Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Fair play to the rugby crowd. They delivered a good result for rural Ireland over the old enemy.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 18/03/2017 20:52:35    1968239

Fair enough, that's your opinion. I enjoyed beating the ABs as much as anyone, but I think that saying a November international or summer tour were very often top players are rested and new players are blooded carry same significance as six nations games is crazy. Those tour games basically exist to generate money for the various unions... you really are buying too much into the marketing Ormo. I'd say NZ, while not wanting to lose to us, are having a right laugh about us making documentaries about beating them. Its pure cringe man.
Ireland are touring Japan next summer... will that be as big as six nations? with all the best players with the Lions? If not, the how we decipher which test is meaningful and which is isn't? (answer: we create competitions .....)
himachechy (Donegal) - Posts:79 - 16/03/2017 10:06:20
when have top players ever been rested in games against likes of New Zealand. Those games are as big and as important as 6 nations games. They are not simply about money. Theyre about developing squads. Testing oneself against best in other areas of the world.

Not a bit petty.. For a gaa forum its seems that it you say anything negative about rugby you will get hammered by certain people on here..
I have played and enjoy all sports but what gets to me is the total overloaded hype that rugby gets on rte and the press in general..
Looking forward to the game this evening but really ireland plays well above its weight in Rugby and its general popularity is totaly hyped
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts:216 - 18/03/2017 17:06:22=
Its the arguments too many here use to attack rugby which is the issue. You dont see pathetic cliches like those used here to attack rugby used on other forums to have a go at gaelic/hurling or soccer.
Rugbys popularity is far from totally hyped when you look at rate of progression of interest in the sport has increased over past 2 decades

The game was better 10 years ago to watch. Now it's harder to distinguish, without numbers on them, some backs from backrows. All bulked up, more reliant on power nowadays and less on skills, more conservative, programmed by the coaches, less off-the-cuff stuff from players. Schmidt doesn't seem to trust flair players like Zebo. Many of the rugby TV audience drawn in by what you'd call hype, I'd call it clever marketing, we'll never agree on that. They've never been to a game, many might have a club in their own town they've never been to, casual TV fans, nowhere nearly as knowledgeable as most GAA TV supporters. We beat England in a game today that means nothing but ranking points. Great to beat England at anything and stop them winning a Grand Slam and breaking a record but ultimately it means nothing. Papers will be gushing about it tomorrow, before you say it! I still enjoy watching it but prefer some Pro 12 games than Schmidt's Ireland team. But I think we need some GAA hype. I think many in the GAA are in a 'we're the only show in town' comfort zone. There's thousands of tourists here at championships time and many empty seats at games and they don't even know we've our own games. Plenty of competition for the GAA between other sports, PlayStation's, Netlix, i-Pads, etc for children's attention but I don't think they can see it. Just my opinion. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:3381 - 18/03/2017 19:49:26There is maybe less space now compared to 10 years ago but as teams are now more pro and the defence coaches are much more coordinated then that will always be the way.
Zebo is trusted. Has been in team when fit for nearly all games in past 3 seasons. To say most watching rugby are not as knowledgeable as most gaa supporters is nonsense and unprovable. Rugby is also a much more complicated game. The result today meant a lot and certainly didnt mean nothing as the result and other results meant we will be a top seed for the next world cup which is huge help if we're to go further in that comp then we've ever went before.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/03/2017 21:28:26    1968261

Replying To legendzxix:  "Fair play to the rugby crowd. They delivered a good result for rural Ireland over the old enemy."
why only rural ireland? Does the rest of the country not count or something????

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/03/2017 21:29:54    1968263

Chrome not letting me use reply Ormond!

The pre-6 Nations talk was that we'd be playing England for the Grand Slam today so a win against the auld enemy in anything is good but they were below expectations this 6 Nations. Zebo getting picked regularly is fair enough.

For me we're not seeing anything like the real Zebo. He's tied into Schmidt's conservative game plan. The real Zebo does it off-the-cuff, instinctive, he's magic. The opposition can't know what he'll do next cos he doesn't know himself. That can be a risk especially defensively but I think it's a risk worth taking.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 18/03/2017 22:23:06    1968303

Replying To sceptical:  "we can now say goodbye to this forum and hopefully to the rugger heads that have infiltrated this site as the D4 brigade see their beloved pastime sucked into the pockets of Irelands media oligarch. Bye bye rugger hype as it is no longer on the national network. Lets hope we never have to witness the bizarre spectacle of our national broadcaster celebrating mediocre performances in a minority sport with no hint of real criticism."
You need to get out a bit more.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 18/03/2017 22:24:55    1968305

Replying To sceptical: "we can now say goodbye to this forum

is that a promise!!!!!!!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 18/03/2017 23:09:01    1968328

tomsmith
Well Jonesboro I can tell you the Hype is alive and well, I saw a game St Pats Day ( fri) -- Pure hype played out to a guilable audiancewho want to mix / associate with the white collared crowd

of which you were one!!!

who eat their dinners when the rest of us are thinking about supper .
my da is chairman of our gaa club - before he retired from building game he tended to ate the dinner when he got home around th e6ish mark coz oddly enough most building sites dont have en site kitchens, --so where does he stand in your blue collar while collar dinner theory!!!!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 18/03/2017 23:20:21    1968335

Replying To sceptical:  "we can now say goodbye to this forum and hopefully to the rugger heads that have infiltrated this site as the D4 brigade see their beloved pastime sucked into the pockets of Irelands media oligarch. Bye bye rugger hype as it is no longer on the national network. Lets hope we never have to witness the bizarre spectacle of our national broadcaster celebrating mediocre performances in a minority sport with no hint of real criticism."
sound like someone is more interested in posting about rugby than watching kerry v dublin or donegal v tyrone!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 18/03/2017 23:22:04    1968337

"Can the gaa survive the rugby unslaught "
YES and with interest, just look at cuala now all ireland club hurling champions!!!
No one would of believed this 10 years ago, the heart land of upper class rugby dublin!!!
Can we please change the title to
" can d4 rugby survive the hurling unslaught"

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 19/03/2017 16:41:19    1968551

"Can the gaa survive the rugby unslaught "
YES and with interest, just look at cuala now all ireland club hurling champions!!!
No one would of believed this 10 years ago, the heart land of upper class rugby dublin!!!
Can we please change the title to
" can d4 rugby survive the hurling unslaught"

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 19/03/2017 16:44:11    1968554

Tomsmith here

After the result in the IRL V Eng game on Fri night we will have to live with the hype of this for a long time.
Indeed it could be worse than the soldiers field hype after the victory over the All blacks

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 21/03/2017 00:20:01    1969351

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

After the result in the IRL V Eng game on Fri night we will have to live with the hype of this for a long time.
Indeed it could be worse than the soldiers field hype after the victory over the All blacks"
Which Ireland v England game was on Friday night ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/03/2017 10:10:55    1969392

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Which Ireland v England game was on Friday night ?"
U20s & Women.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 21/03/2017 10:46:15    1969410

Tomsmith here

Indeed it could be worse than the soldiers field hype after the victory over the All blacks

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2920 - 21/03/2017 00:20:01 1969351
Replying To tomsmith: "Tomsmith here

Indeed it could be worse than the soldiers field hype after the victory over the All blacks"
Which Ireland v England game was on Friday night ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:3412 - 21/03/2017 10:10:55 1969392

Greenandred
Tomsmith here from Cavan the home of GAA sorry home County of the GAA president
We had a lot of Rugby on on Fri first was the U20 and then the Ladies and then the Men on Sat

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 25/03/2017 08:12:30    1970871