Dublin V Monaghan

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "The double header is on Sunday. Hurling throws in at 1 football throws in at 3.
Enjoy the games"
Ahhh I meant Sunday What ever!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 22/03/2018 17:26:55    2087053

Really looking forward to the game. Let's hope that supporters are respectful of the players, particularly as it may be some of the younger lads first time playing at HQ.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/03/2018 20:57:02    2087310

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah hats off

Monaghan have done well and played good football while comfortably staying up and challenging for a final spot.

I hope Dublin start as many young lads as possible, I'd like to see Comeford, McHugh, Basquel, O'Gara, P Small, Costello, Reddin etc start for Dublin

This is a prime opportunity to give game time to the younger lads on the big pitch against a top Ulster side"
I agree completely on giving those lads some game time

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 24/03/2018 09:22:19    2087369

Replying To Marse:  "I agree completely on giving those lads some game time"
Hopefully we'll see a very fresh looking Dubs lineup

I was hoping to see Paddy Small a little bit more so fingers crossed he'll get his start but sure it's only a matter of time for Paddy. A top prospect and already showing glimpses of what he's capable of at this level.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 09:55:45    2087372

Monaghan panel:

1 Rory Beggan
2 Colin Walshe
3 Conor Boyle
4 Kieran Duffy
5 Barry Kerr
6 Drew Wylie
7 Karl O'Connell
8 Darren Hughes
9 Niall Kearns
10 Dessie Ward
11 Dermot Malone
12 Ryan Mc Anespie
13 David Garland
14 Kieran Hughes
15 Conor Mc Manus

16 Shane Garland
17 Dessie Mone
18 Vinny Corey
19 Ryan Wylie
20 Neil Mc Adam
21 Paudie Mc Kenna
22 Fintan Kelly
23 Thomas Kerr
24 Owen Duffy
25 Jack Mc Carron
26 Conor Mc Carthy

Not that I expect the named team to actually start(Malachy always makes changes), but that's a really strong bench for us. This has been a very good league for us in terms of strengthening our panel - 31 players used this year with only Beggan, Boyle and Kearns being the everpresents, and many key players have been used fairly sparingly so they won't be burnt out ahead of the summer. It's encouraging that we're going to finish 3rd while experimenting a good bit and discovering a few new players who can contribute in the summer.

With this being a dead rubber game and the pressure being off, it'll be interesting if Malachy continues to experiment a bit or will move towards playing his likely championship team. It would be great to see the likes of Kerr, Kearns and Garland get the experience of the Dubs in Croker.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 24/03/2018 10:39:44    2087376

Replying To greysoil:  "Really looking forward to the game. Let's hope that supporters are respectful of the players, particularly as it may be some of the younger lads first time playing at HQ."
In fairness you'd be better off if the hill bring usual noise and jeering and olés because this game is a dead rubber and it's as real a simulator game as you'll get for when ye meet them in the summer.

I heard the hill cheer loudly when young Clifford hurt his leg late in our game with them a few weeks ago they are not the friendlyist bunch and it hasn't always been that bad, and it's just a pity they're gone the soccer route of support instead of being more like the rugby crowd.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/03/2018 11:25:20    2087386

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In fairness you'd be better off if the hill bring usual noise and jeering and olés because this game is a dead rubber and it's as real a simulator game as you'll get for when ye meet them in the summer.

I heard the hill cheer loudly when young Clifford hurt his leg late in our game with them a few weeks ago they are not the friendlyist bunch and it hasn't always been that bad, and it's just a pity they're gone the soccer route of support instead of being more like the rugby crowd."
Yea and the kerry fans are all choirboys. As good as gold..if kerry had of won that game' there wouldnt have been word out of yea about young clifford the hill and his sore leg..you would have been too busy praising the young kerry team as the next best thing since sliced bread..you might not have noticed but clifford was no angel either during the game.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 24/03/2018 12:06:11    2087394

Anything you experience in Croker won't prepare you for the treatment from the crowd in Kerry. Between the pulling and dragging on the field and the jeering from the stand I'd have to agree with Paudi.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/03/2018 13:08:40    2087405

The hill should be all seated as it draws the wrong elements.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/03/2018 14:17:04    2087422

Haha nothing like a seat to improve your manners. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/03/2018 14:24:56    2087423

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hill should be all seated as it draws the wrong elements."
I can't recall the last time I saw an object thrown at an official from the Hill

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 14:25:56    2087424

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hill should be all seated as it draws the wrong elements."
100% agree stood in it once and never again most have no interest in the game. you get a few thousand there on league games but then they want the whole thing on all ireland final day. I would seat 80% of it then have a safe standing area for the dubs who want a season ticket there everyone wins.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 24/03/2018 14:32:01    2087426

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In fairness you'd be better off if the hill bring usual noise and jeering and olés because this game is a dead rubber and it's as real a simulator game as you'll get for when ye meet them in the summer.

I heard the hill cheer loudly when young Clifford hurt his leg late in our game with them a few weeks ago they are not the friendlyist bunch and it hasn't always been that bad, and it's just a pity they're gone the soccer route of support instead of being more like the rugby crowd."
Jaysus yourself and thehermit are really joined at the hip...

Stop your whining

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 14:32:31    2087427

Replying To jimbodub:  "Jaysus yourself and thehermit are really joined at the hip...

Stop your whining"
So pointing out facts is whining is it? Ok good to know jim.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/03/2018 15:47:16    2087433

Replying To jimbodub:  "I can't recall the last time I saw an object thrown at an official from the Hill"
Last time I was on the hill I saw a bottle launched at opposition supporters. Shameful behaviour.

Before you get defensive Jimbo, you might be interested to know. . .it was a Kerry 'fan' who threw it during their drawn semi final v mayo last year ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 24/03/2018 15:50:53    2087434

Replying To jimbodub:  "I can't recall the last time I saw an object thrown at an official from the Hill"
I can recall very clearly the the last time I have heard the official's getting abuse from the Dublin support on the hill as I was there and seen stuff been throw at them. Have to say it should all be seated. This ground belongs to all gaa supporter's and not dubs as their home ground is Parnell park. By the way Dublin have some of the best supporters in the country but the have attracted the soccer supporter also which only they can fix.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 24/03/2018 16:13:41    2087439

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So pointing out facts is whining is it? Ok good to know jim."
If you had won

You'd be saying nothing

We have always boo'd and jeered Kerry

It was never mentioned when yiz were winning

So please lads.. I wouldn't be selectively condemning one set of supporters when all counties have their bad apples and if a bit of booing/jeering bothers ye so much.. stay at home! because it'll always be that way at matches

It happens all of the time at every match and you're rather simplistic solution of sitting down won't solve it.

I hear booing and jeering at venues around the country that only have seats...

Think it's back to the drawing board lads.. but all the best with it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 16:46:29    2087448

I've seen more drunken bowsyism on the Hill when Dublin weren't playing than any day they were.
It's easy to pick out a few and paint the lot black.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/03/2018 16:48:50    2087449

Replying To cavanman47:  "Last time I was on the hill I saw a bottle launched at opposition supporters. Shameful behaviour.

Before you get defensive Jimbo, you might be interested to know. . .it was a Kerry 'fan' who threw it during their drawn semi final v mayo last year ;)"
Was it?!

I would have never guessed

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 16:54:17    2087453

Replying To mon07:  "I can recall very clearly the the last time I have heard the official's getting abuse from the Dublin support on the hill as I was there and seen stuff been throw at them. Have to say it should all be seated. This ground belongs to all gaa supporter's and not dubs as their home ground is Parnell park. By the way Dublin have some of the best supporters in the country but the have attracted the soccer supporter also which only they can fix."
Nah the Hill belongs to Dublin

Just accept it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/03/2018 17:04:26    2087457