Division 1 2017

Two reasons why Tyrone did not win, one was poor finishing the other was the refereeing decisions

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/02/2017 20:42:24    1954855

fairly soft free for Dubs at the end. But well taken. Atrocious conditions for football.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 11/02/2017 20:54:59    1954859

Great win for Mayo in Tralee. Woeful first half but much improved second half. It's just two points buts eases the nerves of everyone.

Will be interesting to hear what Spillane has to say tomorrow night after his comments on Mayo being a write off last weekend.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/02/2017 21:03:16    1954866

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Dublin by 9 cant see Tyrone even getting into the game without mattie donnelly. i rate him second best midfielder in country behind fenton so a big miss he makes them tick... Dublin just a class team all round and forget about playing a running game against them for 70 mins"
Good prediction only for your county man the score would have been the total opposite to what you said!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 11/02/2017 21:04:59    1954867

I haven't seen the match back. sitting in the car trying to get the feeling back in my hands before I go home but interesting to see your views particularly on the referee. I thought he was tragic and gave Tyrone absolutely everything. But I'll have to go back and watch it back without the blue tinted glasses. Just an observation from where I was stood on the hill

I must say the more I see this dublin team play the more I love them. nobody can say we lack bottle or hunger. it was a poxy night for football and we where 6 points down at one point against a brilliant defensive unit and we battled back for a draw to preserve our unbeaten run. delighted with the guts the lads showed.. heroic even if it wasn't our greatest performance.

dying for donegal in two weeks

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/02/2017 21:08:05    1954868

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Two reasons why Tyrone did not win, one was poor finishing the other was the refereeing decisions"
Sweet Jesus please tell me your not saying the ref was against Tyrone ?? The last time I seen such a one sided referee performance was Dublin v Mayo in '13 final when the same referee gave Dublin 12 frees to Mayo's 32. We'd only one free given to us in the first 20 minutes ffs ,how can you watch such a cynical team like Tyrone and think the ref robbed them??? Dublin hatred is unbelievable posters are so blinded by it they think every game the opposition are robbed by the ref .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/02/2017 21:08:20    1954869

Dubs got out of jail tonight. Difference in fitness levels and match sharpness at this time of the year was clearly evident.

But the sign of a great team is to not get beaten when playing poorly or in the face of adversity. This time a month ago our lads were sunning themselves on a beach so a bit of perspective is required before anyone starts writing our obituary.

Excellent game to push us on for our next encounter though.

Fair play to Mayo by the way. Excellent
result down in Kerry.
Fair play.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 11/02/2017 21:13:05    1954873

Does anybody know why Mark Bradley got the red card?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/02/2017 21:20:55    1954879

Bad night for football or hurling for that matter.Tyrone had chances to be more ahead but were wasteful.Fair play to the lads they just don't quit.McQuillan have some very soft frees to Tyrone.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/02/2017 21:22:12    1954880

Dubs got out of jail? I honestly wasn't one bit concerned I knew we'd come back we always do and if anyone got out of jail it was Tyrone only one team going to win that game in the end. Tyrone have taken over from Donegal so negative and cynical such a bad look for Gaelic football but don't worry will see you in the semi final and make things right. We will destroy them in the summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/02/2017 21:32:03    1954886

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Sweet Jesus please tell me your not saying the ref was against Tyrone ?? The last time I seen such a one sided referee performance was Dublin v Mayo in '13 final when the same referee gave Dublin 12 frees to Mayo's 32. We'd only one free given to us in the first 20 minutes ffs ,how can you watch such a cynical team like Tyrone and think the ref robbed them??? Dublin hatred is unbelievable posters are so blinded by it they think every game the opposition are robbed by the ref ."
I am with you in this one CKD.

The anti Dublin feeling whether it be perceived refereeing decisions or players actions continues to snowball and it wont stop until we are no longer a force in football terms.

Let them at it I say.
I just ignore it all now.

Everyone loves to see a favourite get humed or knocked off their perch but whilst they continue to succeed bitterness and begrudgers towards them will prevail.

ps. Up the Dubs.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 11/02/2017 21:38:50    1954889

Jesus F Christ, was it Kerry or the junior C's I was watching in that second half.

Robbie Stevenson must have been a Kerry fan.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/02/2017 21:44:20    1954890

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dubs got out of jail? I honestly wasn't one bit concerned I knew we'd come back we always do and if anyone got out of jail it was Tyrone only one team going to win that game in the end. Tyrone have taken over from Donegal so negative and cynical such a bad look for Gaelic football but don't worry will see you in the semi final and make things right. We will destroy them in the summer."
get the blinkers off man and watch it back on tv and then try and make the same argument. The Bradley sending off looked harsh but sure it's Dublin in croker and we know what mcquillans like. Atrocious night for football but fair play to both sides for trying. Not so sure if the dubs will be be so cocky IF and it's a big if at that tyrone get a good run in the league. Still think we need a decent couple of forwards and don't know what mcnulty has to do to get a game with his size, maybe we're back to the aul who your da or granda was??? going to be an interesting league

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 11/02/2017 21:47:48    1954894

Replying To yew_tree:  "Great win for Mayo in Tralee. Woeful first half but much improved second half. It's just two points buts eases the nerves of everyone.

Will be interesting to hear what Spillane has to say tomorrow night after his comments on Mayo being a write off last weekend."
He'll be too gutless to show his face. Well done by the way. Great result for Mayo and by all accounts the best team won.

On the Dublin v Tyrone game, I'll go to my post on the Tyrone thread. They have everything for three quarters of the field but don't have the forwards to beat the very top teams. They will win ulster but against Kerry or Dublin I don't think they are there yet.

Well done to Dublin for grinding out a result, champions stuff!

Ref was rubbish for both teams tonight and that's from a neutral.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 11/02/2017 21:51:43    1954897

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dubs got out of jail? I honestly wasn't one bit concerned I knew we'd come back we always do and if anyone got out of jail it was Tyrone only one team going to win that game in the end. Tyrone have taken over from Donegal so negative and cynical such a bad look for Gaelic football but don't worry will see you in the semi final and make things right. We will destroy them in the summer."
If ever a post smacked of wishful thinking clondalkin lol.......we were without Mattie D. Had one of our best defensive attackers dismissed in Mc Cann,were a man down for a spell when Bradley left and if the game had been in Omagh Niall Sluddens point would have stood and we'd have won. Monroe also in on goal and should have done better there but that can be cancelled out by Rocks penalty miss who oddly enough both saved the game for you and lost it with that miss.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/02/2017 21:53:13    1954899

You'd your whole team in your own half too on more than one occasion so stop with the nonsense on the defensive tactics.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/02/2017 21:54:56    1954900

Jeez catch yourself on - Dubs not cynical - where have you been for last 6 years. Hysterical comment but I do believe it was tongue in cheek to get a rise from the northerners!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 11/02/2017 21:58:11    1954902

Replying To border Gael:  "Dublin v Kerry final. Dublin to win. Tyrone won't be receiving any points next wkd. Neither will Mayo or Cavan."
Great craic with the oul predictions:) let's hope you might make it 3 out of 3 tomorrow :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/02/2017 21:58:22    1954903

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You'd your whole team in your own half too on more than one occasion so stop with the nonsense on the defensive tactics."
yis are puke football at its best , shocking bad 14 man behind the ball the whole game. But don't worry will see you in the summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/02/2017 22:04:26    1954905

Jeez catch yourself on - Dubs not cynical - where have you been for last 6 years. Hysterical comment but I do believe it was tongue in cheek to get a rise from the northerners!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 11/02/2017 22:08:41    1954908