Division 2 2017

Replying To royaldunne:  "Kildare promoted, they wont do us any favours in salthill, so Galway along with them. Unfortunate from a Meath perspective as I think we would cope. But sure that's football ."
In fairness RD as the lillies have no pressure they will play without fear. Often this benefits a team in their situation. All the pressure is on us. We have very good forwards even without Damien Comer and a top notch midfield. it will be our defence who hold the key. We should have got a draw in Navan given the way the game panned out so hopefully we won't regret that. 5 yrs ago we drew with the lilies on the final day 0-18 to 2-12 meaning they were promoted to Div 1 instead of us. Time for us to go up and we definitely are ready.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/03/2017 19:50:46    1971386

Replying To royal7:  "Yeah as soon as I seen the scores today i thought promotion looking very slim. As long as we show that intensity in the championship I'm happy though"
Yep its a done deal Imo . Now obviously I would love nothing more than to be eating humble pie this day week, so I hope I'm wrong. All we can do is beat Clare (a big ask in itself) and see what happens.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/03/2017 19:50:57    1971388

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh yeah. Fair play to Kildare, we shouldn't be needing other results to go our way to get promoted. Down game ended it unfortunately."
You're full of it champ

You always go on about how until its mathematically impossible you'd believe and it's still mathematically possible and you're saying the down game ended it ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/03/2017 20:02:06    1971399

Replying To waynoI:  "You're full of it champ

You always go on about how until its mathematically impossible you'd believe and it's still mathematically possible and you're saying the down game ended it .."
Ahh of course the green and gold lad sitting on my shoulder will always have optimism, I believe we will go to Ennis and win, of that I have no doubt, however do i think a already promoted Kildare will go all out to beat a up for it needing to win Galway? No. But sure my little green and gold guy is saying they will. So who knows ?
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/03/2017 20:10:57    1971410

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Don't know how the hell Fermanagh beat them last week!!

....they're very athletic as well.."
If that is a shot at me complimenting Kildare's athleticism after ye beat us in week 1 then that is truly pathetic

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 26/03/2017 20:41:58    1971442

Replying To kiloughter:  "In fairness RD as the lillies have no pressure they will play without fear. Often this benefits a team in their situation. All the pressure is on us. We have very good forwards even without Damien Comer and a top notch midfield. it will be our defence who hold the key. We should have got a draw in Navan given the way the game panned out so hopefully we won't regret that. 5 yrs ago we drew with the lilies on the final day 0-18 to 2-12 meaning they were promoted to Div 1 instead of us. Time for us to go up and we definitely are ready."
True, the Galway defence has been the questionable part of the team thus far, sort that end out and ye could have a good year ahead. Galway know what they must do next weekend, avoid defeat, and it's job done, playing at home in front of what I presume will be a big crowd against a Kildare team that already have the job done I would have to fancy them and that's a genuine opinion, however we have finished the league strong and positives are developing so I'll take that as a step in the right direction for Meath, I just want to see us win our final game and carry some momentum into the summer

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/03/2017 21:08:25    1971464

Replying To royaldunne:  "Kildare promoted, they wont do us any favours in salthill, so Galway along with them. Unfortunate from a Meath perspective as I think we would cope. But sure that's football ."
In Fairness to Kildare royaldunne, Kildare won't be going to Galway next week to lose in order to prevent Meath from getting to Division 1. Our ambition is to top the Group by beating Galway or drawing with Galway. Meath will have to win first in Ennis, and yes Kildare will have to win to give Meath a chance of being promoted. From a Meath point of view you you will need to concentrate on the game in Ennis first before looking norhhwards to hear or read about the Kildare /Galway game. I can tell you that based on today's Kildare/Clare game that Meath won't get anything easy in Ennis next weekend since Clare now need to win or at least draw to avoid possible relegation.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 26/03/2017 21:16:42    1971469

Replying To lilywhite1:  "In Fairness to Kildare royaldunne, Kildare won't be going to Galway next week to lose in order to prevent Meath from getting to Division 1. Our ambition is to top the Group by beating Galway or drawing with Galway. Meath will have to win first in Ennis, and yes Kildare will have to win to give Meath a chance of being promoted. From a Meath point of view you you will need to concentrate on the game in Ennis first before looking norhhwards to hear or read about the Kildare /Galway game. I can tell you that based on today's Kildare/Clare game that Meath won't get anything easy in Ennis next weekend since Clare now need to win or at least draw to avoid possible relegation."
Yep I agree that Kildare won't go to lose they may not be as motivated as normal but I think they will try and keep the momentum they've built up going and actually may prefer to play Meath in the final rather than Galway in saying that we'll do well to beat Clare in Ennis as we haven't travelled as well as we should do in recent years Down a few weeks ago being a prime example

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 26/03/2017 22:13:38    1971506

Replying To royal7:  "Poor oul meath didn't loose by 18 points ..a hammering like that might send yez back years ha.. and division 3 might suit yez even better ;)"
You'd are bad losers ...
But you are worse winners...
No need for yer comment ... see u in Brewster park next year ... if u knew yer football a you'd know that wasn't us today ... fair play to Meath yiz never let up

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 26/03/2017 22:38:15    1971525

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nope a green one , the old tayto Park one.
Gotmilk. What has gone wrong with Fermanagh? Jesus man you were poor today. Have you lots of injured players? Quigley was out of it to today. What has changed in a year? Despite the slagging of last few years , it was good to see Fermanagh competitive, and I got to say I felt sorry for the fans that travelled today."
Haha just thought I might have been chatting you today. Some fella was telling me that O'Sullivan (the lad with the mask) is the best forward in Ireland, sounded like something you might come out with lol. Ye looked good today, strong and brilliant defensively. I don't know what is going on, keeper that was there today is a disaster. But they are all at sea at the minute.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/03/2017 22:44:46    1971531

Replying To gotmilk:  "Haha just thought I might have been chatting you today. Some fella was telling me that O'Sullivan (the lad with the mask) is the best forward in Ireland, sounded like something you might come out with lol. Ye looked good today, strong and brilliant defensively. I don't know what is going on, keeper that was there today is a disaster. But they are all at sea at the minute."
Haha. Well he was right. :).
Meath are going in the right direction, however the old tendance to drop the intensity when needed most is still there. Its very much a work in progress, heading in right way but it will take another year or two to be where we should be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2017 08:15:05    1971599

Replying To lilywhite1:  "In Fairness to Kildare royaldunne, Kildare won't be going to Galway next week to lose in order to prevent Meath from getting to Division 1. Our ambition is to top the Group by beating Galway or drawing with Galway. Meath will have to win first in Ennis, and yes Kildare will have to win to give Meath a chance of being promoted. From a Meath point of view you you will need to concentrate on the game in Ennis first before looking norhhwards to hear or read about the Kildare /Galway game. I can tell you that based on today's Kildare/Clare game that Meath won't get anything easy in Ennis next weekend since Clare now need to win or at least draw to avoid possible relegation."
Ah I know you won't be going to lose in fairness. But I can see mostly fringe players getting a run out, I know that's what id want to see from Meath if we were in your position. Now those type of players will be bursting a gut to prove to manager they deserve first team place. But will that be good enough?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2017 08:18:16    1971600

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "You'd are bad losers ...
But you are worse winners...
No need for yer comment ... see u in Brewster park next year ... if u knew yer football a you'd know that wasn't us today ... fair play to Meath yiz never let up"
Relax he's only having a bit of banter. Look I have said it already that game wasn't easy to watch if you from Fermanagh. I dont know what can be done to rectify it. But I worry for you this year if its not sorted soon.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2017 08:49:00    1971609

For the further development of this Galway team they have to get a result v Kildare next Saturday. Failure is not an option. Get promoted and then they have a League Final to look forward to in Croke Park and hopefully they can get that terrible monkey of their back in not having won a game in Croke Park since 2001.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 27/03/2017 09:06:56    1971618

Replying To mon:  "For the further development of this Galway team they have to get a result v Kildare next Saturday. Failure is not an option. Get promoted and then they have a League Final to look forward to in Croke Park and hopefully they can get that terrible monkey of their back in not having won a game in Croke Park since 2001."
lads Galway will be back down as quick as they go up. I would say Cavan are more equipped for division 1. There should really be a relegation from division 1 and promo from division 2 play off.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 27/03/2017 09:37:38    1971631

Replying To pretender:  "lads Galway will be back down as quick as they go up. I would say Cavan are more equipped for division 1. There should really be a relegation from division 1 and promo from division 2 play off."
Really? Do you think Cavan are better equipped to stay in Div 1 than Galway?

I'm biased but I just find that hard to believe.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 27/03/2017 09:46:08    1971634

Replying To pretender:  "lads Galway will be back down as quick as they go up. I would say Cavan are more equipped for division 1. There should really be a relegation from division 1 and promo from division 2 play off."
Why so you say that?? And if not Galway who would be better prepared to go up with Kildare??

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 27/03/2017 10:11:03    1971649

so you are against 2 teams being promoted? ye might sneak in yerselves

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 27/03/2017 10:17:11    1971651

Galway wont know if they are good enough till they get up there. .

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 27/03/2017 10:17:27    1971652

I know its probably only your opinion but based on what? For all the talk of Cavan and Rossie underage at u21 (and they have done well in recent yrs) they actually did not win an all ireland. We on the other hand won 2 since 2011 and knocked out the current all ireland champs on Sat night in Tuam. While it is very much if but if we do go up I would argue that we are the best equipped Div 2 team to stay there given potential from u21 and the fact a decent proportion of this squad have been together for the last 2/3 yrs. Its lazy analysis to send a team down again without proposing as to why.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/03/2017 10:27:40    1971657