Official Connacht Football Championship Thread

Well the sheep stealers got over the first game against New York with Plenty to spare. Here is my prediction for the games.

The Quarters on the 22nd and the 26th

Sligo V Leitrim- Sligo
London V Mayo- Mayo

Semi Final

Sligo V Roscommon- Roscommon
Mayo V Galway- Mayo

Final

Mayo V Roscommon- Mayo

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0509/connacht.html

RTE quite correctly arent predicting any all Ireland winners for the province but Pick Mayo to win it.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/05/2011 21:05:52    927103

This thread is fairly busting at the seams.....NOT. Connacht football is a bit like you on HS galling......irrelevant!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 09/05/2011 21:52:01    927176

Ulsterman

This thread is fairly busting at the seams.....NOT. Connacht football is a bit like you on HS galling......irrelevant!

and Ulsters All Ireland's honours are endless....ya! rich coming from Antrim football. Galls are the only thing ticking ye over. Anyways I have no doubt Connaught Football will be back as a powerhouse in a year or two. Galway and Mayo on the rise, Sligo a decent outfit and Roscommons hardwork on the development scene is paying off and we'll be division 2 within a year or two. When Antrim pulls out the quality of players like Padraig Joyce, Ciaran McDonald, Senan Kilbride, Eamonn O' Hara, Mulligan in the space of ten years Ill listen to ya.

Ulsterman - Good luck

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 10/05/2011 08:30:12    927189

Have to say paddy that i actually think Galway could beat Mayo in first round - they showed glimmers of hope towards the end of the league.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/05/2011 08:50:43    927201

paddyogall

RTE quite correctly arent predicting any all Ireland winners for the province but Pick Mayo to win it

Correct, because for the past 60 years there has only been an All-Ireland winner from the province. No winners.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 10/05/2011 09:25:00    927223

I tend to go along with you're thinking O'Gall, obviously apart from the one game in Castlebar.

I think Sligo will account for Leitrim, but Leitrim will put it up to them and it will be a close game. Mayo will beat London, with a bit to spare.

Sligo V Roscommon will be another tight one. Sligo will be after revenge from last year, but i have a feeling the Rossies will have too much for them. They are a half decent unit, but if Sligo can keep Donie Shine quiet they have a chance. But i think the Rossies will prevail.

Galway v Mayo - 26/06 - The Big Game. I think Galway will come into Castlebar and will give Mayo a sound beating. I have no real form to point to, but it's Galway Mayo form means nothing. Hopefully the good feeling from the end of the league and the u21's will help Galway rise above the level they are currently and send Mayo into the backdoor.

Then Connacht final - Roscommon and Galway. This one would be tight but i'd hope Galway would prevail.

This is only hypothetical of course. Leitrim and London could go and mess it all up in the next couple of weeks, but that's football. Can't wait. Up the West!!!!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 10/05/2011 09:28:30    927224

Sure Mayo have to beat London in order for Galway to get the better of them.

NowYourHurlin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 10/05/2011 10:38:21    927270

The Connaght championship will make interesting viewing this year, with sligo and the sheep stealers improving, and mayo and galway firmly in transition. Connaght and ulster are probably the most open provinces this year. I believe mayo will go in as slight favorites but in truth there isnt a huge amount in it. It remains to be seen whether sligo or ross can manage to reproduce their best form outside of connaght and this is a shame. Dont forget sligo had kerry all but beaten only a couple of years ago, but for a last minute penalty miss. They are capable of a big performance and could easily take a large scalp when playing well

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/05/2011 14:05:01    927533

Mayo will beat London by 15+pts, Leitrim will give Sligo a game but i expect Sligo to pull away at the end winning by 5/6 pts...then onto the semi finals! Mayo v Galway games are always diffcult to call but Mayo having home advantage & Galway without their main forward (Meehan) i'd expect Mayo to win this by 2/3 pts in the other Semi Sligo have home advantage also...they beat Galway/Mayo there last year so they should be more than capable of beating us! i have a feeling we'll be on the wrong end of a 1 point defeat this time.

So Mayo v Sligo Connacht final on the 17th July in McHale park & i'd expect 43rd connacht crown for Mayo.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 10/05/2011 15:22:55    927646

This thread should be renamed : ''The Official Pointless Championship thread''! For obvious reasons...

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 10/05/2011 15:42:28    927670

Is there any need for that ConnollyDub.

Granted Connacht football is on a low ebb but swings and roundabouts and all that. There's nothing wrong with commenting but at least make it constructive.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 10/05/2011 16:04:38    927696

ConnollyDub

927670 This thread should be renamed : ''The Official Pointless Championship thread''! For obvious

_______

Remind me when the last Leinster winner of the AI was?

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 10/05/2011 16:18:31    927720

A boy Abhainn.....fair play dhuit

TheDoc08 (Galway) - Posts: 101 - 10/05/2011 16:37:35    927762

ConnollyDub

This thread should be renamed : ''The Official Pointless Championship thread''! For obvious reasons..

And what are these obvious reasons?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 11/05/2011 09:41:11    928121

Well in fairness lads I was not really directing that at Galway. Afterall yis have won two all irelands since we won our last one. But in my honest opinion I do think this is the worst Galway team I have seen in my living memory. But I suppose a bad Galway team does make a more competitive Connacht Championship, but still pointless in the greater scheme of things, ie the All Ireland!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 11/05/2011 10:27:14    928146

Well at least your clarified your position ConnollyDub.

I think you may be a bit suprised though with Connacht this year. Galway may have been bad in the league, but league and championship are two different animals. I also think there could be a couple of Connacht teams knocking around in the business end of the championship this year, depending on how things work out.

Beware of the West - it's about to awaken.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 11/05/2011 10:34:52    928151

say want you want about Connacht football but at least it's the most open Provincial competition, whereas Munster is a two horse race and Ulster have had the same two winners for the last 10 years(most competitive province my a***). Dublin were collecting Leinster titles for fun until last year... meanwhile Connacht has provided four different winners in the last four years... every year the biggest fan celebrations for a provincial title is always in Connacht and it's always great to see.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 11/05/2011 10:51:33    928165

Jesus have the Dubs not enough vanity threads about themselves on the main forum without coming on to this one pimping themselves up.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2011 10:51:55    928168

I have to say that im very worried about galway coming to castlebar (assuming we beat london - i think we will). they will be on a high after the u-21 and have big game players back. Its a huge game for both teams......I will go for us to just sneak it but if galway beat us I wont be a bit surprised. some of their fans on here think they will beat us so lets hope their team are thinking the same....;)

On the other side of the draw I see roscommon coming through. I have a feeling it could be a great championship team.

P.S - the posters from leinster and ulster - if connacht doesent mean anything then why are ye posting on this thread? - pathetic

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/05/2011 11:07:42    928184

its funny anyone from leinster calling another proviencial title meaningless- 8 tokens from a cornflakes box is enough to get ya a leinster medal- god but i love taking a few thousand off gullible dubs every year on betfair. only cert in sports is laying the dubs- hopefully the media will hype up the hurlers too and there will be even more money in my pocket. in football terms galway and mayo would view getting the dubs in the championship as getting a easy draw- but hey lads ye keep reading the hearld- sure they definately areent telling ye what ye want to hear to sell papers- a newspaper would never do that, neither would paddy power put the dubs at shorth odds every year to convince ye that ye have a change- the word gullible is completelty wasted on our dublin friends :D

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 11/05/2011 11:09:18    928187