Division 1 2017

Replying To rossy15:  "I was only saying the last free was never a free .... purely stating the obvious friend !
Obviously a touchy subject tho ...."
You can say that again!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 23:37:21    1955819

Y'see Rossy when you start listing the calls that in your opinion went against one team only, its quite evident you aren't being impartial. Fitzsimons arm was pulled back and he lost the ball as a result. Free in. Tiernan took a guy down. Black card. Not the most clear cut one of the night I might add but similarly to Coopers in the final last year...a black card. Bradley used both hands to push/strike Cooper in the face. All the cameras showed was Cooper retaliating so can understand if you werent at the game your confusion. I dont believe it was a peno so perhaps poetic justice it was saved. I do believe Colm Cavanaghs pull down was the most clear cut black card of the night and he only got a tick. I find it hilarious that if a Dub responds to you or anybodys else questioning decisions that the de facto reponse would be "its a touchy subject." Its the whole point of HS no?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/02/2017 07:33:24    1955863

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What about the McCarthy injury? Unfortunate yes but why would they report about an injury? Also it did show him been brought off the pitch. You must of missed that.
Was it a free to draw the game? Was McCann's a black card? Was Bradley's a red card? These were game changing decisions."
the sheer fact he was left on the pitch for a full 5 minutes was very poor to see and player welfare being a priority these days it should have been highlighted so we are not seeing these things happen throughout the year as it was a poor decision by our management team.
i dont think it was a free to draw the game at the end no, but i do feel we got ripped when tyrone tackled all night as the amount of times he blew for overcarrying when tyrone had 2 and 3 players around the player in possesion with their hands all over him and yet when the same thing happened with dublin players doing exactly the same he awarded a free for the tyrone player in possession, so picking out one incident is a completly poor analysis just simply because of the time of the game it happened in, i mean you could even say on that footage last night o gara been hit around the head and mcquillan five yards away as he was about to kick a point on the 21 yard linebut the poster seemed to ignore this because it might actual show a balance in his poor reffing towards both teams. mccanns was defo a black card and the red card was a for a strike off the ball with the linesman 2 yards away so again defo red card.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2017 08:18:42    1955874

What about the McCarthy injury? Unfortunate yes but why would they report about an injury? Also it did show him been brought off the pitch. You must of missed that.
Was it a free to draw the game? Was McCann's a black card? Was Bradley's a red card? These were game changing decisions.
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts:379 - 12/02/2017 23:36:03

Yeah the last free was as soft as they come. Dean did very well to nail it in difficult decisions. McCann's was a black card alright (I thought) and there probably could have been a black card for the penalty but I'm glad it was not given in anyways. A penalty is enough of a advantage for the attacking team even if this one was saved. I didn't pay in and get soaked on the hill to see McCann leave the field for a technically correct decision but innocuous foul imo.

The red card was some sort of strike to the face but was hard to see how forceful it was from where I was on the hill. Also I didn't see what provoked it. To be fair the linesman was right beside it.

That's how I saw those incidents in anyways. I'm sure many disagree and that there were other marginal call during the game but it was a tough night for the referee in terms of the conditions with lads slipping and sliding everywhere. He got more right than he got wrong in anyways!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/02/2017 08:21:26    1955876

Replying To Jackeen:  "Y'see Rossy when you start listing the calls that in your opinion went against one team only, its quite evident you aren't being impartial. Fitzsimons arm was pulled back and he lost the ball as a result. Free in. Tiernan took a guy down. Black card. Not the most clear cut one of the night I might add but similarly to Coopers in the final last year...a black card. Bradley used both hands to push/strike Cooper in the face. All the cameras showed was Cooper retaliating so can understand if you werent at the game your confusion. I dont believe it was a peno so perhaps poetic justice it was saved. I do believe Colm Cavanaghs pull down was the most clear cut black card of the night and he only got a tick. I find it hilarious that if a Dub responds to you or anybodys else questioning decisions that the de facto reponse would be "its a touchy subject." Its the whole point of HS no?"
One thing you are incorrect on saying is Cooper reacted to Bradley. It was the other way round. Cooper shouldered Bradley to the ground. Bradley pushed Cooper around the neck area. Cooper hit the deck as if he got shot was is wrong.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 13/02/2017 10:11:02    1955958

Replying To MesAmis:  "What about the McCarthy injury? Unfortunate yes but why would they report about an injury? Also it did show him been brought off the pitch. You must of missed that.
Was it a free to draw the game? Was McCann's a black card? Was Bradley's a red card? These were game changing decisions.

Yeah the last free was as soft as they come. Dean did very well to nail it in difficult decisions. McCann's was a black card alright (I thought) and there probably could have been a black card for the penalty but I'm glad it was not given in anyways. A penalty is enough of a advantage for the attacking team even if this one was saved. I didn't pay in and get soaked on the hill to see McCann leave the field for a technically correct decision but innocuous foul imo.

The red card was some sort of strike to the face but was hard to see how forceful it was from where I was on the hill. Also I didn't see what provoked it. To be fair the linesman was right beside it.

That's how I saw those incidents in anyways. I'm sure many disagree and that there were other marginal call during the game but it was a tough night for the referee in terms of the conditions with lads slipping and sliding everywhere. He got more right than he got wrong in anyways!"
We could argue about the incidents all night I suppose. Colm Cavanagh should of got a black card for a drag down while Dublin man running towards goal. McCann's foul was 50 metres from goal and Dublin weren't in a scoring position. I think this is what annoys people about the black card. 2nd week in and the inconsistency is still there.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 13/02/2017 10:14:36    1955966

Replying To hill16no1man:  "the sheer fact he was left on the pitch for a full 5 minutes was very poor to see and player welfare being a priority these days it should have been highlighted so we are not seeing these things happen throughout the year as it was a poor decision by our management team.
i dont think it was a free to draw the game at the end no, but i do feel we got ripped when tyrone tackled all night as the amount of times he blew for overcarrying when tyrone had 2 and 3 players around the player in possesion with their hands all over him and yet when the same thing happened with dublin players doing exactly the same he awarded a free for the tyrone player in possession, so picking out one incident is a completly poor analysis just simply because of the time of the game it happened in, i mean you could even say on that footage last night o gara been hit around the head and mcquillan five yards away as he was about to kick a point on the 21 yard linebut the poster seemed to ignore this because it might actual show a balance in his poor reffing towards both teams. mccanns was defo a black card and the red card was a for a strike off the ball with the linesman 2 yards away so again defo red card."
much as I would have enjoyed Dublin losing i have to agree that the Ref gave Dublin the raw end of the deal. As a fellow county man I would always be defensive of McQuillan but I though he was very poor Saturday night. the Tyrone black card was soft enough but that was no reason not to issue one to Cavanagh. The worst for me was the inconsistency on marshalling the tackle. I suspect the game will be shown again on Eir sport again one of the nights this week so if you catch it you will see what I mean. I admired the tenacity of Tyrone's tackling but when it was mirrored by the dubs it always seemed to be a foul. Despite the fat that he gave them a raw deal once Dublin were in the hunt he was always going to give the dubs a chance so in comparison to the previous 70 mins it was a soft free that resulted in the levelling score. However when thinking about been in charge of league final or the big games in August and September as a ref what decision is in your best interest when Dublin are involved...

toolbox (None) - Posts: 68 - 13/02/2017 10:40:56    1955997

Watched the "highlights" last night (League Sunday is a very poor show btw). One has to admire the Dublin never say die attitude. Excellent kick by Rock at the end. That said no way was it a free in.

Dr Hyde pitch looks great but Roscommon did not get the result they wanted. Problems in the camp it seems but maybe overblown?

Monaghan and Cavan looked like a bore fest. Galway are going to get promoted I think. Great win up in Fermanagh...very difficult place to get a result.
Cork...what the hell is going on there? Kildare have placed themselves for promotion too but anything can happen yet.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/02/2017 11:22:53    1956024

We could argue about the incidents all night I suppose. Colm Cavanagh should of got a black card for a drag down while Dublin man running towards goal. McCann's foul was 50 metres from goal and Dublin weren't in a scoring position. I think this is what annoys people about the black card. 2nd week in and the inconsistency is still there.
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts:381 - 13/02/2017 10:14:36

Yeah the black card is a nonsense rule really. There are 5 random fouls that are now punished by removing the player from the match without taking into account the context of the foul. It has been an ill thought out rule change that is unfortunately here for another couple of seasons.

I mean treating McCann's foul the same as a foul on a player running straight through on goal is ridiculous.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/02/2017 11:43:30    1956042

Replying To The_Fridge:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "What about the McCarthy injury? Unfortunate yes but why would they report about an injury? Also it did show him been brought off the pitch. You must of missed that.

That's how I saw those incidents in anyways. I'm sure many disagree and that there were other marginal call during the game but it was a tough night for the referee in terms of the conditions with lads slipping and sliding everywhere. He got more right than he got wrong in anyways!"
We could argue about the incidents all night I suppose. Colm Cavanagh should of got a black card for a drag down while Dublin man running towards goal. McCann's foul was 50 metres from goal and Dublin weren't in a scoring position. I think this is what annoys people about the black card. 2nd week in and the inconsistency is still there."
But your missing the point McCann foul was deliberate, he knew exactly what he was doing and where he was doing it so that it would make the scoring chance far harder out there than if the player for past him. I actually didn't feel the penalty was a pull down just a foul really so I think he got that right but look at the highlights again and see Tyrone scored a point into canal end and watch James McCarthy getting back to make a tackle and just as he get a bear the player with the ball another Tyrone player deliberately trips him off the ball to prevent him making the tackle. These are the type of black cards that need to be given as they are tactical and not just poorly timed tackles.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2017 15:21:06    1956205

Donegal scoring 1-33 in two games....who would have thought it?

That said we are in a real transition period & Rory Gallagher also seems to have changed this approach somewhat by playing less of a containing game, probably because he no longer has the players to do it.

What he has though is a coterie of young fast bucks who have oodles of ability but are short on physical strength to match the top 4. Give them a couple of years though & they could be top notch.

I also suspect that we have seen the end om Murphy at full forward. He was immense in the middle of the field yesterday & until Neil Gallagher gets back the bulk of the heavy carrying is going to fall on his shoulders.

Look, we are way off the pace when it comes to AI honours, but having complained at length about our approach for the past couple of years I amnot now going to complain at the new hell for leather attitude. I said before that survival in DIv 1 & an Ulster championship would be a great season for us & so it would be. Div 1 survival is going to be tough but achieveable, an Ulster title much more difficult against a good Tyrone team.

I can but dream.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/02/2017 15:56:17    1956230

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Donegal scoring 1-33 in two games....who would have thought it?

That said we are in a real transition period & Rory Gallagher also seems to have changed this approach somewhat by playing less of a containing game, probably because he no longer has the players to do it.

What he has though is a coterie of young fast bucks who have oodles of ability but are short on physical strength to match the top 4. Give them a couple of years though & they could be top notch.

I also suspect that we have seen the end om Murphy at full forward. He was immense in the middle of the field yesterday & until Neil Gallagher gets back the bulk of the heavy carrying is going to fall on his shoulders.

Look, we are way off the pace when it comes to AI honours, but having complained at length about our approach for the past couple of years I amnot now going to complain at the new hell for leather attitude. I said before that survival in DIv 1 & an Ulster championship would be a great season for us & so it would be. Div 1 survival is going to be tough but achieveable, an Ulster title much more difficult against a good Tyrone team.

I can but dream."
Murphy seemed to be flying. He had some pace yesterday running from midfield. Imagine seeing him tearing down the middle at you. Me nerves!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/02/2017 16:23:49    1956250

Great win and performance from our lads today to go top against Kerry. I never thought our performance in Mayo got the credit it deserved. Just like Tyrone against Dublin, Kerry did not like it when the game was taken to them direct and uncompromising. Something has to give in Omagh next week, could be the game of the League so far.
From our point of view we defended well and kept possession well, it was great to see Jack Mc Carron make his mark at this level, as we in Monaghan always knew he could. Shane Carey put in a good shift tracking back and working hard, he too can take a score when his confidence eventually comes at this level. If there was a team of the league picked now Gavin Doogan would be first man on the team sheet, such was the consistency of his performances in the first 3 games. Teams doubling up on Mc Manus can create opportunities for us going forward as these new players gain confidence.
As for Kerry I thought both the black and red cards were harsh, but why they lost was more to do with our performance and like Cavan last week they did not do enough in the wind assisted first half
Mayo and Kerry done, Tyrone and Dublin next, why not the clean sweep of the so called top 4. Roll on next week

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 26/02/2017 20:08:35    1961230

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Great win and performance from our lads today to go top against Kerry. I never thought our performance in Mayo got the credit it deserved. Just like Tyrone against Dublin, Kerry did not like it when the game was taken to them direct and uncompromising. Something has to give in Omagh next week, could be the game of the League so far.
From our point of view we defended well and kept possession well, it was great to see Jack Mc Carron make his mark at this level, as we in Monaghan always knew he could. Shane Carey put in a good shift tracking back and working hard, he too can take a score when his confidence eventually comes at this level. If there was a team of the league picked now Gavin Doogan would be first man on the team sheet, such was the consistency of his performances in the first 3 games. Teams doubling up on Mc Manus can create opportunities for us going forward as these new players gain confidence.
As for Kerry I thought both the black and red cards were harsh, but why they lost was more to do with our performance and like Cavan last week they did not do enough in the wind assisted first half
Mayo and Kerry done, Tyrone and Dublin next, why not the clean sweep of the so called top 4. Roll on next week"
Red card was harsh ? didn't he strike Hughes on the ground?

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 26/02/2017 20:54:32    1961270

Replying To MonaghanGlory:  "Red card was harsh ? didn't he strike Hughes on the ground?"
Great win for the Farney down in Kerry. I was there 2 years ago and it was a special occasion. We really can mix it well with the big guns and are comfortable at this level. Hopefully now we can push on to the next level and develop a good forward line along with McManus. Defence and midfield were outstanding and solid. Special mention to Kieran Hughes who ran the game, Gavin Doogan who ran himself into the ground and Drew Wylie who hit anything that moved.. Well done to Jack McCarron also - hopefully he stays injury free.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 365 - 27/02/2017 08:30:32    1961411

Replying To muckla:  "Great win for the Farney down in Kerry. I was there 2 years ago and it was a special occasion. We really can mix it well with the big guns and are comfortable at this level. Hopefully now we can push on to the next level and develop a good forward line along with McManus. Defence and midfield were outstanding and solid. Special mention to Kieran Hughes who ran the game, Gavin Doogan who ran himself into the ground and Drew Wylie who hit anything that moved.. Well done to Jack McCarron also - hopefully he stays injury free."
It was an very encouraging win given the nature of it. Away to a top team and we went 5 points down early. Up until recently we would have folded, but the lads played intelligently against a strong wind and used possession smart, and did well to go in at half time only 2 down. It was a tough day with Walshe and D Hughes going off injured, that's alot of experience and leadership gone but other lads stepped up in their absence.

And while the media always say we're a one man team(and there's a good bit of truth to that in fairness), it was great to see a different spread of scorers when McManus was kept quiet until the last 10 minutes. Jack McCarron showed some of the quality that everyone in Monaghan knows he has, he has just had horrible luck with injuries the last few years. If he can stay fit and get on a roll of games, our attacking options look alot better. Conor McCarthy is another with alot of potential, this should be his year to step up and hopefully make a name for himself at senior level. If we can get those two playing and in form it should take some of the pressure off McManus going forward.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/02/2017 09:58:51    1961444

Ye gotta love the Kerry posters ; one minute they tell you they don't take the league seriously next minute they lose a game they go absolutely nuts wanting half the panel gone and wanting the manager sacked hahaha come on Kerry posters make up your minds.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/02/2017 10:02:58    1961451

Looks like the top 6 will remain for another season, Roscommon & Cavan have both disappointed although didn't expect anything else.

I do think there's more talent in Roscommon but is a small county and they need everyone available for selection which clearly isn't happening this year.

Donegal have surprised me most, thought they'd struggle with all the retirements but their 2 wins have come against the whipping boys of the division, still will wait until the championship before fully judging them given I think their in transition. Monaghan look as fit as anyone this time of year so there's always the danger of peaking too early, Like my own county Monaghan are desperate for a big win in Croker. Winning an Ulster title and reaching the final 4 has to be their real aim for the season.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/03/2017 15:13:59    1964630

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ye gotta love the Kerry posters ; one minute they tell you they don't take the league seriously next minute they lose a game they go absolutely nuts wanting half the panel gone and wanting the manager sacked hahaha come on Kerry posters make up your minds."
Very true

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 15:47:48    1964656

Another good win for Tyrone

They rightly find themselves top

The in form team across NFL Div 1

Looks like it'll be Tyrone v ? in the final

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/03/2017 19:17:14    1966468