Kildare Vs Galway

Will be a good one; will be a tough one for both teams but I see Galway coming out by atleast four
Galway +4

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 17/07/2018 13:13:43    2123109

Massive game for our lads. Keep the momentum going and play to their potential and I see Galway winning by 5 points.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 17/07/2018 15:10:52    2123168

Id take a one point win coming out of Newbridge. Kildare look a completely different animal to the team we played in the league, even with the defeat last weekend halting some of their momentum.

I can see KW not resting players but perhaps starting some players that have been very good when introduced so far. I think Daly will start again, Adrian Varley may get a chance to play from the start and maybe even Army will start.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 17/07/2018 15:29:43    2123179

This is do or die for us in Kildare and hopefully the siege mentality will kick in again like v mayo. We will be better able to run against Galway than Monaghan. I think with the newbridge factor and a big kildare crowd this will be very very tight. I cant call it so im going for a draw.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 17/07/2018 16:29:14    2123216

Replying To Caoimhog88:  "This is do or die for us in Kildare and hopefully the siege mentality will kick in again like v mayo. We will be better able to run against Galway than Monaghan. I think with the newbridge factor and a big kildare crowd this will be very very tight. I cant call it so im going for a draw."
Sounds about right. Will be tight. Decent Galway crowd travelling as well which should make for a good atmosphere. Many of these players would have crossed in the u21 all Ireland semi 5 yrs ago and of course Div 2 league twice last year. Our trip to Newbridge this year was a non event as ye were down. Sunday will be much closer either way. Hoping our key players continue delivering on their potential.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 17/07/2018 18:48:43    2123260

Galway by 2 points.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 17/07/2018 20:09:52    2123285

If it's a dry day Galway +5. If it's wet then it will be Galway by 10+. Not sure people have copped on that Kildare and Monaghan are as of the pace as Roscommon are in these super 8s.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 17/07/2018 20:24:20    2123293

Replying To Daith:  "If it's a dry day Galway +5. If it's wet then it will be Galway by 10+. Not sure people have copped on that Kildare and Monaghan are as of the pace as Roscommon are in these super 8s."
Monaghan off the pace ? They've been in Division One for the last four years. They finished third this year. They took Tyrone out of the Ulster championship this year . They're a long way ahead of Roscommon . So are Kildare.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 18/07/2018 05:03:51    2123362

This is going to be a very tough game, mentally, for Galway. After beating a very highly regarded Kerry, without playing to their best, for the first time in 53 years, it will be very hard to come into this match in the right place mentally. Even though they will all know full well that Kildare will be very tough to beat and that they will have to be fully focused, it will still be hard for them all click. KW will know this and may possibly make a few changes to freshen things up. It think it is unlikely Kildare will be tired after their run in the qualifiers having got a great boost of energy from the Mayo win.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 18/07/2018 10:29:54    2123412

Replying To Greengrass:  "Monaghan off the pace ? They've been in Division One for the last four years. They finished third this year. They took Tyrone out of the Ulster championship this year . They're a long way ahead of Roscommon . So are Kildare."
Kildare have never proven that they are a long way ahead of Roscommon. In the very specific area of scoring/finishing, many might argue that they're behind them, and lack 'scoring feet' to a troubling extent. Ros beat Galway in last year's Connacht Final, and weren't far off beating them again this year.

Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Donegal all subscribe to some extent to the benefits that 'puke football' brings to the party. Roscommon, and I haven't seen them too often, don't really play 'defensively' to the same extent imo. That's what screwed them so spectacularly imo in their last 2 championship outings in Croker.

Ros will simply have to build it from the back tactically, like everyone else. They don't have the calibre of defender in their squad at the minute, to play it as 'open' as they are. Mayo were a bit of an exception in recent years, in that they were somewhat successful playing a relatively open brand, but they were fielding 3 of the best defenders we've seen in a generation, and this made it possible. Ros are weak on defensive personnel, and they're doubly weak because they don't pay enough attention tactically to trying to mask or overcome those defensive frailties. In contrast to Roscommon, Galway have framed the basis of their tactical approach 2016-2018 on being defensively solid.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 18/07/2018 11:22:09    2123429

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Kildare have never proven that they are a long way ahead of Roscommon. In the very specific area of scoring/finishing, many might argue that they're behind them, and lack 'scoring feet' to a troubling extent. Ros beat Galway in last year's Connacht Final, and weren't far off beating them again this year.

Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone, Donegal all subscribe to some extent to the benefits that 'puke football' brings to the party. Roscommon, and I haven't seen them too often, don't really play 'defensively' to the same extent imo. That's what screwed them so spectacularly imo in their last 2 championship outings in Croker.

Ros will simply have to build it from the back tactically, like everyone else. They don't have the calibre of defender in their squad at the minute, to play it as 'open' as they are. Mayo were a bit of an exception in recent years, in that they were somewhat successful playing a relatively open brand, but they were fielding 3 of the best defenders we've seen in a generation, and this made it possible. Ros are weak on defensive personnel, and they're doubly weak because they don't pay enough attention tactically to trying to mask or overcome those defensive frailties. In contrast to Roscommon, Galway have framed the basis of their tactical approach 2016-2018 on being defensively solid."
I wouldn't agree with your first paragraph. Kildare have been pretty decent scorers in the last few games and have come a harder road than the Rossies to get there. Running up 21 points on a team like Mayo was no bad achievement and 3-20 on a defensive Fermanagh too so i think we can't be accused of lacking "scoring feet". Also wouldn't agree Roscommon weren't far off beating Galway this year. Didn't score from play in the second half so couldn't have won performing like that.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 18/07/2018 14:58:33    2123511

if Kildare mark the lad with the red hair they have a chance.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 18/07/2018 21:02:21    2123608

If we had beaten Monaghan I'd be fairly confident going into this but realistically, this has a Galway win written all over it.
Don't get me wrong, I got a ticket last night & am delighted to be going. The place should be hopping & I'll be hoping for a win but will be very surprised if it happens.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 19/07/2018 09:15:00    2123679

Replying To maroondiesel:  "if Kildare mark the lad with the red hair they have a chance."
We might start 4 gingers just to confuse ye!!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 19/07/2018 09:30:24    2123686

Was there something about Kildare wearing vision impairing glasses for reflex training before?

I can see them wearing sun glasses at the weekend to ease the glare from Galway's ginga-ninja's!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 19/07/2018 14:18:47    2123773

Galway have got zero respect for beating Kerry which will suit Kevin Walsh perfectly. Its all about how Kerry didn't turn up from all the ex Kerry players in the media, its comical.

Its been totally ignored that Galway have just as many top players as Kerry if not more and that Galway have now beaten Mayo & Kerry in the same championship, can't recall anyone outside of Dublin do that in a very long time.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 19/07/2018 15:12:52    2123786

Replying To JDF:  "Galway have got zero respect for beating Kerry which will suit Kevin Walsh perfectly. Its all about how Kerry didn't turn up from all the ex Kerry players in the media, its comical.

Its been totally ignored that Galway have just as many top players as Kerry if not more and that Galway have now beaten Mayo & Kerry in the same championship, can't recall anyone outside of Dublin do that in a very long time."
This is so true, I've said it on here previously. This year anytime Galway have had a win the narrative in the media afterwards has always been on the 'under performance' of the opposition - its the reserve narrative of what's going on with the Galway hurlers (i.e. always given credit for not let the other team dictate the play and playing their own game)

NFL:
- Beat Tyrone: Narrative after on how Tyrone were caught on the hop in the first game of the league
- Beat Donegal: Narrative after on how Donegal are playing 'lovely' football and it will take a while for them to find their way
- Beat Kerry: Narrative afterward on how the Galway system wont work come summer ball and championship
- Beat Mayo: (See above 'Beat Kerry')
- Draw with Dublin: Narrative after on how Dublin missing half the team (even though Galway rested at least 5 starting players)

Championship:
- Beat Mayo: Mayo played badly, likely to beat Galway if and when they meet in the Super 8's
- Beat Roscommon: Roscommon very poor in the 2nd half, Galway will struggle playing their system in Croke Park
- Beat Kerry: Narrative after on how poor Kerry were and lots of youth in the team (zero mentioned about Galway having very young players togged as well i.e. Sean Andy, Kelly, Cooke and Daly)

At what point will some genuine analysis be done and see that Galway are not allowing these teams play and Galway wins are not down to the random underperformance of 90% of the teams they have played in 2018.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 19/07/2018 16:25:37    2123812

That's just grand
let them all keep underestimating us
Let joe brolly continue his paddy tally rant
and how galway are going nowhere
hes like a broken record at this stage
and how wonderfull Kerry is and all the amazing young talent they have
despite the fact that our young lads took them out last year,
in the u21 all Ireland semi final ,shock, horror,
I think all those minor all Ireland medals those Kerry lads won
are becoming heavy with all the anticipation expectation pressure,
that they now will have to deal with from now on.

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/07/2018 16:59:42    2123818

Replying To JDF:  "Galway have got zero respect for beating Kerry which will suit Kevin Walsh perfectly. Its all about how Kerry didn't turn up from all the ex Kerry players in the media, its comical.

Its been totally ignored that Galway have just as many top players as Kerry if not more and that Galway have now beaten Mayo & Kerry in the same championship, can't recall anyone outside of Dublin do that in a very long time."
Newsflash...you need to win the All Ireland to get respect. We in Mayo only know too well...I remember walking out of Pearce stadium after we hammerd ye in 2013...few Galway fans shouting "ye will ever win sam" laughing out loud...best thing is to ignore it and support your team.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/07/2018 18:13:57    2123830

Replying To yew_tree:  "Newsflash...you need to win the All Ireland to get respect. We in Mayo only know too well...I remember walking out of Pearce stadium after we hammerd ye in 2013...few Galway fans shouting "ye will ever win sam" laughing out loud...best thing is to ignore it and support your team."
You really need to give it a rest like your Mayo ballers for the summer, you'll drive yourself mad..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 19/07/2018 19:58:46    2123850