Dublin V Roscommon

I think this will be a very good game of football from 2 teams that try to play football. Free flowing high scoring I'd expect Dublin's fitness & quality of the bench to finish strong .

Itoldyouso (Roscommon) - Posts: 40 - 17/07/2019 13:26:16    2212335

Replying To Itoldyouso:  "I think this will be a very good game of football from 2 teams that try to play football. Free flowing high scoring I'd expect Dublin's fitness & quality of the bench to finish strong ."
Free flowing is not the game Roscommon should be trying to play v Dublin if they want to be somewhat competitive in this game. Dublin's fitness and strong bench was the huge difference in their last two games v Meath and Cork.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 17/07/2019 14:35:00    2212369

I hope diarmuid is on the 26 itll add as a distraction.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 17/07/2019 14:40:04    2212370

Hard to see past a double figure Dublin win here. Even if the game follows a similar enough pattern I feel as always come the last 10 mins our conditioning and emptying of the bench will see us stretch away towards the end. I'd expect us to step it up a gear from last weekend and don't think for a second Roscommon will be getting a head-start like we gave Cork. I'd like to see ROC get some game time this week and would be delighted to see DC in the 26 but not sure if that's realistic. All depends how long he has actually been back for! I think the -14 handicap is a bit of a stretch and expect something like 10-12 pts in it at the end.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 17/07/2019 14:59:57    2212378

Replying To Highandmighty:  "I'm a born and bred Leitrim man for better or worse. My posting history or lack thereof doesn't really have anything to do with what I said now does it?

It bothers me because of the media love in or hype or whatever you want to call it that has surrounded him at times this year when he isn't even the best forward on his team. Plenty of the Rosscommon team playing well above par this year and not getting the same attention as Cox."
Very negative and rubbish posting bud. Maybe you should be concentrating on the challenge of Cork next year.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 17/07/2019 15:02:27    2212380

I like Roscommon, they deserved the provincial win, best team from the west this year. But in saying that, I really fear for them this weekend. Croke Park suits Dublin. Big open spaces and plenty of running. I hope I am wrong but I can see them being thumped by a ruthless Dublin team that haven't gotten out of third gear yet. I think Dublin by 15+.

nibuagandua (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 17/07/2019 15:11:44    2212386

Replying To Highandmighty:  "Cox has to be the most overrated forward in the country this year , takes pot shots that come off once in a blue moon that look fantastic. Clear to see at the weekend why Kerry were OK with him leaving , if he was as good as he's being made out to be he wouldn't be pulling on primrose and blue.

Some other handy forwards for Ross to be sure but won't even trouble Dublin , expecting an absolute drubbing even worse than how the cork match finished up, hope I'm wrong but can't see it."
Absolute rubbish, Cox is an excellent forward and been brilliant for Ross in games v mayo and galway just because he had one mediocre game against Tyrone doesn't change that ,he's a massive addition to Roscommon and best of luck to him he seems like a nice lad who's fully committed to Roscommon

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 17/07/2019 15:20:21    2212392

It saddens me that a thread about how friendly Donegal supporters are has twice as many posts as this one :(. Anyway, that'll all change when we beat the Dubs at the weekend :)

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 17/07/2019 16:59:10    2212427

pointless even discussing this, Dublin by 20+

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 17/07/2019 17:17:08    2212439

There is no reason why Roscommon can't challenge Dublin. They beat the best Connacht had to offer in decent Mayo and Galway sides and are deserved champions. They had their worst performance to date against Tyrone and they couldn't really cope with Tyrone's defense/counter tactics, it was never going to be an easy game but I don't think they really achieved near their best and would be very disappointed with their performance.

So I think they would have trained well during the week and will have a decent amount of hurt to motivate them. If it was a 15 v 15 game they'd be in with a good chance of making it a competitive game against Dublin. The problem is Dublin's bench and the varied options that can be sprung. That's what most teams haven't been able to deal with. The intensity Dublin can inject during the most important stage of a game is matched by no one.

It'll follow the norm. Competitive enough with Dublin holding a lead until Roscommon tire trying to counter Dublin's intensity and non stop running game. Then when the Dub lads tire in equal measure on comes the superior panel to finish the game, on comes very talented and hungry multiple All Ireland winning All Stars all looking to make a statement, and Dublin's impressive conversion rate and percentages goes through the gears and moves get finished, the high press intensifies and there's runners coming from all angles wanting the ball.

Think Dubs will be 6-8 ahead at around 55th minute and will end up winning by 12+

Roscommon are a good side but Dublin are #1 for good reason and a cut above any team they've played thus far.

Dublin into a semifinal and it doesn't really matter who it's against, it will be an equally difficult game, so finishing 1st or 2nd in group doesn't really matter.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/07/2019 17:51:06    2212463

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Absolute rubbish, Cox is an excellent forward and been brilliant for Ross in games v mayo and galway just because he had one mediocre game against Tyrone doesn't change that ,he's a massive addition to Roscommon and best of luck to him he seems like a nice lad who's fully committed to Roscommon"
To be fair Tyrone is the only decent defence he has faced all year, he got 5 points (2 from frees) in each of the games against Leitrim, Mayo and Galway, but after what we've seen from Mayo and Galway and what we already know about Leitrim, we're hardly world beaters. Not questioning the lads commitment or anything of the sort but the only real test he has had this year he hasn't passed.

Not saying he doesn't have the ability to be brilliant as hes certainly shown it in flashes but I just think the praise for him this year has been a bit much. Plenty of lads this year more deserving of the praise , Rian O Neill, Michael Newman and Jamie Brennan spring to mind.

I know Cox himself can't control what the media says about him so not his fault but he has been overrated to an extent.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 17/07/2019 17:57:44    2212464

Replying To Highandmighty:  "To be fair Tyrone is the only decent defence he has faced all year, he got 5 points (2 from frees) in each of the games against Leitrim, Mayo and Galway, but after what we've seen from Mayo and Galway and what we already know about Leitrim, we're hardly world beaters. Not questioning the lads commitment or anything of the sort but the only real test he has had this year he hasn't passed.

Not saying he doesn't have the ability to be brilliant as hes certainly shown it in flashes but I just think the praise for him this year has been a bit much. Plenty of lads this year more deserving of the praise , Rian O Neill, Michael Newman and Jamie Brennan spring to mind.

I know Cox himself can't control what the media says about him so not his fault but he has been overrated to an extent."
Difficult to understand why you find 'the praise' for Cox so annoying. O'Neill, Brennan and Newman have garnered lots of headlines and well deserved praise this year. You, in your wisdom, have decided that 'he has been over-rated' but that does not make it fact.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/07/2019 21:06:08    2212536

Would agree with the majority of posters here that Dublins superior panel will win this game for them by a margin but I hope we can at least hang in there for fifty minutes or more. I actually think the open spaces of Croke Park could help our inside forwards. For a young Roscommon panel it is a great learning curve and experience whatever way one looks at it.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 17/07/2019 21:28:06    2212549

Replying To neverright:  "Difficult to understand why you find 'the praise' for Cox so annoying. O'Neill, Brennan and Newman have garnered lots of headlines and well deserved praise this year. You, in your wisdom, have decided that 'he has been over-rated' but that does not make it fact."
Yes but the difference is that those names mentioned (barring possibly O' Neill depending how you rate Cavan) have faced a decent test this year and played well, so any praise they have garnered is deserved, what has Cox done against a good team? nothing.
I hope that does change against Dublin and Cork because he clearly has the ability but its only shown against somewhat weaker defences so far and I wouldn't mind Roscommon doing well and possibly putting the cat among the pigeons depending how results go in their group.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 17/07/2019 21:34:49    2212553

Replying To dec:  "pointless even discussing this, Dublin by 20+"
Your right
Lets move on what number do lads think diarmuid will wear in warm up, do we think his shirt will have sleeves ripped off, will him and johnny do warm ups together
The match is a foregone conclusion the above are what sky want to know.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 17/07/2019 21:39:51    2212554

Replying To Highandmighty:  "Yes but the difference is that those names mentioned (barring possibly O' Neill depending how you rate Cavan) have faced a decent test this year and played well, so any praise they have garnered is deserved, what has Cox done against a good team? nothing.
I hope that does change against Dublin and Cork because he clearly has the ability but its only shown against somewhat weaker defences so far and I wouldn't mind Roscommon doing well and possibly putting the cat among the pigeons depending how results go in their group."
It's intriguing to know what really itches you about Cox.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/07/2019 23:16:42    2212590

Replying To jimbodub:  "There is no reason why Roscommon can't challenge Dublin. They beat the best Connacht had to offer in decent Mayo and Galway sides and are deserved champions. They had their worst performance to date against Tyrone and they couldn't really cope with Tyrone's defense/counter tactics, it was never going to be an easy game but I don't think they really achieved near their best and would be very disappointed with their performance.

So I think they would have trained well during the week and will have a decent amount of hurt to motivate them. If it was a 15 v 15 game they'd be in with a good chance of making it a competitive game against Dublin. The problem is Dublin's bench and the varied options that can be sprung. That's what most teams haven't been able to deal with. The intensity Dublin can inject during the most important stage of a game is matched by no one.

It'll follow the norm. Competitive enough with Dublin holding a lead until Roscommon tire trying to counter Dublin's intensity and non stop running game. Then when the Dub lads tire in equal measure on comes the superior panel to finish the game, on comes very talented and hungry multiple All Ireland winning All Stars all looking to make a statement, and Dublin's impressive conversion rate and percentages goes through the gears and moves get finished, the high press intensifies and there's runners coming from all angles wanting the ball.

Think Dubs will be 6-8 ahead at around 55th minute and will end up winning by 12+

Roscommon are a good side but Dublin are #1 for good reason and a cut above any team they've played thus far.

Dublin into a semifinal and it doesn't really matter who it's against, it will be an equally difficult game, so finishing 1st or 2nd in group doesn't really matter."
"There's no reason why Roscommon can't challenge Dublin... Dublin will... end up winning by 12+"

If that is what is considered a challenge at the business end of the championship, then God help us all.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2019 00:06:26    2212601

If you have ever played sport or know anything about sport you will know that no game is a foregone conclusion, that is why Japan can beat Zuid Africa in the Rugby World Cup, why Leicester can win the premiership, why Caltra can win the All Ireland club championship, why Offaly can deny Kerry a 5 in a row and why Roscommon can take Dublin in their own back yard next Saturday. Its not probable but most definitely possible. The loss to Tyrone might actually benefit Roscommon, the shackles are off, the expectation is low so they can express themselves and run at Dublin and use their very obviously talented forwards to frighten the bejaysus out of the Dublin defence. If the two goal opportunities that Roscommon created in the Tyrone game had come off they would have gained momentum and Tyrone's heads would have dropped, it didn't happen, so coulda, woulda, shoulda...

Can this Roscommon team beat the Dubs, of course they can, will they next Saturday, probably not. If they stay within 7 or 8 points of the Dubs then the general consensus would be that "it was a good result for Roscommon". Anthony Cunningham won't be of that opinion and he is dead right, Roscommon can beat Dublin and that should be their goal. They need to put the Dubs on the back foot, if they are chasing the game like last weekend Dublin will waltz it.

Roscommon Population = 65K ish
Mayo Population = 130K ish (twice Roscommon's)
Galway Population = 258K ish (4 times Roscommon's)
Dublin Population = 1.3 million (20 times Roscommon's)

Fortunately, there will only be 15/20 Rossies competing against 15/20 Dubs on Saturday but the Odds are stacked against the Rossies obviously.

Roscommon to win by 10.

Hoofhearted (Australia) - Posts: 49 - 18/07/2019 03:40:06    2212613

You know its great to he optimistic but i genuinely feel for the rossies in this one. Mother of all hidings on the way and a trip home pondering was it worth winning connaught at all

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/07/2019 07:05:31    2212618

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Your right
Lets move on what number do lads think diarmuid will wear in warm up, do we think his shirt will have sleeves ripped off, will him and johnny do warm ups together
The match is a foregone conclusion the above are what sky want to know."
As it's Roscommon he will bring out his Leitrim top again :)

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/07/2019 09:04:52    2212629