Division 1 2017

Replying To cuederocket:  "At least we stick by our team when we don't win.A quick glance on the Kerry forum last night and the hermit was losing his marbles!What was it that Paidi called his own county folk again?Bucking animals or something like that?Haha one poor half of football and the pessimism and vitriol is pathetic!"
Hi buddy what we say on our own page is our own business, and ya I saw your post last night trying to goad the hermit in to a reaction but fair play to my county man he didn't take the bate.
and as far as being f@@king animals we don't look at our team with rose tented glasses and if they play sh@t we'll let them know about it because the day we accept mediocrity in the kingdom will be the end of us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2017 13:10:51    1955117

Replying To cuederocket:  "At least we stick by our team when we don't win.A quick glance on the Kerry forum last night and the hermit was losing his marbles!What was it that Paidi called his own county folk again?Bucking animals or something like that?Haha one poor half of football and the pessimism and vitriol is pathetic!"
What's with the hermit bashing all of a sudden??? Believe me if you saw the half hour of 'football' we played last night you'd be pretty p*ssed too, 6 points up and lose by 2 and in Tralee. A joke of a performance.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2017 13:18:06    1955123

I had the craic with the Tyrone fans last night and in fairness there was a lot more than 300. But lay off the Dub bashing based on the odd poster.
I was delighted with the draw as we were blatantly unprepared and felt we dealt very well with the challenge and it was a serious challenge as per usual from Tyrone who ALWAYS give us a thorough examination.
And kingdomboy1, cmon man, Cooper is a class act and you know it, less of the witch hunt starting, a little un-Kerry or are you lads feeling the heat?
And Cue, Hermits dismissing of the league doesn't really tie in with his posts last night I have to agree.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 13:23:43    1955127

First off great crowd last night in croker for what must have been one of the coldest events taken place there haha.
game went along lines of expectations if being honest. You had a Dublin team only 3 weeks together with one match under their belt against a Tyrone team with 3 months together and 6 or 7 matches under their belts. The Tyrone players were far sharper for 50 odd minutes but it was Dublins clear resilience not to loose that got the draw and could have won the game in last couple of minutes after equalizer. In one way you would be disappointed in Tyrone they were five up with 20 minutes to go and the ones with the far greater fitness coming into the game and they couldn't see the game out.
It was Dublin who finished the game the stronger and looked the more likely winners in injury time. Both teams were down to 14 for the last quarter as McCarthy was unfairly left on the pitch for almost a full five minutes standing on one leg it was a poor sight and hopefully doesn't result in worse injury. The ones hedgehog gameplan was what put them in the leading position but also the undoing of their lead aswell. Bringing everyone inside own 45 worked as long as Dublin persisted with the tactic of putting ball into o gara for 60 minutes which had very poor success as he won almost all of them but was like a bus trying to turn a corner in possesion or else would give a poor pass and loose the ball each time. If they had of dropped that tactic earlier and kicked points from distance possibly would have won by 4 or 5 points in my view.
one annoying thing from the game was the ref poor judgement for frees. Time after time Tyrone got three men around a Dublin player in possesion and had their hands all over him and the ref would award a free for Tyrone deeming the player to overcarry, but when dublin players done the exact same thing the free was awarded to the Tyrone player in possesion you can't have it one way for one and another for the other.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/02/2017 13:24:34    1955128

Delighted with last night game to be honest, i dont think it couldn't have gone any better from a Dublin point of view, that exactly the type of game the young Dublin lads needed. You get nothing in football without a battle and have to earn your right to play. Its all well and good playing creative football but when your not allowed you need to earn the right to play your natural game, the young players experienced that last night and will be learning curve for them. From a development perspective coming up against a dogged hungry Tyrone team who play the game on the edge is great experience as well as a blanket defense, it was a fantastic challenge and one we havnt faced in a while and one some on the panel like Brian Fenton etc have never come up against,. Tyrone certainly do it better then Kerry and Mayo variations. I think Dublin will take a lot out of the game.

My own opinion is there is no point moaning about it, you have to play against it and problem solve around it, its a footballing philosophy that has brought Tyrone great success. Thats not being critical of Tyrone, they are a very hungry and committed team their desire last night was really admirable and you have some quality players. My analysis is that you are shoulder shoulder with the four teams that can contest an All Ireland and are a challenge for anyone. That game last night could have been easily won, with greater fitness and Dublin didn't turn over the depth of the panel with fresh legs i think it would have been.

My analysis of Dublin, the positives, that game will stand to these young players its great experience especially being on the Ulster side of the draw this year. Dublin didn't show to much of their hand last night, while i thought Tyrone did. Certainly more to come from the Dublin team with half the all Ireland winning team taking a breather. I dont know how he does it but Fenton just gets better every game, he really will be one of the all time great midfielders, he was immense last night again. Scully did well again last night and is certainly easing my fears in succession when Paul Flynn ever regresses. Basquel looks a very good player with loads to offer, very similar in style to Alan B and i would like to see him get a game in a less hostile game. On the negatives, Dublin's work rate defending from the front was poor last night Tyrone often didnt face a challenge until over the half way line. I think O Gara's time in the panel is coming to an end. The game was very similar to Donegal 14 for me, Dublin were split wide open centrally and Tyrone time after time just moved the ball at pace through the central half back and centre back zone. I thought Small was poor and we never got to grips with it, certainly that needs to be looked at and really its just evident of how much we need Cian at no 6 in the sweeper role.

All in all though that was a brilliant game for Dublin, in terms of prep and progression, i wouldn't have minded being beaten to be honest, but its nice to keep the 31 game unbeaten streak going and to sit at the top of table until today at least, with so many lads not involved. Hope Connolly gets a breather now after his exertions with Vincents were halted yesterday.

Think Tyrone are serious contenders with us, Mayo and Kerry for Sam, i think they will take some pucks out of Mayo and Kerry in the next few weeks and we could be on again come April in the final, be a good team that will beat them on last night performance, there are worse bets then a score on them for the league.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/02/2017 13:28:25    1955131

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There seems to be a pattern emerging with Jonny cooper as he got Aidan o'mahony sent off in last years league final but nobody only Joe mcquillan saw the so called incident, maybe it's time RTÉ got cooper cam so we can all see what jonnys up to on the field."
Ha i wouldnt speak so soon mate, i think Tyrone are going to take a massive puck out of yee in a few weeks, if last night is anything to go by.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/02/2017 13:31:08    1955132

Replying To TheHermit:  "What's with the hermit bashing all of a sudden??? Believe me if you saw the half hour of 'football' we played last night you'd be pretty p*ssed too, 6 points up and lose by 2 and in Tralee. A joke of a performance."
Awwww poor widdle hermit!Haha ya know i really love ya kid (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 13:35:57    1955135

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi buddy what we say on our own page is our own business, and ya I saw your post last night trying to goad the hermit in to a reaction but fair play to my county man he didn't take the bate.
and as far as being f@@king animals we don't look at our team with rose tented glasses and if they play sh@t we'll let them know about it because the day we accept mediocrity in the kingdom will be the end of us."
I was speaking the truth though KB.I think i'll bar myself from the Kerry forum.Paidi wasn't far wrong!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 13:39:15    1955138

Replying To cuederocket:  "I was speaking the truth though KB.I think i'll bar myself from the Kerry forum.Paidi wasn't far wrong!"
It's s public forum if you want to keep your rubbish private txt eachother :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 13:48:20    1955145

Replying To realdub:  "I had the craic with the Tyrone fans last night and in fairness there was a lot more than 300. But lay off the Dub bashing based on the odd poster.
I was delighted with the draw as we were blatantly unprepared and felt we dealt very well with the challenge and it was a serious challenge as per usual from Tyrone who ALWAYS give us a thorough examination.
And kingdomboy1, cmon man, Cooper is a class act and you know it, less of the witch hunt starting, a little un-Kerry or are you lads feeling the heat?
And Cue, Hermits dismissing of the league doesn't really tie in with his posts last night I have to agree."
Ok sorry realdub.My mistake.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 13:56:11    1955153

Replying To realdub:  "I had the craic with the Tyrone fans last night and in fairness there was a lot more than 300. But lay off the Dub bashing based on the odd poster.
And Cue, Hermits dismissing of the league doesn't really tie in with his posts last night I have to agree."
I don't give a monkeys for the League, but I do care about a team that's meant to have serious ambitions for the All-Ireland playing like a bunch of U-10's and throwing away a 6 point lead n their own backyard!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2017 13:56:42    1955155

Replying To TheHermit:  "I don't give a monkeys for the League, but I do care about a team that's meant to have serious ambitions for the All-Ireland playing like a bunch of U-10's and throwing away a 6 point lead n their own backyard!!"
Don't sweat it hermit, not a big deal, nows the time for feck ups like that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 14:03:25    1955158

Replying To TheHermit:  "I don't give a monkeys for the League, but I do care about a team that's meant to have serious ambitions for the All-Ireland playing like a bunch of U-10's and throwing away a 6 point lead n their own backyard!!"
Don't sweat it hermit, not a big deal, nows the time for feck ups like that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 14:03:28    1955159

Replying To cuederocket:  "Ok sorry realdub.My mistake."
Your mistake?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 14:06:55    1955162

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The thing that's even more annoying is the one team that's completely negative in everything they do is favoured by the ref while he goes completely against the team trying to be positive, only in the Gaa. Ruffled lad there's a bigger picture here than me being ruffled but all you haters cannot see it."
Its strange then that nearly every other poster,including Dublin posters,seem to have enjoyed the game for its good points in bad weather.Don't see many dublin fans on here agreeing with your analysis.Thats because you were talking out your @rse about that game and even they know it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/02/2017 14:26:12    1955185

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Dublin are cringe at its best - they play 14 men behind the ball every single game and then moan at opposition fir the exact same thing - laughable really"
Totally true,nothing wrong with that either if you are trying to counter attack and break at pace.Its a legitimate game plan.Clondalkin thinks that Dublin are Moses and every other team should act like the red sea.We had the beards first horse,and we'll not be "opening up" for anybody.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/02/2017 14:30:26    1955187

Good piece by Colm O Rourke in Indo today.Looks like i'm not the only one who thinks the likes of the Munster football championship is boring and totally lopsided."The provincial championships are the worst thing that ever happened in football.They are suffocating the game".But who am i to argue against tradition?Good old tradition.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 14:48:05    1955204

Replying To cuederocket:  "Good piece by Colm O Rourke in Indo today.Looks like i'm not the only one who thinks the likes of the Munster football championship is boring and totally lopsided."The provincial championships are the worst thing that ever happened in football.They are suffocating the game".But who am i to argue against tradition?Good old tradition."
I agree with you, the league should be the superior competition but it ain't, and until it is, I'll lose no sleep over it!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 12/02/2017 15:01:45    1955213

Replying To realdub:  "I agree with you, the league should be the superior competition but it ain't, and until it is, I'll lose no sleep over it!"
Not talking about the league.I'm saying the provincials are not fit for purpose.And never were.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 15:15:16    1955220

Replying To cuederocket:  "Good piece by Colm O Rourke in Indo today.Looks like i'm not the only one who thinks the likes of the Munster football championship is boring and totally lopsided."The provincial championships are the worst thing that ever happened in football.They are suffocating the game".But who am i to argue against tradition?Good old tradition."
Yeah always felt the munster hurling championship was overhyped

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/02/2017 15:15:32    1955221