Pat Spillane's team of the Century

Mes/Greenandred,

Hermit is at this craic for years now. No body ever beat Kerry on merit, ever!! Especially not the Dubs! Every game Dublin have beaten Kerry in for 5 years now, has been down to either good luck, a bad ref, or Kerry not bringing their A game as such

I like Hermit, we bounce off each other in the summer and its good craic, but he is woe to EVER admit that Dublin are better than Kerry and cant accept that we have been better than them for 5 years now.

Bless him. He must be walking around the KIngdom in the off season muttering to himself in a constant state of denial and flux like a fella that has just been Tangoed........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2017 16:36:54    1943063

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Mes/Greenandred,

Hermit is at this craic for years now. No body ever beat Kerry on merit, ever!! Especially not the Dubs! Every game Dublin have beaten Kerry in for 5 years now, has been down to either good luck, a bad ref, or Kerry not bringing their A game as such

I like Hermit, we bounce off each other in the summer and its good craic, but he is woe to EVER admit that Dublin are better than Kerry and cant accept that we have been better than them for 5 years now.

Bless him. He must be walking around the KIngdom in the off season muttering to himself in a constant state of denial and flux like a fella that has just been Tangoed........"
Never maintained I wasn't biased when the conversation comes to Kerry Liam (happy New Year by the way).

But I'd like to think I raise things which are worth considering from time to time (the old even a busted clock is right twice a day sort of thing).

Anyway there's so many of the Hill 16 mafia on here someone needs to put it up to us.

Referees being chosen for big matches involving the same counties when they have close associations with one or have made bad errors before should not be acceptable IMO.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/01/2017 16:50:42    1943066

http://m.rte.ie/amp/640544/

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/01/2017 18:49:08    1943093

Replying To clondalkindub:  "http://m.rte.ie/amp/640544/"
I wouldn't pay too much heed with a lot that McStay has to say. Some Mayo supporters still blame the ref for losing the '96 All Ireland and also still resent Meath, all of it! But I heard this summer that Liam McHale is not liked in Meath, not sure if there's any truth in that?

We should have beaten Kerry the first day in 2014. I thought they were the hungrier team in the replay. The atmosphere was class. I hadn't seen Kerry supporters as fired up before. We got some calls in the first half. They got some calls. Cream rises to the top. When they got chances they took they took them. Had some quality subs to bring on. Better team on the night I thought. Another replay lost this year. Again chances missed or just not taken. Regardless of quality of our forwards we could have moved ball quicker, taken better options. Dubs used their bench, quick ball, decisive shooting. Better team won, again. Rochford and McEntee won't blame referees. I'm sure Gavin and Fitzmaurice don't either. They'll look at weaknesses even in victory and try to improve.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 04/01/2017 19:46:59    1943111

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eDIaDS9HhMw

For my Kerry friends on here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/01/2017 11:11:07    1943187

Replying To clondalkindub:  "https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eDIaDS9HhMw

For my Kerry friends on here."
I suppose you had that on loop for the six months after August 2014 when you were on here every minute moaning about Donegal beating ye and Kerry picking up yet another 'handy' All-Ireland etc etc. I've never seen any lad do as much complaining on here as you did that winter.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2017 12:53:00    1943207

Replying To TheHermit:  "I suppose you had that on loop for the six months after August 2014 when you were on here every minute moaning about Donegal beating ye and Kerry picking up yet another 'handy' All-Ireland etc etc. I've never seen any lad do as much complaining on here as you did that winter."
Could you imagine if it was Dublin we had beat in 2014 the hermit , clon would never have recovered.
How many threads did he start on us beating Donegal again was it 2/3?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2017 13:03:43    1943212

I said you's got very lucky in '14 and we're For a Kerry team very average I stand over that til the day I die. And in hindsight I've been proved right cause with a better Kerry team (more experienced and Gooch back) you can't win Sam since. Im just talking about the '14 Kerry team the Kerry team that won 4 all Ireland's in the 00's was a great side and I would never say the ref won them 4 all Ireland's and whatever cause that would be complete bs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/01/2017 14:05:43    1943236

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Could you imagine if it was Dublin we had beat in 2014 the hermit , clon would never have recovered.
How many threads did he start on us beating Donegal again was it 2/3?"
2 or 3!!! There was about 10 on here at one point in the winter of 2014 all b*tching about how unfair it was that Kerry had swopped in and stolen an All-Ireland from the 'rightful' champions in waiting!

And you can be sure the next time Sam is in the Kingdom this place will be in meltdown too, here's hoping its next September!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2017 14:47:25    1943256

As you have said before on this forum hermit Dublin will not be allowed to lose as the gaa have too much invested in them.

TheGhost1 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 05/01/2017 21:37:28    1943356

Don't worry lads, I reckon we're gonna start losing in the near future, you will win some more, and so will we, I see an even better rivalry developing, and if Mayo keep going and a couple from the north the championship will be rocking. And all talk of refs will be quelled.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 05/01/2017 22:22:43    1943371

Replying To realdub:  "Don't worry lads, I reckon we're gonna start losing in the near future, you will win some more, and so will we, I see an even better rivalry developing, and if Mayo keep going and a couple from the north the championship will be rocking. And all talk of refs will be quelled."
Hopefully man :)

TheGhost1 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 05/01/2017 22:28:04    1943373

Replying To TheGhost1:  "As you have said before on this forum hermit Dublin will not be allowed to lose as the gaa have too much invested in them."
Well think that was Kingdom Boy, but he's not far wrong

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2017 23:01:49    1943379

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well think that was Kingdom Boy, but he's not far wrong"
Do folks still agree with Spillane's team? No out field Dublin players on team of the decade what a joke.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/11/2017 11:40:32    2063749

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Do folks still agree with Spillane's team? No out field Dublin players on team of the decade what a joke."
In fairness most players only get into these teams after they retire for some reason! Who would you have in there? Cluxton is definitely a no brainer. I wouldn't have Murphy in that team on the last few years but you get 100 people to pick their team and you wont get two people to have 12/13 of the same players

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/11/2017 12:15:25    2063757

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Do folks still agree with Spillane's team? No out field Dublin players on team of the decade what a joke."
You could certainly make a case for Brogan in the FF line, and Connolly and / or Flynn in the half forwards, but they are all debatable switches.

Dublins success has been more down to having good players in every position and unprecedented fitness and strength in depth, rather than having individual stars carrying the team to victories. It's hard to argue with a lot of Spillane's picks in fairness. Personally, I would have Bernard Brogan and Flynn in my team though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/11/2017 12:55:02    2063761

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "You could certainly make a case for Brogan in the FF line, and Connolly and / or Flynn in the half forwards, but they are all debatable switches.

Dublins success has been more down to having good players in every position and unprecedented fitness and strength in depth, rather than having individual stars carrying the team to victories. It's hard to argue with a lot of Spillane's picks in fairness. Personally, I would have Bernard Brogan and Flynn in my team though."
Ah stop with the bs we've unbelievable players you don't win what we've won without them.

McMahon
Cooper
McCarthy
Mccaffrey
Fenton
Flynn
Connolly
Kilkenny
Brogan
Mannion

You're telling me these are not brilliant individual players? Please think before you post.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/11/2017 13:06:28    2063763

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah stop with the bs we've unbelievable players you don't win what we've won without them.

McMahon
Cooper
McCarthy
Mccaffrey
Fenton
Flynn
Connolly
Kilkenny
Brogan
Mannion

You're telling me these are not brilliant individual players? Please think before you post."
Yes , all excellent players, but are they better than the players Spillane picked in their positions? i would argue that they are not, in almost every case. Football did not suddenly emerge in 2011, and there was magnificent players playing the game before this Dublin team came along. No need to be so defensive, we are all entitled to an opinion.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/11/2017 15:14:50    2063793

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yes , all excellent players, but are they better than the players Spillane picked in their positions? i would argue that they are not, in almost every case. Football did not suddenly emerge in 2011, and there was magnificent players playing the game before this Dublin team came along. No need to be so defensive, we are all entitled to an opinion."
Of Course there should be at least 5 dublin out field players on the team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/11/2017 16:18:34    2063800

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah stop with the bs we've unbelievable players you don't win what we've won without them.

McMahon
Cooper
McCarthy
Mccaffrey
Fenton
Flynn
Connolly
Kilkenny
Brogan
Mannion

You're telling me these are not brilliant individual players? Please think before you post."
I'm a huge fan of Dublin but can you name who you'd drop? Its impossible to compare players that played now to even 7-8 years ago the game changes so much. Dublin are the ultimate team of top class players. I'ma huge fan of BB but where do you put him in? For me Stephen McDonnell was the best corner forward of the past 20 years but that's only my opinion

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/11/2017 17:32:59    2063809