Tyrone V Dublin

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "the sidelines in healy park are being brought in by 8 metres on either side to go for the minimum width...all to tyrone's advantage so as to restrict the space for the dubs when they try to widen the game out going forward..."
I know you are probably joking but not sure a smaller pitch would help Tyrone. Surely with the way Tyrone play the running game a wider pitch would suit them more. The other thing that people tend to underestimate is how physical Dublin are, not a small man on the team, so confined space means more close quarter tackling which suits the physically stronger team. Tyrone need to try to play the game on their terms and take Dublin out of their comfort zone, mind you that is easier said than done.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 19/07/2018 10:52:52    2123704

Replying To mon07:  "I think Tyrone will win this as the Dublin forwards do not seem to be working well as a unit and they are playing more and more with a blanket defence and I would say Tyrone have the team to overcome them if they do the same at the weekend."
Dublin have scored 9-90 in four championship games. They have pulled up in all four games. That's an average of over 29 points per game. I can only imagine what that would be if their forwards did work well as a unit.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 19/07/2018 12:02:54    2123722

I suppose it will tell us how far we have really come since last year. It sets up for a great match , have we improved for the better , I'm not sure , I don't want to sound bullish or go way ahead of myself, we are up against one of the best sides of all time , can we beat them at omagh, why not, respect them, but not fear them, the pain of last year will still be there, has it left it's mark, we will see in Saturday . Come on Tyrone

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 19/07/2018 16:50:15    2123816

Replying To festinog:  "I'm loving the complacency. Long may it last!"
pardon the ignorance, but where is the complacency in the post you replied to ??

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2018 18:23:19    2123834

Top class players now days are focused and previous games rarely have any bearing on how a game will go , fans on the other hand are like elephants never forgetting the pain or humiliation of a defeat, will Tyrone be extra motivated after last year not a jot , will there fans absolutely, should Tyrone win will it be extra satisfying for the players probably but I'd be stunned if those lads been "extra motivation " bearing in mind the jersey they wearing what's at stake and the sacrifices an inter county player makes , really looking forward to game think atmosphere should be top class, championship needs a lift hopefully teams can server up a hum dingger , I will back Dubs by a small margin of say 3 points.That said not knowing who's lining out that prediction could fluctuate

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2018 18:39:26    2123836

Replying To ta32:  "I suppose it will tell us how far we have really come since last year. It sets up for a great match , have we improved for the better , I'm not sure , I don't want to sound bullish or go way ahead of myself, we are up against one of the best sides of all time , can we beat them at omagh, why not, respect them, but not fear them, the pain of last year will still be there, has it left it's mark, we will see in Saturday . Come on Tyrone"
we might respect them but we certainly don't fear them...anything but!..mickey has called for us supporters to do our job and we won't be found wanting..the dubs won't have encountered anything like this, and once we get our foot on their neck, we won't take it off...c'mon tyrone!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/07/2018 22:26:45    2123882

tyrone team just named...man..what a team..a completely solid look about it and to have bradley, brennan and o'neill ready to pounce from the bench..this is a serious outfit, and being completely underestimated by everyone outside of tyrone

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/07/2018 22:33:36    2123886

I think dublin will win but if they are going to be caught out this year Tyrone in image is the only place I see it happening (this would still mean the dubs will win the all Ireland)

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/07/2018 22:48:59    2123890

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "we might respect them but we certainly don't fear them...anything but!..mickey has called for us supporters to do our job and we won't be found wanting..the dubs won't have encountered anything like this, and once we get our foot on their neck, we won't take it off...c'mon tyrone!!"
Jesus i wish you would keep quiet.

We have beaten nobody of merit yet, just like last year. At least wait to we see what sort of performance we can muster against Dublin before you start with all the noise.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/07/2018 23:07:06    2123894

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "tyrone team just named...man..what a team..a completely solid look about it and to have bradley, brennan and o'neill ready to pounce from the bench..this is a serious outfit, and being completely underestimated by everyone outside of tyrone"
So basically the exact same panel of players we had last year?

Who got destroyed by Dublin?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/07/2018 23:09:39    2123896

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "we might respect them but we certainly don't fear them...anything but!..mickey has called for us supporters to do our job and we won't be found wanting..the dubs won't have encountered anything like this, and once we get our foot on their neck, we won't take it off...c'mon tyrone!!"
Will they grow their beards for this one do you think?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/07/2018 00:17:47    2123910

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "tyrone team just named...man..what a team..a completely solid look about it and to have bradley, brennan and o'neill ready to pounce from the bench..this is a serious outfit, and being completely underestimated by everyone outside of tyrone"
Who outside of Tyrone is underestimating the team?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/07/2018 02:25:19    2123924

Tyrone were physically blown away last year by Dublin and I don't see how they could have improved so much in a year to beat them this time. Dublin by 5+.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 20/07/2018 04:08:22    2123927

Jesus, a fairly good win over Roscommon and suddenly we are world-beaters. You've been hopping up and down on here like a man possessed all week, when nobody else from Tyrone is anything more than cautiously hopeful, especially after we went into last year's semi-final in a similar vein of form.

Given that this Tyrone side have proven nothing so far, I'd suggest that you enjoy the game on Saturday and, if we do manage to win, see what happens in the 2-3 possible games after that, and then you can start to get excited if we are still going well. Until then, you might want to wind your neck in a bit.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 20/07/2018 09:02:18    2123935

Replying To Wally:  "Jesus i wish you would keep quiet.

We have beaten nobody of merit yet, just like last year. At least wait to we see what sort of performance we can muster against Dublin before you start with all the noise."
Keep a wee lid on it, wouldn't get too carried away, load of football to be played yet. No harm in getting behind the team though. Fair play

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 20/07/2018 09:57:17    2123953

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone were physically blown away last year by Dublin and I don't see how they could have improved so much in a year to beat them this time. Dublin by 5+."
I also think Tyrone mentally couldn't cope with the Dubs last August.That won't be a problem in Omagh.I expect this to be a close and hugely competitive game.Hard to bet against Dublin but I wouldn't be amazed if Tyrone won or if this match ends in a draw.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 20/07/2018 10:14:49    2123957

This is a challenge and one i think the team will relish the novelty of the game and the opposition is exactly the spark we need at the moment in my opinion. Its eerily quiet coming out of the Dublin camp that is usually a good sign, haven't seen one media snippet all week from Dublin.

I think philosophy's are going to be interesting here, i think Dublin may open up and go for the jugular early doors, the more Tyrone keep Dublin at bay the more confident they will become. if Dublin get in front early doors they will use Tyrone system against them. If Tyrone can contain that and its even enough after 25 mins, i think they can be confident of a result.

This game wont knock either out necessarily but it puts either in a strong position to win the group giving the looser something to think about in two weeks time, so the game has a different pressure to others going on at the weekend that might be do or die.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2018 10:37:19    2123962

State of this !!

"We certainly dont fear them" .. Where you under a rock last summer when you lot where telling us you where preparing for the dubs for 10 months ? We scored a goal after 5 minutes and you sat back and watched us pass the ball around and take the **** out of you and your whole system and managers philosophy to the point where you LITERALLY didnt lay a hand on us and we ole'd midway through the first half

And what wont we have encountered before ? Playing in a ground that has a majority of Dublin fans, playing against a team who will set up purposely to get the whole population of the county behind the ball, and watch Dublin beat that system cause theyve figured it out since their defeat to Donegal in 2014. Yea......We encounter that every time we play.

Bricking it about going up there tomorrow evening.........................EHHHHHH NOT.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2018 10:44:49    2123963

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone were physically blown away last year by Dublin and I don't see how they could have improved so much in a year to beat them this time. Dublin by 5+."
Completely agree!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2018 10:47:52    2123964

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Who outside of Tyrone is underestimating the team?"
Me.

I dont think theyre very good.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2018 10:56:12    2123966