Dubs and Kerry on TV?

The two teams with the most resources serve up a draw.

...and we're all supposed to be impressed.

Hmmm.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 18/03/2017 22:47:38    1968319

Replying To blacknamber:  "Dubs didn't fancy a bit of a battle on a heavy pitch n Tralee an had to call n da a team to dig dem out of a hole. Means very little for da summer bar showing kerrys lack of scoring power and da gap between dubs top players an their 2nd string.
It'll b additions off da Kerry u21s that'll b da difference if Kerry r goin to take da dubs later n da yr."
Absolute rubbish, Dublin chose to ignore most of your shenanigans tonight and got on with it, and it paid off, great result!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 18/03/2017 22:58:46    1968322

Replying To jacktheDub:  "They showed plenty of resolve not to get drawn into Kerry's horrible tactics what this game proved to me is that Kerry know they can't compete or beat this Dublin team playing football and they have to rely on the dark arts and a sympathetic referee who allow the persistent cynical fouling to go unabated. Look at the McManaman free again friend and you will see it was a free..then again some people just can't see what's staring them in the face."
ha! Only one team deserved a win here but I think a draw was reasonable. Take the blue tinted glasses off and ask yourself did Dublin perform here? As usual they thrived on handy frees. Only for Rock where would Dublin be?

Happy enough from a Kerry POV, Moran absolutely bodssed midfield

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/03/2017 23:04:10    1968325

dublin are a class off there own we will never see the likes again the way they fought to the end and never die attitude theyll be unbeaten for awhile yet!! fair play lads some team yous are

cavan14 (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 18/03/2017 23:10:49    1968329

Replying To Knoxboya:  "The two teams with the most resources serve up a draw.

Hmmm."
If you could show me the tens of millions we have received from the GAA over the last 10+ years go right ahead...........

I thought we did very well tonight with a lot of new faces (and loss of our 2 best defenders to injury) albeit should have seen it out, Dublin fans trying to paint us a cynical is laughable, the amount of times they checked our runs and dragged our forwards to the ground while we were on the attack was countless. Of course the camera doesn't pick it up , you had to see it to believe it

Saviours and angels of the game how are you

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 18/03/2017 23:11:38    1968331

Hmmm."
I certainly wasnt impressed with how the once lauded kerry team have sunk so low and tried every little dirty trick in the book to beat a Dublin team that they know they cant beat playing football.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 18/03/2017 23:21:05    1968336

Hmmm."
A most worthwhile comment. Well done.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 18/03/2017 23:23:06    1968338

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "If you could show me the tens of millions we have received from the GAA over the last 10+ years go right ahead...........

I thought we did very well tonight with a lot of new faces (and loss of our 2 best defenders to injury) albeit should have seen it out, Dublin fans trying to paint us a cynical is laughable, the amount of times they checked our runs and dragged our forwards to the ground while we were on the attack was countless. Of course the camera doesn't pick it up , you had to see it to believe it

Saviours and angels of the game how are you"
A quick look across all social media fora would prove it's not just the Dubs pointing this out. When it's THAT evident it tends to be discussed quite a lot. Kerry taking over where Dr Crokes left off it would seem.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2017 23:35:59    1968344

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "ha! Only one team deserved a win here but I think a draw was reasonable. Take the blue tinted glasses off and ask yourself did Dublin perform here? As usual they thrived on handy frees. Only for Rock where would Dublin be?

Happy enough from a Kerry POV, Moran absolutely bodssed midfield"
Where would Dublin be without Rock eh, did he win us our recent trophies? No he didn't so I guess pretty much the same.
Surprised at that lazy inept question from a Kerryman!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 18/03/2017 23:50:54    1968347

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "A most worthwhile comment. Well done."
Yes because 'resources' breed great players, don't they? That's a sorry excuse I'm afraid. Hard work breeds great players.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/03/2017 00:45:30    1968355

just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 01:15:04    1968357

First half was chronic. Kerry decided that stopping Dublin was the way to go with off the ball stuff going on him stop by them. Fact is Dublin have become to Kerry exactly what Tyrone were in the last decade. Second half was better as bought teams tried to play some football. How did Peter Crowley and donncha Walsh stay on the pitch. I counted the latter making four fouls in the space of 5 minutes. O' Gara's tackle was awful and was a sending off offence. Positives for Dublin were that they managed to get the draw. However sometimes we play way to pedestrian and it was only with the direct running and impact of Flynn, Kevin mc and Paul Mannion that we looked a better team. Overall we struggled a midfield and mccauley returned to type with his over indulgence in the petty stuff. He is not a plus for us when he plays like that. Has the result any bearing on later in the year, I dont think so but we are in a good position with still some quality to come back in. Great to have cian back as well.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 19/03/2017 08:09:11    1968376

Eir sport and Eir tv is a joke. The record selection doesn't record the whole program, so you miss out on the post match analysis which in a game like that you'd like to hear. Also, you don't have the option to start from a point in time in your recording, instead you have to fast forward your way through it, like it was a video. No wonder no one wants to pay for this rubbish.

As for the match itself, it was pretty poor stuff overall. Kerry's game plan was there for all to see, rough up Dublin and try to bring them down to a physical battle and get into their head. Kerry's intensity for 50 minutes was exceptional, I didn't like the tactics but you can't argue with their effectiveness. Moran bossed the midfield in that period while Geaney was exceptional picking off scores when he did. Kerry hit the ground running in the first half better than Dublin did and I don't think Dublin were as prepared as they should have been.

However, Paul Flynn's introduction in midfield swung the momentum Dublin's way and oddly enough John Small's injury forced Ciaran Kilkenny into the half back line where he started to influence the game much better. Both teams struggled from their own kick outs but Kerry especially, during that crucial period that let Dublin back into the game got murdered in that department. Moran became anonymous and again, a lot of Kerry players in that last 15 minutes had nothing left in the tank.

Both teams were fortunate with a lot of soft frees but overall I think a draw was a fair result. Fitzmaurice will be disappointed not to claim the win but happy that the tactic of using players with pace gave Kerry a lot more options going forward. The problem I see for Kerry is that they won't get to play Dublin again until the All Ireland final. I haven't seen them bring the same intensity to other opponents, Dublin seem to bring the best out of them so I'm not sure how consistent they can perform at.

As for Dublin, it's business as usual. The mental toughness they have showed how they are streets ahead of many in getting results from tight games.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 19/03/2017 08:18:40    1968377

Replying To waynoI:  "just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support"
Some positivity is good for balance. It was a tense and exciting game. There were some good scores. There is also no doubt that this Dublin team is phenomenal.

However, there was a lot of shite and we are entitled to discuss it. A very difficult match for a referee.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 19/03/2017 08:40:09    1968379

Replying To Joxer:  "Exactly. A great draw in the circumstances. Was right in line with Crowley in the first half and how he stayed on the pitch is beyond me. Kerry had no intentions of playing football. Shockingly poor stuff. The young Dubs like Scully, McHugh, Carthy, Lowndes will have learned tonnes from this game. Great experience for us. We never say die. Great night out in Tralee so far and fair play tothe Kerry people for being so hospitable. Up the 34 game unbeaten Dubs!"
#in league and championship. ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/03/2017 08:57:13    1968388

Replying To bennybunny:  "Some positivity is good for balance. It was a tense and exciting game. There were some good scores. There is also no doubt that this Dublin team is phenomenal.

However, there was a lot of shite and we are entitled to discuss it. A very difficult match for a referee."
The ref didnt help himself. This selective refereeing is terrible. A foul one end is a "play on" down the other end.

Lack of consistency.

Kerry had 7 yellow cards, playing at home with the ref favouring them. Kerry need to look at what they are doing. They only drew!

Ive said it before and I'll say it again. GAA urgently need a video ref. Would stop most negative stuff at source.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 19/03/2017 10:34:40    1968417

Dublins ability to dig out results is incredible.They never know when they are beaten.

If Mayo or some complete outsider doesn't win the all ireland I'd love to see Dublin do it they are a truly great team and a third all ireland in a row would cement them as definitely the second best team of all time and not far off being the best as it would be 5 in 7 years.

I hope the GAA hype the hell out next weeks match and get a huge crowd for the record breaking attempt.I didn't even know such a record existed up to now which shows how great an achievement this is as obviously no-one has got close to it before.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 19/03/2017 10:43:20    1968419

Anybody hear Marty Morrissey & Dessie Dolans commentary last night? Marty says tis a great day Ireland beating England and Kerry beating Dublin then when Murphy gave that bad pass Dolan roaring ah noooooo. Ooooops lads! Impartial me hoop!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/03/2017 10:57:48    1968426

Replying To waynoI:  "just home .. delighted with the draw. fair result I feel. great atmosphere. tense right up until the end, brilliant. won't get drawn into all the shite that goes on here, the holier than thou Muppet's need to get a life. just let it go for God sake. it was a tough battle for both sides. two great counties. was a pleasure to be there and witness another brilliant game between the sides. Thanks to the kerry people for their hospitality, thanks to every dub on the hill (as we call it) behind the goal tonight who where phenomenal. great travelling support"
Think this is the best comment I've read on this game.
Kerry really should have seen it out and we didn't.
Fair play to Dublin they stuck at it and never gave up.
On a separate note if we get games like that in the super 8 then it will be brilliant.
Dublin away from home with a sell out fixture will be brilliant.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/03/2017 11:01:54    1968427

Tough hard game it has to be said and not easy to ref.
Kerry lads looked hugely dissapointed at the end.
No doubting this present Dublin sides credentials.They have real fight in them and are never beaten.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/03/2017 11:41:05    1968433