Admission To League Games Set To Increase

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "You see Username us poor Culchies start frothing like your frapacinos when we have Dubs telling us how great the economy is & what great value 33.3% increases are & how our roll, coffee & Mars bar should be costing us €20, you see down the country were not all experiencing that warm fuzzy feeling that ye have up there. Using expendable income is not the most accurate of indicators as there are too many variables, percentage increases based on base figure & increase is accurate, as is comparing that figure to the current CPI index, but we could argue that all night. Fact is for many it's not an issue but for some it is. There are families who travel long journeys to lots of games, food, fuel, transport costs, even with season tickets their loyalty is not being rewarded, there are people who are struggling & their only outlet is GAA & they see this increase as punishment rather than reward for their loyalty. Increasing ticket prices when attendances last year showed serious decline is not good business sense & if they had project managed PUC instead of allowing a €25 Million overspend, would there have been any increase. Anyhow, I must return to the tae & hang sangwich, no pesto or sun dried tomatoes down here."
There you go again stereotyping, Dublin is multi county and multi cultural we live shoulder to shoulder with each other. They even serve "culchie" people frappachinos.

Why the axe to grind with Dublin. Or to label someone from Dublin as being well off, if someone is or isn't doesn't fit into a narrow stereotype. There is affluence and poverty presumably everywhere in Ireland. I'm not sure if you are from Dublin or elsewhere you can claim a right to it. I'm not sure the country or city has a monopoly on affluence or poverty.

Truth be told, if you are on an old age pension, job seekers of disability you are probably far better off in the country then in Dublin if the cost of living is lower if you claim, because as you rightly point out the cost of living is very high, especially if you aren't getting much change out of a roll for 20 Euro.

You talk like it's an exclusive club traveling to away games, I was in Omagh twice last year, Galway, Portloaise and Castlebar. The reverse fixtures the year before. Clones on Sunday and booked for the rest of the away games for the league thus far. That's before we talk hurling. I'll put this very simply, Dublin take more fans away then any other county, we certainty don't need advise I felt for the Galway players at the league final and semi final as they were really poor attended they were a really admirable team. But let's not turn this into a super fan debate.

Simply put, you don't know anyone's background on here, I'm sure there are well off lads and lads that struggle. Fitting someone's opinion into your biased stereotype or their county of origin really, isn't reflective of treating people as individuals, you will see diversity of opinions from people from the same county on here and it's healthy to have those different opinions, if we didn't we would all have those biased stereotypes you are keen to shoe horn people into.

I still think, 20 euro is terrific value, particularly for kids, the fact the GAA is communal and money goes back into the game is also a true ,motivation that bridges any sense of fleecing for me. Everyone wants more money, but no one wants to pay for it.

If I was you I get your roll and Frappuccino the far side on Enfild the next time you visit Dublin a chara. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/01/2019 23:28:14    2158801

€20 for an uncovered Stand seat in Jan/Feb/Mar. Only one way to answer that......let us all sit home and hurt them at the turnstiles. Otherwise no point complaining.......ACTION speaks much louder than words.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 22/01/2019 01:14:13    2158811

John Horan states that some of the extra money will be put back into the clubs, I will believe that when I see it

lefty (Wexford) - Posts: 185 - 22/01/2019 08:15:16    2158818

Its for the clubs but have reduced the fees clubs have to pay, registrations fees, insurance..
There way of giving back to the club is too charge club staff and players extra going into county games, I dont understand that.
Was the daft handpass rule brought in to cover up the fact they were raising the ticket prices for league and championship????

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 22/01/2019 09:02:59    2158824

No one likes paying more money for anything!

We had extremely good value for money across the leagues for the last number of years as they've been excellent entertainment and I often thought to myself that it was very cheap for the product on offer.

The GAA should be commended for that.

I understand the economic positives this would bring for the association but at the same time look at the money the GAA made from the Sky Deal only a few seasons ago.. at no other time has the GAA made that sort of massive revenue from a TV rights deal.

Surely that massive sum of income must have come as a substantial boost and it'll more than likely be another big pay day in the not so distant future from Sky once again.

I'd question this decision at this time of economic uncertainty, a hard Brexit will hit Ireland hard and again especially with the GAA being in such a strong place financially with record breaking present and future lucrative TV rights deals it does feel a wee bit jarring for the GAA to raise prices for the leagues.

But listen

I'd also have to pull up some posters thinking the streets are paved with gold in Dublin. (Parts of Dublin have profited while other areas are still struggling) Dublin is way over priced at present and there are many families that are living from pay packet to pay packet. This " Demup dere in Dubillinn" nonsense is a very skewed way at looking at things... there's far more people struggling than profiting and if you're not fortunate to own your own home here at present then it's a very difficult situation you find currently find yourself in.

Some country people really are very self obsessed and can't look beyond their own nose.

Financial struggle is financial struggle. Regardless of post code.

Some get off thinking they have it worse than others.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/01/2019 10:11:26    2158833

Replying To jimbodub:  "No one likes paying more money for anything!

We had extremely good value for money across the leagues for the last number of years as they've been excellent entertainment and I often thought to myself that it was very cheap for the product on offer.

The GAA should be commended for that.

I understand the economic positives this would bring for the association but at the same time look at the money the GAA made from the Sky Deal only a few seasons ago.. at no other time has the GAA made that sort of massive revenue from a TV rights deal.

Surely that massive sum of income must have come as a substantial boost and it'll more than likely be another big pay day in the not so distant future from Sky once again.

I'd question this decision at this time of economic uncertainty, a hard Brexit will hit Ireland hard and again especially with the GAA being in such a strong place financially with record breaking present and future lucrative TV rights deals it does feel a wee bit jarring for the GAA to raise prices for the leagues.

But listen

I'd also have to pull up some posters thinking the streets are paved with gold in Dublin. (Parts of Dublin have profited while other areas are still struggling) Dublin is way over priced at present and there are many families that are living from pay packet to pay packet. This " Demup dere in Dubillinn" nonsense is a very skewed way at looking at things... there's far more people struggling than profiting and if you're not fortunate to own your own home here at present then it's a very difficult situation you find currently find yourself in.

Some country people really are very self obsessed and can't look beyond their own nose.

Financial struggle is financial struggle. Regardless of post code.

Some get off thinking they have it worse than others."
Your self and username and Leo keep yer heads in the sand, sure everything is brilliant all together.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2019 10:40:26    2158840

The GAA is out of touch with the ordinary people attending matches. These price hikes are
totally unnecessary and backfired spectacularly in the Ulster Championship last year as attendances slumped after prices were increased. As such they are totally counter productive. Average Ulster Championship attendance figures down 28% from 2016. 17,135 in 2016, 12,370 last year.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 22/01/2019 10:52:12    2158845

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Your self and username and Leo keep yer heads in the sand, sure everything is brilliant all together."
I disagree with the price increase

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/01/2019 11:10:16    2158849

15e(if you buy anytime the week before?) for top class hurling and football action isnt a huge price? a 0.0 draw at the aviva costs 70!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 22/01/2019 12:04:21    2158858

Replying To kavvie:  "15e(if you buy anytime the week before?) for top class hurling and football action isnt a huge price? a 0.0 draw at the aviva costs 70!!"
It's all relative Kavvie. Could be a mighty 0-0 with keepers tied for man of the match and Ireland could qualify with the draw in a stadium with facilities. Was only thinking the other day that night League games v The Dubs are grand, a bit better if it's a double header or triple header with ladies and hurling. But Croker is half empty, lacking any match atmosphere. They'll never beat the atmosphere of a night game in a packed Parnell Park.

This reared it's ugly head over the Liam Miller testimonial. These price increases are partly paying for stadium developments. Out of necessity and good financial planning some clubs share their grounds with other sports clubs getting more usage from the facilities than if they were just for GAA. They get some funding from grants and that way taxpayers money has been spent a bit wiser. GAA, IRFU, FAI all have stadia that are idle in the offseason and quite a bit during the season. No rugby or soccer stadium with a pitch area big enough for games but fine for training. It's 2019. The GAA can't expect to grow if it doesn't hold out the hand to soccer and rugby players who also love hurling and gaelic football. Any more proposed GAA, Rugby, Soccer stadia should be looked at from a groundshare perspective to get value for money.

This a pessimistic and cynical opinion I know but if the GAA keeps building up a Super 8 elite, pushes for an intermediate championship, brings in rules without proper consultation, not only will they damage the intercounty game outside Super 8 counties, they'll promote soccer and rugby for talented athletes in non-Super 8 counties.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/01/2019 12:57:14    2158872

I think I must have upset a few Leo fans :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2019 13:18:00    2158879

In response to the two Dubs, don't be getting excited about stereotyping, your at with the Kerry boys here all the time, a lot of it is jousting. Over my years in Artane, Coolock & Dolphins Barn I saw the other side of Dublin, the one where people struggle like some in Donegal or Kerry.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 22/01/2019 17:15:56    2158930

John Horan needs to be more specific about the €500,000 for clubs & overseas units, will that be for juvenile as well as adult clubs, hurling & football ? Or vested clubs in the GAA only ? Will LGFA & Camogie units be included ? will a specific sum be given to all directly into their accounts or is it sent to County Boards only for distribution ? Will overseas units in every continent benefit ? I would never believe Croke Park again on money going to clubs, when we voted to open Croke Park years ago we were told the same story, every club would benefit directly financially, in Connacht not one cent went into any club account. Hopefully some journalist with guts will push Croke Park to clarify this.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 22/01/2019 17:37:53    2158938

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think I must have upset a few Leo fans :-)"
lol

All 5 of them

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/01/2019 17:57:14    2158941

Traditionally Connacht has one rugby school in comparison to plenty in Leinster, including Tipperary! Those Leinster schools are not stuck for cash nor will be anytime soon. Arguably Rugby is the fourth most popular sport in Connacht but IRFU are making strides in primary schools in non-rugby traditional areas, if that's t hge right term? Connacht are well behind the curve compared t ok other provinces, not too long ago they were nearly extinct. A lack of a 3G or 4G hasn't hindered their slowish progress.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4862 - 1/21/19 8:05:38 PM
The Cistercian college is in county offaly. Just over border. It isnt in Tipp!
And connacht has far more than one rugby school, traditionally or otherwise!!
Rugby in Connacht is making huge strides as like other provinces with development officers attending primary schools for training sessions then occasional blitzes with aim of getting kids playing in clubs. more and more secondary schools entering competitions as well also with aim of getting kids playing in clubs and there has been huge increase in teams competing in club competitions

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 22/01/2019 18:09:28    2158948

Why is anyone surprised in ticket price increases? With everyone now demanding we dumb down venues to play in totally inappropriate grounds were is the revenue shortfall going to come from? I know most couldn't care less, but it has to come from somewhere.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 22/01/2019 18:23:24    2158951

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think I must have upset a few Leo fans :-)"
Well I'm not a Leo fan or a fan of the party he represents so you haven't upset me. Im going to get a record number of red thumbs for this but I don't fully buy this narrative of it being all a case of a booming Dublin /east coast and an economically stagnant/depressed rest of the country. Yes there's a twin track economy and there's unbalanced regional development and more jobs need to be brought to the regions but there's lots of places around the country doing well too. According to the CSO the average national industrial wage for those in full time employment was 46,407 EUR at the end of 2017. When part time employment is included the average comes down to 37,646 EUR . Workers in IT and other hi-tech companies are likely to be earning considerably above the average. There are plenty of those kind of jobs outside The Pale too. The seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in November 2018 was 5.3% . So unless all the complainers here are hard Marxists, I think they need to take a break from playing their violins and admit that most of them can afford to pay an extra fiver to go and support their county teams.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 22/01/2019 18:34:42    2158953

Replying To jimbodub:  "lol

All 5 of them"
Ya he only got about 6,000 votes and only got in on the 3rd count.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2019 19:02:58    2158961

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Traditionally Connacht has one rugby school in comparison to plenty in Leinster, including Tipperary! Those Leinster schools are not stuck for cash nor will be anytime soon. Arguably Rugby is the fourth most popular sport in Connacht but IRFU are making strides in primary schools in non-rugby traditional areas, if that's t hge right term? Connacht are well behind the curve compared t ok other provinces, not too long ago they were nearly extinct. A lack of a 3G or 4G hasn't hindered their slowish progress.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4862 - 1/21/19 8:05:38 PM
The Cistercian college is in county offaly. Just over border. It isnt in Tipp!
And connacht has far more than one rugby school, traditionally or otherwise!!
Rugby in Connacht is making huge strides as like other provinces with development officers attending primary schools for training sessions then occasional blitzes with aim of getting kids playing in clubs. more and more secondary schools entering competitions as well also with aim of getting kids playing in clubs and there has been huge increase in teams competing in club competitions"
Garbally College. I'm saying it's traditional based on it's past players and used to be a boarding school. I wouldn't argue that point with you Ormond though, I'm not that up-to-date. Off the top of my head Sligo Grammar would be classed as rugby, The Bish maybe. Not many I can think of that are predominantly rugby schools though. Not like some Leinster, Ulster, Munster schools.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/01/2019 19:16:24    2158965

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Well I'm not a Leo fan or a fan of the party he represents so you haven't upset me. Im going to get a record number of red thumbs for this but I don't fully buy this narrative of it being all a case of a booming Dublin /east coast and an economically stagnant/depressed rest of the country. Yes there's a twin track economy and there's unbalanced regional development and more jobs need to be brought to the regions but there's lots of places around the country doing well too. According to the CSO the average national industrial wage for those in full time employment was 46,407 EUR at the end of 2017. When part time employment is included the average comes down to 37,646 EUR . Workers in IT and other hi-tech companies are likely to be earning considerably above the average. There are plenty of those kind of jobs outside The Pale too. The seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in November 2018 was 5.3% . So unless all the complainers here are hard Marxists, I think they need to take a break from playing their violins and admit that most of them can afford to pay an extra fiver to go and support their county teams."
What are the net values of those industrial wages?
Surely they're relative to where you're living, travelling long distances to work, married/single with/without children and a load of other factors.
What difference does being a 'hard' Marxist make to these price increases?

You're fine with the price increase. That's grand. Not everyone is.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/01/2019 19:30:50    2158971