2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Dublin
5. Donegal
6. Conor McManus
7. Cavan

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/01/2017 15:58:43    1946374

Replying To ROS1:  "I dont think aiming for a quarter final place is to much to aim for, it might not work out but every team has to have a target. Off course it is completely ignored that roscommon were missing more then half the best team in the championship but anyways i think you should talk to the Tryone poster who thinks no team will come near there team this year about having blind optimism."
Every team has injuries though. Roscommon were impressive in a few league games last year and SOME supporters, certainly some I personally know were losing the run of themselves completely. One buck I spoke to actually said, "I don't think there's an All Ireland in us this year.." in total sincerity.

I genuinely do hope yez get a clear run at it without injuries because the more competition the better. But for your own sake some of the expectation needs to be reined in a wee bit. Just a thought looking in from the outside.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 17/01/2017 16:04:26    1946378

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This is the thing which holds Roscommon back. Complete and utter blind optimism. Ye think yez are way better than yez are. Then comes the inevitable walloping in the championship."
An awful condescending thing to say to anyone from any county. Roscommon stayed in Division 1 last year. They were badly hit by injuries in 2016 and a few factions within the camp didn't help them either. Definitely good enough to stay up again, a good bet for the league semi finals and championship quarter finals.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 17/01/2017 16:28:22    1946389

Replying To ROS1:  "I dont think aiming for a quarter final place is to much to aim for, it might not work out but every team has to have a target. Off course it is completely ignored that roscommon were missing more then half the best team in the championship but anyways i think you should talk to the Tryone poster who thinks no team will come near there team this year about having blind optimism."
How many roscommon lads are out injured so far?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 17/01/2017 16:37:17    1946397

Replying To TheHermit:  "As ever retaining Division 1 status and unearthing a few more options for our Championship 15 is the main goal for Kerry. Anything more is a bonus.

We always have a tendency to start the League slowly, but it looks like we will have a bit of momentum going into it this year given our run to the McGrath Cup final on Sunday. I'd certainly welcome a League title if we found ourselves in contention with a couple of games to go.

As regards relegation, I'd probably agree with most of the other posters. I think Roscommon could have a case of second year syndrome and drop back to Division 2.

I also think Donegal could struggle given they've had to deal with so many players leaving within a few days of each other. They could find themselves in difficulty very quickly, especially if we come out of Letterkenny with a win on the opening day."
I'd put the mortgage on Kerry winning in Letterkenny, can't remember the last time we won a senior match there.

It's hard to know where we're at in general but I would hope we'll do enough to stay up with the 4 home games. Looking forward to seeing more of Ciaran Thompson and Stephen McBrearty, and maybe we'll see a different style with the young lads as well.

Expecting a Dublin v Mayo final

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 17/01/2017 16:41:06    1946399

Replying To Kingoreilly:  "It's between Dublin and Tyrone to win and Donegal Cavan and Roscommon for relegation imo. Dublin with there strength in depth are always strong in the league Tyrone are improving all the time and have a realistic chance of lifting Sam this year, Donegals best days are behind them and Cavan and Roscommon will be competitive but just don't think there good enough for division 1 football"
Why do you think Tyrone have a realistic chance of winning Sam ? An aging Kerry side saw them off in 2015 and a Mayo side that was a long way off their best beat them last year . When was the last time Tyrone had a notable championship win against non Ulster opposition ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 17/01/2017 16:43:57    1946401

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "1. Dublin
2. Kerry
3. Tyrone
4. Mayo
5. Monaghan
6. Roscommon
7. Cavan
8. Donegal

Although we wont be taking league as serious as we did last year I still expect us to beat Cavan and Donegal at the very least. Cavan we have always had their number last few years and we bet the ****** out of Donegal last year and with having them at home this time around added into the amount of their retirements and I can see struggling. I think talk of players coming through up their is unjust and they are very overrated"
You are entitled to your opinion and prediction and you may well be proven right, however, have you seen the players coming through in Donegal? I'm guessing you must have if you think they're overrated?? From what I have seen of the young talent coming through there will be very exciting days as a Donegal supporter in the next few years. We now have a great mix of experience and youth in the panel and although I think it will be 2 or 3 years before we see the best of this team I still think Donegal will maintain Div 1 status and be there or there abouts in Ulster this year.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 17/01/2017 17:11:26    1946406

Dublin to win as other teams jockey to stay in the division and get their teams right for the championship. Any of the teams, other than Dublin, could find themselves in danger of going down. I feel that Donegal and Tyrone and Roscommon are the teams most at risk.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/01/2017 17:23:19    1946411

Replying To Greengrass:  "Why do you think Tyrone have a realistic chance of winning Sam ? An aging Kerry side saw them off in 2015 and a Mayo side that was a long way off their best beat them last year . When was the last time Tyrone had a notable championship win against non Ulster opposition ?"
Greengrass it was against us in Omagh in 2014.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/01/2017 17:37:16    1946418

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Every team has injuries though. Roscommon were impressive in a few league games last year and SOME supporters, certainly some I personally know were losing the run of themselves completely. One buck I spoke to actually said, "I don't think there's an All Ireland in us this year.." in total sincerity.

I genuinely do hope yez get a clear run at it without injuries because the more competition the better. But for your own sake some of the expectation needs to be reined in a wee bit. Just a thought looking in from the outside."
I dont think to many counties were probably missing there eight best players plus others as Roscommon were last year but that is in the past now. I am sure you saw the effect of injuries in your own county in 2013. People get carried away in every county we are not on our own in that regard. But a bit of hope is no harm for any county.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/01/2017 17:39:25    1946420

2. Kerry
3. Tyrone
4. Mayo
5. Monaghan
6. Roscommon
7. Cavan
8. Donegal

Although we wont be taking league as serious as we did last year I still expect us to beat Cavan and Donegal at the very least. Cavan we have always had their number last few years and we bet the ****** out of Donegal last year and with having them at home this time around added into the amount of their retirements and I can see struggling. I think talk of players coming through up their is unjust and they are very overrated"
1-19 to 0-17? It was a fairly entertaining game from what I remember, seeing Donegal go man for man was interesting. Good result for Roscommon I suppose considering how the season went, but I think they'd benefit from not going all out in the league this year. You could see that Donegal approached the game very differently to how Roscommon did.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 17/01/2017 17:51:01    1946431

Rossies had a great year in dv1 last year,but will be disappointed with their championship.They may go down along with Cavan imo,but oddly enough it may give them both a greater chance of making the last 8 in the summer.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 18:12:08    1946437

2. Kerry
3. Tyrone
4. Mayo
5. Monaghan
6. Roscommon
7. Cavan
8. Donegal

A Roscommon man talking about other teams being overrated!!!

My mind is busy boggling away....

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/01/2017 19:36:22    1946473

1. Dublin
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Mayo
5. Donegal
6. Cavan
7. Monaghan
8. Roscommon

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/01/2017 19:38:10    1946474

Replying To theweanling:  "How many roscommon lads are out injured so far?"
None too serious nobody with anything long term like we had last few years. Like yourselves though we have a few lads not able to commit for the year for one reason or another. Touch wood we keep a clean but of health for the year we are due a decent run in that department.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/01/2017 19:41:48    1946475

Replying To waynoI:  "1. Mayo
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Dublin
5. Donegal
6. Conor McManus
7. Cavan"
1. Mayo
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Dublin
5. Donegal
6. Conor McManus
7. Cavan
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11754 - 17/01/2017 15:58:43

Mansy, obviously the jewel in our (Monaghan's) crown........ The last couple of times Monaghan played Dublin, in the League we lost by 1 pt ... closest games ye had. Mansy was MOM in 1 of them, played well in the other......... he must be SOME PLAYER to run Dublin to 1 pt on his own!...... Woow.......I knew he was brill, never thought he was so incredible!.... Mansy for President!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 17/01/2017 20:10:39    1946479

Replying To ROS1:  "I dont think to many counties were probably missing there eight best players plus others as Roscommon were last year but that is in the past now. I am sure you saw the effect of injuries in your own county in 2013. People get carried away in every county we are not on our own in that regard. But a bit of hope is no harm for any county."
Roscommon played fantastic in the league last year. I do see a tread with the Rossie's supporters complaining constantly about injuries. After the u21 semi in 2015 it was all about injuries. Every county suffers from injuries. Get over it.
From a Tyrone point we have 3 home games in the first 4 games against Ros,away to Dublin, Cavan then Monaghan. Our home form is patchy to say the least. However I would hope we would have at least 5 points from the first 4 games. Maybe 6. Should stay up but I feel the semis will be a stretch, especially if we don't have a free taker.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 17/01/2017 20:44:48    1946490

1 Dublin
2 kerry
3 Tyrone
4 mayo
5 roscommon
6 mayo
7 cavan
8 donegal

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 17/01/2017 20:52:43    1946493

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "1. Mayo
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Dublin
5. Donegal
6. Conor McManus
7. Cavan
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11754 - 17/01/2017 15:58:43

Mansy, obviously the jewel in our (Monaghan's) crown........ The last couple of times Monaghan played Dublin, in the League we lost by 1 pt ... closest games ye had. Mansy was MOM in 1 of them, played well in the other......... he must be SOME PLAYER to run Dublin to 1 pt on his own!...... Woow.......I knew he was brill, never thought he was so incredible!.... Mansy for President!"
Mansy!!!!! Jaysus lads could ye do no better in the nickname department than that?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 21:15:45    1946503

Dublin, Mayo or Kerry will be in the hunt for the title, Donegal and Monaghan may struggle with Roscommon possibly being in that mix too, I reckon Cavan have enough to stay up and think we will see a more expansive game from them this year, Tyrone may push towards upper end of the table too however I have found predicting League business to be a tricky pastime, just can't wait for it all to start to be honest.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 21:22:31    1946504