Division 1 2017

The best possible outcome for us. A right big battle that left us with more questions than answers. It put our lads right out of their comfort zones especially the youngsters like Fenton & newbie Scully. Tyrone were Tyrone and i mean that as a compliment. Dogged...in your face.....tough as teak! Dublin were knocked right off their stride & looked every inch like a team that literally just stepped off the plane & came to Jones road from the airport. Our decision making was very un Dublin like. Nobody really took the game by the scruff for us. Instead we were patient as always and picked our scores off whenever we could which obvs wasnt very often. From oir point of view and something to take comfort in is that Tyrone has a few months training on us and have targeted this game. Knowing the boys as i do Gavin was evidently delighted to get such strong opposition so early in the league and knows now that if things go to plan for later in the summer he will have to find a way to out Tyrone Tyrone. Let the games commence :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 09:09:55    1955006

A brilliant game of football. A great tussle. Game always in the balance. The dubs fans near me loved it. But then maybe they are the real fans not the keyboard warriors on here. The amount of ball won by tyrone in the tackle was staggering. Dubs have an Achilles heel and tyrone exposed it. They don't like it up em!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 12/02/2017 09:13:32    1955008

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Eejits like Clondalkin are one of the many reasons other GAA fans are switching off and one of the reasons I don't post much anymore."
Hahahahaha he's baaaaaaack, where you been ulsterman ? You seemed to have went missing since around early October? Call me whatever you like I will never stop having my say on the evils of Gaelic football , what Tyrone do is everything that's wrong with the game right now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2017 09:15:28    1955010

Dublin are cringe at its best - they play 14 men behind the ball every single game and then moan at opposition fir the exact same thing - laughable really

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 12/02/2017 09:19:17    1955012

Despite the weather I enjoyed last night. Dublin looked like a team that hasn't much work done to be honest and lost a lot of ball stupidly in contact and mostly actually unforced loss. I wouldn't expect them to be like that later on in the year. Some of Tyrone's build up play was excellent but their shot selection and execution was very poor. They created another maybe 7/8 very scorable opportunities that they didn't take. They really should have been well out of sight before the Dublin come back.

Pleased with the draw overall as it is a game we really should have lost.

A poor performance against one of the top teams and we still didn't lose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/02/2017 09:57:38    1955020

hehe! clondalkin has ben ruffled. yeeeooi!!!!!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 12/02/2017 10:10:04    1955027

Top Dublin rants after it is put up to them;

1. That team is cynical
2. That referee is biased
3. That team fouled us
4. That team tackled us
5. That team is from the North
6. That team didn't rub our backs
7. Their jersey's are too bright

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 12/02/2017 10:28:59    1955035

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "A brilliant game of football. A great tussle. Game always in the balance. The dubs fans near me loved it. But then maybe they are the real fans not the keyboard warriors on here. The amount of ball won by tyrone in the tackle was staggering. Dubs have an Achilles heel and tyrone exposed it. They don't like it up em!!"
Really enjoyed the game, both teams gave everything in tough conditions. Chatting to a few Dubs at half time and full time and they enjoyed. Both teams missing key players so I think a draw was a fair result.
On a slightly sour note the Hill chanting "the referee is a w%#$r". That should be kept for places like Anfield and old Trafford. No need for it in the GAA. Also 28000 was a poor attendence for Dublin at home. So much was made last week about the 120000 Dubs who travelled to Cavan I thought there was literally going to be 1 million there on Sat night. I was very wrong. Following the theme of the new soccer chants that you are bringing to GAA maybe there is an element of the "prawn sandwich" brigade about the Dubs. Great away support but when the soccer and rugby is on or there is a shower you stay at home.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 10:52:14    1955044

The thing that's even more annoying is the one team that's completely negative in everything they do is favoured by the ref while he goes completely against the team trying to be positive, only in the Gaa. Ruffled lad there's a bigger picture here than me being ruffled but all you haters cannot see it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2017 11:13:45    1955055

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Really enjoyed the game, both teams gave everything in tough conditions. Chatting to a few Dubs at half time and full time and they enjoyed. Both teams missing key players so I think a draw was a fair result.
On a slightly sour note the Hill chanting "the referee is a w%#$r". That should be kept for places like Anfield and old Trafford. No need for it in the GAA. Also 28000 was a poor attendence for Dublin at home. So much was made last week about the 120000 Dubs who travelled to Cavan I thought there was literally going to be 1 million there on Sat night. I was very wrong. Following the theme of the new soccer chants that you are bringing to GAA maybe there is an element of the "prawn sandwich" brigade about the Dubs. Great away support but when the soccer and rugby is on or there is a shower you stay at home."
Very unfair post given the atrocious weather. Im sure the 300 odd Tyrone supporters there would agree! But go on ahead and stereotype as per usual!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 11:29:25    1955062

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The thing that's even more annoying is the one team that's completely negative in everything they do is favoured by the ref while he goes completely against the team trying to be positive, only in the Gaa. Ruffled lad there's a bigger picture here than me being ruffled but all you haters cannot see it."
On the night Tyrone were the better team but their shooting was poor cost and them the game. I think you have a problem with a team as good as yourselves and who can compete all over the pitch at your level-you need to get over it.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 12/02/2017 11:46:47    1955070

Replying To MesAmis:  "Despite the weather I enjoyed last night. Dublin looked like a team that hasn't much work done to be honest and lost a lot of ball stupidly in contact and mostly actually unforced loss. I wouldn't expect them to be like that later on in the year. Some of Tyrone's build up play was excellent but their shot selection and execution was very poor. They created another maybe 7/8 very scorable opportunities that they didn't take. They really should have been well out of sight before the Dublin come back.

Pleased with the draw overall as it is a game we really should have lost.

A poor performance against one of the top teams and we still didn't lose."
Agree with lad. Good post

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 11:56:20    1955075

Replying To Jackeen:  "The best possible outcome for us. A right big battle that left us with more questions than answers. It put our lads right out of their comfort zones especially the youngsters like Fenton & newbie Scully. Tyrone were Tyrone and i mean that as a compliment. Dogged...in your face.....tough as teak! Dublin were knocked right off their stride & looked every inch like a team that literally just stepped off the plane & came to Jones road from the airport. Our decision making was very un Dublin like. Nobody really took the game by the scruff for us. Instead we were patient as always and picked our scores off whenever we could which obvs wasnt very often. From oir point of view and something to take comfort in is that Tyrone has a few months training on us and have targeted this game. Knowing the boys as i do Gavin was evidently delighted to get such strong opposition so early in the league and knows now that if things go to plan for later in the summer he will have to find a way to out Tyrone Tyrone. Let the games commence :)"
Spot on assessment Jackeen.

My thoughts exactly.

Roll on to the Summer where we will more than likely meet again. But at that stage we will be up to speed and in a better place altogether...!

Great to have such a tough challenge after 2 weeks back and still not lose. We showed great character to come back from 5pts down with 9mins to go.

I think Scully will get an extended run this year. Didn't at all look out of place.
Also, Small has bulked up dramatically and is gonna be a top top player.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 12/02/2017 12:26:01    1955090

Replying To Jackeen:  "Bradley elbowed Cooper in the face. Linesman saw it. Red all day."
There seems to be a pattern emerging with Jonny cooper as he got Aidan o'mahony sent off in last years league final but nobody only Joe mcquillan saw the so called incident, maybe it's time RTÉ got cooper cam so we can all see what jonnys up to on the field.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2017 12:26:39    1955091

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "A brilliant game of football. A great tussle. Game always in the balance. The dubs fans near me loved it. But then maybe they are the real fans not the keyboard warriors on here. The amount of ball won by tyrone in the tackle was staggering. Dubs have an Achilles heel and tyrone exposed it. They don't like it up em!!"
Achilles heel.... Don't make me laugh.

Better teams than ye have been putting up to us recently like Kerry and Mayo.
Very foolish to be getting ahead of yourself there mate..!

Our lads are just back from their holliers so this was your chance to beat us...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 12/02/2017 12:33:28    1955095

Replying To Jackeen:  "Very unfair post given the atrocious weather. Im sure the 300 odd Tyrone supporters there would agree! But go on ahead and stereotype as per usual!"
Oh no Jackeen. I'm dealing in facts my dear. The Hill did chant "the referee is a w#%€¥r" something song on the soccer terraces in England.
28000 is a poor crowd.
There was a lot more than 300 supporters. You know this.
It was cold....no excuse not to turn up. It wasn't a great day in Cavan last week but there was 4 threads set up talking about how many supporters turned up. Where was everyone last night?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 12:36:22    1955097

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There seems to be a pattern emerging with Jonny cooper as he got Aidan o'mahony sent off in last years league final but nobody only Joe mcquillan saw the so called incident, maybe it's time RTÉ got cooper cam so we can all see what jonnys up to on the field."
AOM got himself sent off and i wouldn't expect you to see anything untoward done to a Dub!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 12:39:20    1955101

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Sore loser haha take off the blinkers yis are an insult to Gaelic football with all your negative tricks mickey Harte should hang his head in Shame with that disgrace I watched tonight. Every dirty trick in the book and still couldn't beat a team only off a plane from Jamaica , God loves you's this summer."
Dub fan beginning to see the end of the purple patch - understandable and we all feel for you / but the world keeps moving and so will you.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 12/02/2017 12:47:39    1955105

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Oh no Jackeen. I'm dealing in facts my dear. The Hill did chant "the referee is a w#%€¥r" something song on the soccer terraces in England.
28000 is a poor crowd.
There was a lot more than 300 supporters. You know this.
It was cold....no excuse not to turn up. It wasn't a great day in Cavan last week but there was 4 threads set up talking about how many supporters turned up. Where was everyone last night?"
On what planet is 28k a poor crowd?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 12:51:24    1955108

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There seems to be a pattern emerging with Jonny cooper as he got Aidan o'mahony sent off in last years league final but nobody only Joe mcquillan saw the so called incident, maybe it's time RTÉ got cooper cam so we can all see what jonnys up to on the field."
At least we stick by our team when we don't win.A quick glance on the Kerry forum last night and the hermit was losing his marbles!What was it that Paidi called his own county folk again?Bucking animals or something like that?Haha one poor half of football and the pessimism and vitriol is pathetic!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2017 12:56:54    1955111