Division 1 2017

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Why not?

If you are an intercounty GAA player, then surely you want to play games. Play good games. The opening league game v Cavan will probably have a better atmosphere and better standard than any Leinster championship game.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts:3360 - 24/01/2017 14:31:06

General consensus is that certain fringe players need more game time and that these players should get blooded during the league to see where they are at.

Added to that the players have only just returned from their team holiday this week afaik. I'd expect to see a good number of the O'Byrne Cup Squad in the starting 15 for the Cavan game in anyways."
Sounds like you're making your excuses early Mes.

Scared?? ;)"
Terrified!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 24/01/2017 16:49:43    1948490

Hard to know what way the league will go this year in Div 1. There's a lot of resting, rebuilding and sides not wanting to blow out before the championship. Avoiding relegation will be the main aim and winning will be a case of seeing how it goes for most of the teams. Dubs will probably continue to experiment with new faces and so will be less dependable than usual. Hard to know where Kerry will pitch things, they have a few discoveries to make before the summer, so consistency might be hard to find. If there's one side who are likely to be consistent it's Tyrone and for this reason I think they'll be one of the two teams in the final. I fancy the Rossies to survive, though maybe not as comfortably as last year. If Donegal lose to Kerry the first day they could struggle and winning could drive them the other way. With the loss of a good chunk of talent Cavan look vulnerable, and they surely won't try to preserve their status at the expense of a decent championship run. Monaghan are a more seasoned bunch, and still I expect the result between themselves and my own county to have a bearing. So the Dubs, because they can't stop themselves, and Tyrone for the final, with Cavan and either Monaghan or my own county Mayo to join them. If our younger players bed in we might just scrape survival again, but as another poster suggested, flirting with the drop will eventually deliver it.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/01/2017 20:47:32    1949335

Hey lads, rumour has it that the Dublin team bus Sat Nav has the M11 motorway programmed in it for direction to Cavan.....enjoy the strawberries........Happy Days !!!

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 225 - 27/01/2017 21:33:30    1949341

Replying To ExiledCuCu:  "Hey lads, rumour has it that the Dublin team bus Sat Nav has the M11 motorway programmed in it for direction to Cavan.....enjoy the strawberries........Happy Days !!!"
Man you crack me up :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 27/01/2017 22:56:17    1949356

Clarification, bad writing, that's Cavan to go down to be joined by Monaghan or Mayo....

Heard that stuff on Matt Cooper about the role of funding in the Dubs success and the systematic bias which has been at play for almost a decade (which isn't news to most), with no sign of a change to level the playing field. Apparently the Dublin CB would have to refuse the money, money they don't even need anymore due to alternative commercial funding. We all know about the advantages the Dubs have in terms of collective training, and no one can deny that the money hasn't been well spent, but in the long term not addressing both the natural and artificial imbalances will only lead to the destruction of the game as it's organised today. Kerry, Mayo and Donegal have papered over the cracks and given the impression that the All-Ireland is a genuine competition, but another double by the Dubs this year would leave the AI championship going the way of Leinster. I don't blame the Dubs for doing a brilliant job with what's been coming their way, but there were far sighted people who foresaw Leinster becoming a one horse race and who now are saying that in spite of the talent at underage in other counties, the gap at senior level will only get bigger over time. Is it a case that this is what the GAA wants? Even the most ardent Dubs supporter will want the AI to remain a real achievement, but it could be that these years are the last ones where this is so, before even the likes of Kerry get burned off. Who wants a shambolic championship?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/01/2017 11:32:32    1949394

Donaghy was retiring after '14 he was definitely retiring last year when he brought his daughter onto the pitch after the game now he's going again this is the last Hurrah of last hurrahs. Personally I think he should of retired and let the young lads through now he's had his time and all he's doing now his holding the kids back imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2017 11:45:28    1949398

Replying To Pericles:  "Clarification, bad writing, that's Cavan to go down to be joined by Monaghan or Mayo....

Heard that stuff on Matt Cooper about the role of funding in the Dubs success and the systematic bias which has been at play for almost a decade (which isn't news to most), with no sign of a change to level the playing field. Apparently the Dublin CB would have to refuse the money, money they don't even need anymore due to alternative commercial funding. We all know about the advantages the Dubs have in terms of collective training, and no one can deny that the money hasn't been well spent, but in the long term not addressing both the natural and artificial imbalances will only lead to the destruction of the game as it's organised today. Kerry, Mayo and Donegal have papered over the cracks and given the impression that the All-Ireland is a genuine competition, but another double by the Dubs this year would leave the AI championship going the way of Leinster. I don't blame the Dubs for doing a brilliant job with what's been coming their way, but there were far sighted people who foresaw Leinster becoming a one horse race and who now are saying that in spite of the talent at underage in other counties, the gap at senior level will only get bigger over time. Is it a case that this is what the GAA wants? Even the most ardent Dubs supporter will want the AI to remain a real achievement, but it could be that these years are the last ones where this is so, before even the likes of Kerry get burned off. Who wants a shambolic championship?"
Well said Pericles, euan makenna was on Matt cooper last night and the amount of funding the dubs are getting is even more then we all first thought.
It's getting to the point now where the only option left us counties outside the pale will be to revolt.
If Kerry cork mayo Galway Donegal Tyrone and a few more counties pull their intercounty teams from competitions then the GAA would have to do something about the Dublin abomination.
It's a shame that it would have to come to a civil war but it might be the only way to save our sports I'm afraid .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2017 12:47:09    1949405

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Donaghy was retiring after '14 he was definitely retiring last year when he brought his daughter onto the pitch after the game now he's going again this is the last Hurrah of last hurrahs. Personally I think he should of retired and let the young lads through now he's had his time and all he's doing now his holding the kids back imo."
Doesn't he have a right to decide himself when he wants to go, hasn't he earned that right after a career that would be the envy of ANY Gaelic footballer? And won't he still will have to fight for his starting place just like anyone else on the squad, regardless of who he is.

So I fail to see how he is 'holding the young kids back' as you say. The experience and personal standard he brings into that the squad set up is something you cannot buy.

Like everything, people only see what's on the pitch they have no idea what's going on behind closed doors and how invaluable a contribution himself and (hopefully) Gooch will be making for the young lads coming through.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 13:21:10    1949409

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well said Pericles, euan makenna was on Matt cooper last night and the amount of funding the dubs are getting is even more then we all first thought.
It's getting to the point now where the only option left us counties outside the pale will be to revolt.
If Kerry cork mayo Galway Donegal Tyrone and a few more counties pull their intercounty teams from competitions then the GAA would have to do something about the Dublin abomination.
It's a shame that it would have to come to a civil war but it might be the only way to save our sports I'm afraid ."
Withdrawing from the All-Ireland, a classic case of the revolution not being televised ....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 13:41:27    1949414

Replying To TheHermit:  "Withdrawing from the All-Ireland, a classic case of the revolution not being televised ...."
I know its almost poetic.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2017 14:24:33    1949426

Having Lloyd & Harry back whinging just makes the victories even sweeter. What a double act ! Keep them coming.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2017 14:56:33    1949438

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Having Lloyd & Harry back whinging just makes the victories even sweeter. What a double act ! Keep them coming."
We're just giving our views as we are entitled to.

At least we don't go onto other counties forums mocking them after defeats like the classly lad you've shown yourself to be.

And I think plenty of people of this forum have your number at this stage... enjoy the League.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 15:25:06    1949447

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Having Lloyd & Harry back whinging just makes the victories even sweeter. What a double act ! Keep them coming."
How could you enjoy something you don't have to work for? Something that's been handed to ye?
It has no value.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2017 15:39:16    1949450

Replying To Pericles:  "Clarification, bad writing, that's Cavan to go down to be joined by Monaghan or Mayo....

Heard that stuff on Matt Cooper about the role of funding in the Dubs success and the systematic bias which has been at play for almost a decade (which isn't news to most), with no sign of a change to level the playing field. Apparently the Dublin CB would have to refuse the money, money they don't even need anymore due to alternative commercial funding. We all know about the advantages the Dubs have in terms of collective training, and no one can deny that the money hasn't been well spent, but in the long term not addressing both the natural and artificial imbalances will only lead to the destruction of the game as it's organised today. Kerry, Mayo and Donegal have papered over the cracks and given the impression that the All-Ireland is a genuine competition, but another double by the Dubs this year would leave the AI championship going the way of Leinster. I don't blame the Dubs for doing a brilliant job with what's been coming their way, but there were far sighted people who foresaw Leinster becoming a one horse race and who now are saying that in spite of the talent at underage in other counties, the gap at senior level will only get bigger over time. Is it a case that this is what the GAA wants? Even the most ardent Dubs supporter will want the AI to remain a real achievement, but it could be that these years are the last ones where this is so, before even the likes of Kerry get burned off. Who wants a shambolic championship?"
Maybe Fingal will come through and save the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/01/2017 15:57:47    1949456

Replying To TheHermit:  "We're just giving our views as we are entitled to.

At least we don't go onto other counties forums mocking them after defeats like the classly lad you've shown yourself to be.

And I think plenty of people of this forum have your number at this stage... enjoy the League."
Glad you recognised yourself there Harry.Still waiting for you to back that accusation up which of course you can't. Whatever about anyone else having my number I have little to worry about in you're case.Enjoy the league too.All the best now !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2017 16:35:57    1949460

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How could you enjoy something you don't have to work for? Something that's been handed to ye?
It has no value."
Well Lloyd,how are we doing ! Work is the cornerstone of this great teams achievements and there no substitute for hard work.These lads have worked their socks off for what they have no matter how much you dislike it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2017 16:41:04    1949461

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Glad you recognised yourself there Harry.Still waiting for you to back that accusation up which of course you can't. Whatever about anyone else having my number I have little to worry about in you're case.Enjoy the league too.All the best now !"
Ah sure why don't you just give me a couple more red thumbs down, you seem to like doing that ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 16:44:29    1949463

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How could you enjoy something you don't have to work for? Something that's been handed to ye?
It has no value."
Forgot to ask you Lloyd, did you ever get your hands on one of them Nes Classics in the end?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/01/2017 17:04:42    1949464

You learn more about others in defeat rather than victory, my thoughts are with you lads.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/01/2017 17:06:07    1949466

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah sure why don't you just give me a couple more red thumbs down, you seem to like doing that ;D"
I don't do the thumbs thing either so you'll have to look elsewhere for them also I'm afraid.
We're very careful where we put our fingers up here.Sure it's a full time job shining the silverware ;-))

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2017 17:13:40    1949470