Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I didn't say I have to watch it and I didn't know the timing of this game either but a couple weeks back there was about 5 hours on the Saturday from 5pm to 10pm where it was under age and women's rugby six nations and as rte force me to buy a tv licence to allow me watch any kind of tv at all I would have gathered they put something worth while to the viewers like a movie that I could have watched."
Nanny McPhee film was on RTE 1 that afternoon. They have two channels you know ;)

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 22/02/2017 20:03:38    1959661

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Nanny McPhee film was on RTE 1 that afternoon. They have two channels you know ;)"
Yeah and I was watching one of the other few hundred channels I have on virgin media that I have to pay to watch aswell as pay rte too despite not watching them so therefore if they are gonna make me have to pay them money weather I watch it or not then I think I should be entitled to want to have something I can watch on it.
Must be a rugby thing that if you keep ignoring the facts of something negative related to rugby it will mean it doesn't exist haha discuss the facts not try and avoid the issue

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/02/2017 20:27:26    1959668

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Yeah and I was watching one of the other few hundred channels I have on virgin media that I have to pay to watch aswell as pay rte too despite not watching them so therefore if they are gonna make me have to pay them money weather I watch it or not then I think I should be entitled to want to have something I can watch on it.
Must be a rugby thing that if you keep ignoring the facts of something negative related to rugby it will mean it doesn't exist haha discuss the facts not try and avoid the issue"
Wow..they can hardly please everyone all the time..rugby matches have been the top viewed sporting events on rte for the past few years so I guess lot of other licence fee payers are happy

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 22/02/2017 21:02:40    1959685

Replying To bad.monkey:  "So one is a mercenary because he is paid more than the other...hmm right. I personally dont consider either a mercenary but carry on with the rugby bashing."
One is an amateur the other is a professional..do you know what a mercenary is? Interested to hear your thoughts on the irfu paying huge sums of money to recruit foreigners to play for Ireland instead of developing Irish players?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 22/02/2017 21:16:12    1959695

Replying To hill16no1man:  "How is it anti rugby that's just your way of avoiding some home truths
fact is the irfu don't even care about women's six nations or they wouldn't be pulling their players out of the team and sending them to las vegas, because its pointed out don't make it anti rugby it makes it topical for this thread"
England women's done the same few years ago I think

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 22/02/2017 21:27:29    1959700

England women's done the same few years ago I think
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1756 - 22/02/2017 21:27:29 195

correct for 2013 tournament some players didnt play 15s and concentrated on sevens for world cup . you know your rugby my friend

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:28:06    1959738

One is an amateur the other is a professional..do you know what a mercenary is? Interested to hear your thoughts on the irfu paying huge sums of money to recruit foreigners to play for Ireland instead of developing Irish players?
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1756 - 22/02/2017 21:16:12

to be fair most of the ireland and provinces players are home grown - need the good foreigners to get success, had some good ones in munster too -williams, mullins, halstead, langford mafi tipoki holland

tis a professional sport they got a short career, one knock could end your career, you cant blames guys for going where the money is , same as a guy changing job to make more dosh

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:33:20    1959739

Replying To Breffni39:  "Get Joanne Cantwell to present everything."
yes she is the best of them - ex dublin footballer too - get her and anna geary to do a camogie show might be a runner

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:35:20    1959740

hillman I didn't say I have to watch it eh you said you were "subjected to it"
and I didn't know the timing of this game either -whey did you say twas primetime
but a couple weeks back there was about 5 hours on the Saturday from 5pm to 10pm where it was under age and women's rugby six nations there have been no womens or 20s games on saturdays,
and as rte force me to buy a tv licence to allow me watch any kind of tv at all I would have gathered they put something worth while to the viewers like a movie that I could have watched. the games above were on a friday when rte usually put on their films around the 11-12pm ish slots ..or you could use a dvd or the movie channels

comedy gold this!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:39:51    1959742

Simple answer
it's one of the main items on the Irish independent sports area of their website which comes up when you click on sports section so no I don't go looking for rugby but I like sports news so it's hard to avoid seeing it when most of the headlines are about rugby so when I was scrolling down it caught my eye and thought it might be topical for this thread.
hope that clears it up for you.
now stop avoiding the fact you had been championing that very tournament and avoiding the realisation that the rugby bosses are treating it with disdain
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11699 - 22/02/2017 19:47:02 1959

i saw it website myself -and it was not headline - there was other rugby headlines but it was one of the smaller ones, one main headline was that clares conor ryan is out for a year which is massive for us coz we play them in championship

how have i been championing the womens tournament, show me the post - i have merely given the viewing figures and explained that i am of the view they are good ,i havent seen either womens game live as i was at club games at the same time

- I have however championed camogie -ive seen some limerick games last year - tis good stuff worth a watch i think it would make good tv ..... dont know if many would be interested but worth a try

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:45:45    1959744

How is it anti rugby that's just your way of avoiding some home truths
fact is the irfu don't even care about women's six nations or they wouldn't be pulling their players out of the team and sending them to las vegas, because its pointed out don't make it anti rugby it makes it topical for this thread
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11699 - 22/02/2017 19:50:53 1959657

while i think its an odd decision, i am of the view they do care about the womens six nations, munster dont always play their full swuad in pro12 dont mean they dont wanna win it , dublin will rest guys and blood fellas in league,soccer rotate the squad too -that dont mean the dont care about it, thats sport players come in players go out. If the rugby bosses didnt care about it they would be flogging it to the various tv stations.

as for avoiding home truth - here is one , rugby is popular very popular -but nowhere near as popular as gaa and womens gaa is a hundred times more popular than womens rugby , do i care no - i like both , another home truth is that some posters here are more interested in dissing rugby than championing gaa

still think this thread is great fun!!!!!! think we are all having a bit of craic on this!!!
anybody put a submission to the rte thing yet

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:53:29    1959745

if ye wanna good documentary and dont wanna watch the all blacks one at the same time on tg4 there is one called "lon sa speir" about th iconic picture lunch atop a skyscraper ye have all seen it -they lads sitting on a beam while building rockefeller centre, got a mention on the alex ferguson documentary - saw it before its very good , no health and safety in them day,worth a watch lads

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:59:30    1959749

"...if they are gonna make me have to pay them money weather I watch it or not then I think I should be entitled to want to have something I can watch on it..."

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11699 - 22/02/2017 20:27:26  

Here's the thing; RTE does not cater for any one person.
For example, in my family, personal preference in programming would be:
Me- Sports and Documentary
Dad- Current Affairs and Classical Music
Mam- Gardening and Dramas
Granny- Soap Operas
Sister- Music and Movies
Brother- Wildlife and Science

Just one, average family with average, differing tastes. And im sure plenty more like it around the country.
So, did you ever consider, even though you might not like the programming at certain times on RTE, perhaps there's plenty other license fee payers around the country who do?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 23/02/2017 00:29:49    1959750

Replying To extranjero:  ""...if they are gonna make me have to pay them money weather I watch it or not then I think I should be entitled to want to have something I can watch on it..."

Granny- Soap Operas
Sister- Music and Movies

Just one, average family with average, differing tastes. And im sure plenty more like it around the country.
So, did you ever consider, even though you might not like the programming at certain times on RTE, perhaps there's plenty other license fee payers around the country who do?"
You are missing the point I am making they had five hours of this stuff on as janesboro informs me it was a Friday night not Saturday well my bad, yet the actual governing body for irish rugby don't even consider the competition valuable that they want to win it most as if they would they wouldn't be sending some of their best players to play another game when the management want them playing in the France game, now if the rugby board them selves don't hold this competition in high regard why should a station that everybody must pay for be subjected to it taking up time on the air, I'm forced to pay for rte by them and they are putting second rate stuff on why not put the main women's rugby match on from las Vegas for example if that what the rugby people view as the more important competition

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/02/2017 08:34:36    1959767

Replying To extranjero:  ""...if they are gonna make me have to pay them money weather I watch it or not then I think I should be entitled to want to have something I can watch on it..."

Granny- Soap Operas
Sister- Music and Movies

So, did you ever consider, even though you might not like the programming at certain times on RTE, perhaps there's plenty other license fee payers around the country who do?"
Good post. Each to their own as they say. Some people don't like any sport at all. Some people would be happy if they just showed music videos all day long on RTE. Some elderly folk like Murder She Wrote, God bless them!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 23/02/2017 09:48:33    1959777

hillman - happens in other sports too, should the fa cup not be shown coz clubs have weakened team, or some champions cup games where clubs have weakened teams, limerick had weakened team in league last year due to na piarsaigh , other teams will rest guys and try them out in the league , should they now not be covered ..the league is not the most important competition

during the summer rte will have around 6 hours gaa on sundays , my neighbour has no interest in gaa, should they not show it in case she wants to watch a movie ......

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/02/2017 09:52:03    1959778

The League of Ireland is starting this weekend. It has new marketing and some new ideas too.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 23/02/2017 10:08:40    1959785

Replying To galwayford:  "The League of Ireland is starting this weekend. It has new marketing and some new ideas too."
I intend to go to Limerick v Sligo tomorrow night in the Marketsfield as it's the season opener but Munster are playing Llanelli across town as well and I'm a bit torn. League of Ireland is poor fare outside of the top 4 teams. There ll be hoofing left right and centre with some intermittent good touches.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 23/02/2017 11:00:23    1959804

Replying To hill16no1man:  "

Granny- Soap Operas
Sister- Music and Movies

You are missing the point I am making they had five hours of this stuff on as janesboro informs me it was a Friday night not Saturday well my bad, yet the actual governing body for irish rugby don't even consider the competition valuable that they want to win it most as if they would they wouldn't be sending some of their best players to play another game when the management want them playing in the France game, now if the rugby board them selves don't hold this competition in high regard why should a station that everybody must pay for be subjected to it taking up time on the air, I'm forced to pay for rte by them and they are putting second rate stuff on why not put the main women's rugby match on from las Vegas for example if that what the rugby people view as the more important competition"
So by that logic would you agrer that the GAA national league games should not be shown on tv because counties dont play their strongest teams or some players are off playing in club championship ???

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 23/02/2017 11:47:50    1959830

Replying To bloodyban:  "I intend to go to Limerick v Sligo tomorrow night in the Marketsfield as it's the season opener but Munster are playing Llanelli across town as well and I'm a bit torn. League of Ireland is poor fare outside of the top 4 teams. There ll be hoofing left right and centre with some intermittent good touches."
That pretty much describe a munster rugby hahahahaha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/02/2017 20:29:12    1960037