All Ireland U21 Football Championship

Armagh beat Down 2-13 to 0-12in front of roughly 2,000 . I think £9 stg admission entry is to dear. Loye scored 2-7 with a number of the colleges lads still to come into the side.... but Down were poor, very poor.
Derry v Armagh in 2 weeks - this is a 50-50 game

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 16/03/2017 09:30:32    1967462

was at limerick v cork last night -brilliant limerick performances last night proud of performance gutted with result (cork got late goal) to gloss it, that thirds year in a row we gone toe to toe with munsters big two and just fallen short- give us hope for the future

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/03/2017 10:58:00    1967501

Replying To Brendan Bowens:  "Not so sure about your assertion there. Mchugh was top scorer true, but the bulk of those scores in Sigerson were from the placed ball. Secondly, Farragher came on early in that game against Roscommon and didnt exactly set the world alight. Roscommon won because they were better on the day. The missed opportunity if any was when Roscommon were caught by an average Tyrone team in the semi final, who then went on to win the final itself."
I see what you mean. 'Average' Tyrone team unaccountably beat better Roscommon team and then the 'average' Tyrone team unaccountably manages to win final. Given by how little Galway has won recently, on your logic, you musty have some great teams, if losing is now the hallmark of a good team.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 16/03/2017 10:58:41    1967502

Replying To HandballRef:  "I think Donegal kicked about 17 wides in normal time. Tyrone had one, possibly two in the same period. Lots to work on for the replay"
Not sure who your stats man is, but you need to get a new one. According to the Hoganstand match report, Tyrone had 14 wides in normal time. That's 12 or 13 more than you managed to see. #specsavers

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 16/03/2017 11:00:27    1967505

Replying To essmac:  "Not sure who your stats man is, but you need to get a new one. According to the Hoganstand match report, Tyrone had 14 wides in normal time. That's 12 or 13 more than you managed to see. #specsavers"
I think you might need to read that report again.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 11:22:11    1967514

Replying To janesboro:  "was at limerick v cork last night -brilliant limerick performances last night proud of performance gutted with result (cork got late goal) to gloss it, that thirds year in a row we gone toe to toe with munsters big two and just fallen short- give us hope for the future"
Ya, was at the Limerick/Kerry game last year we barely got over the line against them!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/03/2017 11:22:24    1967515

Replying To essmac:  "Not sure who your stats man is, but you need to get a new one. According to the Hoganstand match report, Tyrone had 14 wides in normal time. That's 12 or 13 more than you managed to see. #specsavers"
That's pure nonsense. I am my own stats man. Were you at the game? Maybe the report said Donegal had 14 wides in normal time? Tyrone hit a few wides in extra time alright but only had one or two in normal time.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 16/03/2017 11:51:31    1967522

Tyrone had few wides for sure, a lot more than 1 or 2. I think that they were a bit more direct and effective with their shot selection. We had a couple of very close wides, but all our shots were pressure shots, so to amass 17 wides is not a surprising stat at all considering how ferociously tyrone defended. There was absolutely no room to turn never mind shoot most of the time. I think that we could have pulled away half way through the 2nd half were it not for a great save by the tyrone keeper. We will have to take those chances, there was a man at the back post waiting for the final pass that didnt arrive to him.

A very sporting game btw. A lot of bad press has been handed out to tyrone and healy park over the years so it is worth commenting on how well both sets of players set about to play. The players gave everything and must have covered 20km a man by the end of extra time. No playing down the clock, players were on the deck with cramp and the ball was in play all of the time when they were getting treatment.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/03/2017 12:02:13    1967531

Replying To Donegalman:  "Tyrone had few wides for sure, a lot more than 1 or 2. I think that they were a bit more direct and effective with their shot selection. We had a couple of very close wides, but all our shots were pressure shots, so to amass 17 wides is not a surprising stat at all considering how ferociously tyrone defended. There was absolutely no room to turn never mind shoot most of the time. I think that we could have pulled away half way through the 2nd half were it not for a great save by the tyrone keeper. We will have to take those chances, there was a man at the back post waiting for the final pass that didnt arrive to him.

A very sporting game btw. A lot of bad press has been handed out to tyrone and healy park over the years so it is worth commenting on how well both sets of players set about to play. The players gave everything and must have covered 20km a man by the end of extra time. No playing down the clock, players were on the deck with cramp and the ball was in play all of the time when they were getting treatment."
Good positive post and fair play to both teams in what seemed to be a hard fought battle.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 16/03/2017 15:41:26    1967611

Replying To HandballRef:  "That's pure nonsense. I am my own stats man. Were you at the game? Maybe the report said Donegal had 14 wides in normal time? Tyrone hit a few wides in extra time alright but only had one or two in normal time."
A lot of people think that Donegal having 17 wides shows they dominated the game which they didn't. As I said it the tight with both teams having periods of domination. A lot of Donegals wides were pot shots from outside the scoring zone from defenders. That's how Tyrone and Donegal set up, if teams are shooting from outside the scoring zone they are happy enough because the odds of scoring are small. Now Donegal and Tyrone did miss a few scorable chances but that happens.
Two trips to Ballybofey in a few days will be interesting. Looking forward to it!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/03/2017 20:37:38    1967681

Replying To Donegalman:  "Tyrone had few wides for sure, a lot more than 1 or 2. I think that they were a bit more direct and effective with their shot selection. We had a couple of very close wides, but all our shots were pressure shots, so to amass 17 wides is not a surprising stat at all considering how ferociously tyrone defended. There was absolutely no room to turn never mind shoot most of the time. I think that we could have pulled away half way through the 2nd half were it not for a great save by the tyrone keeper. We will have to take those chances, there was a man at the back post waiting for the final pass that didnt arrive to him.

A very sporting game btw. A lot of bad press has been handed out to tyrone and healy park over the years so it is worth commenting on how well both sets of players set about to play. The players gave everything and must have covered 20km a man by the end of extra time. No playing down the clock, players were on the deck with cramp and the ball was in play all of the time when they were getting treatment."
20km? Really. The most are professional soccer player would do would be 13km in 90 mins.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 16/03/2017 21:19:32    1967693

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "20km? Really. The most are professional soccer player would do would be 13km in 90 mins."
Ok, thats over 90 minutes on a small pitch. Less ground to cover and mostly sprinting. A lot of set pieces too.

The match last night had almost no breaks, there was 6 minutes of added time on top of 60 plus 20 minutes of extra time, almost 90 minutes on a much bigger pitch.

Round soccer down to 12 and the match last night down to 18km and you would have a 50% more running in the game in omagh. i will stick my neck out here and estimate this to be the case. If anyone with tachometer readings on either county board could pitch in here it would be very interesting! There were no stops and the game was all running. Grueling to watch.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/03/2017 01:37:54    1967735

Replying To Donegalman:  "Ok, thats over 90 minutes on a small pitch. Less ground to cover and mostly sprinting. A lot of set pieces too.

The match last night had almost no breaks, there was 6 minutes of added time on top of 60 plus 20 minutes of extra time, almost 90 minutes on a much bigger pitch.

Round soccer down to 12 and the match last night down to 18km and you would have a 50% more running in the game in omagh. i will stick my neck out here and estimate this to be the case. If anyone with tachometer readings on either county board could pitch in here it would be very interesting! There were no stops and the game was all running. Grueling to watch."
Jaysus lads we better get an exact figure here. I wonder if it may have been 19km or 21km either. Jaysus id love to know :)

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 17/03/2017 14:04:49    1967835

No separating Donegal and Tyrone.
Half-time in replay-- Donegal 0-8, Tyrone 1-5.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/03/2017 20:36:30    1970136

Con!!!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/03/2017 20:46:43    1970142

Clear cut in the end.
Donegal 0-18, Tyrone 1-9.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/03/2017 21:29:34    1970167

FT Donegal 0-18 Tyrone 0-09

Tyrone ended the game with 13 players

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/03/2017 21:30:01    1970168

Good win for Donegal alright, Sligo beating Roscommon must be a surprise? Con O'Callaghan knocked in 2 goals and a few points tonight, good showing after his exertions in the AI Club Hurling championship!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 22/03/2017 21:46:54    1970177

Oh Conny boy.. The Sam, The Sam is calling...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2017 22:14:27    1970189

Super win for Donegal

Future looking bright, despite the ruralness of their vicinity wha!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2017 22:17:49    1970192