Kerry V Donegal

Eoghan Ban being out is a huge blow for the county and the player himself, hope he makes a speedy recovery, I think this tips this game further in Kerry's favour now, still hopeful but apart from losing Michael Murphy losing Eoghan Ban is the next most influential player we have at the minute in my opinion,
injuries will happen and all teams get them so we just have to roll up the sleeves and do our best without him.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 18/07/2019 13:02:20    2212738

Very disappointing to see Bán Gallagher gone. A Rolls Royce of a footballer. Might just tip proceedings Kerry's way now.

I really wanted to see Jack McCaffrey and Bán Gallagher in a foot race at some point this championship. :(

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 18/07/2019 13:50:02    2212758

People in danger of losing the run of themselves here.

Eoghan Ban is a fine player & losing him is a blow but he is one player & we have able players on the bench who cna fit into the half back line.

If Declan wants like for like then Eoghan McHugh is ready made, if Declan decides to go the more defensive route then there are a number who could fill the role, Leo & Frank spring to mind.

Losing Murphy, Jamie or Paddy would be a bigger handicap in my opinion as there is no ready made replacement for them.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/07/2019 13:56:02    2212762

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "EBG being out for Donegal opens things up nicely now for Dublin, Mayo crippled with injuries Donegal picking up injuries Kerry picking up injuries.

Dublin players never seem to get injured and ye got Connolly and o'carroll back.

The chasing is falling away slowly but surely."
Dublin players are injured all the time KB.

Jack Mc in '17 final gone after 5 minutes knee

Alan Brogan gone for two season's in '12 n '13

Kevin Nolan diabetes wiped him out at 23.

Connolly not injured but gone for nearly two years

Bernard knee last year

Cooper injured this season

Cian O Sullivan hamstring last year

I could go on and on that's just off the top of my head

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2019 14:17:35    2212771

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Eoghan Ban being out is a huge blow for the county and the player himself, hope he makes a speedy recovery, I think this tips this game further in Kerry's favour now, still hopeful but apart from losing Michael Murphy losing Eoghan Ban is the next most influential player we have at the minute in my opinion,
injuries will happen and all teams get them so we just have to roll up the sleeves and do our best without him."
Hope it nothing too serious & wishing him well. A super player.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/07/2019 14:29:44    2212775

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dublin players are injured all the time KB.

Bernard knee last year

I could go on and on that's just off the top of my head"
Don't forget the back problems Dublin players suffer from, caused by carrying wallets full of cash

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/07/2019 14:48:05    2212787

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Don't forget the back problems Dublin players suffer from, caused by carrying wallets full of cash"
And what about the injuries endured by a lot of unfortunate non-Dubs from carrying so many chips on their shoulders.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/07/2019 15:36:17    2212806

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Don't forget the back problems Dublin players suffer from, caused by carrying wallets full of cash"
To be fair, that's the most pressing problem Muck.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/07/2019 15:39:49    2212810

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "People in danger of losing the run of themselves here.

Eoghan Ban is a fine player & losing him is a blow but he is one player & we have able players on the bench who cna fit into the half back line.

If Declan wants like for like then Eoghan McHugh is ready made, if Declan decides to go the more defensive route then there are a number who could fill the role, Leo & Frank spring to mind.

Losing Murphy, Jamie or Paddy would be a bigger handicap in my opinion as there is no ready made replacement for them."
Spot on.

Devastated for player himself, sound lad and will have the character to bounce straight back.

But a huge opportunity for someone else to show their credentials.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 18/07/2019 16:36:50    2212829

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dublin players are injured all the time KB.

Bernard knee last year

I could go on and on that's just off the top of my head"
Big squad that's the difference

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/07/2019 17:18:57    2212841

Hard luck on Gallagher and Donegal. Not nice to see any players season ended.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/07/2019 17:21:21    2212842

Desperately unlucky on Gallagher, a super tallent and all round class player.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/07/2019 17:49:56    2212853

Replying To Donegalman:  "Big squad that's the difference"
He said we never get injuries , we get them as much as everyone else.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2019 18:32:24    2212867

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "EBG being out for Donegal opens things up nicely now for Dublin, Mayo crippled with injuries Donegal picking up injuries Kerry picking up injuries.

Dublin players never seem to get injured and ye got Connolly and o'carroll back.

The chasing is falling away slowly but surely."
More nonsense kid -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/07/2019 19:35:24    2212884

Sorry to hear that Eoghan is out for the rest of the championship. Love the zip he brings to a counter attack when he moves forward. You can understand a player picking up an injury in the heat of battle but Donegal lost Paddy McGrath and Jamie Brennan picked up an eye injury during Sunday's warm up and now a key player injured in training. Read that some top teams ease off on intensity of training drills now that they are in action most week ends.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 19/07/2019 00:45:01    2213005

Replying To gunman:  "You might not realise it but Galway is further from most of Donegal than Dublin.I am sure both counties would rather play in Croke Park."
Ach - wherever you live, Croker's a day out, so it is.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 19/07/2019 20:38:26    2213294

Not many draws in the championship so far............this one could be very close. Draw or Donegal to edge it.

Rayo1 (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 19/07/2019 20:49:48    2213299

Replying To superbluedub:  "More nonsense kid -:)"
Are you going to explain why you think my post is nonsense or do we just take your word for it kid? ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2019 21:48:49    2213319

Replying To Donegalman:  "Big squad that's the difference"
Correct. Dublin could field a second team and they'd do quite well.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 19/07/2019 23:15:59    2213361

Kerry will have too much in this one and are getting all their ducks in a row for the shot at the Dubs. They'll do whatever it takes to upend the shot at the 5.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/07/2019 08:01:08    2213414