Bordering Counties Who Dont Have Much Of A Rivalry

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "How many times have Donegal/ Letrim met in competitive games in the last 50 years? No rivalry simply because they don't meet"
I've seen two Leitrim games against Donegal; a drawn league game in Ballyshannon in 2006 (I think I was at that one anyway) and an extra-time win for Donegal in the qualifiers in 2007 in Carrick.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 15/02/2018 00:11:44    2076952

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "I've seen two Leitrim games against Donegal; a drawn league game in Ballyshannon in 2006 (I think I was at that one anyway) and an extra-time win for Donegal in the qualifiers in 2007 in Carrick."
The extra time win for Donegal in 2007 when Glancy scored a goal in injury time with a volley to draw the game for Leitrim! Back when Leitrim would give anyone a hard game in Carrick - those days are gone, long gone

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 15/02/2018 09:13:30    2076979

Replying To moros:  "Evans could say what he wanted. We didn't gag him like. Ye have been choking since 89 and your time seems up now bud. Oh the green and red of Mayo ! Lol"
No choking when we're hammering your crowd out the gate as usual, LOL. I've only seen a Rossie senior championship victory over Mayo once in my lifetime, and you were very lucky to win that. I'd be confident that if we do meet in the championship next year, the Sheep Stealers will be quietened again afterwards.

Mind you, Roscommon choked in the last senior final ye were in yourselves, so you have some form there too. Did your golden generation of U21 sides win a national championship? And didn't they choke at seven points up on Mayo in 2016? Who, incidentally, went on to win the All-Ireland.

A 22 point victory over Mayo, in the air of our soccer friends of across the channel, "you'll never see that!"

Are ye still the greatest gaelic football team in the world according to some of your fans?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CcDIdd2ycQ

No coincidence that the last two Nestor Cup wins ye had came through the easier side of the draw either.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/02/2018 09:27:12    2076981

Replying To moros:  "Evans could say what he wanted. We didn't gag him like. Ye have been choking since 89 and your time seems up now bud. Oh the green and red of Mayo ! Lol"
What caused this deep well of bitterness to be running through you out of curiosity?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 15/02/2018 09:42:40    2076984

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "The extra time win for Donegal in 2007 when Glancy scored a goal in injury time with a volley to draw the game for Leitrim! Back when Leitrim would give anyone a hard game in Carrick - those days are gone, long gone"
Mayo were very lucky to escape from Carrick with a one point win in 2006, and of course there was the famous match in 94 where Leitrim upset the form book. Sad to see so many players lost to them through emigration (the non-voluntary kind).

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/02/2018 14:01:25    2077095

Replying To Gleebo:  "No choking when we're hammering your crowd out the gate as usual, LOL. I've only seen a Rossie senior championship victory over Mayo once in my lifetime, and you were very lucky to win that. I'd be confident that if we do meet in the championship next year, the Sheep Stealers will be quietened again afterwards.

Mind you, Roscommon choked in the last senior final ye were in yourselves, so you have some form there too. Did your golden generation of U21 sides win a national championship? And didn't they choke at seven points up on Mayo in 2016? Who, incidentally, went on to win the All-Ireland.

A 22 point victory over Mayo, in the air of our soccer friends of across the channel, "you'll never see that!"

Are ye still the greatest gaelic football team in the world according to some of your fans?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CcDIdd2ycQ

No coincidence that the last two Nestor Cup wins ye had came through the easier side of the draw either."
As I said ..its relative bud. With a population double our size ye should be beaten us year in year out. But it remains that ye haven't won the big prize since 51 and have choked on so many occasions. I don't know where the dislike for Mayo fans come from. ye always have fools both sides of the border. With yer size ye are still in the shadow of Galway and I fancy them to claim Sam well before ye. The Mayo project is heading for the rocks bud. I never said we were going to win anything. That said we'd be relatively happy with our lot at the moment. And by the way ye got plenty of hammerings back in the day and we'd beat ye for fun in the late seventies. Have a bit of cop on and don't be so bitter. And live with the fact that it ain't going.to happen for ye.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 15/02/2018 16:03:28    2077145

Replying To moros:  "As I said ..its relative bud. With a population double our size ye should be beaten us year in year out. But it remains that ye haven't won the big prize since 51 and have choked on so many occasions. I don't know where the dislike for Mayo fans come from. ye always have fools both sides of the border. With yer size ye are still in the shadow of Galway and I fancy them to claim Sam well before ye. The Mayo project is heading for the rocks bud. I never said we were going to win anything. That said we'd be relatively happy with our lot at the moment. And by the way ye got plenty of hammerings back in the day and we'd beat ye for fun in the late seventies. Have a bit of cop on and don't be so bitter. And live with the fact that it ain't going.to happen for ye."
You display a stunning lack of logic in your posts, playing the poor mouth on Roscommon's population but ignoring that Galway has over double that of Mayo. No surprise there.

I nonetheless look forward to potentially meeting Roscommon again this year, if you're reaching back to the 1970s (easily Mayo's worst decade) to console yourself then you're in trouble.

I seem to remember most Roscommon fans also thought we were finished last August, and we handed them their backsides on a platter, so I'll reserve judgment on that one if it's all the same to you. I'd worry more about your struggles in Division Two at the moment.

If I ever need cheering up I can always consider the plight of those less fortunate than myself, Rossie fans springing to mind immediately.

As for me being bitter, pot and kettle buddy!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/02/2018 16:53:38    2077161

Meath is one of the best county for having rivalries with neighbouring counties. It comes from having a lot of neighboring counties and the fact that from the 40's up to the early 2000's having a few good teams who competed at a high level.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 15/02/2018 20:18:58    2077236

Replying To perfect10:  "what defines a rivalry?
for example,wexford and waterford would have little or no rivalry."
As regards the Wexford-Waterford non-rivalry, it is a quare one, especially considering we've usually been around the same level in Hurling and Football, but I have my own few theories surrounding it.
First off, before around 2001 we'd no history of major championship meetings, which no amount of league meetings can make up for.
Secondly, southwest Wexford in recent history has been a footballing stronghold, while east Waterford that borders it is, from my understanding, solely Hurling orientated, again alleviating major rivalry if you're playing different codes.
Thirdly, the "border" between the two consists of about 20kms of Waterford Estuary (essentially the sea) from Cheekpoint/Campile in the north to Dunmore East/Hook Head in the south, with the only bridge between the two communities the Passage East/Ballyhack car ferry.
I'm open to correction on any of this, but that'd be my take on the rivalry.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/02/2018 21:31:26    2077262

Replying To Gleebo:  "You display a stunning lack of logic in your posts, playing the poor mouth on Roscommon's population but ignoring that Galway has over double that of Mayo. No surprise there.

I nonetheless look forward to potentially meeting Roscommon again this year, if you're reaching back to the 1970s (easily Mayo's worst decade) to console yourself then you're in trouble.

I seem to remember most Roscommon fans also thought we were finished last August, and we handed them their backsides on a platter, so I'll reserve judgment on that one if it's all the same to you. I'd worry more about your struggles in Division Two at the moment.

If I ever need cheering up I can always consider the plight of those less fortunate than myself, Rossie fans springing to mind immediately.

As for me being bitter, pot and kettle buddy!"
Sure keep believing bud....ye have been since 1951...weve been since 1944. The sands of time are running out for Mayo. Ye have coughed up so many All Ireland's now laughable. But keep going bud keep dreamin!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 15/02/2018 21:50:05    2077269

Replying To moros:  "Sure keep believing bud....ye have been since 1951...weve been since 1944. The sands of time are running out for Mayo. Ye have coughed up so many All Ireland's now laughable. But keep going bud keep dreamin!!!"
Ah here, you should have to be over the age of 18 to post here!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 16/02/2018 15:23:45    2077420

Yeah when the serve is returned to ye boys in Mayo ye don't like it. Ye have shown enough vitriol towards Roscommon down the years. Yer supporters aren't that much liked either. Best of luck in the year to come though!!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 16/02/2018 20:27:22    2077499