NHL 1A & 1B

Replying To tiobraid:  "A number of my hurling posts don't get put up but you can say anything about football and it'll be grand. Split the forums into Hurling and football. Hurling is getting lost on this forum!"
thats a great suggestion...a kk man posted about derek mcgrath yesterday...i replied referring to brian codys behaviour last year and they wont print it....so the kk boys have a hold over hoganstand just like the referees :) seperate forums and you should be allowed to get someone from admon to have a 2nd review of a post thats deemed unsuitable

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 15/02/2017 13:51:44    1957092

This weekend will tell a lot:
Cork v Dublin
Dublin are in big trouble if Cork run riot.
Clare v Kilkenny
Clare will want to lay down a marker at home. Cats won't want to lose again.
Waterford v Tipperary
Great game in prospect.
Galway v Wexford
Big test for Davy & Wexford
Limerick v Kerry
Limerick need to bounce back
Laois v Offaly
Both teams badly need a win

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/02/2017 14:11:34    1957102

I'm not a betting man ;-)

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/02/2017 14:44:42    1957114

Replying To flynntopcorner:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=tiobraid:  "[quote=Pinkie:  "Janesboro, I think if you look at my posting history, I never blame the referee, I have little or no interest in football so was certainly not part of that. Blaming the referee is just avoiding the reality of the reasons a team loses. Last thing I am saying on it, it would be better if Limerick moved on too because they could yet top the division and they play Galway when I wish we were playing them (last game)
This weekend?
Cork v Dublin
Clare v Kilkenny
Waterford v Tipperary
Galway v Wexford,
Limerick v Kerry
Laois v Offaly

I laugh when I hear people say Galway will bring Wexford back to earth!! We are not on cloud 9 over a league win in January, of course it was great to beat Limerick for the first time in 12 years but I think everybody now looking to the weekend match. Hard ask to go to Galway. Can't see us winning it."
It'll be extremely close and I won't be putting Galway into any accumulator this week"
Will it be 'extremely' close? Wexford must be fairly good so!!"]What's the sarcasm about? It's a matter of opinion and without trying to come across as c*cky you'll see I got all my hurling prediction correct the first day :D"]Tried posting yesterday but don't see it anywhere.

If you, or anyone else is interested, there's a free hurling & football tipping competition over on OLBG Ireland [url=]https://olbg.ie/

Free signup, free entry, €200 in prizes this month.

I've been doing alright in the football so far and just did the one tip on the hurling last week so looking forward to this weekend now."]I'm signed up to the Allianz league predictions already. Do it every year.

Do I lose out by being late to enter?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/02/2017 15:04:34    1957125

Tried posting yesterday but don't see it anywhere. If you, or anyone else is interested, there's a free hurling & football tipping competition over on OLBG Ireland https://olbg.ie/ Free signup, free entry, €200 in prizes this month. I've been doing alright in the football so far and just did the one tip on the hurling last week so looking forward to this weekend now."]I'm signed up to the Allianz league predictions already. Do it every year. Do I lose out by being late to enter?"

Nope, you don't lose out! If your tips are good enough, then you could be high in the table and possibly up for a prize.

You just have to make at least 5 tips each (5 for hurling €100 in prizes 5 for football €100 in prizes) per month to qualify.

You can view the tables on the OLBG Ireland page under the 'Tipster Competition' tab at the top of the page. If you need any help, let me know.

flynntopcorner (Kildare) - Posts: 4 - 15/02/2017 16:49:19    1957162

Cork v Dublin. Cork
Waterford v Tipp. Waterford
Clare V KK. Clare
Galway v Wexford. Galway
Limerick v Kerry. Limerick
Laois v Offaly. Offaly

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 15/02/2017 19:39:55    1957225

Replying To perfect10:  "Dirk,we all know a generation of people in limerick have been brought up with a deep-rooted dislike of wexford.they just cant accept that we were the better team on the day and deserved our win,lets taint the victory by blaming the victory.
pathetic."
Have to admit this 'limerick hate us cos of 96' craic out of Wexford is getting boring..
We have Tipp, Cork and Clare on our borders..
you really don't feature.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 15/02/2017 19:49:38    1957231

Replying To PremierGold:  "Oldtourman that bitterness will eat you up!! Pop out to Tipp and we will let you take your pic holding Liam,this is near he gets to Limerick!!"
Premier
Have you ever heard that a little nonsense now and then is realished by the wisest men.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 15/02/2017 20:40:51    1957257

Replying To PremierGold:  "Oldtourman that bitterness will eat you up!! Pop out to Tipp and we will let you take your pic holding Liam,this is near he gets to Limerick!!"
I had my picture taken with that cup in 73 in the goalkeepers, and my own home village. That will do for a lifetime.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 15/02/2017 20:43:13    1957258

Cork v Dublín
Clare v Kilkenny
Waterford v Tipperary
Laois v Offaly
Galway v Wexford
Limerick v Kerry

1B is actually looking interesting this year for once, as its conceivable that Limerick, Galway and Wexford all finish level with 4 wins, while at the bottom Offaly, Kerry and Laois might all win 1 match each, which means scoring-difference is essential. Whereas nothing will really be decided in 1a by this weeks games, a good result is imperative for everyone in 1b.
A win for Wexford, and they've 1 foot in next years 1a, while a win for Galway and it will likely come down to the last match against Limerick to decide promotion.
Laois v Offaly, and both need wins after a bad start last week. Laois lose, and they're essentially in the relegation playoff, while if Offaly lose they could be in big trouble, with a trip to Kerry the only place they might pick up points.
And while Limerick will in all likelyhood defeat Kerry, the size of the win could be telling. A large win would suggest Limerick are still fighting for top spot and fancy their chances against Galway, but if they only win by a few points it could be the difference (even beating Galway later) between 1st and 3rd place, while a narrow defeat could still keep Kerry afloat and out of relegation trouble. An interesting weekend ahead!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/02/2017 18:54:15    1957996

Big performance from Dublin tonight. Who saw that coming? How bad were Cork, though?!?! Laois V Offaly went as expected but Offaly finishing with 13 men certainly doesn't help their cause.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/02/2017 20:38:17    1958047

Cork 1-14 v Dublin 2-19. FT

From the depths of despair to a feeling of delight.

What a result tonight for the Dublin Hurlers down in Cork.

To win after the hammering we took at the hands of Tipp last week is some turnaround.

The hunger, desire and skill of this young team was a joy to behold tonight.

Expected to be beaten to be honest but thrilled for the lads.

And to win with 14men (disgraceful 2nd yellow card) for nearly a quarter of the game and to have 10 different players on the scoreboard was more than pleasing.

Excellent result and hopefully will give the team, with so many of last years Minors, a great deal of confidence going forward.

Atha Cliath Abú

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 18/02/2017 20:48:00    1958052

Replying To Fionn:  "Cork 1-14 v Dublin 2-19. FT

From the depths of despair to a feeling of delight.

What a result tonight for the Dublin Hurlers down in Cork.

To win after the hammering we took at the hands of Tipp last week is some turnaround.

The hunger, desire and skill of this young team was a joy to behold tonight.

Expected to be beaten to be honest but thrilled for the lads.

And to win with 14men (disgraceful 2nd yellow card) for nearly a quarter of the game and to have 10 different players on the scoreboard was more than pleasing.

Excellent result and hopefully will give the team, with so many of last years Minors, a great deal of confidence going forward.

Atha Cliath Abú"
And we also missed a penalty.

Dighted with that result.

Long way to go but that game should give our lads a bit more confidence and self belief.

Up next the Deise....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 18/02/2017 21:12:31    1958057

Great stuff from the dubs tonight. Cork just weren't up to the intensity. It was a great game.

We've a tough test ahead of us tomorrow.

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 18/02/2017 22:03:57    1958073

Replying To keeper7:  "Big performance from Dublin tonight. Who saw that coming? How bad were Cork, though?!?! Laois V Offaly went as expected but Offaly finishing with 13 men certainly doesn't help their cause."
Watched the Laois-Offaly game , very enjoyable game for the first 50mins then somewhat fizzled out. Laois with great movement at times, fast short-to-medium passing opened up Offaly at ease at times. Offaly over reliance on the physical, and no real tactics (drop long,high,slow ball into the forwards and hope for the best). I think from about the 25th until the 55th minute Laois outscored Offaly 18-8 while Offaly picked up their two red cards in the same period, which was the winning of the game.
Well done to Laois, look to have a few very capable forwards.
For Offaly, I'd be worried. On that performance, (and take Dooley out of the side), they'd look more at home at C.Ring level. Shadow of their former selves.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/02/2017 22:06:36    1958075

....and well done to the Dubs as well, I think everyone (myself included!) had them totally written off before tonight.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/02/2017 22:08:56    1958076

id like to be the first to congratulate the dubs on winning the league !!!!!!!!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 18/02/2017 23:44:50    1958098

Replying To skillet:  "Have to admit this 'limerick hate us cos of 96' craic out of Wexford is getting boring..
We have Tipp, Cork and Clare on our borders..
you really don't feature."
It generally seems to come up every time we play and beat you guys (which hasn't been too often recently) and we start hearing the whinging about Wexford being dirty and Liam Dunne breaking that fella's hand.. cannot remember his name though.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 19/02/2017 08:20:52    1958124

Great win for Dublin. A setback for Cork.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1014 - 19/02/2017 08:59:36    1958133

Replying To extranjero:  "Watched the Laois-Offaly game , very enjoyable game for the first 50mins then somewhat fizzled out. Laois with great movement at times, fast short-to-medium passing opened up Offaly at ease at times. Offaly over reliance on the physical, and no real tactics (drop long,high,slow ball into the forwards and hope for the best). I think from about the 25th until the 55th minute Laois outscored Offaly 18-8 while Offaly picked up their two red cards in the same period, which was the winning of the game.
Well done to Laois, look to have a few very capable forwards.
For Offaly, I'd be worried. On that performance, (and take Dooley out of the side), they'd look more at home at C.Ring level. Shadow of their former selves."
Jesus don't jinx us.. we still have to play them

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 19/02/2017 09:30:28    1958137