Pat Spillane's team of the Century

Pat Spillane

One of the greatest players to have played the game - ever.

but

Awful analyst IMO

His praise of players he formerly described as puke speaks volumes.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/12/2015 13:08:45    1813466

Tyrone won 3 All-Irelands in six years. Dublin have won 3 All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row, in fairness Dublin play great football. I think Pat Spillanes team selection is quiet biased and for a selection of this nature, it would be necessary to have a panel of selectors in order to have ant credability. It really is Pat having a bit of fun and his fictitious team will be forgotten about shortly.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 18/12/2015 13:16:59    1813468

Cluxton, Marc O Shea, C McAnallen, K Higgins, T O Shea, C O Sullivan , P Jordan, S Cavanagh, D O Shea, B Dooher, A Brogan, P Flynn, B Brogan, M Murphy, P Canavan.

Subs, D O Sullivan, C Cooper, S O Neill, C Gormey, S Moynihan, D Fay, D Connolly, P Galvin, M Forde, J McCaffrey, D Browne

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/12/2015 13:22:03    1813469

1) Cluxton
2) Marc O Se
3) Rory O Carroll ( closely followed by Neil McGee and Owens, it would probably have been Owens only he didn't play long enough)
4) Keith Higgins
5) Tomas O Se
6) McGeeney
7) Jordan
8) Dara O Se
9) Sean Cavanagh
10) Dooher
11) Dec O Sullivan
12) Oisin McConville
13) Brogan
14) Murphy
15) Cooper

This would be my 15 Mc Conville makes it as he was so good for Crossmaglen in winning Club All Ireland titles in 2000, 2007, 2011 and 2012. I found full back difficult to pick as I don't think there has been any truly great full back in the last 15 years ROC just shades it instead of Neil McGee. Conor Gormley is unlucky to miss out. Keith Higgins is included as he has been to the fore with a Mayo team that has been very unlucky not to win an All Ireland in the last 10 years. Ciaran McDonald is also unlucky aswel as Paul Flynn and Stephen McDonell. Ryan McMenamin also deserves a mention very good defender who was a player I didn't like but did the job. Mulligan from Tyrone wasn't far off either. Joyce was there or thereabouts but when I took 1998 out of my mind he just missed out. Probably lads that weren't considered as much due to there counties not being successful like Matty Forde but this is the 15 I will go with.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/12/2015 13:40:20    1813472

We've get to see your team? Seeing as you're questioning others, your's must be very good.....

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 14:06:27    1813476

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts:383 - 18/12/2015 12:36:19 1813456

So what you're saying is you only agree with people who agree with what you think and everyone else is wrong? For all the crying from the Dubs not one has offered a different team, just playing their usual victim card and everyone os anti Dublin BS

costm (Laois) - Posts:60 - 18/12/2015 12:56:57 1813464

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 18/12/2015 14:08:45    1813477

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts:383 - 18/12/2015 12:36:19 1813456

So what you're saying is you only agree with people who agree with what you think and everyone else is wrong? For all the crying from the Dubs not one has offered a different team, just playing their usual victim card and everyone os anti Dublin BS

costm (Laois) - Posts:60 - 18/12/2015 12:56:57 1813464

Nothing to do with what I think I simply your moronic incessant negativity that is tiresome.
Run along now child.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 18/12/2015 14:10:26    1813478

this Dublin team, who could have competed against, and easily beaten either of the great Tyrone / Kerry sides of the 00's... sure even the dodgy Dublin team of the time drew with Tyrone, and were a kick of a ball away from Kerry - are you telling me the team of today couldn't have done better?

To suggest otherwise is daft...

Jaysus Jimbo, lay off the Christmas boozes it going to your head: this Dublin team would easily beat Kerry c 2004-2009 or Tyrone c 2005?? Really???!!! Well fair play to you if you can go in front of a mirror and say that with a straight face ;)

By your own logic above so: what does it say about this supposedly brilliant Dublin side IF, an 'average' 'lucky' etc etc Kerry side were the kick of a ball away from beating you last September - in a game they didn't even really turn up for!!!

P.S., 'a kick of the ball away from Kerry': have you all erased 2009 from your collective memories!

Jimbo, for God sake stay away from the 12 pubs this weekend I'm increasingly worried about your mental state ... :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/12/2015 14:24:31    1813484

costm

What's your team it's easy being behind the computer calling out other posters when one seems to have no opinions themselves.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/12/2015 14:40:19    1813491

SLLY

Pretty simple questions I'm asking yet none are answered.

Clondalkindub continues to make points yet never backs them up. Is it so much to ask that he does? On top of him and the likes of jimbos double standards that they also refuse to acknowledge.

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 14:46:02    1813494

SLLY

Also calling others children while overlooking the likes of jimbo and clondalkindub comments

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 14:51:10    1813497

dubshurling7

I'm not the one crying about it am I? Clondalkindub is the one saying this player and that player is better than the ones on it, but as always won't give any reason for it

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 14:53:34    1813498

thehermit

All I'm suggesting is that the current Dublin team would have given either Tyrone or Kerry of the 00's one hell of a game and could have easily beaten either team on their day

There is nothing outrageous about that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/12/2015 15:10:33    1813503

moomoo

Are you still stalking me

Sad fecker

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/12/2015 15:11:33    1813507

Yerra I suppose not Jimbo

You must have sobered up :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/12/2015 15:17:08    1813509

moomoo

What's wrong.. did your last username get blocked?

Why not just log back in an moomoo?

Its blatantly obvious it's you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/12/2015 15:17:16    1813510

dubshurling7

I'm not the one crying about it am I? Clondalkindub is the one saying this player and that player is better than the ones on it, but as always won't give any reason for it

costm (Laois) - Posts:63 - 18/12/2015 14:53:34 1813498

All you seem to have done is post other people comments stating they are being biased. And a lot are but at least they have come up with some opinion on the forum. In this post and the Most Skillful one all you seem to do is be critical or Dublin posters picking Dublin players which I could understand if you had an opinion yourself and could pick your top15 like you are asking Dublin posters to do.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/12/2015 15:19:39    1813511

moomoo

What's wrong.. did your last username get blocked?

Why not just log back in an moomoo?

Its blatantly obvious it's you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14726 - 18/12/2015 15:17:16 1813

Again what are you on about?

I see you're pretty active with a few of your other accounts on here again.

Still waiting on the answers to the questions i asked you?

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 15:36:32    1813519

moomoo

Are you still stalking me

Sad fecker

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14726 - 18/12/2015 15:11:33 1813507

God you really are deluded. You call others sad when you spend all your time on here posting as 4/5 different people. You're a grown man. At least i hope so anyway

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 15:39:56    1813521

1. Cluxton
2. M O Se
3. Moynihan
4. K Higgins
5. T O Se
6. McGeeney
7. Jordan
8. D O Se
9. Cavanagh
10. Dooher