Tipp Hurling Fans Fighting

Videos going around of Tipp fans having a good aul bust up on the terraces yesterday....not a good image for the game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 20/05/2019 09:12:12    2185744

Saw the clip earlier, horrible to see that kind of behaviour at our games
Idiots

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/05/2019 09:28:31    2185754

Its got nothing to do with the game. A few idiots in the terrace acting the tough men probably drinking all morning before the game. They are not real fans. They need to be identified and named and shamed. That would deter this behavior in future.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2471 - 20/05/2019 09:31:42    2185756

Funny heard of this before from about a small few Tipp fans. 2008 Munster final against Clare in Limerick springs to mind. I did not see it as was in Castlebar that day for the earlier game (Connacht Final). I would suspect a small band. I remember at the 2015 hurling semi final a few of our crew appeared to be messing with some Tipp fans on the hill. Think it might have been handbags but was difficult to sew down the other end.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/05/2019 09:37:57    2185760

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Its got nothing to do with the game. A few idiots in the terrace acting the tough men probably drinking all morning before the game. They are not real fans. They need to be identified and named and shamed. That would deter this behavior in future."
They are real fans though.

They're not the fans we want but they're a part of fandom.

Soccer has done this 'they're not real fans' routine for years but it is not true. Any sport that has big cross community support will attract all sorts of people to its games.

Living beside Croker means I've seen all sorts, from different counties including my own, down through the years. From fighting to urinating at people's front doors etc. 99% of people are great but the 1% exists and have always been there, despite what some may think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 20/05/2019 09:40:54    2185763

Saw it. A right auld ruckus.

Not good.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/05/2019 10:00:29    2185774

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Its got nothing to do with the game. A few idiots in the terrace acting the tough men probably drinking all morning before the game. They are not real fans. They need to be identified and named and shamed. That would deter this behavior in future."
Two of them were arrested and released after being dealt with by way of adult caution which is an absolute joke in my opinion.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/05/2019 10:03:33    2185775

Absolutely sickening behavior by a pack of idiots. This country has a seriously twisted and damaging relationship with alcohol that needs to be looked at by the government.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/05/2019 10:04:39    2185777

Im sure everyone here has have incidents where drunk people have effected their match day experience.

They shouldn't be let in, simple as. I have no problem with people going for a few drinks before the game, its the bus loads of people drinking the night before then topping up the next morning. I honestly don't understand why they just don't go to the pub to watch it.

Maybe there needs to be more stewards/Guards at grounds.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/05/2019 10:08:14    2185779

Saw the video. Doesn't look good that's for sure and seemed to be all teenage young lads acting the hard men. I see the cops arrested two and let them go with a slap on the wrist. "Two young men (one juvenile and one in his 20s) were arrested at the stadium under the Public Order Act, they were both later released without charge to be dealt with by way of adult caution and the diversion programme for young offenders."

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 20/05/2019 10:18:49    2185788

You can say its a minority, drink can be blamed too, at the end of the day people will vote with their feet and they won't go unless it is tackled head on. It is difficult enough selling the games at the best of times without this, which apart from H&S concerns terracing was banned in UK in the first place.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4894 - 20/05/2019 10:27:40    2185793

Replying To MesAmis:  "They are real fans though.

They're not the fans we want but they're a part of fandom.

Soccer has done this 'they're not real fans' routine for years but it is not true. Any sport that has big cross community support will attract all sorts of people to its games.

Living beside Croker means I've seen all sorts, from different counties including my own, down through the years. From fighting to urinating at people's front doors etc. 99% of people are great but the 1% exists and have always been there, despite what some may think."
I disagree.

The comment I was making about them not being real fans are that in reality clowns like this couldnt really care less about whats happening on the pitch, they are more interest in the day out and the p*ss up.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2471 - 20/05/2019 11:03:33    2185817

Its a few young thick skins up to no good no interest in hurling what so ever. Its just a day out of the town for them most of them wouldnt know a hurley from a sweeping brush if it hit them.

These young bucks on our terrances have always been an issue if they were in a stand sitting down I'm sure you wouldnt see this messing.

Bad image for our game and of course gives Tipp fans who attend hurling matches a bad name.

I hope their names were passed to Semple Stadium and a ban for them but that probably wont happen.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/05/2019 11:13:15    2185825

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Absolutely sickening behavior by a pack of idiots. This country has a seriously twisted and damaging relationship with alcohol that needs to be looked at by the government."
They should start by educating our youth about responsible attitudes towards alcohol. To many of them that sounds 'boring' which is half of the problem. We saw the backlash Shane Ross got when he eventually broke the Vintners lobby and changed drink driving legislation. What message do they think they send out to our youth if they're saying the onky place to socialise in rural Ireland is in a pub drinking alcohol and sure driving after a few pints is grand? The bravado drinking culture is dangerous, is there anyone in Ireland who doesn't know someone whose life isn't affected by alcoholism. People can go out and enjoy a few drinks and have a good time but peer pressure on 'getting locked' can be too much for many people and lead to alcoholism. Sending videos of this fight is only adding to it, stupidly some kids probably think these culprits are heroes, fighting drinking men.

I'll give up now. They need to start at the beginning and see why we drink like we do. Some doctors came up with a plan to decrease the binge drinking culture by increasing the price of alcohol in off licences because it worked in Canada! This will get a lot worse before it ever gets better.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7327 - 20/05/2019 11:27:23    2185836

I disagree.

The comment I was making about them not being real fans are that in reality clowns like this couldnt really care less about whats happening on the pitch, they are more interest in the day out and the p*ss up.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 1944 - 20/05/2019 11:03:33

I get what you're saying but they are real fans. As in they exist and turn up to games every year and will continue to do so.

That fact must be accepted before the issues can be tackled.

I'm not sure if we need more Gardaí in stadiums but I do think they could be made to work a little harder at times.

Nearly every game I go to you see fans entering the stadium that should not be allowed to enter as they are far too drunk.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 20/05/2019 11:27:53    2185838

And what mechanisms, if any, have been put in place to ban these muppets from matches in future, or will they be free to resume hostilities at the next Tipp match?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/05/2019 11:36:31    2185844

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Absolutely sickening behavior by a pack of idiots. This country has a seriously twisted and damaging relationship with alcohol that needs to be looked at by the government."
Sadly it's probably not just drink with the way this country's going . Yobs like this will discourage many decent people from going if it becomes regular . Imagine young children with their parents near this

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 20/05/2019 11:36:52    2185846

We can blame drink or anything else for that matter but the bottom line is it doesn't excuse anybody behaving like that. They should be named and shamed and made take responsibility for their actions. It could have led to a extremely dangerous situation and should be treated as. People bringing kids to a match and that kicking off beside them. Zero tolerance for that carry on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 20/05/2019 12:06:44    2185865

Replying To hurler32:  "Sadly it's probably not just drink with the way this country's going . Yobs like this will discourage many decent people from going if it becomes regular . Imagine young children with their parents near this"
That's true, there are reasons people feel the need to engage in drinking and drugging, and these need to he addressed. Are the lives of our youth that miserable and devoid of meaning that they have to numb themselves senseless with substance abuse? Well the short answer is yes.

The anticipation and excitement of a GAA match involving your own county should be enough to keep people engaged without adding alcohol into the mix.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/05/2019 12:41:34    2185884

I would expect Tipp GAA have been made aware of who the guys arrested are, if they are involved with clubs they should be given lengthy bans. I don't think its that easy in GAA to issue banning orders like they do in soccer for blocking people attending games. Definitely think that stewards should be able to turn away anyone who is drunk from entering games. I was at a soccer match some place once and they breathalysed fans they thought looked possibly drunk.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 20/05/2019 16:53:44    2185983