Joe Canning on Late Late Show

I'm not a regular fan of the Late Late Show BUT I'm delighted to have been home tonight to see Tubridy interview Joe Canning. Being from Cork I probably wouldn't be a big fan of Joe.....for obvious reasons .....but I admire this superb hurler immensely ! There, I'v admitted it! However, my reason for posting is I saw the "human" side of him tonight on the LLS. Excellent interview with a very articulate and humble human being. He certainly has his life priorities in the right place. Well done to him. If you missed this show catch it on the player. You won't be disappointed .

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 15/12/2017 23:58:59    2065313

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "I'm not a regular fan of the Late Late Show BUT I'm delighted to have been home tonight to see Tubridy interview Joe Canning. Being from Cork I probably wouldn't be a big fan of Joe.....for obvious reasons .....but I admire this superb hurler immensely ! There, I'v admitted it! However, my reason for posting is I saw the "human" side of him tonight on the LLS. Excellent interview with a very articulate and humble human being. He certainly has his life priorities in the right place. Well done to him. If you missed this show catch it on the player. You won't be disappointed ."
Yea fair play to joe canning he came across as a caring gentleman

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 16/12/2017 00:18:07    2065316

Replying To someday:  "Yea fair play to joe canning he came across as a caring gentleman"
I have always admired Joe Canning the hurler. I am now a fan of Joseph Canning the man. Since they won the AI his attitude has been very mature and professional. Hurling and Sport put in perspective in a fine interview.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 16/12/2017 11:00:01    2065324

Playing hurling has provided Joe with plenty of business and financial opportunities including college scholarships. There are only very few players who reap the commercial opportunities provided through advertising etc. Joe has built a profile and appears very eager to build an image through the media. I wouldn't be a fan of Joe. He was a exceptional underage player but is not an in the category of players like Henry Shefflin, Ben O'Connor, Nicky English, John Fenton, DJ Carey, padraig maher, Brian Corcoran.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 16/12/2017 11:57:06    2065331

Replying To The_Bull:  "Playing hurling has provided Joe with plenty of business and financial opportunities including college scholarships. There are only very few players who reap the commercial opportunities provided through advertising etc. Joe has built a profile and appears very eager to build an image through the media. I wouldn't be a fan of Joe. He was a exceptional underage player but is not an in the category of players like Henry Shefflin, Ben O'Connor, Nicky English, John Fenton, DJ Carey, padraig maher, Brian Corcoran."
Bull, two things Canning is a super hurler and well in the category of Ben, Fenton, Corcoran to say otherwise is just wrong and secondly the lad is class act off the field ( plenty of lads avail of scholarships and put nothing back unlike joe .....really struggle with this Irish begrudging attitude, we also seem to look fr the worst in people

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 16/12/2017 15:19:19    2065348

I love that show, did you see the one elton john

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 16/12/2017 18:08:02    2065360

Replying To The_Bull:  "Playing hurling has provided Joe with plenty of business and financial opportunities including college scholarships. There are only very few players who reap the commercial opportunities provided through advertising etc. Joe has built a profile and appears very eager to build an image through the media. I wouldn't be a fan of Joe. He was a exceptional underage player but is not an in the category of players like Henry Shefflin, Ben O'Connor, Nicky English, John Fenton, DJ Carey, padraig maher, Brian Corcoran."
An ungracious post Bull.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 16/12/2017 18:36:25    2065362

well i can tell you one thing,none of the 3 cork men you mentioned are hardly fit to lace joe canning's boots in my opinion. ben o connor better than joe canning?give me a break.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/12/2017 19:11:26    2065365

Replying To perfect10:  "well i can tell you one thing,none of the 3 cork men you mentioned are hardly fit to lace joe canning's boots in my opinion. ben o connor better than joe canning?give me a break."
I disagree. Ben O'Connor was certainly one of the all-time greats of the game. Such a pity that the strke turmoil in Cork, and its knock-on effects, meant that his star was never let shine to its full potential when he was in his prime.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 298 - 17/12/2017 08:44:06    2065381

Replying To perfect10:  "well i can tell you one thing,none of the 3 cork men you mentioned are hardly fit to lace joe canning's boots in my opinion. ben o connor better than joe canning?give me a break."
Spot on Joe Canning is a wonderful hurler and obviously a great guy. It's unbelievable the begrudgery of some people in this country. Why the hell would he not use his profile to improve himself. Get a life

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 17/12/2017 08:58:18    2065382

You're right that he's not in the category of Ben O'Connor and John Fenton. He's well ahead of both. Joe was an exceptional underage player as you said, but he's an exceptional senior too. He's currently the 4th highest scorer in championship history, likely to he 2nd highest by the end of next year. He was carrying the Galway team on his back while in his early twenties.
He's the most prominent player on a team that has won the All-Ireland for the first time in almost 30 years. He's a good role model for young people, so he can do plenty media if he wants to.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 17/12/2017 09:08:00    2065384

Always find this compulsion thing that people have to engage in comparisons is rather petty. People can argue all they like on that -- it's completely irrelevant. As the man himself says, he doesn't define himself as a hurler. He never wanted the attention, the sometimes overblown adulation etc. He says he was embarrassed by having his picture emblazoned on the side of the Galway bus and that such unwanted attention heaped more pressure on him which affected his game at times. I would definitely believe that to be true. My impression is that he is actually a shy, reserved, man who is happiest around family and friends and really doesn't enjoy the limelight. I met him in Citywest on the morning after the All Ireland win with crowds milling around him, shaking his hand etc and he struck me even then as being rather burdened by the attention and wishing he was somewhere else. Didn't at all have the happy complexion one would expect of someone who had won an All Ireland the previous day. I think we should just let Joe be Joe and leave it at that.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 17/12/2017 10:14:21    2065391

joe has gone missing in countless numbers of games. Ben O Connor was the most consistent hurler between 2003 to 2007. He had unrivalled skill and pace and produced match winning performances at both club and intercounty level. Cork played and far superior level of opposition during this period too. Joe has had games against a lot of handy teams in leinster. Don't give me this garbage either about John Fenton. I would highly recommend you watch some old videos of this man if you can find them. Joe wouldn't touch this mans skill levels. Brian Corcoran the most versatile player hurling every produced and was a dual player up to around 1998. Texaco hurler of the year 1992 and hurler of the year 1999. Joe is building a brand. RTE become obsessed with some players and catapult them beyond their greatness. As I previously alluded to Joe has gone missing in more matches than he played well in.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 17/12/2017 10:32:13    2065393

It's not convenient for some that you are just a decent bloke anymore.
If you're on social media or the press are talking about you then it's a reason to take exception to you and you need to be taken down a peg or two.
If you have the gaul to win an AI or two or have success then you're really up to no good and are getting above your station.
Gombeenism is alive and well and residing in good ol Ireland.
Get used to it because it's in our DNA along with the GAA as they say.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/12/2017 11:34:50    2065395

Almost regret starting this post which has been hijacked by the "wouldn't tie his bootlaces" brigade. As a previous poster stated......it's the irrelevant debate. By the way, great players from all premier counties do disappear in games occasionally. Also, many great players have "done well" for their high profile performances. More power to them. The purpose of the post was a reaction t,o the LLS interview and how he conducted himself. Maybe I am naive to have reacted to the said interview by posting on HS. If so, I am still glad to have done so and would still suggest, if one missed this interview, catch it on the player and then make comment....good, bad or indifferent. Finally, by all means, for those who have whatever agenda they wish to get off their chests.....start your own discussion....suggested headings.....*should talented players do well for themselves *he couldn't tie the shoe laces *Who are the best begrudgers................Merry Christmas to all....including begrudgers!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 17/12/2017 11:35:47    2065396

Your post is quite simply rubbish. He can hold his own as a hurler with all of those hurlers you have listed . I have seen all of those men in the flesh in All Ireland finals.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 17/12/2017 11:56:58    2065398

Replying To The_Bull:  "joe has gone missing in countless numbers of games. Ben O Connor was the most consistent hurler between 2003 to 2007. He had unrivalled skill and pace and produced match winning performances at both club and intercounty level. Cork played and far superior level of opposition during this period too. Joe has had games against a lot of handy teams in leinster. Don't give me this garbage either about John Fenton. I would highly recommend you watch some old videos of this man if you can find them. Joe wouldn't touch this mans skill levels. Brian Corcoran the most versatile player hurling every produced and was a dual player up to around 1998. Texaco hurler of the year 1992 and hurler of the year 1999. Joe is building a brand. RTE become obsessed with some players and catapult them beyond their greatness. As I previously alluded to Joe has gone missing in more matches than he played well in."
Bull, you're well named . As I've already said I've seen all those players you mentioned in the flesh on All Ireland days . They were all very good players in their own right. Some were great players. I note you don't mention Tommy Walsh. Joe Canning would hold his own with any of them. You are being very unfair on him. Do you remember John Fenton being subbed in the '83 final ? I do. Your posts are little more than small minded begrudgery. Everything you credit Ben O Connor with has been achieved by Joe Canning and more. Do you remember a 17 year old Joe Canning being a central part of the Portumna team that took out Ben O Connor's Newtownshandrum in 2006 ? Do you remember a 19 year old Joe Canning throwing Diarmuid O Sullivan out of his way to score a brilliant goal in 2008 ? I do . It was his second ever senior championship match. He shredded O Sullivan that day and hit 2-12. He is quite simply a great player. You need to open your eyes and acknowledge that.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 17/12/2017 12:17:35    2065399

I would disagree. Joe Canning is much better than Ben O' Connor for the simple reason that Joe is a matchwinner and has produced superlative displays with Galway.
John Fenton was not in the same league as Joe.
I would rank Joe on a similar level with Henry Shefflin as the best players I have seen in the last 30 years.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 17/12/2017 12:26:54    2065403

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "Almost regret starting this post which has been hijacked by the "wouldn't tie his bootlaces" brigade. As a previous poster stated......it's the irrelevant debate. By the way, great players from all premier counties do disappear in games occasionally. Also, many great players have "done well" for their high profile performances. More power to them. The purpose of the post was a reaction t,o the LLS interview and how he conducted himself. Maybe I am naive to have reacted to the said interview by posting on HS. If so, I am still glad to have done so and would still suggest, if one missed this interview, catch it on the player and then make comment....good, bad or indifferent. Finally, by all means, for those who have whatever agenda they wish to get off their chests.....start your own discussion....suggested headings.....*should talented players do well for themselves *he couldn't tie the shoe laces *Who are the best begrudgers................Merry Christmas to all....including begrudgers!"
There's nothing wrong about recognising decency in a person or posting about.
What is sad is the sidetracking that is part and parcel of this forum and people who are purely about begrudgery.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/12/2017 13:47:11    2065414

!The Bull! !The Bull! The Bull's bullsh-t. These players from Cork were great players. Comparing Joe Canning with other player is most ingenuous and biased in this case. As it would to be comparing him with Ken McGrath, Paul Flynn, John Mullane, Tony Brown or the "Brick". Especially in Joe's case as it is so far away from what he stands for.
"Joseph" Canning can stand alone as one of the truly greats. All these players mentioned can also as well as the greats from all counties that includes the so called "minnow" counties. They have produced greats who never get or got the lime light.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 17/12/2017 15:04:32    2065423