Division 4 2017

The Real 1944 - yeah looks like its going to be a very entertaining division - westmeath game key for us - pity is clashes with hurler game (equally as big) down in wexford, ill go to the football and bring the ould walkman. beat westmeath and we had chance of going up, was reading on aertel last night about what leitrim have been doing and fair dues to them, with the division being so competitive it looks like all the teams will be better prepared for championship because of it

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/02/2017 09:47:22    1953537

us minnows are off to a flier

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 12/02/2017 13:02:03    1955112

Absolutely, although a lot of people will note that it those wins have been against London and Wicklow, but they all count. You'll give us a tough game (I can't remember where it is). This division will be competitive as hell, and it always is.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 14/02/2017 16:53:40    1956731

was at the limerick v westmeath game better side won no qualm - westmeath very decent side and strong up the middle egan and heslin were very good - lot more competitive game than last years div 3 game so we are showing progress -shocking small crowd though pity coz the lads are training their nuts off,

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 18:59:00    1956779

next round should be very interesting, I'm still in shock after our first half against London, 10 points down after doing so well the previous week, I still think we can regroup though, but one more loss and it's over, Waterford vs wexford looks like the pick of the round with the winners going clear on top unless it's a draw, London could take Wicklow as they seem to be having a very bad start to the year, you would have to fancy Westmeath at home to Leitrim but again it's a tricky one, Carlow vs limerick well I think we can win it but after sunday I can't tell, the loser of that game is out of the promotion race anyway that's one thing for sure

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 14/02/2017 19:49:09    1956803

yeah barrowside ye can win it - promotion is gone for us wheras ye are still in the game -- like yourselves its about getting some wins because having only won one game last season where we hung on v antrim up north we have forgotten a bit how to win - so a win against carlow would give us a fillup - same as it would for ye if ye beat us ,

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/02/2017 20:50:54    1956841

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Absolutely, although a lot of people will note that it those wins have been against London and Wicklow, but they all count. You'll give us a tough game (I can't remember where it is). This division will be competitive as hell, and it always is."
my lovely leitrim friend you know very well being from leitrim that a win v anyone is an achievement for our counties..ahhh its a really great start for our lads..we play ye in mac diarmada on 02nd april.

and whilst on this topic, your thoughts please......kerry hurlers compete in leinster championship so they can compete v laois, offaly, carlow meath etc....similar counties......Galway compete in leinster to compete with kilkenny wexford and dublin......

would it not be great idea to let waterford into connaught? playing teams like leitrim london newyork sligo etc...instead of kerry v cork and even tipp, limerick and clare of late!!!! those connaught teams all usually div3 div4 teams same as ourselves??

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 15/02/2017 03:00:55    1956941

Replying To janesboro:  "yeah barrowside ye can win it - promotion is gone for us wheras ye are still in the game -- like yourselves its about getting some wins because having only won one game last season where we hung on v antrim up north we have forgotten a bit how to win - so a win against carlow would give us a fillup - same as it would for ye if ye beat us ,"
I wouldn't say promotion is gone just yet... The initial consensus was that promotion was between three teams, and you just lost to two of them, so if ye beat the other 5, that;s 10 points, and one slip-up against anyone else would leave ye back in it.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 15/02/2017 17:09:48    1957168

Replying To juniorjudge:  "my lovely leitrim friend you know very well being from leitrim that a win v anyone is an achievement for our counties..ahhh its a really great start for our lads..we play ye in mac diarmada on 02nd april.

and whilst on this topic, your thoughts please......kerry hurlers compete in leinster championship so they can compete v laois, offaly, carlow meath etc....similar counties......Galway compete in leinster to compete with kilkenny wexford and dublin......

would it not be great idea to let waterford into connaught? playing teams like leitrim london newyork sligo etc...instead of kerry v cork and even tipp, limerick and clare of late!!!! those connaught teams all usually div3 div4 teams same as ourselves??"
Interesting idea...! I wonder though how well it would be taken. Galway have no-one to play hurling against in Connacht. Kerry same up through the Christy Ring Cup and are therefore in the Leinster qualifier group or whatever it's called. Moving a county from one province to another purely on the basis of rank might not be looked kindly upon. Maybe that's where the argument for a second tier championship would come in...?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 15/02/2017 17:14:34    1957170

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Interesting idea...! I wonder though how well it would be taken. Galway have no-one to play hurling against in Connacht. Kerry same up through the Christy Ring Cup and are therefore in the Leinster qualifier group or whatever it's called. Moving a county from one province to another purely on the basis of rank might not be looked kindly upon. Maybe that's where the argument for a second tier championship would come in...?"
yes im assuming its the only way it could happen! waterford will never progress in munster with continous beatings v the other 5....a little group of waterford wicklow antrim leitrim new york london maybe one or two others be great...club football in the deise is fairly good to be fair...i know it will never attract the crowds the hurlers do but that didnt stop tipp or clare footballers in last few years.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 15/02/2017 17:41:09    1957185

After two rounds it looks between wexford and wesrmeath,

Teddy5 (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 16/02/2017 09:58:37    1957353

whats going on below in limerick?!?!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 26/02/2017 19:35:44    1961200

Replying To juniorjudge:  "whats going on below in limerick?!?!"
Better still, whats going on up in Carlow.???!!

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 26/02/2017 19:48:38    1961218

Replying To supersub15:  "Better still, whats going on up in Carlow.???!!"
absolutely and long may it last!!!! great to see the likes of the carlows and waterfords getting a couple of wins

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 26/02/2017 20:18:33    1961238

next week will be very interesting, wexford away to wicklow could be tricky, waterford have westmeath at home with the winners looking good for promotion, carlow are away to leitrim which is hard to call but the loser of that is out of contention for promotion, wexford are probably favorites to top the group but they still have to play both westmeath and carlow, only limerick are out of the equation having lost all their games so far

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 26/02/2017 20:57:24    1961276

Replying To Barrowsider:  "next week will be very interesting, wexford away to wicklow could be tricky, waterford have westmeath at home with the winners looking good for promotion, carlow are away to leitrim which is hard to call but the loser of that is out of contention for promotion, wexford are probably favorites to top the group but they still have to play both westmeath and carlow, only limerick are out of the equation having lost all their games so far"
i wouldnt rule out an upset with waterford to beat westmeath, didnt get the trouncing v wexford that many predicted. its actually turning out to be a decent division so far

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 26/02/2017 21:25:21    1961303

Replying To supersub15:  "Better still, whats going on up in Carlow.???!!"
Fair play to Carlow, would like to see them go up although the loss vs London may be a killer.

As for Limerick, we have a small playing pool to begin and the emphasis in the county is to promote hurling over football, with any dual player being encouraged to play hurling. There are at least 4 players in the hurling squad that would be starters on the football team and that is alot for us.

JuniorJude - You ran a good Wexford team close today but one hopes that the Waterford footballers don't become a drain on the county resources and jeopardise the hurlers by having the cheek of becoming competitive at football too :)

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 26/02/2017 22:34:04    1961344

Don't think too many predicted Waterford to be trounced. I seem to remember the last game between Westmeath and Waterford being very close and that was in Mullingar.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 26/02/2017 22:40:08    1961346

Replying To juniorjudge:  "whats going on below in limerick?!?!"
we have lost to better teams in all 3 games, just lacking that little bit of confidence and know how how to win games , we just badly badly badly need a win london next week is massive, last time we played them was in championship in 2014 , scraped past them , seen enough in preseason games to suggest we have a bit of hope but demoralising to see your team bottom of division 4

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2017 23:06:58    1961358

Replying To county man:  "Fair play to Carlow, would like to see them go up although the loss vs London may be a killer.

As for Limerick, we have a small playing pool to begin and the emphasis in the county is to promote hurling over football, with any dual player being encouraged to play hurling. There are at least 4 players in the hurling squad that would be starters on the football team and that is alot for us.

JuniorJude - You ran a good Wexford team close today but one hopes that the Waterford footballers don't become a drain on the county resources and jeopardise the hurlers by having the cheek of becoming competitive at football too :)"
small playing pool? well i think that contradicts your poor effort at insulting waterford county football...and another limerick poster has already said limerick are "training their nuts off". no need for the sarcasm.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 27/02/2017 08:10:58    1961406