Mayo 2017

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Mayo are probably the 3rd best team in the country. Not good enough to win the All Ireland with that squad but let's not go crazy here either. Durcan not a corner back and Higgins not a full back. If your full back line is not solid you have no chance. Midfield struggling as well. We will be grand, not the first year recently we have been fighting relegation which seems to be forgotten. The worrying thing is that about 10 of the first team are playing nearly every league game. Just goes to show we don't have the quality back to give those lads a rest. Andy Moran playing every game at this stage of his career is baffling. I still see Mayo getting to a semi final and on current trends losing to Kerry. That is probably where they are at."
Get away outta that ya chancer. Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone are all ahead of Mayo, and to be honest based on their performances so far I wouldn't be surprised to see Kildare, Galway or (and I never thought I'd say this) Clare give them a run for their money. Mayo are well off the pace this year with serious questions being asked. Someone above sat on the fence and said they wouldn't write them off; well I would. Tactically inept, and no passion so far bar one win in Tralee that's looking increasingly against the grain. Not the Mayo we've all grown used to watching over the last ten years or so.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/03/2017 05:20:10    1968899

Replying To Fionn:  "Not sure what to think of Mayo this year so far.

Would have thought after that humiliating loss to Dublin that Mayo would have come out today and destroyed Cavan.

But to lose at home to Cavan is a pretty poor result for the men from the west.

Early in the year i know and Aidan o Shea still missing but 2 tough league games left for them now.
I don't want to mention the R word, but it would be a disaster for Mayo should it happen.

Personally I think mileage is beginning to show on a few of the Mayo lads.

Interesting couple of games ahead for Mayo after today's result.

On the other side - fair play to Cavan. Excellent result for them."
Agree that the milage was showing, Cavan looked so much fitter, you can only go to the well so many times and i think its now run dry for this mayo squad.

HarryMancini (Mayo) - Posts: 23 - 20/03/2017 08:01:27    1968908

Mayo need Roscommon to bate Cavan to stay up, that is the goal for this Spring, not sure this will happen. Mayo not number 3 in the country at the moment that's a given.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 20/03/2017 09:20:41    1968922

Replying To festinog:  "Get away outta that ya chancer. Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone are all ahead of Mayo, and to be honest based on their performances so far I wouldn't be surprised to see Kildare, Galway or (and I never thought I'd say this) Clare give them a run for their money. Mayo are well off the pace this year with serious questions being asked. Someone above sat on the fence and said they wouldn't write them off; well I would. Tactically inept, and no passion so far bar one win in Tralee that's looking increasingly against the grain. Not the Mayo we've all grown used to watching over the last ten years or so."

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 20/03/2017 09:58:05    1968941

Replying To festinog:  "Get away outta that ya chancer. Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone are all ahead of Mayo, and to be honest based on their performances so far I wouldn't be surprised to see Kildare, Galway or (and I never thought I'd say this) Clare give them a run for their money. Mayo are well off the pace this year with serious questions being asked. Someone above sat on the fence and said they wouldn't write them off; well I would. Tactically inept, and no passion so far bar one win in Tralee that's looking increasingly against the grain. Not the Mayo we've all grown used to watching over the last ten years or so."
I agree they look poor but I am well within my rights to say I am not judging them this early. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Donegal were awful against Kerry and average against Roscommon, and now all of a sudden they are right up there? Maybe they are but I won't judge them until the summer.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 20/03/2017 10:03:53    1968943

It's the league and it's March.

Granted things aren't going perfectly for Mayo at the moment but there are still 2 games remaining. People saying that if Cavan beat Roscommon on the last day then Mayo are down is ridiculously simple. It's a massive assumption to say that Mayo will not win against either Tyrone or Donegal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/03/2017 10:16:37    1968948

I agree they look poor but I am well within my rights to say I am not judging them this early. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Donegal were awful against Kerry and average against Roscommon, and now all of a sudden they are right up there? Maybe they are but I won't judge them until the summer.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 20/03/2017 10:22:42    1968953

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's the league and it's March.

Granted things aren't going perfectly for Mayo at the moment but there are still 2 games remaining. People saying that if Cavan beat Roscommon on the last day then Mayo are down is ridiculously simple. It's a massive assumption to say that Mayo will not win against either Tyrone or Donegal."
Mayo have it in them to get another good result (similar to the one against Kerry)

But as of right now

There is a very realistic chance they could go down, they have two in form teams to play and from what we've seen against Dublin / Cavan

Tyrone and Donegal at this stage of the year have more than enough to beat them

Roscommon may well have to bail them out, but Mayo do have it in them to make sure their faith is in their own hands

Moral must be low, so it's up to the leaders of the team now to stand up.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2017 10:33:50    1968959

I don't think you can judge Mayo's championship prospects on this league campaign. People have short memories, how were their previous 3 or 4 league campaigns and yet they've been there or thereabouts come championship time.
The real worry for Mayo is that they're not bleeding any new talent as well as we don't really know how stable Rochford's position is with the team. The last game of consequence he dropped his goalkeeper among rumours that he did it on the back of what players were suggesting to him. Considering Mayo's recent history with squad discontent and no new players coming in, this is all very similar to Cork ten years ago. Can Rochford drop players without upsetting a number in the panel? Will that panel play or try as hard for him if he starts laying down the law?
It won't be until the championship returns that we'll see how well Rochford is handling this situation and whether he can rejuvenate their confidence to go again.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/03/2017 10:36:30    1968960

It is only March and far too early to be judging teams. Mayo have been inconsistent in the league so far but they will be ready come championship time. It is hard to judge teams on league performances as training schedules and level of fitness need to be taken into account.

I think Mayo will be the major challenger to Dublin come the latter part of the championship. They have been closer than anybody lese in the past 2 seasons and I expect it to be the same this year. Kerry are not far away and Tyrone, Donegal & Monaghan have decent teams but doubt if they could win the All-Ireland.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 20/03/2017 10:45:50    1968971

Just my opinion

But what the established players in the Mayo team (the once that have been there since 2010/2011 when all this started) now need to see is fresh faces looking to perform, and push for a place.

Mayo just haven't refreshed themselves, and it's the same team that hasn't succeeded.

Sorry but that's juts not a healthy place to be, and there's only so much one group of players can do

The Dublin team of the 90's, that failed numerous times, got Jason Sherlock to rejuvenate their attack and add a completely new dimension that refreshed both the team and the fans

I just don't see that in Mayo and without that, I cant see them winning Sam with this panel of players

Dublin have added to their squad since last year, we have a stronger panel now available, teams have progressed while Mayo have stayed the same.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2017 10:54:51    1968979

Even if Mayo did go down to Div 2 they are still a Championship team and will be around at the business end of the year.
People writing them off are deluded. They are a Summer team and will prove this again.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/03/2017 10:59:26    1968983

The problem for Mayo is that there are no new players pushing for places. They also have a half a team in Dublin and a half in Mayo at this time of year so it's very difficult for them to get together often. Perhaps the same is true for other counties too though with the exception of Dublin. In my limited knowledge of the Mayo team most if not all of the top teams have their own system in place and have adapted it year on year. Mayo seemed to be doing just that with Kevin McLaughlin playing as a sweeper last year and it was working. This year that seems to have gone out the window. They just are chopping and changing way too much with positions erg. That said, this is what the league is for and I expect them to be the main challenger for Dublin come the Summer.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/03/2017 11:11:10    1968989

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Even if Mayo did go down to Div 2 they are still a Championship team and will be around at the business end of the year.
People writing them off are deluded. They are a Summer team and will prove this again."
Agree similar posts last year and they got to AI final and could have/should have won it.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/03/2017 12:16:33    1969027

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree similar posts last year and they got to AI final and could have/should have won it."
They had the easier side of the draw though

They' wont have that this year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2017 12:21:06    1969030

Galway will need to win in croke park should they get there in the championship before I'd place them above Mayo even if Mayo have a quiet summer. Galway are making strides this year in the league it should be a great help to be in division one. I'll ask you straight out do you believe you will see Galway will win a quarter final in croke park or a semi final in the near future? I believe Mayo can and they have managed it twenty plus times in my lifetime.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 20/03/2017 13:20:54    1969074

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Galway will need to win in croke park should they get there in the championship before I'd place them above Mayo even if Mayo have a quiet summer. Galway are making strides this year in the league it should be a great help to be in division one. I'll ask you straight out do you believe you will see Galway will win a quarter final in croke park or a semi final in the near future? I believe Mayo can and they have managed it twenty plus times in my lifetime."
Fair question Spodgy, and based on the fact that in my lifetime I've seen Galway win their fair share of championship games, Connacht titles and two all Ireland's, I'd say that if we get as far as that come summer then we've every chance of winning. But if you take a look at what I wrote I didn't place Galway ahead of Mayo, rather I pointed out that based on both teams forms, including last years championship, I wouldn't rule out Mayo being beaten by some of the top teams in Div 2 on any given Sunday. Just like last year their consistency is just not there.

Flaker: you're dead right everyone is entitled to an opinion. Mine is based on the last 12 months, not just the last few weeks. We're seeng teams like Tyrone, Kildare etc., building up, while Mayo's only change has been its manager.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/03/2017 14:18:52    1969105

Playing Moran so much is very telling

Rochford knows well that he's thin on players, and he's played Moran (probably way to much at this stage of his career so early in the season) out of a need to try and stay in Div 1

But again, very telling and it may not be a very smart gamble

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2017 14:46:04    1969114

I think everyone is over reacting with Andy Moran, since he changed jobs hes been flying fit, he now just runs his own gym in castlebar so hes pretty much a professional athlete so well able to play all these games..the u21 lads need more time to get used to senior football, in another county they could be thrown in and let them learn in games but mayo supporters dont have patience for that, look at Conor Loftus finall starting on Sunday and now hes not up to it, its very hard for them..
Mayo have been pathetic so far, no real urgency with them in the games BUT it was the same last year when the lost 4 and won 3 so its nothing new to see them struggle in the league.
I love how Galway ppl are starting to pipe up now cause they are winning game, its gas..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 20/03/2017 15:23:52    1969137

Replying To festinog:  "Fair question Spodgy, and based on the fact that in my lifetime I've seen Galway win their fair share of championship games, Connacht titles and two all Ireland's, I'd say that if we get as far as that come summer then we've every chance of winning. But if you take a look at what I wrote I didn't place Galway ahead of Mayo, rather I pointed out that based on both teams forms, including last years championship, I wouldn't rule out Mayo being beaten by some of the top teams in Div 2 on any given Sunday. Just like last year their consistency is just not there.

Flaker: you're dead right everyone is entitled to an opinion. Mine is based on the last 12 months, not just the last few weeks. We're seeng teams like Tyrone, Kildare etc., building up, while Mayo's only change has been its manager."
My lifetime Galway have won 5 championship games in croker. Fair enough two all Ireland's were won and a draw in a final but that seems like a lifetime ago now those days of Gaelic football changed in 02/03 when Armagh and Tyrone reached the summit and the game began to change into a more systematic approach than a reliance on the more natural game. Some teams have adapted some have struggled to find the right systems and players. I wouldn't be surprised should Galway meet Mayo this in the Connacht championship they can beat Mayo but will Galway make an impact outside Connacht? We all know hope springs eternal!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 20/03/2017 22:01:41    1969316