Bitter rivalries

Louth v Meath can be a bitter one. Other bitter ones include Derry v Tyrone, Mayo v Rossies and Kildare v Laois.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/01/2017 12:05:09    1942767

Replying To hardcore:  "I'm sure I speak for many when I renew my pledge to strongly dislike all things monaghan. Apart from fermanagh, Armagh, Louth and Tyrone no other county has to deal with such an entity on their doorstep. We in cavan are currently building a unit that we hope shall regularly put our noisy neighbours back into Sam maguire less box.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:442 - 01/01/2017 20:37:03 1

LOL................Must be awful having to watch your nearest neighbours be so successfull, while you's still have to rely on Grandaddy tales about winning titles over 60 years ago..............and now you's are in your 20th year without winning an Ulster senior title..........yous are that bad we dont rate you as a rival,Tyrone is our main rival............

Let me know when you's are finished building this Unit,seems to be taking along time im hearing this from 2011.............future blue and all that"
Happy new year Hardcore,
We in Cavan will be generous to you Monaghan lads this year. First we will help send you back to Division 2 which is your rightful home in league football- your struggle to cling on in Div1 has never helped you later in the year. Then we will take care of Fermanagh for you in the championship, after you have softened them up for us in the 'Battle of the Minnows'.
As far a rivalries go, it can get bitter between Cavan and Monaghan but rivalry is not the right word. Our big rivals in Ulster are Down, who we meet as equals, and Meath on the National stage. The Monaghan thing is just fighting across a ditch.
See you on February 12th...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/01/2017 14:40:53    1942799

Its all to do with your nearest neighbor, or most common opponent. Depending on the part of Meath you are from it would be Westmeath, Louth, Kildare or Cavan, but there is a common desire among all Meath fans to beat the Dubs. Its probably due to the fact you cant go into a local pub from June - September without meeting a loud mouth Dub (who has been to Old Trafford / Anfield more often than Croker) sprouting on. Genuine GAA Dublin supporters, I do enjoy their company but some of the loud mouths who occupy our local have tarnished my view of all Dublin supporters at the minute. I know every county has them, but just there is more Dubs, in the last 10 / 15 years they all seemed to have moved out to the commuter belt.
I remember been in Croker for a semi final between Mayo and Kerry, there was a Roscommon girl there with her Kerry boyfriend and the hate she had for Mayo is something I will never forget. Cavan people detest to see Monaghan even winning the toss. The Tyrone V Derry rivalry can be fairly strong and Joe Brollys comments on Seán Cavanagh didn't help either. If you are down south then Kerry is everyones rival, being successful does tend to do that, but Kerry people do genuinely seem to hate losing to Cork, it sticks with them more than any other defeat.
But good healthy rivalry is part and parcel of what makes the GAA great. We can all go to games against our biggest rival and sit beside one of their fans for 70 minutes (disagree with their opinion on every call the ref makes) but once the game is over shake their hand and wish them well.
Indeed the men in white coats should cart us all away - but then again they never see anything......

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 03/01/2017 15:39:24    1942813

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Cork, no other rivlary in the GAA comes close."
What about Englishmen and Scots! Or Welshmen and Scots! Or Japanese and Scots! Or Scots and other Scots! Damn Scots! They ruined Scotland!

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 03/01/2017 17:41:39    1942835

i think neighbouring countys not liking offaly stems from all the beatings they got from them in the 70s 80s and 90s.it was commonly accepted that the sight of an offaly jersey would be enough to beat Kildare laois or Westmeath during them years. meath not liking offaly probably stems from the hammering they were at the end of in the leinster final 1997...

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 03/01/2017 17:51:31    1942841

Replying To kavvie:  "i think neighbouring countys not liking offaly stems from all the beatings they got from them in the 70s 80s and 90s.it was commonly accepted that the sight of an offaly jersey would be enough to beat Kildare laois or Westmeath during them years. meath not liking offaly probably stems from the hammering they were at the end of in the leinster final 1997..."
Nothing got to do with 97. More the 70s and 80s for me. Also that half my school was from it didn't help, along with cousins etc. .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2017 17:59:20    1942845

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "What about Englishmen and Scots! Or Welshmen and Scots! Or Japanese and Scots! Or Scots and other Scots! Damn Scots! They ruined Scotland!"
Always good to see some groundskeeper willy. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2017 18:00:29    1942846

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Cork, no other rivlary in the GAA comes close."
That's a pretty pompous remark is it not hermit? It is in no way more intense (or less) than Dublin and Meath, Galway/Mayo/ Derry/Tyrone/Armagh. Just so happens that Cork and Meath couldn't kick snow off a rope at the moment so both rivalries are 'quiet' and nothing else.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 03/01/2017 20:47:35    1942887

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hardly a bitter rivalry Hermit when ye hate them but they dont care about you. Corks rivals are Tipp and KK."
ha, i care. Maybe to hurling fans KK and Tipp are our big rivals but i couldn't give a shit about the hurlers. Sure i'll support them when there playing and want them to win but Football is my passion and Kerry is my hatred. Nothing against Kerry people, got a lot of friends from Kerry but Kerry Footballers i can't stand. No feeling comes close when Cork beat them as i'm sure it's the same for Kerry when they beat us(which is quite often :( ) If you don't think Cork and Kerry is a big rivalry then go to Knocknagree or Rathmore after a match where things can sometimes get heated especially if there's a lot of taunting going on.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 03/01/2017 21:04:28    1942889

Rivalries invariably come and go. tyrone/ Armagh, Donegal/ Tyrone, Dublin/ Meath, Mayo/Dublin etc etc. But bitter rivalries?? no such thing, we're all able to have a pint before and after the games. Go to an Old Firm you'll see what a bitter rivalry is.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 04/01/2017 10:58:09    1942996

Donegal and Tyrone in recent times. I could feel vomit in my throat congratulating their supporters after they beat us in the Ulster final last year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 04/01/2017 11:30:56    1943002

I always have to laugh when I see Mayo need in a rivalry with the Likes of Dublin, Kerry of Galway (all teams who have won an All-Ireland on colour television) - what rivalry?

Lol

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 05/01/2017 11:32:44    1943193

It what makes the GAA extra bit of needle between counties. Growing up for me it was Meath Dublin Cork Kerry Armagh Tyrone Monaghan Cavan Mayo Galway. Now because of media saturation of our games and counties regularly meeting each other in games you could take your pick. I wouldn't describe our rivalry as being bitter with Donegal but over course of last few years it has been fascinating as been so little between the sides in matches . As for bitter has to be our dear neighbours in Cavan. So much love there between the respective camps.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 05/01/2017 12:52:25    1943206

Replying To The_DOC:  "I always have to laugh when I see Mayo need in a rivalry with the Likes of Dublin, Kerry of Galway (all teams who have won an All-Ireland on colour television) - what rivalry?

Lol"
I always laugh when I see grown men typing LOL on Hoganstand and not even capitalise it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 05/01/2017 14:27:52    1943243

Sligo Roscommon is bitter

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 05/01/2017 14:33:23    1943248

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I always laugh when I see grown men typing LOL on Hoganstand and not even capitalise it."
I always laugh at people that presume too much (like Mayo for Sam - LOL!)

Who's to say's I'm grown or a man?

LOL

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 05/01/2017 15:53:24    1943279

As I am from Ashbourne it can only be Dublin.Especially hard when blow-ins slag you off when they go to maybe a Dublin match a year at best,I can take the slagging from genuine supporters though!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/01/2017 18:31:33    1943309

Replying To seanie08:  "It what makes the GAA extra bit of needle between counties. Growing up for me it was Meath Dublin Cork Kerry Armagh Tyrone Monaghan Cavan Mayo Galway. Now because of media saturation of our games and counties regularly meeting each other in games you could take your pick. I wouldn't describe our rivalry as being bitter with Donegal but over course of last few years it has been fascinating as been so little between the sides in matches . As for bitter has to be our dear neighbours in Cavan. So much love there between the respective camps."
Their is certainly no love between the breifne aristocrats and our noisy neighbours but to echo my esteemed posters, Down are our rivals since our successful period coincided in a successful few decades for them. As for Tyrone, been successful in the recent decades they would class perhaps Armagh or donegal as their RIVALS. Monaghan have had a bit of a purple patch. Monaghan, like other weak counties such as westmeath, are disliked by their neighbours but can hardly claim to be anyone's historic rivals.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 05/01/2017 18:54:01    1943313

Replying To The_DOC:  "I always laugh at people that presume too much (like Mayo for Sam - LOL!)

Who's to say's I'm grown or a man?

LOL"
Prob neither. At least you fixed the Caps lock.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 05/01/2017 19:14:14    1943320

And Cork hurling people couldn't care less!

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 10/01/2017 12:14:44    1944517