32    2239679

For those who may not have recorded the All-Ireland Football replay and would like to view it again, it is available
on the TG player i.e. Sport/Player/TG4/Súil eile.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 27/09/2019 16:56:59    2239684

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Not all Kerry men are bitter..

"Up until Saturday evening, we in Kerry could argue the toss with either of those great Kerry teams but now we have to be gracious enough to concede that this Dublin team is the greatest gaelic football team of all time.
I certainly have massive respect and admiration for what they have achieved"

Eamonn Fitzmaurice"
Where did you come across this JacktheDub ?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 27/09/2019 17:32:46    2239686