Just in case you doubted the Anti Dublin felings..

Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year.

Many sports were mentioned, many feats were feted!
From Robbie Brady to Annalise Murphy
From Soldiers Field to Rio's track
From Thomond Park to Carl Frampton
From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)
From Tipp footballers to Westmeath Hurlers....

You know what I didnt hear tho? Not once, not even a mention of it?
The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada.

Ye all go on about their being a PRO Dubs Bias in the media, we in Dublin scoff at ye, and this is why. The media build us up, but their sole aim, is to eventually knock us down. Always has been, always will be.

If and when Mayo win and AI, the same media will wet the collective pants for 12 months and in the process find a way to award them 17 All Stars.....
Until that day, can I just apologise to all on behalf of the Dublin Football fraternity for being the big bad guy that ye all love to hate. Sure look, someone has to do it.

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/01/2017 12:33:16    1943203

Ridiculous post, not worthy of response.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 05/01/2017 13:02:03    1943211

Liam
I do believe that kerry won back to back in the 00's, so g'way with your first team in 20 years nonsense
And stop with your bleating of no one recognises us bull, its starting to turn people off the dubs as a whole.
Everyone has rightly lauded them and recognised they are up there as one of the greatest teams ever... but this constant cry for attention is going to just generate more ABD's

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 05/01/2017 13:04:39    1943213

2007 isn't 20 years ago ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2017 13:05:08    1943214

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year.

From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!)

The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada.

Ye all go on about their being a PRO Dubs Bias in the media, we in Dublin scoff at ye, and this is why. The media build us up, but their sole aim, is to eventually knock us down. Always has been, always will be.

If and when Mayo win and AI, the same media will wet the collective pants for 12 months and in the process find a way to award them 17 All Stars.....
Until that day, can I just apologise to all on behalf of the Dublin Football fraternity for being the big bad guy that ye all love to hate. Sure look, someone has to do it.

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
20 years? I think you'll find Kerry went back to back in 2006/2007.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 05/01/2017 13:07:12    1943215

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year.

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
I would say that anyone that knows anything about sport would acknowledge that the current Dublin team are deserved all ireland double winners. It is up there with the big achievements of the last couple of seasons too in all sports.

The reason that it is not such a talking point with everyone in the media is more to do with what is selling and trending rather than anything else. Conor McGregor for instance has totally taken over the imagination of the youth of the country for better or for worse. Personally, I would prefer to talk about any member of an all ireland winning team over him. But what sells sells.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/01/2017 13:09:03    1943216

And no better person to highlight this injustice on Hoganstand. You should probably start a few threads on it just to be sure that we don't forget about it.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/01/2017 13:09:17    1943217

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
We know how ye feel Liam , down here in Kerry our minors are after winning a 3 in a row the first team to do that in nearly 70 years and not a word about it our minors are unbeaten in 18 matches and played 15 of those games away from home .
David Clifford a young lad who just turned 17 in august scored a wonder goal and not a mention of it in goal of the year it would really p@@s you off at times :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2017 13:12:54    1943218

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
Didn't Kerry win back to back titles in 2006 & 2007?

You're a Gas man Liam, a bit of fishing with dynamite going on here :-)

I'd be delighted for Mayo if they won the all-Ireland. If they look West, it is a long way to America, if they look East they see the Dubs with all the trappings of wealth that helps them to win All-Ireland's like berries off a tree .........

All jokes aside, the Dubs are a great team. 4 All-Ireland's in 6 years with a total final winning score surplus of 6 points. That takes a lot of steel. Given my age though, I saw the Greatest teams of all do 3 in a row and 4 in a row (Kerry 79-82, 84-86 & Kilkenny 2006-2009). If Dublin can win it in 2017 they're closing in on that type of class.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/01/2017 13:13:57    1943219

Its because Dublin have a significant advantages over all the other counties. Yes all other teams that win SAM will be rightly recognized more then the dubs.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/01/2017 13:16:52    1943221

Does 06/07 really count as a REAL back to back?
They didn't win their province in 06 so it takes a lot off that achievement
Everytime they went for that REAL back to back, the team of the decade beat them, beat them with ease really

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/01/2017 13:19:50    1943223

eh...eh.....it wasnt me.......
Somebody eh....hacked my account.....ya thats it.....they did
they hacked my account

probably a kerry man too

baxtards!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/01/2017 14:02:44    1943235

Replying To keithlemon:  "Does 06/07 really count as a REAL back to back?
Everytime they went for that REAL back to back, the team of the decade beat them, beat them with ease really"
Ridiculous fishing post. You can't say that 07 doesn't count because they didn't win their province and in the next breath talk up Tyrone beating them in 05 and 08. I don't know if you know this but in 2005 Armagh beat Tyrone in the Ulster final after a replay, forcing Tyrone to the back door. In 2008 Tyrone were knocked out in the first round of ulster by Down after a replay too if memory serves me correctly.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/01/2017 14:12:20    1943237

The achievements of the current Dublin crop really show up the "achievements" of Heffo's "Heros" for what they were.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 05/01/2017 14:26:12    1943241

Sorry gotmilk, I'm just going with the logic of Liam's thread here!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/01/2017 14:27:08    1943242

BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES!

3 in a row!
COYBIB"
But sure isn't that WWE woman a dub?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/01/2017 14:38:56    1943252

Replying To keithlemon:  "Does 06/07 really count as a REAL back to back?
Everytime they went for that REAL back to back, the team of the decade beat them, beat them with ease really"
Go suck on your surname...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2017 14:49:42    1943257

ELEVEN RED THUMBS!!!

ELEVEN!!

That has to be a record!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ggwwaann!!!

:) :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/01/2017 14:59:49    1943261

I have a feeling you were waiting to use that one for a while Hermit!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/01/2017 15:06:23    1943265

Replying To TheHermit:  "Go suck on your surname..."
I'd give that response 2 thumbs up if i could! :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/01/2017 15:25:05    1943270