All Ireland U21 Football Championship

Replying To Donegalman:  "Good win last night. I think we showed that we are a good footballing side for once and for all. Lots of attention is given to our short passing game or defensive plan, but we still managed to score mostly from play last night and shot only 3 wides. I think we will be there abouts this Monday coming.

Re the rest of the tournament, Kerry seem to have steamed ahead of the field in terms of what the bookies think of them. I believe this is down to their demolition of Cork in Cork last week. By all accounts they were fantastic, and this is coming from kerry supporters so it must be true if that is the case. Dublin are a very unknown quantity this year, I think they will have a big say in it yet. Galway are like ourselves in the betting but have a really tough match against kerry coming down the line at them. This is after only managing to draw with sligo. Finally, Derry are our opponents next monday night. They are after a huge win in celtic park against armagh and will be in high spirits going into the game. Unfortunately for them, they are after a match with extra time, and this is going to effect their stamina. I think that if they have to reach for the top locker again, they might not have anything left in the tank.

Really good matches so far. The back door would have seen Tyrone go further but there are pros to this system of competition, most noticeably, that the matches are much more exciting and all or nothing in the stakes. Betting odds below.

Kerry 4/9
Dublin 9/2
Donegal 13/2
Galway 15/2
Derry 28/1
https://www.oddschecker.com/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/all-ireland-u21-football-championship/winner"
Kerry, Donegal, Dublin and Galway have outstanding teams ( I think Derry will struggle against Donegal). There should be a cracking end to the competition, It's a pity to see this competition being replaced,

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/04/2017 20:02:53    1976669

Great odds for Donegal...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 20:13:31    1976672

Donegal have some unbelievable under 21 players please tell me with the talent they have their not playing the Jim McGuinness style ???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2017 20:38:03    1976683

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Donegal have some unbelievable under 21 players please tell me with the talent they have their not playing the Jim McGuinness style ???"
Haha clondalkin you're some boy!!

No, their style is completely different which is totally down to the type of players in the squad. They are very mobile & a good number of them can take a score. They had only 3 wides against Cavan in a score of 3-17.

How good they are we don't know but if they get to meet Dublin in the semi final I'd say it will be a great game between 2 footballing sides.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/04/2017 21:11:39    1976691

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Donegal have some unbelievable under 21 players please tell me with the talent they have their not playing the Jim McGuinness style ???"
They are playing a running game. There is defense in numbers, but not the same as we have seen under mcguinness. The hand passing game is not replaced though. It is a culture of football that is too big a jump for even the under age players here.

Good odds for Donegal but ridiculous task. Bottleneck fixtures plus replayed game v Tyrone means our lads have been off the bridle for the past couple of weeks. I would be delighted for the lads to win ulster and for the group of players to have something to show for their hard work. They threw away a minor provincial a couple of years ago, they deserved to go far that year but no back door meant that they were not going anywhere after losing to derry in semi final 2 years ago (minor).

Good luck lads, we are enjoying the journey so far and I hope you continue and play well for as long as you are left in it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/04/2017 21:12:53    1976692

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Why is the Ulster Final on in Armagh?

Indeed I don't understand why they couldn't have tossed a coin to determine Home Advantage - even if Donegal lost it Derry would be easier to get to for most Donegal gaels than Armagh and vice-versa?"
Its a ridiculous situation. Apparently Donegal offered to toss for home advantage, but Derry refused. Now both teams and sets of supporters have to travel halfway across Ulster on a Monday night

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 06/04/2017 21:37:28    1976698

Donegal set up with a heavy defensive structure yes. All our u21 and minor teams do the same.

Offensively our game is based on what Donegal football has always been associated with going back generations, which is a running handpassing game. This is second nature to our players, from underage up and has been long long before Jim McGuinness came along.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 06/04/2017 21:49:02    1976703

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Haha clondalkin you're some boy!!

No, their style is completely different which is totally down to the type of players in the squad. They are very mobile & a good number of them can take a score. They had only 3 wides against Cavan in a score of 3-17.

How good they are we don't know but if they get to meet Dublin in the semi final I'd say it will be a great game between 2 footballing sides."
Good man Muck, like the talent you's have it would make no sense for them to play a negative style , Mcguiness did what he had to do cause he knew he hadn't the best players , Donegal 21's have the best players apart from Kerry so I'm delighted to hear that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2017 21:49:07    1976704

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Good man Muck, like the talent you's have it would make no sense for them to play a negative style , Mcguiness did what he had to do cause he knew he hadn't the best players , Donegal 21's have the best players apart from Kerry so I'm delighted to hear that."
Clondalkin - I don't know where you have been but I can tell you that mass defenses have been the norm for many years now and providing there are no rule changes, will be the future as well. Dublin are more than happy to get 13 or 14 in their own 45 too. It is clearly the optimal strategy when the other team gives you a chance to get the men back.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 07/04/2017 10:23:51    1976798

As it stand I'm expecting a Kerry v Donegal final but at this level nothing ever surprises me, Derry & Dublin are in Donegals way yet.

Galway's record once they get out of Connacht is second to none but their going to have to put a full 60 minute performance to beat Kerry. Kerry also have the benefit of a top manager, not convinced about Fahy. In fairness last week he was quick to make changes last week but not all were the right decisions.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 07/04/2017 10:43:36    1976805

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Good man Muck, like the talent you's have it would make no sense for them to play a negative style , Mcguiness did what he had to do cause he knew he hadn't the best players , Donegal 21's have the best players apart from Kerry so I'm delighted to hear that."
Hadnt the best players?????

Murphy, McBrearty, The Mc Gees, Frank Mc Glynn, Lacey, Colm Mc Fadden, Neil Gallagher, Rory Kav, Paddy mc grath etc.

Are you having a laugh- one of the most talented squads of recent years....

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 07/04/2017 11:02:43    1976809

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Hadnt the best players?????

Murphy, McBrearty, The Mc Gees, Frank Mc Glynn, Lacey, Colm Mc Fadden, Neil Gallagher, Rory Kav, Paddy mc grath etc.

Are you having a laugh- one of the most talented squads of recent years...."
You hadn't the best players that's why Mcguiness ruined the game he knew he couldn't win playing 15 on 15. Yes you'd some great players (Murphy McFadden Lacey) but come on the whole country knows you'd never of won Sam if yous didn't yous the tactics you's did.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2017 11:14:08    1976813

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You hadn't the best players that's why Mcguiness ruined the game he knew he couldn't win playing 15 on 15. Yes you'd some great players (Murphy McFadden Lacey) but come on the whole country knows you'd never of won Sam if yous didn't yous the tactics you's did."
I think I can speak for the whole country in saying you don't speak for the whole country.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 07/04/2017 11:24:20    1976817

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You hadn't the best players that's why Mcguiness ruined the game he knew he couldn't win playing 15 on 15. Yes you'd some great players (Murphy McFadden Lacey) but come on the whole country knows you'd never of won Sam if yous didn't yous the tactics you's did."
You're right, we had a certain group of outstanding players combined with the best innovative manager of recent years. The beast teams were defeated in 2012, Tyrone, Mayo, Kerry, Cork et al and in 2014 Dublin fell to our system and great players. I always wondered how the Dublin 2012 team would have faired off in the final if they defeated Mayo as the 2014 buch was ravaged in the '14 semi, and by al comparsions they were twice the team the Dublin 12 team was.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1140 - 07/04/2017 11:54:47    1976827

So you're saying that teams that win wouldn't win if they didn't use the tactics they use.

Thanks for the insight, absolutely fascinating.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 07/04/2017 12:14:36    1976836

We followed your lead from your 2010 win.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 07/04/2017 12:33:06    1976841

Fair play Clondalkindub. I knew someone would finally realise that Donegal were breaking the rules and didn't play 15 on 15. Hard to believe no one noticed that they played 20 on 15 during the McGuinness era. Everyone else just assumed they had 15 players on the pitch and never checked.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 07/04/2017 12:42:02    1976843

Jesus lads how many of you's want to bite on the most obvious bit of bait?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/04/2017 13:03:11    1976855

He's just sore because Donegal ruined his ultimate fantasy of a Dublin 5 in a row.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 07/04/2017 13:28:27    1976865

Fair dues clondalkin, you haven't lost your touch.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2017 16:25:05    1976946