All Ireland U21 Football Championship

Im not sure we should judge Donegal on yesterday, some comments are based only on that performance. While we were outmaneuvered tactically from the very beginning, I think we should remember that we had a lot of games before this fixture. A couple of our lads were getting treatment before throw in. I think that if you are going to play a running game, you need the sufficient rest to do it properly. I also think that we had no plan b for the failure of the running system, for either reasons of fatigue or of Dublin's screen defense on their 45m line. If your team cant penetrate that way, we needed a few target men on the full forward line. Easier said than done, but at least it would have been worth a shot.

I think that Dublin v Galway will be an excellent final and a great finish to a competition that is more exciting to watch than the seniors.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/04/2017 15:00:19    1979861

Some of the comments here from the usual post match experts are nothing but buffoonery and lack any class. Kerry would never be my favourite team but making derisory comments about young guys who have won AI titles and Hogan cups who have produced on big days make you feel big does it? I can only imagine the pressure on those guys and law of averages would suggest they would have one bad day at the office. The reason there was hype in the first place was based on substance cause most of these guys have done it and will do it in the future too.

Big congrats to Galway. I was not expecting them to win but happy I will be getting paid out at least on each way part of bet placed at 10/1 to win this years AI just soured a little by some of the post match comments by some supporters. It amazes me how much people have to say afterwards but offer little insight or opinion before. Then if somebody gets something wrong the experts suddenly come out. Lacked class and humility after last years minor semi final too even more so when beaten in final. I am on record as saying how impressed the Galway full forward impressed me. Really wish from a Donegal perspective we produced more players like these guys who play on a whim and with freedom.

Also big congrats to Dublin on a really impressive performance. First to most of the 50/50's, coped with alot of adversity thrown at them in the game. Their accuracy and pace was of the highest order and every player knew exactly what their job was and executed it perfectly. As for Donegal really disappointing. The signs were there in the first half against Derry but the black care and following red card did mask that part of the performance. In saying that these lads deserve huge credit. Things did not click yesterday and they were dead on their legs at times but not once did they stop trying. They won an Ulster title where there was alot of expectancy and pressure on them and coped with the crazy fixture schedule admirably despite what happened in Breffeni. I know its crying the poor mouth but shame on the Ulster Council for their scheduling and the irony of it is that we are going to lose this marvelous competition due to player burnout management. Back to Donegal it is blatantly obvious that the passing game is one that can be effective especially if leading a game but is completely redundant when chasing a lead. The Donegal lads have it so ingrained they revert to type when playing with more freedom and abandon is required. This really needs to be looked at.

Back to those critics of the young Kerry and Donegal players how about you discuss this. Alot of these lads have given a large portion of their life to playing the game. From dawn to dusk either training, playing games or practicing their kicking 6 or 7 days a week. I am thinking of guys like Jason McGee or Michael Langon who are both eligible for U-21 next year and in Jason's case the next 2 years. The reality is Jason will never have the opportunity to have a shot at another AI or Ulster title with his peers at the age group or next years U-20 grade all because some suit in the GAA thought it was the PC thing to do to get rid of the U-21 grade and make the changes they have. I am sure there are plenty of Kerry players in the same boat. For any 2015 minor it is a case of tough luck but that is it with no alternative for them like this years minors. Then you have the scenario where players where asked to play the amount of games they did in that 2-3 week period....the irony. So when your using words like over hyped and overrated etc put yourself in some like Jason's shoes and his reality waking up this morning. I am sure Jason would love that opportunity but because of his exceptional talent he will not. The problem was not the grade but the numb skull fixture schedule something that could be easily organised.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 17/04/2017 00:22:04    1980017

Disappointing - went to this game with the view it was 50:50 but Donegal didn't look contenders at any point

1) Dublin defended well - 13 men back but very disciplined - not one free in lorcan connors range
2) very poor shot selection 6 wides in a row in first 15 minutes - all Hail Marys with a tricky breeze coming from stand side
3) let Dublin through the middle too easy - dubs. Could have had 3-4 goals - seemed to be zonal marking with no one hitting hard when needed ( dubs 11/12 both bet half a dozen men twice )
4) no plan B for Dublin Played a packed defence - the amount of checked back runs was unreal / full forward line didn't get s ball all day
5) the did look tired / no intensity in tackle

All said deserved win for Dublin after an unlucky black card - tactics spot on and enough guile/pace in half forward line to keep scoreboard ticking

Genuinely believe there is huge talent in this squad - hope we have leadership to utilise it in U-21 and senior -

On a wider note I think running and passing game is our strength / I think Murphy is now a playmaker midfielder so think the "play it long to Murphy and all will be ok" is too simplistic but we need to win games that are there for winning - in 2012 we contained for two quarters then went for throat in third quarter / now we contain for 35 and retrench on a 2 point lead

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/04/2017 00:31:09    1980019

Great result for the Galway men, the new sideways style employed by most managers nowadays does not always work which is nice to see

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 17/04/2017 10:03:59    1980068

Bonner spot on about his comments regarding the ulster council. Ulster final should have been earlier. The drawn game had nothing to do with it dragging on, there was 2 weeks between quarter final and ulster semi. Weather postponing the semis showed up their poor organization.

Other provinces started ealier and finished with a 2 week gap.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/04/2017 12:59:05    1980117

Jaysus

Now we have Jack O'Connor blaming the ref...

Can't Kerry just lose once without it being a witch hunt

I've seen a couple of Kerry posters on this thread having a go at JOC for some questionable decisions that may have cost them,

Perhaps a bit of deflection from JOC having a go at the ref??

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/04/2017 15:13:14    1980150

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Great result for the Galway men, the new sideways style employed by most managers nowadays does not always work which is nice to see"
panamasam-Is there really that many posters criticising the Kerry & Donegal players?

I'd be far more critical of the Donegal management.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 17/04/2017 15:15:43    1980151

My post was not referring to just this thread but other ones over the forum. I was not specifically directing my post at one person but a variety of posts I have read since the games finished Saturday. All to quick to criticise but little to offer before the event. As for the Donegal management and the way Donegal play you will see no bigger critic than me especially in the Donegal forum. We rely far too much on one style of play and it is something that really needs to be addressed. It is fine when leading a game or playing inferior opposition but without more variation destined to fail against the top sides. However the management deserve some slack. They have brought these lads up since U-16 to U-21 level and given up so much of their time. In the last 2 campaigns they have being under alot of pressure to deliver a Ulster title which they got this year. The fixture situation was nothing short of a disgrace. The Ulster Council have alot to answer for (not that they will). You can criticise the management and the style of play all you like but alot of the Donegal players would not have got home till at least half 12 or 1 am Monday night. No chance to celebrate their achievement and expected to be able to come down and play a semi final a few days later......crazy. I also felt the need to highlight and discuss the situation of the 2015 minor grade they are the forgotten generation it seems. More ineptitude from the powers that be.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 17/04/2017 16:26:30    1980169

Stay classy jack o Connor. Moaning about refs in a match you should have lost by 15 plus. You're taking the proverbials sir. Your team wasn't the first cousin of good enough to win on the day.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 17/04/2017 17:14:56    1980177

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Stay classy jack o Connor. Moaning about refs in a match you should have lost by 15 plus. You're taking the proverbials sir. Your team wasn't the first cousin of good enough to win on the day."
It's in their DNA

Just another excuse to add to the already impressive list

Galway outclassed Kerry from 1-15

Nothing to do whatsoever with the refs performance

JOC comments are beyond a joke

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/04/2017 17:21:15    1980180

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's in their DNA

Just another excuse to add to the already impressive list

Galway outclassed Kerry from 1-15

Nothing to do whatsoever with the refs performance

JOC comments are beyond a joke"
My god jimbo you're absolutely obsessed with Kerry football, you have posted more about the Kerry U21s then any1 else on here since Saturday and you haven't mentioned the dubs beating Donegal at all from what I've seen on here.

Now I wouldn't blame you as we are the coming team. We will get 7/8 lads on the seniors from this panel of U21s, they had a bad day and it can happen seniors not to mind U21s or minor.

We beat ye'r invincibles a week ago in the league final in ye'r back yard by 1 point but we should have beat ye by 7/8 really and on that team we had 1 player with an U21 medal and not 1 player with a minor medal , and we still beat the mighty dubs, the so called greatest team ever.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2017 18:53:09    1980202

Surprised not more of yous are talking about Daly at centre forward for Galway he looks an absolute superstar in the making, Galway are 100% on the up with him and the Finnertys and the two midfielders especially the red head lad and the full back I can't see how Galway won't be challenging for all Ireland's in the near future. They already have some class players on the senior team Walsh and co so watch out there coming.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2017 19:25:41    1980209

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Stay classy jack o Connor. Moaning about refs in a match you should have lost by 15 plus. You're taking the proverbials sir. Your team wasn't the first cousin of good enough to win on the day."
Poor from Jack O'Connor alright.Kerry will always win plenty but they should take defeat on the chin.They lost to a better team last Saturday.O'Connor's comments should not have been made but of course he's sore that the hottest of favourites are out of the championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 17/04/2017 19:58:18    1980213

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "My god jimbo you're absolutely obsessed with Kerry football, you have posted more about the Kerry U21s then any1 else on here since Saturday and you haven't mentioned the dubs beating Donegal at all from what I've seen on here.

Now I wouldn't blame you as we are the coming team. We will get 7/8 lads on the seniors from this panel of U21s, they had a bad day and it can happen seniors not to mind U21s or minor.

We beat ye'r invincibles a week ago in the league final in ye'r back yard by 1 point but we should have beat ye by 7/8 really and on that team we had 1 player with an U21 medal and not 1 player with a minor medal , and we still beat the mighty dubs, the so called greatest team ever."
Kingdomboy the 4 stand out players for me from these kerry underage teams have been Murphy whose gone to Oz Spillane who doesn't look the same player as he did at minor O Se whose gone Irish dancing and Clifford who no doubt will go to Australia, now I'm sure the rest are very good but they were the stand out players for me but it doesn't look like any of them will play Kerry senior.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2017 20:00:32    1980215

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "My god jimbo you're absolutely obsessed with Kerry football, you have posted more about the Kerry U21s then any1 else on here since Saturday and you haven't mentioned the dubs beating Donegal at all from what I've seen on here.

We beat ye'r invincibles a week ago in the league final in ye'r back yard by 1 point but we should have beat ye by 7/8 really and on that team we had 1 player with an U21 medal and not 1 player with a minor medal , and we still beat the mighty dubs, the so called greatest team ever."
A little harsh mate on the Dubs there mate, lets be honest at this level we have done very well this decade, we are going for our fourth A.I. at this level this decade. Its only this year we have seen some of the winner of the 2014 AI U21 team being integrated into the senior panel. While much to my surprise there is another 5 or 6 seniors i think in this crop including probably a once in a life time player in King Con. Dublin football is in rude health across all levels and talk of Kerry being the coming team is debatable after the weekends results, Spillane looks excellent (but sure everyone has one these days) and very impressed with the keeper, apart from that they failed to be impressed. I would never criticise young lads though so hope they all go on to have decent careers.

As for the seniors, ha sure its only the league. :) A well deserved victory, over a Dublin team unbeaten in 36 games, which is just ridiculous when you think about it. They frankly looked board of beating Kerry, the even t in general and months of peak fitness, Kerry at their best, moons aligned and will we say the touch of the gods in their favor, hammered us by the width of the post. But i think your point Kerry go into the summer as favorites for Sam on current form.

Beware though, should never tease a tiger.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2017 20:45:26    1980226

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy the 4 stand out players for me from these kerry underage teams have been Murphy whose gone to Oz Spillane who doesn't look the same player as he did at minor O Se whose gone Irish dancing and Clifford who no doubt will go to Australia, now I'm sure the rest are very good but they were the stand out players for me but it doesn't look like any of them will play Kerry senior."
It's Marc O'Connor that went to Australia. You mustn't have watched our minors much over the three years if they are the only players you picked out. Sean O'Shea, Brian O,Beaglaoich, Matthew Flaherty, Dara Moynihan and Jason Foley were all outstanding underage players, along with David Shaw and several others. Spillane has plenty of time to come good.

You'd hope to get several good seniors out of the above eventually but you never know with young lads. The ones that look certain to make it sometimes don't and then you get lads coming out of nowhere like Paul Murphy in 2014 or Fenton in 2015, both putting in MOTM performances in AI finals. Morley is another example.

The pressure our U21 team were under this year was crazy so I'm not the only one saying that the defeat might be no harm to cool expectations on these young players.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/04/2017 21:03:35    1980232

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "It's Marc O'Connor that went to Australia. You mustn't have watched our minors much over the three years if they are the only players you picked out. Sean O'Shea, Brian O,Beaglaoich, Matthew Flaherty, Dara Moynihan and Jason Foley were all outstanding underage players, along with David Shaw and several others. Spillane has plenty of time to come good.

You'd hope to get several good seniors out of the above eventually but you never know with young lads. The ones that look certain to make it sometimes don't and then you get lads coming out of nowhere like Paul Murphy in 2014 or Fenton in 2015, both putting in MOTM performances in AI finals. Morley is another example.

The pressure our U21 team were under this year was crazy so I'm not the only one saying that the defeat might be no harm to cool expectations on these young players."
Sorry I meant O Conor I said their all very good but them 4 were the stand outs for me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/04/2017 21:35:06    1980242

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "It's Marc O'Connor that went to Australia. You mustn't have watched our minors much over the three years if they are the only players you picked out. Sean O'Shea, Brian O,Beaglaoich, Matthew Flaherty, Dara Moynihan and Jason Foley were all outstanding underage players, along with David Shaw and several others. Spillane has plenty of time to come good.

The pressure our U21 team were under this year was crazy so I'm not the only one saying that the defeat might be no harm to cool expectations on these young players."
I'd agree Gerry plus fitz pulled to brilliant players in Kevin McCarthy and ronan Shanahan this year just like he did with Paul Murphy 3 years ago.

Clondalkin we won't settle this discussion today but we'll visit it again a few years.
You're right though mark O'Connor was the best and he's gone to aus.
But I'd still be confident of 7/8 of these lads making it at senior.

Username I meant no offence, I was just stating a fact to jimbo that winning Underage doesn't guarantee winning anything at seniors. We have lots of fellas with senior medals but no underage medals.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/04/2017 21:49:35    1980250

Give it up lad, ye beat us in a league game, Donegal and Mayo are the only teams to beat us in the last 6 years, ye haven't quite managed that yet, but in September you might get your chance, but something tells me Mayo will do ye, they probably have more reason to as they've been our closest rivals in that time.. :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 17/04/2017 22:07:59    1980260

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd agree Gerry plus fitz pulled to brilliant players in Kevin McCarthy and ronan Shanahan this year just like he did with Paul Murphy 3 years ago.

Clondalkin we won't settle this discussion today but we'll visit it again a few years.
You're right though mark O'Connor was the best and he's gone to aus.
But I'd still be confident of 7/8 of these lads making it at senior.

Username I meant no offence, I was just stating a fact to jimbo that winning Underage doesn't guarantee winning anything at seniors. We have lots of fellas with senior medals but no underage medals."
No bother mate, we will have some ding dongs in the years ahead no doubt, would be funny to see a Spillane tog out for Kerry and the other for Dublin.

It would be an intersting study the correlation between U21 success and senior, even minor and senior. If you took the Dubs as a sample 3 A.I. U21s this decade (hopefully a fourth), 4 senior All Ireland's. The Mayo lads will be hoping its true, while other recent winners Galway and Tyrone have gone on to provincial success and the later stages of the championship with a bit of headroom development wise.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/04/2017 22:40:55    1980269